Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for First Alert First Alert 2092DF 1.31 Cubic Foot Waterproof 1-Hour Fire Safe with Digital Lock

First Alert First Alert 2092DF 1.31 Cubic Foot Waterproof 1-Hour Fire Safe with Digital Lock

Protect your documents, electronics, and other valuables from theft, fire and water damage by keeping them in the First Alert 2092DF 1.31 Cubic Foot Waterproof 1-Hour Fire Safe with Digital Lock. This safe's anti-theft features include patented pry-resistant concealed hinges, a programmable (use your own personal 3 to 8 digit pass-code) digital lock and 4 solid locking bolts. The solid construction and water tight seal of this safe prevents water damage to the contents caused by flooding or by water used in fighting a fire and keeps the safe's interior dry, even when fully submerged. The First Alert 2092DF is UL classified for 1 hour to withstand an external temperature of 1700 degrees Fahrenheit while maintaining an internal temperature of less than 350 degrees Fahrenheit. The safe has been tested by an independent testing lab and verified to protect digital media from fire damage including memory sticks, CD's, DVD's and external hard drives.
Average Customer Rating:
4.619 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(176 Reviews) 151
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
123
4 stars
45
3 stars
5
2 stars
0
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation96%169 out of 176reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
24 Questions | 133 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
123
4 stars
45
3 stars
5
2 stars
0
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for First Alert 2092DF 1.31 Cubic Foot Waterproof 1-Hour Fire Safe with Digital Lock

More than satisfied.....

12/22/2012
By ,
Brunswick, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Was told that it would be delivered to the store for pickup. Was very surprised when it not only came early, but it was delivered to my doorstep. (no complaint, just surprised). Walmart even beat Costco on price, quality and availability. I did a lot of research before I bought. Very well built. Push button key pad can be opened much faster than a dial. Key pad lights up so you can open it in the dark if needed. You can set your own personal combination. This does require batteries. Keys are supplied in case you forget the combo, want to change the combo or if the batteries go dead. My wife is even impressed with its strength and how easy it is to use. Would definitely recommend to anyone looking to buy one. This would make an excellent gun safe.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for First Alert 2092DF 1.31 Cubic Foot Waterproof 1-Hour Fire Safe with Digital Lock

First Alert 1.31 Cu. Foot Digital Waterproof Fires

10/24/2010
By ,
Ixnay, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The safe is well worth the money. Very heavy(102 lbs) I can't imagine anyone carry this safe down a flight of stairs or any were for that matter, also fire and water proof which is good for valueables. Seems very well made. As for people complaining about the plastic handle I'm sure the handle is metal with a plastic coating over it. Some people were a little disappointed because they couldn't bolt the safe to the floor. What I done was buy plastic coated metal chain and (I bolts) mounted them front to back and side to side, ran the chain over top (leave some slak) for door opening and pad lock the chain and no one will walk away with the safe. I'm very happy and it works for me! If people are worried about the smell of any items left in the safe for a long time because of no air circulation they can purchase one of those food savers, put your items in the bag and suck all the air out and then store them in the safe without any worries.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for First Alert 2092DF 1.31 Cubic Foot Waterproof 1-Hour Fire Safe with Digital Lock

Great Safe that combines digital, waterproof& fire

09/07/2012
By ,
Independence, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was the size we were looking for, and just what we wanted in combining digital opening, waterproof and firesafe. It also was shipped right to our home for only $4.97. That was much better than picking it up at a store (weight about 90 lbs), and so reasonable. It arrived in very sturdy packaging by Fed Ex, and arrived very quickly. The price was very reasonable (much less than a safe would have cost at a locksmith, key, and safe dealer). The only problem we had was when I went to put in my own security code, at first it would not take it. I called the manufacturers toll free number and the girl I talked to in Customer Service immediately told me what to do. I was told that my manual had the set up instructions reversed, so that I had to open up the front cover before pushing re-set button on the door. The instructions said to push the re-set button, then open the cover, then put in your own code, and this was why it originally did not work. She said that some manuals were printed wrong, so if you buy one, be aware of this sequence. The digital opening has worked fine ever since.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for First Alert 2092DF 1.31 Cubic Foot Waterproof 1-Hour Fire Safe with Digital Lock

