Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for First Alert First Alert 2013F .17 Cu. Ft. Fire and Water Protector Chest

First Alert First Alert 2013F .17 Cu. Ft. Fire and Water Protector Chest

The First Alert 2013F .17 Cu. Ft. Fire and Water Protector Chest will securely store all your important documents, such as birth certificates, licenses and computer back-up devices. The First Alert security box will protect your valuables from water, fire and natural disaster. This 17 cu. ft. First Alert waterproof fire safe is a UL classified media protection device that can withstand an external temperature up to 1550 degrees for ¿¿ hour and independently verified to protect electronic media, such as memory sticks, CD's, DVD's and external hard drives. The safe also features a waterproof seal which protects your valuables if the case happened to be sprayed or even submerged in water. The First Alert 2013F .17 Cu. Ft. Fire and Water Protector Chest features a handle for carrying convenience and is secured by a clamping style latch with key lock. All First Alert products are covered
Average Customer Rating:
4.312 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(64 Reviews) 49
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
39
4 stars
14
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation89%57 out of 64reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 21 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
39
4 stars
14
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for First Alert 2013F .17 Cu. Ft. Fire and Water Protector Chest

Does the job

07/30/2011
By ,
17701
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have not actually tested if it is waterproof or fireproof, but assuming it is like it is says it is, GREAT! :) The only issue was my external harddrive barely fit and I couldn't fit my 8.5x11 paper work in there because it was to small. But not a big deal, they sell larger ones.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for First Alert 2013F .17 Cu. Ft. Fire and Water Protector Chest

Decent safe if you don't mind mold!

07/09/2012
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I started out very pleased with this safe, even though when I first opened it the instruction manual was kind of moldy. I figured it was just a fluke and no big deal. Until week after week, month after month, everything I put in the safe, especially money started to show the signs and smells of mold! After speaking with First Alert representatives on two separate occasions I learned that this was common and the only way to prevent mold was to never open the safe! I was also told that despite not being in the instruction manual the "hidden" safe is required to be taken out and aired out for 20 minutes every two weeks to do something?, but not stop the mold. The price was good, but having everything moldy without the waterproof safe ever getting wet is just not worth the price. Part of the reason I bought the safe was for the waterproof part, (I live in a flood prone house) but now I'm terrified at how moldy things will get if the safe actually gets wet.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for First Alert 2013F .17 Cu. Ft. Fire and Water Protector Chest

good product

07/17/2009
By ,
pembroke pines, fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
after extensive research i finally made a decision. i was looking for something inexpensive (found it ). i was looking for something solid ( found it ). i have only owned the product for a few months. it has never gotten wet or been subject to a fire. so i am unable to rate that. overall it met my needs and the lock mechanism is solid.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for First Alert 2013F .17 Cu. Ft. Fire and Water Protector Chest

a needed product

06/22/2008
By ,
Clarksburg,WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband & I bought this item to keep our important papers in. Works well, but smaller that we thought. Very strong product.........everything fit in it but if we have more things to add, we may have to buy another one. Overall very happy with the product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for First Alert 2013F .17 Cu. Ft. Fire and Water Protector Chest

this is a very good product, Its at a great deal..

07/01/2014
By ,
saluda sc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is at a great deal.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for First Alert 2013F .17 Cu. Ft. Fire and Water Protector Chest

Very Sturdy

06/26/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Product seems as advertised.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for First Alert 2013F .17 Cu. Ft. Fire and Water Protector Chest

Works for what I Need

08/19/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the price, you get a lot. It's bigger (and heavier - almost 15 pounds) than I thought it would be. If you want standard printing paper to fit inside of it though, you will probably have to fold it.
The instructions say to air out for twenty minutes every two weeks. It also mentions putting whatever you put inside of the safe inside an air-tight bag. Maybe because, though it is waterproof, it's only water proof for a certain duration of time? I think I remember reading a review about someone getting this safe with mold inside of it. It might be because of that too. Mine was mold-free and the inside had one of those gel silica pouches. I threw it out and put my stuff in sandwich bags. I've only had this thing for about two weeks, so that's how far my insight stretches out.
Mine came with 2 small keys. They feel like they could be easily broken (metal part) if you're messing around with it. But they're labeled "fire proof safe" or something like that if you look closely. So you can tell what's it for if you have a million keys. Not so great if you don't want burglars reading it and going, "Oh, okay! Let's find the safe!" There's also a number on the keys. If anything every happens to your keys, you can order a new one. You just have to tell the company what the number on the key was and pay for shipping I think.
The instructions didn't really help me close it properly. But here's how you do it... First, for opening... put key in and turn to the unlocked lock picture. Press the button and it will open. To shut it, close the lid and snap the rectangular lock spot back into place (NOW turn the key to the locked lock picture). Otherwise you won't get it to shut. It's not hard to open after you figure it out.
Few last things... I'm not trusting of the handle's strength if you want to carry it that way. The instructions said NOT to place it on its side in storage, but it may not protect stuff the same way if a fire happens. Lastly, there's a five year warranty in case there *is* something like a fire. There's a one-year warranty on something else, but I forget what.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for First Alert 2013F .17 Cu. Ft. Fire and Water Protector Chest

