Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for First Alert First Alert 2087F 0.94 Cubic Foot Water, Fire, and Theft Combination Safe

First Alert First Alert 2087F 0.94 Cubic Foot Water, Fire, and Theft Combination Safe

Protect your documents, electronics, and other valuables from theft, fire and water damage by keeping them in the First Alert 2087F 0.94 Cubic Foot Water, Fire, and Theft Combination Safe. This safe's anti-theft features include patented pry-resistant concealed hinges, 4 number combination dial security lock and 4 solid locking bolts. The solid construction and water tight seal of this sleek black safe prevents water damage to the contents caused by flooding or by water used in fighting a fire and keeps the safe's interior dry even when fully submerged. The First Alert 2087F is UL classified for 1 hour to withstand an external temperature of 1700 degrees Fahrenheit while maintaining an internal temperature of less than 350 degrees Fahrenheit. The safe has been tested by an independent testing lab and verified to protect digital media from fire damage including memory sticks, CD's, DVD's and external hard drives.
Average Customer Rating:
4.538 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(78 Reviews) 68
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
51
4 stars
22
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation95%74 out of 78reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
14 Questions | 40 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
51
4 stars
22
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for First Alert 2087F 0.94 Cubic Foot Water, Fire, and Theft Combination Safe

The perfect safe to store valuables.

09/30/2011
By ,
Vancouver, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This safe weighs 83 pounds empty. It's now over 100 pounds with all of my valuables inside. No one is going to pick it up and run away with it. It's water proof as well as fire proof and I had no problem with the combination if you read the instructions on how many times to turn the dial. It uses a four number code. I feel that it is a very well built safe and my valuables are secure. It has plenty of room for what I have stored inside.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for First Alert 2087F 0.94 Cubic Foot Water, Fire, and Theft Combination Safe

What you don't know and should

03/09/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So I just bought this safe. I think it is a great price for a solid, extremely secure fire and waterproof safe and does what it should but what you should know is:
1. It's dark blue, not grey like the pictures.
2. The combination is preset and CAN NOT be changed.
3. You CAN NOT bolt it down (though it is 80lbs)
4. The storage pouch on the inside of the door can only hold about a 1/4 inch thick pamphlet 8 inches wide. (like two passports side by side). It's not really a pouch.
5. There is a 1x1x2 inch well on the top of the door (inside). Don't know what it was meant for but it's size could hold only one roll of film (maybe that's its intent?)
The shelf is adjustable to about 1 inch increments.
My Downside:
If I had known you can't change the spin dial combo, I would have bought the digital safe to be able to program and change the lock code myself. (It's easier to remember your own numbers) And getting the digital version you get an extra .3cuft as a plus.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+113points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for First Alert 2087F 0.94 Cubic Foot Water, Fire, and Theft Combination Safe

Perfect!

02/24/2009
By ,
Indianapolis, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice sized safe for the $! I really like that it's a firesafe AND waterproof! As I'm technically oriented, the 4-digit combo doesn't present a problem. In fact, it's a big plus as it makes it more secure. I just can't see paying twice the price for the same safe with a digit pad. Dial is sturdy and made of METAL. Includes two override keys - very nice. I put everything I could think of in there - Extra checks, birth certificates, vehicle title, credit cards, passport - and there's still a LOT of room. I could fit my laptop in there easily (15").
I think the option of floor-mounting hardware would have been nice, but that would have just led to my ruining the floor.
I'm very happy with this safe!
Note - color different from website photo. Mine is a dark blue-green (classic 'Cisco' chassis color for you geeks). Just makes me like it even more.
I used the "Site-to-Store"; total cost $145. The wait was a little tedious (11 days), but beats paying to ship an 81lb safe. Excellent price for peace of mind!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for First Alert 2087F 0.94 Cubic Foot Water, Fire, and Theft Combination Safe