Well worth the money

06/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lets face it, you aren't here looking for a safe to protect tens of thousands of dollars worth of items...you're here for something that will give a little protection and piece of mind. This can be bolted down to the floor (you'll need to drill) and will provide some security but if you're looking for something high dollar, go elsewhere and spend it. This is a great safe for the price and well worth it. Yes, the handle seems a little cheap and the key pad isn't top of the line but that's how First Alert is able to give you a safe this size for an affordable price. This isn't the safe for you if you're constantly going to be in and out of it on a daily basis but is perfect for a small stash of cash and to safeguard important papers and documents.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for First Alert 2092DF 1.31 Cubic Foot Waterproof 1-Hour Fire Safe with Digital Lock

Exactly what I expected.

07/05/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This safe meets our expectations. We needed a safe place to store documents, etc. while our home is listed for sale. Simple to setup - read those directions thru a time or two before activating - everything works just as it should. It is bigger inside than I thought, that's a good thing. The shelf can be used to divide the interior or not; the holder/compartment on the door keeps frequently used papers (like passports) EZ to retrieve. We are satisfied. (sorry, UPS man, I know it was heavy).
My daughter ordered one after I told her about ours.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for First Alert 2092DF 1.31 Cubic Foot Waterproof 1-Hour Fire Safe with Digital Lock

Nice safe but it can't be bolted down

02/26/2014
By ,
Coeur d Alene, ID
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a very nice safe but it can't be bolted down so I returned it to seller. Manufacturer's representative told me that drilling holes in order to bolt down this safe would void the warranty. He recommended the First Alert 2092DF-BD ("bd" means the safe can be bolted down.).
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for First Alert 2092DF 1.31 Cubic Foot Waterproof 1-Hour Fire Safe with Digital Lock

solid

01/08/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Safe is a quality product that appears to be well made. It fits in the closet, and is heavy enough that the casual thief will not walk away with it unnoticed.
We now have peace of mind when lots of people are at the house that no one will decide to slip into a bedroom and open the dresser drawer, helping themselves to what little jewelry we have. Likewise, when we are out of town for an extended period the laptop computers and external harddrives can be secured on the off chance that someone breaks in.
We've also put important papers in the safe for fire protection.
Overall, a good value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for First Alert 2092DF 1.31 Cubic Foot Waterproof 1-Hour Fire Safe with Digital Lock

awesome first safe

01/11/2014
By ,
ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love my new safe. I love that this is electronic but HAS A BACKUP KEY. I ordered one thinking that they would all come with key in case the electronics went bad but it didn't. So I returned it and got this one. It is perfect size.. pretty BIG actually lol. I have not found a problem with it yet. Love the keypad and how it lights up.mm plus I ordered it on the 1st of the year. And it said it wouldn't be here tol the 7th or 8th and I got it on the 3rd. Crazy but AWESOME. 1000% satisfied.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for First Alert 2092DF 1.31 Cubic Foot Waterproof 1-Hour Fire Safe with Digital Lock

Great for home security and peace of mind.

06/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent value. Very easy to use and I like the override key as backup. Great for those important documents and valuables that you would like quick access to instead of a bank box.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for First Alert 2092DF 1.31 Cubic Foot Waterproof 1-Hour Fire Safe with Digital Lock

Was expecting item of less quality for the price.

11/20/2012
By ,
WY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This safe is exceptional in quality and its heavy. Keypad has a nice cover to protect from battery drain if something is propped up against the pad, also lights up for night time entry. The external key is a necessary option if batteries discharge before you have a chance to change them. Low battery indicator on pad should help to abate using the key. Easy to change the combination and the mechanical override lets you test your combo before the door is shut. Battery replacement is a snap and easy to get to. Rubber feet on bottom to limit moment on smooth surfaces. The hidden hinge adds style and security. Its a no brainier to give your valuables and data a level of affordable protection from fire and water.
Very happy with this purchase, free in store delivery, how cool is that?
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for First Alert 2092DF 1.31 Cubic Foot Waterproof 1-Hour Fire Safe with Digital Lock

Safe is just OK...