Great Safe

06/05/2014
By ,
rutherfordton,nc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very well made,worth the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for First Alert 2013F .17 Cu. Ft. Fire and Water Protector Chest

Not what i expected....

06/22/2011
By ,
Long island,NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Wont recommend at all, first time locekd and thats it dont open with its own key..thanx god i didnt keep my any stuff in it yet..was just checking its Lock...
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for First Alert 2013F .17 Cu. Ft. Fire and Water Protector Chest

Safe for home

11/01/2011
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This safe is ok but a bit heavy for myself. Can not understand why I need to put my papers and such inside an airtight dishwasher safe container before putting them into my safe. It is supposed to be waterproof and fireproof so why do I need to do that? Wish I had not bought it but I have it now so will keep it. You also have to open it up and let it air out for 20 minutes every two weeks.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for First Alert 2013F .17 Cu. Ft. Fire and Water Protector Chest

Excellent

05/04/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Met my expectations.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for First Alert 2013F .17 Cu. Ft. Fire and Water Protector Chest

Not what I expected.

12/12/2013
By ,
FT Lauderdale, FL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I returned the product. The instructions said that you had to put your belongings in plastic bags and open the chest every couple of weeks. That wasn't what I wanted.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for First Alert 2013F .17 Cu. Ft. Fire and Water Protector Chest

Great For The Price

07/25/2008
By ,
St. Louis, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a very small fire & water proof lockbox but is much better than the Sentry version I owned previously. Performs exactly as advertised and is a great buy for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for First Alert 2013F .17 Cu. Ft. Fire and Water Protector Chest
03/22/2011
By ,
Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just needed something small to hold the important papers and things and this is perfect!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for First Alert 2013F .17 Cu. Ft. Fire and Water Protector Chest

Wonderful Product

08/08/2007
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product is and was all that I expected it to be. I just wish it would hold more.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for First Alert 2013F .17 Cu. Ft. Fire and Water Protector Chest

very small inside

04/19/2012
By ,
Thermopolis Wyoming
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
this safe was very small inside and it had been dropped and 2 corners were broken. I took it back to walmart and got a slightly larger one that is big enough for what i need
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for First Alert 2013F .17 Cu. Ft. Fire and Water Protector Chest

Is what it claims to be

08/12/2013
By ,
North Las Vegas, NV
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A great tool to store passport and back up computer software. I would not recommend this box for valuables subject to theft as it would be easy to defeat the lock. It is not a strong-box! I would prefer it if there was a product like this without a lock on it so a burglar would be less inclined to carry it away. As it is, I have it marked as not containing anything of monetary value and leave the key in the lock.
I was able to place quite a few computer back up and recovery DVD's as well as important papers inside. It was nice to have several size options. As usual WalMart shipment was inexpensive and timely.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for First Alert 2013F .17 Cu. Ft. Fire and Water Protector Chest

Not big enough

05/23/2013
By ,
Rockaways, New York
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this because the description says it can fit letter size papers inside. I needed it for a life insurance policy that can't be folded. It does not fit inside. I have to return it. Other than that it seemed fine.
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for First Alert 2013F .17 Cu. Ft. Fire and Water Protector Chest

A little small

12/10/2013
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The type of chest is ideal but the size is a bit too small. Couldn't fit a 8 1/2 x 11 document.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for First Alert 2013F .17 Cu. Ft. Fire and Water Protector Chest

Great value.

11/22/2013
By ,
Atlanta, Ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Was pleasantly surprised when I opened the box. Very roomy inside. Not easy to pick up and run with. Great price for the size. Over all I love this product. I recommend the First Alert Fire and Water protector Chest to everyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 50 total reviews
1 2 3 Next