Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for First Alert First Alert 3050F Steel Hanging File Folder Box

First Alert First Alert 3050F Steel Hanging File Folder Box

Keep your important file folders safely locked inside the First Alert 3050F Steel Hanging File Folder Box . This steel file box is designed to hold and protect standard 8.5 x 11 hanging file folders. This file security box comes with a top handle that allows easy carrying. You can store all your hanging files and valuable possessions in this portable box in an organized manner. The file box includes a key lock with 2 entry keys to keep your files safe from theft and intruders. With this safe lock box you won't have any difficulty searching for your files. With innovation and quality, this box is perfect for event of a disaster, fire, or an invasion of your home or office. For convenience the hanging file folder storage box includes a carrying handle on top and comes in a durable powder coat finish.
Average Customer Rating:
3.933 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(75 Reviews) 61
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
35
4 stars
22
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
10
Customer Recommendation81%61 out of 75reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 21 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
35
4 stars
22
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
10
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for First Alert 3050F Steel Hanging File Folder Box

Ideal to keep medicine locked up safe!

03/11/2012
By ,
OREGON
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a good / average ( file size) box to store medicines in....My dad is 86 and a diabetic who has a BIG sweet tooth......He also has Alzheimer's disease and adult ADD.....He is like a toddler on the go and always getting into EVERYTHING!......So this keeps him out of the chocolate, candy and anything else mischievous....I LOVE IT!...Lock is a little tricky but once you get the hang of it it's fine...Yes, i would recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for First Alert 3050F Steel Hanging File Folder Box

Disappointed :-(

09/07/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I needed a file box that locked for confidential files. Unfortunately, the lock is poorly designed and does not engage to stay locked. I should have believed the other reviews of this product and not purchase it. I did like the portability and size of the file box, but since the lock would not stay engaged, the top would open if you carried it by the handle. I returned the item. I attempted to contact the manufacturer via e-mail about this design flaw, but was unable to find an e-mail address. I would definitely not recommend this file box and suggest that Walmart discontinue offering it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for First Alert 3050F Steel Hanging File Folder Box

You get what you pay for!

09/05/2014
By ,
South Brunswick, NJ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It's getting returned tomorrow! It's very hard to close properly with files in it (isn't that what it's for?), the lock doesn't work, the key just spins around, and when you finally lock it, it doesn't stay locked, you can just pull it open. Very disappointed!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for First Alert 3050F Steel Hanging File Folder Box

hanging file folder

08/20/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The locking mechanism does not lock.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for First Alert 3050F Steel Hanging File Folder Box

Simply to Keep the Kids Out!

11/17/2010
By ,
NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This lock box is not a sturdy one that would keep any burglar from it, but I didn't get it for that. I just wanted something economical that would keep snooping kids or irresponsible teens away from things I need to be there when I need them. The key takes some getting used to as to when it's locked and not, but it meets the need for which it was purchased and works great for what I need.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for First Alert 3050F Steel Hanging File Folder Box

No complaints!!!!

06/22/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this as a gift for an elderly friend who moved into a retirement home. Her packers left behind most of her old security boxes. I purchased another box, and she didn't really love it. She wanted a box like this to fit her papers in.
She seemed to like this box very much. I know because she didn't have any complaints about it.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for First Alert 3050F Steel Hanging File Folder Box

Box would not stay shut nor would it lock.

08/01/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The file box would have been great if it worked properly. The locking mechanism just would not work. I returned the item and bought a different file box from another manufacturer.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for First Alert 3050F Steel Hanging File Folder Box
03/11/2009
By ,
GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a small nice product. I loved it. I only wish it had been bigger. it fits all papers and different kinds of folders the kind you open up and have a sleeve on each side although i found it to be a tight fit but stil worked fine. Unfortunately i had a large vanilla folder that would not fit because the folder was longer then the actual product. So i must take it back because that folder is important. It does NOT come with the yellow folders. It comes with nothing but a set of keys and a piece of paper advertizing other products. I didnt have no problem with flimsiness of the lid like i had read in other products but be warned it is not that hard to break into it if the person knows what they are doing.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for First Alert 3050F Steel Hanging File Folder Box

Very cheap low quality.

07/20/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The top of this box would not stay closed even when locked. All the weight is on the bottom and the lock is not strong enough to hold the top closed even when locked and empty. I purchased this box because of the First Alert brand name but I would not recommend this item. It is extremely cheap.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for First Alert 3050F Steel Hanging File Folder Box

Consolidation

07/16/2009
By ,
Villa Rica, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets expectations, that says it all and as far as value goes you can't beat it. I realized recently my important papers were here, there, and everywhere.
So I decided to look for something to put everything in, insurance papers, military records, wills etc. Now it's all where I can easily put my hands on at any time, safe in my Honeywell lock box.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for First Alert 3050F Steel Hanging File Folder Box

it will do for the time being

03/04/2014
By ,
Lockport
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I thought this would of been a little sturdier than it is. the top doesn't seal well. cheaply made. moisture can get in. My next purchase will be hands on to determine the worth of the product.
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for First Alert 3050F Steel Hanging File Folder Box

very poor quality

11/11/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
the keys or lock do not work. a total cheap product
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for First Alert 3050F Steel Hanging File Folder Box

Great product, affordable price

05/15/2014
By ,
bronx,ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have roommates who borrow without asking. This security box resolved this problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for First Alert 3050F Steel Hanging File Folder Box

Economical and Helpful in More Ways Than One

10/03/2010
By ,
Crawfordsville, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is great for important files but; I am using it to hold all of my medicines as I am disabled and on several medications. I also use it for my important papers, like my birth cirtificate and for any court papers you may have this is another great use for this. I also have a space for a container to hold my spare change to keep prying eyes and hands out of it. It is fairly light to carry and easy to lock and unlock.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for First Alert 3050F Steel Hanging File Folder Box

lock box for meds

05/22/2013
By ,
Lexington, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
as a foster parent, all meds and vitamins, including peroxide and rubbing alcohol, neosporin, etc... has to be locked. This was the perfect size for all that I needed to lock. It's a nice size for storage, and still be accessable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for First Alert 3050F Steel Hanging File Folder Box

perfect for it's purpose

06/06/2011
By ,
Pittsburgh, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I read the reviews before I bought this and expected to be satisfied with the item, and I am. Wanted something for 'important' papers organized in one spot, not looking for a fireproof box.
Box is fine, price was great, and shipping it free to my local walmart store to p/u was awesome!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for First Alert 3050F Steel Hanging File Folder Box

Junk, not worth even half what I paid for it

06/11/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I ordered the product online. The box lid was jammed down on the body of the box so it could not be opened, even by trying to pry it open. Now I have to make a trip to the store to return it so I can get my money back quick & find something to replace it.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for First Alert 3050F Steel Hanging File Folder Box

Love this product

12/21/2010
By ,
Richmond, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
All my important files fit in this although it is a little smaller than I expected. It's easy to use and organized everything. I wouldn't keep anything too private in it because the lock seems easy to bust open.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for First Alert 3050F Steel Hanging File Folder Box
03/28/2013
By ,
Suffolk, VA.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good security for important papers. File hangers work great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for First Alert 3050F Steel Hanging File Folder Box

Nice metal box

02/18/2012
By ,
Roseland, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
its not an ultra safe but for the price, it's perfect for my need. Compact, lightweight, just right for insurance policies, passports, anything that should be in a safe place.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 62 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next