Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Mr. Heater Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Heater

Mr. Heater Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Heater

Mr. Heater's Portable Buddy heater gives you instant heat anytime, anywhere. The Portable Buddy features a low oxygen safety shutoff pilot to provide safe, reliable propane heat indoors.
Average Customer Rating:
4.733 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation100%15 out of 15reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
14 Questions | 18 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Heater

Great Heater

10/06/2008
By ,
Butler County, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this heater for an October tent camping trip where temperatures were expected to drop into the upper 30's. I was very skeptical about using a propane heater in the tent due to carbon monoxide poisoning. When a retired fire department captain told me he uses the heater inside his tent, I took his word and felt safe using the heater inside our tent. After all, I figured he would be the one to know! Well, temperatures dropped to 34 degrees and with the heater on low, the tent was a nice and comfortable 51 degrees. We were a little short of propane so we just ran it on low, which required me to change the tank at 4:00 AM! After changing the tank, I cranked the heater up to high and the tent warmed to about 60 degrees! The heater is very quiet and there is no odor what so ever. In addition, the glow from the heater provides a nice little nightlight!
I would strongly recommend purchasing a hose adapter and getting a 20-pound propane tank to place outside the tent because waking up to a cold heater at 4:00 AM to replace the one-pound tank is no fun!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+105points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Heater

A good small propane heater

02/22/2009
By ,
cle elum, washington
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought my Buddy Heater to heat my 28' travel trailer which had no furnace. Buddy would keep the trailer 65*-70* during the day when the outside temps were in the low 30's and would manage around 60* at night when the temps dipped to the upper teens. Last fall we bought another trailer, this one being a 31' with a forced air propane furnace. we noticed right away that the furnace used way more propane than the Buddy used to heat the old trailer. This time i bought the Big Buddy heater and it is the ticket. The Big Buddy has a built in 6 vdc fan which moves the heat through the trailer and gets it nice and toasty in no time. Both Buddies are safe to use indoors as long as you crack open a window. Both have tip over protection and low oxygen shut off switches. Due to the low oxygen switch neither will operate at much over 7,000 feet altitude. My recommendations would be a Buddy Heater for a tent, truck camper or small travel trailer up to maybe 20', but the Big Buddy is the way to go if heating a larger area or trailer. Both of my Buddies run off 10 gallon tanks. I would recommend getting the inline filter if you are using an external tank. My Buddy got plugged up with some kind of oiley residue and it was a bugger to get it cleared out. Knowing what i know now i think i would have skipped the Buddy and just went with the Big Buddy. It's easily twice the heater for about $20 more. Buddy has 2 heat settings, 4k BTU's and 9k BTU's, Big Buddy has 3 heat settings, 4k, 9k, and 18k BTU's plus the fan. Buddy heater is a great little heater, Big Buddy is a better larger heater, either way you can't go wrong.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+61points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Heater

Warmth

01/30/2008
By ,
Oakes North Dakota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This little heater is amazing. It works so well I am buying two more. The 20lb tank lasts for days of warmth. So even if the electricty is out we have heat.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Heater

Nice heater

01/16/2009
By ,
Warren, Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a nice little heater. The only reasons i didn't give it 5 stars, it would be much better if it had a small fan (preferably run off a rechargeable battery). The 1 lb tank is suppose to last 6hrs. on low. They don't! On low it last anywhere from 3 1/2 to 5 hrs.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Heater

really good heater

11/30/2007
By ,
LaFayette, ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
puts out a lot of heat to be so small, really like it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Heater

just what we needed

02/04/2009
By ,
Austin TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This little heater is perfect for heating your boat's cabin while camping on the lake. my wife and I used it in 23deg weather. after running it on low for about 5 minutes to warm the sleep area, I turned it off and just left the pilot on. the pilot kept the cabin
comfortable/not warm/just not freezing.perfect!that'll save propane. I would highly recommend this heater.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Heater

very impressed

12/28/2008
By ,
Layton UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My fiance bought me a smaller catylic type heater that was 1,500 BTU's and was not quite enough so i paid the difference to get a bigger one. I use it in my very drafty work truck and I am amazed at how much heat it puts out!! I thought I might need the bigger (Big Buddy) but after turning the regular Buddy on I am glad that I took the value of the smaller one. It puts out TONS of heat. VERY HOT!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Heater

Best Tent Heater

12/25/2009
By ,
ALbuquerque NM
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had some really horribkle tent heaters over the years, and frankly not a single one worked. Most recently the Coleman Black Cat. The buddy extremely reliable, safe and generally on low will take care of any tent heat needs. Uses 1/4 the fuel of the Black Cat and puts out 4X the heat...Dont look at any other tent heaters, pick up the buddy and a small, bulk propane tank for those chillier camping trips.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Heater

Mr. Heater

02/08/2008
By ,
Pembroke NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this heater it's very easy to us and it puts out a lot of heat for it's size.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Heater
04/26/2010
By ,
BUCKHANNON, WEST VIRGINIA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
THIS HEATER IS AS GOOD AS THE AD FOR THIS PRODUCT. THE ONLY THING THAT IS NOT CORRECT IN THE AD IS THE TIME THAT A TANK OF GAS WILL LAST. MINE ONLY LASTED FIVE HOURS. THE AD SAID SIX TO EIGHT HOURS. I HOOKED MY HEATER TO A TWENTY POUND TANK TO USE IT FOR THREE NIGHTS. HEATER GAVE OFF A VERY GOOD HEAT SUPPLY. THIS PRODUCT WAS RECOMMENDED TO ME BY A FRIEND AND IT IS AS GOOD AS HE SAID.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Heater

A product that actually works and lasts

12/02/2012
By ,
KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this heater 3 years ago to take hunting. It fits perfect in a Jansport backpack with 2 additional propane cans. Has worked flawlessy every year. In 10 degree weather in my pop up blind at 4:30 in the morning it is my best friend. Going to send one to a friend who has been toughing it out.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Heater

Works as described!

05/27/2008
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Might have been more effective in a slightly smaller tent.....worked well though considering a 9x12 tent with 80" ceiling and 28 degree damp weather...it definately took the chill off!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Heater

good hi proformance hearet

12/07/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is a great light heater. does its job surprisingly well. no smell, fast heat and its effective on low never can keep it on high for about more than a few minutes.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Heater

Nice products; works as described

04/28/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This seems like a good-quality product. The user manual is thorough and well-written. The manual tells you exactly what to expect from start to finish, and is easy to understand. I purchased this for emergency situations, and so far I only tested it briefly. It started quickly without any problems. I only gave it 4 stars overall rating because I haven't used it that long to say that it's deserving of 5 stars.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Heater
Based on 1 ratings-only review
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5