Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for First Alert First Alert 3050F Steel Hanging File Folder Box

First Alert First Alert 3050F Steel Hanging File Folder Box

Keep your important file folders safely locked inside the First Alert Steel Hanging Folder File Box. It is designed to hold and protect standard 8.5 x 11 hanging file folders. This file security box comes with a top handle that allows easy carrying. You can store all your hanging files and valuable possessions in this portable box in an organized manner. The file box includes a key lock with 2 entry keys to keep your files safe from theft and intruders. With this safe lock box you won't have any difficulty searching for your files. With innovation and quality, this box is perfect for event of a disaster, fire, or an invasion of your home or office. For convenience the box includes a carrying handle on top and comes in a durable powder coat finish.
Average Customer Rating:
4.118 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(68 Reviews) 54
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
34
4 stars
21
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation87%59 out of 68reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 20 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
34
4 stars
21
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for First Alert 3050F Steel Hanging File Folder Box

Ideal to keep medicine locked up safe!

03/11/2012
By ,
OREGON
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a good / average ( file size) box to store medicines in....My dad is 86 and a diabetic who has a BIG sweet tooth......He also has Alzheimer's disease and adult ADD.....He is like a toddler on the go and always getting into EVERYTHING!......So this keeps him out of the chocolate, candy and anything else mischievous....I LOVE IT!...Lock is a little tricky but once you get the hang of it it's fine...Yes, i would recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for First Alert 3050F Steel Hanging File Folder Box

Simply to Keep the Kids Out!

11/17/2010
By ,
NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This lock box is not a sturdy one that would keep any burglar from it, but I didn't get it for that. I just wanted something economical that would keep snooping kids or irresponsible teens away from things I need to be there when I need them. The key takes some getting used to as to when it's locked and not, but it meets the need for which it was purchased and works great for what I need.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for First Alert 3050F Steel Hanging File Folder Box

it will do for the time being

03/04/2014
By ,
Lockport
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I thought this would of been a little sturdier than it is. the top doesn't seal well. cheaply made. moisture can get in. My next purchase will be hands on to determine the worth of the product.
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for First Alert 3050F Steel Hanging File Folder Box

Good Little Box

02/22/2014
By ,
Talladega,Al
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This box fits my needs for various papers I needed to organize. I like
everything about the box except the lock. It is cheap but the box itself
is great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for First Alert 3050F Steel Hanging File Folder Box

Consolidation

07/16/2009
By ,
Villa Rica, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets expectations, that says it all and as far as value goes you can't beat it. I realized recently my important papers were here, there, and everywhere.
So I decided to look for something to put everything in, insurance papers, military records, wills etc. Now it's all where I can easily put my hands on at any time, safe in my Honeywell lock box.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for First Alert 3050F Steel Hanging File Folder Box
03/11/2009
By ,
GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a small nice product. I loved it. I only wish it had been bigger. it fits all papers and different kinds of folders the kind you open up and have a sleeve on each side although i found it to be a tight fit but stil worked fine. Unfortunately i had a large vanilla folder that would not fit because the folder was longer then the actual product. So i must take it back because that folder is important. It does NOT come with the yellow folders. It comes with nothing but a set of keys and a piece of paper advertizing other products. I didnt have no problem with flimsiness of the lid like i had read in other products but be warned it is not that hard to break into it if the person knows what they are doing.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for First Alert 3050F Steel Hanging File Folder Box

Lid comes open even when locked

01/11/2014
By ,
TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had a few empty hanging file folders in the box. When I picked it up, the lid came open. I tried several times with the same result, even completely empty. I think maybe the lid was offset from the locking latch somehow. I'm not sure if it was just a single defective unit or if it is a faulty design. I decided to return it and purchase a completely different brand from another merchant (awaiting delivery).
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for First Alert 3050F Steel Hanging File Folder Box

great for filing important papers.

01/20/2014
By ,
newport news, va
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In case of a fire, my important papers will be protected. Great price and even though there was a delay in delivery, I was satisfied with the product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for First Alert 3050F Steel Hanging File Folder Box

very poor quality

11/11/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
the keys or lock do not work. a total cheap product
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for First Alert 3050F Steel Hanging File Folder Box

not a good file box

01/11/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I got 2 of them cause the first 1 didnt lock....the 2nd one is giving me trouble trying to lock it too.....if u want security dont buy this
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for First Alert 3050F Steel Hanging File Folder Box

Great Construction, product will last a long time.

01/03/2014
By ,
Chicago Suburbs
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nothing beats the metal construction. Plastic will fall apart.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for First Alert 3050F Steel Hanging File Folder Box

Good product with quality control problems

11/29/2013
By ,
Bradenton, Florida
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This hanging file is perfect for securing things in a lightweight box. But, one of the two I ordered did not lock. No matter what I tried, I never got it to lock and had to return it to the store. It was an inconvenience to return it. Quality control should have tested the product before sending it out to the consumer. Beware of the inconsistency!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for First Alert 3050F Steel Hanging File Folder Box

GOOD PRODUCT

12/09/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fOR THE PRICE THIS IS A GOOD PRODUCT
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for First Alert 3050F Steel Hanging File Folder Box

This METAL box came completely dented.

12/03/2013
By ,
PA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The metal box came with a huge dent. I couldn't even get it out of the shipping box Very annoying that now I need to return it. no time or effort saved at all.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for First Alert 3050F Steel Hanging File Folder Box

lock box for meds

05/22/2013
By ,
Lexington, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
as a foster parent, all meds and vitamins, including peroxide and rubbing alcohol, neosporin, etc... has to be locked. This was the perfect size for all that I needed to lock. It's a nice size for storage, and still be accessable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for First Alert 3050F Steel Hanging File Folder Box

Economical and Helpful in More Ways Than One

10/03/2010
By ,
Crawfordsville, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is great for important files but; I am using it to hold all of my medicines as I am disabled and on several medications. I also use it for my important papers, like my birth cirtificate and for any court papers you may have this is another great use for this. I also have a space for a container to hold my spare change to keep prying eyes and hands out of it. It is fairly light to carry and easy to lock and unlock.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for First Alert 3050F Steel Hanging File Folder Box
03/28/2013
By ,
Suffolk, VA.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good security for important papers. File hangers work great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for First Alert 3050F Steel Hanging File Folder Box

Travel box for Files works great.

10/28/2013
By ,
Seattle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just what I was looking for to hold files in the truck.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for First Alert 3050F Steel Hanging File Folder Box

perfect for it's purpose

06/06/2011
By ,
Pittsburgh, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I read the reviews before I bought this and expected to be satisfied with the item, and I am. Wanted something for 'important' papers organized in one spot, not looking for a fireproof box.
Box is fine, price was great, and shipping it free to my local walmart store to p/u was awesome!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for First Alert 3050F Steel Hanging File Folder Box

Junk, not worth even half what I paid for it

06/11/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I ordered the product online. The box lid was jammed down on the body of the box so it could not be opened, even by trying to pry it open. Now I have to make a trip to the store to return it so I can get my money back quick & find something to replace it.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 55 total reviews
1 2 3 Next