Honeywell .94 Cu. Ft. Waterproof Firesafe

11/29/2009
By ,
Garner, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was nervous about ordering any safe due to some of the negative comments about several safe manufacturers posted on various sites. However, the Honeywell .94 cu. ft. safe arrived in perfect condition with the manual and the override keys. The instructions were very easy to follow and everything worked the first time. The size is fine for storing papers, computer disks, and some small valuables if desired. It's fireproof (1 hr.) and waterproof and has it no electronics -- what I was looking for. It cannot be bolted to the floor since it is waterproof.
I (being an "older" guy) was able to get the safe in the house and up some stairs easily with a hand cart.
The Wal-Mart staff was friendly, helpful, and very courteous when I arrived to pick it up at my selected store. They sent a man to assist me with loading the safe in my SUV which was appreciated.
I rarely do reviews, but this one is worth it. Based on my experience and the quality of the safe I received, I'd definitely recommend it to others with similar needs.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for First Alert 2087F 0.94 Cubic Foot Water, Fire, and Theft Combination Safe

Decent Product, but I hope to never need it

07/01/2011
By ,
Columbia, SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this fireproof/waterproof safe primarily to store important documents. It's probably over kill for what I need, but I figured I'd get a bigger one and keep it for the rest of my life.
The interior space is quite roomy. There's a decent video review that was helpful in displaying the interior dimensions with a ream of paper.
The combination is quite difficult to enter correctly. It took both me and my wife several attempts at unlocking it with the combination to get it successfully. The key over-ride is simple, and much quicker. The handle that you use to open the safe feels fairly flimsy compared to the rest of the safe, which is built like a tank.
This kind of thing is like insurance. I hope to never find out how fireproof or flood proof it is.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for First Alert 2087F 0.94 Cubic Foot Water, Fire, and Theft Combination Safe

2087F Great Safe

11/08/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Plenty of room,sturdy,combo easy to work. Remember this is a security safe and all safes like this wether First Alert, Sentry, Honeywell etc. has used the 4_3_2_1 combo for decades. It is for security, and is not a master lock that a 14 yr.old boy can crack in 5 min. No you cannot change the combo yourself. if you realy hate the preset combo, check with a locksmith, they "may" be able to change it. This might void the warrantee and F.A. won't be able to help you if you lose the combo. For those that want to bolt down, spend the $3-$10 extra for the2087F-BD, it comes with the bolt down hardware and floor template .
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for First Alert 2087F 0.94 Cubic Foot Water, Fire, and Theft Combination Safe

I likey

03/13/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like my new safe. Its kinda hard to get the whole combination thing down cause its a 4 digit combination, but then thats ok cause it makes me feel like my stuff is that much more protected.
On top of that if you dont like the 4 number combination do what I do - use the key! I seldom have to get into my safe, but when I do I just use the overide key.
Good price, good product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for First Alert 2087F 0.94 Cubic Foot Water, Fire, and Theft Combination Safe

Good Value

03/12/2009
By ,
Hope ME
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good space, waterproof, and fire-resistant for 1 hour. For the price, it's a solid value, and the best I could find. Picked it up at the store and saved shipping too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for First Alert 2087F 0.94 Cubic Foot Water, Fire, and Theft Combination Safe

Solid

02/18/2008
By ,
Norfolk, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does what it is supposed to do. Get the Electronic lock if you are opening it frequently.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for First Alert 2087F 0.94 Cubic Foot Water, Fire, and Theft Combination Safe

Easy to use with a key or combo

11/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
adjustable shelf, simple instructions, supposed to be a bolt in option but no bolts and no instructions for that came with it. Obviously not a safe safe but good for records and hard drive back ups, etc.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for First Alert 2087F 0.94 Cubic Foot Water, Fire, and Theft Combination Safe

Great Product

11/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The safe met all my expectations and more. It arrived when promised. Measurements were accurate so it fit into the space I had alloted. the quality is excellent.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for First Alert 2087F 0.94 Cubic Foot Water, Fire, and Theft Combination Safe