12/04/2010
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I researched safes well before I decided on this one. I needed a safe to store some valuables, paper documents and back-up CD's. What sold me on this safe, was that it was the right size, fireproof/waterproof and only $200. I also liked the concealed hinges, back-lit keypad, key back-up and the fact you didn't need the key to open the safe in conjunction w/your code.
The positives: The packaging was excellent from Walmart and you can't beat free shipping to home, which was fairly fast, less than 2 weeks. It's surprisingly roomy inside and the shelf and compartment in the door is handy. The back-lit keypad w/key back-up is awesome and it was a breeze to program. It's heavy, so I'm not worried about someone walking off w/it (but I would keep it out of sight). It looks nice.
The negatives: The safe arrived kind of oily and very cold and damp, inside and out. This was fairly minor and temporary, but did take 6 hours of drying (after wiping down) w/a fan and electric heater. Next, the overall quality of this safe is pretty cheap. I was expecting it to be more solid. First, the door does not shut all the way when closed. It sticks out about 1/8" of an inch. It makes me question the integrity of this thing in a fire or from a would be criminal. Although, even w/the door fully shut, I don't think it would take much effort to pry this thing open. It states the locking bolts are solid steel, but they sure don't look or feel like it. And even if they are, I bet the plastic door would crumble fairly easily if someone had a crow bar. But my main concern is w/a fire and this thing lasting as long as they claim, especially w/a slightly ajar door. Lastly, the entire safe is made of plastic, including the whole handle and keypad assembly. It just has a cheap feel to it.
I give this thing 3 stars, at best. The quality just isn't there and it didn't meet my expecations. I've had it less than a week and contemplated returning it for these issues, but I don't think it's worth the hassle. If I had to do it over though, I would probably get the First Alert 2.0 metal safe and skip this one. Hope this helps.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+60points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for First Alert 2092DF 1.31 Cubic Foot Waterproof 1-Hour Fire Safe with Digital Lock

Manual issued with the safe has errors...

06/06/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Could not get the safe to accept our code. After many tries and calling customer service still could not get the safe to accept our code. Was about to give up and return the safe, then decided to give customer service one more try. This time I spoke to a lady who was very versed on this safe. She told me of an error in the manual. I follower her instructions and everything worked fine after that. Kept the safe.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for First Alert 2092DF 1.31 Cubic Foot Waterproof 1-Hour Fire Safe with Digital Lock

First Alert 1.31 Cu. Foot Digital Waterproof Fires

01/17/2011
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
the safe came very fast and well packed. When I first open the package, I was pretty impress with the looks of the safe, very sturdy in fact. The hinges were hidden and the safe is pretty heavy, which makes it kinda hard for one person to carry around without gears. The programing part was fairly easy since it came with pretty cleared explanations. It fit perfectly in my closet, a pretty discrete location which almost like "hiding in plain sight if I just throw some decorations item on the top of it. The interior is very spacious, which I can fit all of my paperwork. I can also fit 2 15" laptops in there on the top of a whole bunch of paperwork. The only one thing that I think is not up to my expectation was the plastic handle of the door, which is not as sturdy as the rest of the safe but overall, I am pretty satisfied with the product at the price I've paid for. There is another version of the safe that came with an metal/aluminum handle but cost a bit more.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for First Alert 2092DF 1.31 Cubic Foot Waterproof 1-Hour Fire Safe with Digital Lock

Very necessary

01/03/2008
By ,
Canyon, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the price this is an excellent safe. It was easy for me and my husband to program. The space inside feels bigger than what you think when you look at it online.
Store delivery was also very good.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for First Alert 2092DF 1.31 Cubic Foot Waterproof 1-Hour Fire Safe with Digital Lock

