Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for RCA RCA 1000W Home Theater System, RT2770

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

RCA RCA 1000W Home Theater System, RT2770

The RCA 100W Home Theater delivers an unparalleled audio experience via four 150W speakers, a 200W center speaker and a 200W subwoofer. A USB port enables you to connect your MP3 player or digital camera, and the AM/FM tuner provides maximum station accuracy with minimal drift.
Average Customer Rating:
3.714 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
13
4 stars
12
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation71%25 out of 35reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
13
4 stars
12
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for RCA 1000W Home Theater System, RT2770

Disapointment.....

01/06/2008
By ,
Rockledge, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this product to upgrade from an older, much less expensive Durabrand theater system. I was very enthusiastic about the power ratings and some of the good reviews posted here. After I connected everything, and made all of the necessary setup adjustments I gave it a try. Nothing happened at first and I thought it might be defective. After several seconds the sound came up but it had nowhere near the sound quality and power of my old system. At maximum volume, it is just at the level I would normally set a home theater to. I personally was disapointed with the power and sound quality I expected from RCA on this unit. I will be returning the system.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 2 for RCA 1000W Home Theater System, RT2770

Maybe Just a Faulty Unit

01/20/2008
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this home theatre system last night and I am disappointed thus far. I hooked it up, easy installation, pretty cut and dry. The rear R and L speakers could have had longer wire. But I just spliced extra wire. Not a huge inconvenience. But when I went to turn it on, "welcome" came up on the front of the unit, but it was stuck on that and I was unable to change my source, TV, DVD, etc. From the remote and the unit itself. I am returning the unit today. Maybe it was just a faulty unit. I'll try and get one more and see if I just picked a lemon.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 3 for RCA 1000W Home Theater System, RT2770

JAKksez

07/13/2007
By ,
oroville,ca
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
NOT GOOD did not work through t.v.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-1point
Review 4 for RCA 1000W Home Theater System, RT2770

JUNK

07/23/2007
By ,
Overland Park, KS
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not only did this item not work through the T.V. after 22 days of owning it, it locked up and quit working!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 5 for RCA 1000W Home Theater System, RT2770

DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT

08/05/2007
By ,
Aurora, CO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this product yesterday and a few hours later I had to take it back due to every time I turned up the volume it kept shutting off. The speakers were horrible and in some functions I could hardly here it. The sound started at a maximum of 50. A few hours later it was down to 41. When I took this back, the customer service associate said it was the 2nd returned today. I then got the similar Sony product which was on sale and so far so good
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 6 for RCA 1000W Home Theater System, RT2770

A Mistake

09/25/2007
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased this product because the specs were to die for. The price was to good to be true! I was hoping to set it up in my dorm so i could overpower the neighbors and i figured hey with 1000watts i will be unstoppable. I was very very wrong. I found out that you have to have the origonal subwoofer hooked up in order to use an external. I hooked up my 15" Kicker to it and cranked the volume all the way to be very upset. I had it on stereo and changed all the eq's to see if it would change my mind. The subwoofer barely even moved!! My car amplifier that puts out 120watts sounded three times louder!(i know its a smaller area but for the wattage it should be = ) Outrage! i wouldnt suggest this product for its wattage but leaving on a good note; the center and satellites were super clear and if you just wanted it for the surround effect. Go for it. As for bass lovers this is in the totally opp. direction to go. Live and learn.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 7 for RCA 1000W Home Theater System, RT2770

Not happy with this purchase

08/12/2007
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I just bought this system yesterday evening and am returning it today. The sound quality is good, however, the system would not work when I selected cable, there was no sound at all. If I selected VCR, 3 speakers would play. If i selected DVD only certain channels had sound, it sounded good though. I am frustrated with trying to troubleshoot the problems...its just time to return and get a different brand.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 8 for RCA 1000W Home Theater System, RT2770

Don't Waste Your Time or Money

11/13/2007
By ,
North Topsail Beach, NC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this product to replace my 20 plus year old surround sound system. My older system sounded better than this one! The sound volume level leaves a lot to be desired. The number of input ports for all the equipment I have is sorely lacking. You will need to buy a switch with this setup if you have more than a DVD player and TV.
This one is going back tomorrow, when I will turn around and purchase what I hope to be a good theater system.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 9 for RCA 1000W Home Theater System, RT2770

Not pro stuff...

01/16/2008
By ,
East Texas
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Okay, so I knew it wasn't the real thing... but I thot it would be good enough. Great features, great sound... but less that 2 hours in the sub started to rattle. We were listening to James Taylor (solo) and then Alison Krauss. Dunno if I'll exchange it for another just like it and give it a second chance... or if I'll just have to go for a better made product. You cannot take it apart to remedy things like this. It's a sealed unit. I'm disappointed, but... it did sound really good for a little while...
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for RCA 1000W Home Theater System, RT2770

Weak sound

07/30/2007
By ,
Texas
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I found the mid-range sound on this system to be very weak, the highs and lows (subwoofer) were okay, but it had no middle. This caused some sounds to be very tinny, for example my 4 year old son watched an episode of Dora the Explorer and it made Dora's already annoying voice unbearable. I purchased this system to replace an audio receiver and AR speakers I had been using for a number of years and felt it was a step back in sound quality. However, I will say that it does sound better than the standard speakers in my TV. In the end, I returned it and purchased an Onkyo system for about $120 more. CONCLUSION: If you currently listen to your TV through the built-in speakers this is a step up, but if your looking for a full sound and can afford to spend a little more then you should.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+3points
Review 11 for RCA 1000W Home Theater System, RT2770

