Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Dumar 18" Boys' Hyper Speed BMX Bike

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Dumar 18" Boys' Hyper Speed BMX Bike

With hi-impact mag wheels, authentic Hyper graphics and a cool superbike-style saddle and fenders, this is the hottest BMX to hit the streets. It's fully loaded with everything you need to hit awesome tricks and get around in style.
Average Customer Rating:
4.254 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(63 Reviews) 50
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
32
4 stars
22
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation89%56 out of 63reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
32
4 stars
22
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for 18" Boys' Hyper Speed BMX Bike

kid loves it

08/04/2007
By ,
wiscasset, me
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
excellent
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 2 for 18" Boys' Hyper Speed BMX Bike

Good kids' bike

08/09/2007
By ,
Canton, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son rides this bike everyday and enjoys showing it off. He likes this bike a lot, and I like that it was 18", since he is too big for 16" and too small for 20". This bike was the only one we found of this size, and the price for this bike was good.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 3 for 18" Boys' Hyper Speed BMX Bike

It's got a great look, like a sport bike.

04/14/2009
By ,
Florence, MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this bike for my 9yr olds birthday.
He loves it. He's all into Sportbikes and this fits that description.
There was some scratches on it from shipping, but those didn't seen to affect the look of the bike at all. Some of the decals did peel off, I believe due to shipping, but that was easily taken care of.
It wasn't that hard to put together over all. Depending on the height of the rider, it is adjustable can be easily adjusted.
We had to adjust the breaks and the ride height for his height.
Using the hand breaks for both wheels can take some getting used to for a kid that has always used regular wheel breaking.
Over all, I believe this was worth the money I spent on it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 4 for 18" Boys' Hyper Speed BMX Bike

this bike is a dirtbike

04/10/2009
By ,
Brandon, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
wow! I'm the coolest mom! I bought these bikes for my 5 yr old twins! They love them. We put them together and it was a cinch. The bikes perform great and very sturdy for wild, adventurous young ones! The price i paid, and the site to store option was the best way to go-i am extremely pleased!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 5 for 18" Boys' Hyper Speed BMX Bike
04/19/2009
By ,
fulton,ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bought this bike for my nephews 6 yr. birthday. he loves it. the frame is very sturdy is sure to be used for years. he loves that it looks like a real dirt bike
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 6 for 18" Boys' Hyper Speed BMX Bike

A BOMB Bike for Kids! (Bomb means good!)

06/10/2008
By ,
Cedar Rapids, IA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
OK, so I got online to find a bicycle for my son, who just furned 7 last month. I decided the best route was to lookat the online selections. And this is the one that got the bid. The Hyper Speed BMX Bike. This bad boy has real suspension, which actually works. The frame is VERY solid.. very durable. There's just anough room on the handle bars to mount a light if needed. Tire/wheels are build out of a tough nylon/plastic. The fact that the bike looks like a motorcycle is about the coolest part of the whole thing. The only issue I have had is the brake levers are fairly difficult. A little adjusting should resolve that. If you want your kid to have THE coolest bike in town, get him THIS one!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 7 for 18" Boys' Hyper Speed BMX Bike

Cool Look, Not so cool functioning

04/10/2009
By ,
Plano, TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I got this for my son's 7th birthday since his old bike was too small for him. I wanted something cool-looking and similiar to a dirt bike since that is what he is into. The bike was very easy to put together, no problems there. There was part that was a little bent, little upset about that, but I moved on. My son loves it but the only problem that he is having is that the bike is REALLY heavy for a 7 year old. So, if they are still learning to ride a bigger bike, this might be a challenge. Also, the seat is EXTREMELY hard. No comfort here. It is a good concept but I probably would have gone with something else if I had more time to look around.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 8 for 18" Boys' Hyper Speed BMX Bike

Disappointing

01/03/2009
By ,
Enterprise, AL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I ordered this for my son for Christmas. The back disk brake was bent and he hasnt been able to ride it yet. We are waiting for a replacememnt brake system from the manafacturer. (DUMAR) He was so excited Christmas to get this bike, and he cant even ride it. Still waiting on the 2nd of January.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Review 9 for 18" Boys' Hyper Speed BMX Bike

Neat-o

11/07/2007
By ,
San Antonio, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My kid can't get enough of this bike. When I took this bike out of the store even grown men were drooling. He is certainly the coolest kid on the block :P We haven't had any problems with the brakes - we've only had it for a month though. A few things to keep in mind - the seat is not adjustable, the brake levers a are a wee bit hard to clamp and the bike does not arrive at the store already assembled. I called my store up and requested that they assemble the bike for me and they did so at no extra charge. We're are pretty much very pleased.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for 18" Boys' Hyper Speed BMX Bike