Digital Pad Does Not Work

10/04/2011
By ,
Indianapolis, IN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
First, let me say that I bought a Model 2087D digital safe 3 years ago to secure my guns. Being in law enforcement, I open that safe virtually 2 or more times every day. I have changed the combination several times and the batteries 3 times, and it has worked flawlessly. I wouldn't have anything but a digital safe. I bought my first Model 2092D safe in July 2011 to hold important papers. I bought it because it was like my 2087D, but .5 cu. ft. more for only $1 more. In the beginning it seemed to work great. I changed the combination...just like I did on my 2087D...as the digital lock is identical to my 2087D. It worked great for approximately a week. Then it started beeping like a heart monitor...about 1 beep per second...and all of the numbers and lights on the key pad blinked in sync with the beeping. Pressing keys had no effect, and the safe had to be opened with the tubular key. I took the batteries out, and put them back in to reset it, and a week later the beeping and blinking lights started again. Putting new, fresh batteries in the safe did not help, as a week later it did it again. As a result, I took it back to Walmart, and ordered another. On the new one, I put the batteries in and opened the safe using the preset combination a couple of times. Everything worked fine. I then changed the combination to my own, and opened it twice. Everything appeared to be fine. Then, a couple of minutes later, the safe suddenly made a continuous, solid beep sound that lasted for about 3 seconds. The sound started at a regular volume for this safe and then continuously went softer, like the battery was running down. After the 3 or so seconds, the safe went basically dead. When I pressed the numerics on the keypad, all I got was silence and the red light would blink when the numerics were pressed, and the safe would not open. Fresh batteries got exactly the same response. This one will also be going back for a refund, and there will be no third purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for First Alert 2092DF 1.31 Cubic Foot Waterproof 1-Hour Fire Safe with Digital Lock

Great safe for the money!

04/08/2014
By ,
Milwaukee, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We checked around and were looking for something a little bigger inside than the typical 1.2 cubic ft. safes. We had some trays we wanted to fit in and the "standard" size was about an inch too small inside. This one looks great... and fits the stuff we needed to fit inside.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for First Alert 2092DF 1.31 Cubic Foot Waterproof 1-Hour Fire Safe with Digital Lock

Well worth the money

07/14/2010
By ,
Independence, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading the reviews on this product I decided that this was the Safe for me. I ordered it on walmart.com and had it shipped to my local store, for free ( 0.97c), which was very convenient. 9 days from ordering, it arrived at my local store. I was delighted with the safe. It was just what I wanted. Having read the instructions very carefully I began to set up my personal passcode. Up to this point everything went according to the instructions. However, when I came to "Programming a Personal Passcode" things went down hill fast. I spent a good half hour trying to program my Passcode, without success. It was during this period that I experienced the Security Lockout Periods, which is a great feature of this safe. For added security, the safe will automatically "Lockout" entry for 15 minutes after three attempts to open with an invalid Passcode. I decided to swollow my pride and call Consumer Affairs at First Alert. The Lady I spoke to was very pleasant and helpful. Immediately I told her the problem I was having she knew the answer. Paragraphs 1 & 2 on the Programming a Personal Passcode Section of the Instruction Manual had been reversed when it was printed. All I had to do was change para 1 to para 2 and para 2 to para 1. Once I did that I had no problems with the programming. I am delighted with this safe.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for First Alert 2092DF 1.31 Cubic Foot Waterproof 1-Hour Fire Safe with Digital Lock

Great product so far

03/03/2008
By ,
Algonquin, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reviewing several brands, we liked the Honeywell description the best. We like the security features and the inside hinges. Great price online at walmart.com. Easy to setup, took about 5-10mins to read, test and set our combination.
Only complaint was it took 1 month to be ready at the store. Way to long for a product that showed in stock at the time for ordering.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for First Alert 2092DF 1.31 Cubic Foot Waterproof 1-Hour Fire Safe with Digital Lock

Good for the price

11/05/2013
By ,
Portland, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We've only had it a week, but I can comment it is very sizable and easy to set up with password security. It states it's waterproof and fireproof, but only for 1 hour. Holds all of our important papers easily on one shelf and our handguns and ammo on another. (While grandkids are visiting)
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for First Alert 2092DF 1.31 Cubic Foot Waterproof 1-Hour Fire Safe with Digital Lock

Loving my new safe

03/13/2014
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is beyond my expectations. It's heavy duty so it anyone attempts to steal it wont be too easy without being noticed. Although it is heavy in weight it is a good size that fits in the perfect spot without getting in the way. I would def. recommend this to anyone. It's worth the money!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 152 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next