Great value for money

11/19/2007
By ,
Cornwall, Ontario, Canada
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have been researching alot of home theatre systems online prior to purchasing this RCA unit. I travelled about an hour out of my way and into the USA just for the cost savings and that this model has all "most" of the features tht I was looking for. It took me only about 30 minutes to set up thanks to the clear instructions. The best feature that makes this system boom is that you can preset the speakers individualy to specific levels up to a maximum of +10. I tried this system out first on " The Fast and the Furious" dvd and it rocked them I played my Ipod with the available USB input and it made my coffee mugs shake. It is best for movies though.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 12 for RCA 1000W Home Theater System, RT2770

volume doesn't go loud enough

01/13/2008
By ,
NE
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love the price ,the look of the system,the ease of installation,the sound,the remote features. The only negative thing is it is only for a smaller room as the volume doesn't go very loud which can sort of kill that "theatre" effect we were looking for.My husband loves the sound with his Xbox 360 online gaming.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for RCA 1000W Home Theater System, RT2770

Quality on a budget

10/03/2007
By ,
Gainesville, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this system from my wife for my birthday. She had me Pick it out b/c she honestly didn't know what she was looking for. I picked this system for the price, name and wattage output. 150.00 for a 1000 watts from a name i know is a great value. There wasn't a display out for this partcular model so i was kinda skeptical as to how those little nothin speakers were gonna handle that amount of power, and i was right. I hooked up the spkrs and didn't have it turned up half way before i started hearing the frnt right and left spkrs pop, and all i had on was some Blues Clues my kids were watching. A little louder and the center started popping. I wasnt too upset though b/c i had my own personal spkrs from a prev setup i had. When i tested the sub I was very pleased. Light weight easy hook-up, and it has its own on/off button. The only thing i could have asked for on the sub would have been a remote, but thats only b/c i have my TV caddy cornered, and the sub is behind the TV pointed directly in to the corner. After i finally got my own spkrs hooked up i turned the system on again and the soud was amazing. I would completely recommend this product. It's a phenomenal value for the monitor alone. I have tried to buy a recvr by itself with that kind of ouput and wasnt able to find anything cheaper than about 350.00.
Key points
*Dolby-pro II
*1000 watts
*Great sub
*Looks great
*Easy setup
*Quite possibly the best value on the market right now when comparing price and quality.
Cons
*Standard spkrs arent too hot
*Nowhere to input HDMI
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 14 for RCA 1000W Home Theater System, RT2770

great for dorms

10/04/2007
By ,
fort wainwright
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i am in the military and stationed in fort wainwright. i bought this system for my barracks room. if any knows about barracks they are awfully small. i have it hooked up to tv with fiber optic and i have my cable box and ps3 hooked up with hdmi to the tv. when i hooked it up i played a game on the ps3 and it was amazing. the sound is crystal clear. its nice to have surround sound when play fps and can hear someone walking up behind you. although it doesnt get very loud but the sound carries. i live on the 3rd floor and ppl can hear it on the 1st floor. i havent completely adjusted all the sound settings so i am sure i can get it alittle better. the sub sounds great in the room. when listening to the radio i can hear it bumping in the shower. ofcourse my roommate hates it. but o well. great product but wouldnt suggest buying for a large room
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for RCA 1000W Home Theater System, RT2770

Great System

12/21/2007
By ,
Queen Creek, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this system for my son who loves it. The variety of mode selections is the same as much higher priced systems. The sound is better than expected for a lower end system. If you want a home theater system for a great price, this is it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for RCA 1000W Home Theater System, RT2770

Good Value

01/19/2008
By ,
GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent features, easy to setup. The wattage rating must be overrated. It won't blow out the windows but its loud enough to make my wife complain. Sound is good and clear.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for RCA 1000W Home Theater System, RT2770

Really nice inexpensive theatre system

07/22/2007
By ,
Chadron, Nebraska
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I thought this was a great buy for my new Vizio 37inch tv which i also bought at Walmart. THe only problem is that i had to buy a fiber optic cable for my xbox otherwise i love the sound on this. I know there are better systems out than this but for what little money i had in my pocket this was a great buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for RCA 1000W Home Theater System, RT2770

Very Satisfied

10/21/2007
By ,
Washington, DC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have nothing but good things to say about this. The main attraction with this model for me was the Line In port. I don't use cd's since they're all on my mp3 player so this is VERY useful. The setup was EXTREMELY easy since it's basically color coordinated assembly. I live in a home basement apt unit and the surround sound is very clear all the way throughout. I definitely recommend this system for those looking for simple yet powerful systems.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for RCA 1000W Home Theater System, RT2770

okay system

11/03/2007
By ,
Bryan, Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a okay system I like all the features it has on it and the sub beats real good the front and rear speakers are clear especially on games.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 20 for RCA 1000W Home Theater System, RT2770

Best for price

08/15/2007
By ,
Constantine, Mi
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The RT2770 is by far the best home theater system for it's price. I have enjoyed the sound that this system has produced. The dolby surround sound is weak, but set it on stereo and crank it up it,the sounds is much better and louder in stereo. By far I enjoy the depth of the sound that can be produced with the 5 speakers and the subwoofer has shocked me with the amount of power it uses to the volume it creates. It's the most 200 watts to a sub that I've heard.
This would be a good gift for a college student.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
1-20 of 35 total reviews
1 2 Next