The Greatest Smile

02/23/2008
By ,
Foothill Ranch, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great MOTORCYCLE Bike! When my son saw this bike, he begged for it. Although, he is 5 and a short 5, I was very cautious about buying this product. I purchased it for Xmas and he has The Greatest Smile that you ever could see every time he rides. I haven't had any problems with this product. It was assemblied by Walmart for free and it was done very well and very quickly! WE love the look of this bike. He wanted a motorcycle bike and this one was so close to all the motorcycles that we have seen that he admires so much!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 11 for 18" Boys' Hyper Speed BMX Bike

Great bike

04/15/2009
By ,
Jackson, Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My youngest son knew what he wanted for his 7th birthday, a black and red bike that looked like a motorcycle. We could not find it anywhere but here. Love that I was able to get the "Site to Store" shipping which cost me nothing. However, when I went to pick up the bike, the peddle was sticking out of the side of the box. I think that it should have been handled a little more carefully. Had a few scratches, but my son did not seem to notice. (There was not time to order another.)
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for 18" Boys' Hyper Speed BMX Bike

Great Buy

07/30/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The 20" in the store was too big, and the 16" bikes were too small. This one is just right for my 8-yr-old. It has freewheel with handbrakes that stop the bike well even when pulled buy a kid with little hands. I like the drum rear brake. It seems to work much better than a caliper brakes. It looks like the bike has front shocks from the pictures, but it just has rubber boots on the forks to look like motorcycle shocks. THe rear shock works well. I would definitley recommend...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 13 for 18" Boys' Hyper Speed BMX Bike

Too Heavy

06/26/2008
By ,
Clarksville, TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchase this for my sons 7th birthday. He had sat on the 16 inch at Walmart and it was too small. I thought the 18 inch would be perfect. When he got on the bike it was way too big and too heavy. I went and bought training wheels and still he could not ride. The seat is not adjustable and the handlebars are too low. When he tries to turn the bike it falls over because the weight in the front. This is a nice bike for an older child with long strong legs.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Review 14 for 18" Boys' Hyper Speed BMX Bike

A Little Disappointed

01/21/2008
By ,
Sparks, NV
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The bike overall is great! He absolutely loves it! However, for the price, I don't think the plastic piece by rear reflector should have broken off before we even took it out of the box. It had to be glued on. I guess I just thought it would be like the aluminum or metal bikes we bought for the kids when they first learned to ride. I would recommend this bike if it were cheaper or at this price if it was a better quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Review 15 for 18" Boys' Hyper Speed BMX Bike

Cool Bike!!

01/08/2008
By ,
Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bike was purchased for our 6 yr old son. He loves it, I think it is soo cute!!!!
However, it is a heavy bike, FYI--brakes are on the handle bars. Took some time to put together as we had to do it (we are not patient for this kind of thing but our local walmart did not have anyone to assemble bikes). Definatley recommend you will love it...
Site to store was great loved that we saved on shipping.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for 18" Boys' Hyper Speed BMX Bike

Bad choice

08/06/2007
By ,
Baltimore, MD
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This bike was the worst bike I have ever bought! I am taking it back to the store!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-3points
Review 17 for 18" Boys' Hyper Speed BMX Bike

GREAT BUY

10/08/2007
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We just purchased this bike for my sons birthday and he LOVES it. It is very sturdy and a great value for your money. Every kid in the neighborhood wants one and they all take turns riding it. Only down side is there is no seat adjustment. It is a little taller than the standard 18" bike however, it doesn't bother him a BIT!!! Every boy should have one!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 18 for 18" Boys' Hyper Speed BMX Bike

Pretty good!

11/01/2007
By ,
Ogden, UT
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This bike looks awesome and my 6 year old just loves it! All the neighborhood kids surrounded him, he was so proud. The only bad thing is that the tire went flat right away, it seems the tube has a leaky valve. So that was a bummer that he couldn't even ride it for a full day. So hopefully with getting a new tube we won't have anymore problems!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for 18" Boys' Hyper Speed BMX Bike

bad assembly

01/28/2008
By ,
Augusta , Ga
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
this is a very neat bike ( a little heavy ) but the assembly was very poor , the bike has a lot of stickers on it to make it look real and every single one had huge air bubbles underneath , the back wheel was way of but with some time ( incase you are unlucky like me ) you can turn it into the hottest bike on the block and my son sure loved it
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 20 for 18" Boys' Hyper Speed BMX Bike

18" Boys' Hyper Speed BMX Bike

06/29/2008
By ,
Belzoni, MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this for my son's 6th birthday, his eyes light up like it was Christmas time. He loves it, wakes up every morning looking forward to riding it. The nice represenatative of Wal-mart assemblied the bike for me free of charge. Site to store is great, the gas getting there is awful, but it was all worth the while to see him happy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
1-20 of 51 total reviews
1 2 3 Next