Safe

11/02/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product at a good price...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for First Alert 2087F 0.94 Cubic Foot Water, Fire, and Theft Combination Safe

Great small safe

10/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like that the hinges are hidden. About the only thing I would change would be to make it where you could change the combination to one that you already know.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for First Alert 2087F 0.94 Cubic Foot Water, Fire, and Theft Combination Safe

Love it

03/29/2011
By ,
Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just received this today.
I was worried about using the combination after reading the online reviews so I tried that right away--I did it twice with no problems either time. It has a sticker on the front that tells the direction and number of times to turn for each number.
I tried both keys and they worked also.
Delivery only took 3 days and it arrived in perfect shape. Not bad for 97 cents!
Very pleased with this purchase!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for First Alert 2087F 0.94 Cubic Foot Water, Fire, and Theft Combination Safe
11/27/2007
By ,
Chattanooga, TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This safe is for the occasional user. If I had to get into it everyday, I wouldn't like it too much. It takes several seconds and concentration to enter the combination. However, if you are looking for a heavy/fire-proof safe to hold things that you don't access everyday, then this is a great buy. I got it for passports, birth certificates, etc. and it's perfect for that. If I had to buy it over again, I would probably get the electronic lock for $30 or so more. If you use it once a week or less, this will be fine for you. But if you are going to be accessing it daily then I would get the electronic lock.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for First Alert 2087F 0.94 Cubic Foot Water, Fire, and Theft Combination Safe

Very good product.

04/29/2009
By ,
West Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like this safe, it's a little complicated to open but after all it is a safe and i didn't want it to be too easy. After reading the instructions, it's not that hard. And there is the over-ride key if it's too hard to open.
I'll give it five stars.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for First Alert 2087F 0.94 Cubic Foot Water, Fire, and Theft Combination Safe

big drawback

04/17/2009
By ,
Greenbrier Ar
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This safe was a bad purchase. If you buy it, you will probably be disapointed(like i was) and regret it.
The combination dial is extremely confusing to figure out how many turns you need to make and the combination numbers were written in non-legible handwriting on a sticker on the front of the safe when it arrived. I spent hours trying to figure out what the numbers were and trying to figure the dial itself out and i still have not been able to open the safe without the override key.
The combination numbers are not easy to retrieve from the company because of thievery issues, and if you dont know a notory public, your screwed.
Also, the handle is plastic and looks as if it would break off fairly easy.
Some good things about the safe are that the safe seems durable and heavy enough, with plenty of storage space, although the material it is made of is some kind of plastic.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
-14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for First Alert 2087F 0.94 Cubic Foot Water, Fire, and Theft Combination Safe

a Safe purchase

09/11/2008
By ,
Denver, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was pleased with the quality, I didn't expect the extra option of a security key that was provided if the combo is forgotten or quick access needed. I used these reviews before I purchased and they were very helpful.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for First Alert 2087F 0.94 Cubic Foot Water, Fire, and Theft Combination Safe

Great product

06/29/2014
By ,
Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great little safe. I use it to secure a gun, jewlery, and important documents. The safe only weighs about 80 lbs, so it can be lifted and carried out of your home. However, its not likely a robber would do that because its too cumbersome. The only drawback to this product is that the combination is factory set and you can't change it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for First Alert 2087F 0.94 Cubic Foot Water, Fire, and Theft Combination Safe

Great safe w/o the security

03/25/2013
By ,
Willamette Valley, Oregon
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If you're looking for a waterproof firesafe then I believe this will meet your expectations. I would have loved to see a few more "security" measures built into it.
I would have loved to have the following options available:
1. Purchaser able to change the combo.
2. Double key by-pass.
3, Mountable to wall or floor.
The safe does not advertise itself as nothing more than a waterproof firesafe, so I should have read a little farther before making my purchase. Great construction and it functions as advertised.
Overall, it's a great buy...
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 69 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next