Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Dreambaby Dreambaby Madison Xtra Tall Swing Close Gate Combo Pack- Black

Dreambaby Dreambaby Madison Xtra Tall Swing Close Gate Combo Pack- Black

The quality-made Dreambaby Swing Close Gate provides an ultra-efficient safety barrier for your curious little ones. Keep them safe and confined to areas of the house where they're out of harm's way with this sturdy extra tall gate. The attractive black Dreambaby Gate is designed to fit a wide range of door openings — block doorways and entryways with widths of 28" all the way to 42 1/2" using one of the two extension gates that are included with your purchase. This tall baby gate is suitable for doorways, top and bottom of stairs, or hallways. The Dreambaby Gate conveniently opens in both directions and swings closed automatically so you'll never need to worry about closing the gate behind you when your hands are full or you're in a hurry. The Dreambaby Swing Close Gate is also ideal for keeping pets confined to specific areas of the house. Expand your Dreambaby Gate up to 53" with available, optional extensions, which can be purchased separately.
Average Customer Rating:
4.74 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(618 Reviews) 559
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
498
4 stars
103
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
11
Customer Recommendation98%603 out of 617reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
63 Questions | 343 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
498
4 stars
103
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
11
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Dreambaby Madison Xtra Tall Swing Close Gate Combo Pack- Black

We LOVE it!

03/12/2010
By ,
Appomattox, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This gate is exactly what it says. I read ALL the reviews first and still bought it. After installing and using it, I've realized that some people are either not thorough in reading instructions or not very common sensible.
You DO need to make sure it's installed just right, but when you do, it will work great.
Yes, it looks crazy crooked out of the box, but it is explained on a yellow tag attached to the gate! That's what it looks like before you install it!
The set up was SUPER SIMPLE and easy, just need to make sure both side are turned evenly. You will need to adjust it carefully to make sure the slide release latches (or it WILL open just by pushing on it) and it's not too tight and rubbing. (The instructions say to make sure there's a 4 mm gap.)
The instructions also CLEARLY say you have to lift the gate to open it...so that shouldn't be an issue either....it opens very easily. :)
There is also the issue of having the threshold at the bottom that you have to step over, but it's not huge, and not a big deal at all. :)
The only big downfall (that I KNEW about before buying anyway) is that my doorknob does hit the gate, making it unable to close the door. We fixed this issue with a bungie cord. :)
This gate is one of the only ones that was skinny enough to fit in my 28 1/2 inch doorway, so I didn't have much choice, but I'm super happy with it. NONE of my kids (or myself) can climb over it, and it does lock back by itself (unless you close it very slowly.)
Overall, I think this is the best gate we've had so far (with four kids, I've been through a few!)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+57points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Dreambaby Madison Xtra Tall Swing Close Gate Combo Pack- Black

Working great so far

09/22/2012
By ,
Rhode Island
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We installed the gate two days ago so I can't say anything about longevity yet, but it appears to be sturdy and well built. I have seen/used a couple other brands of similar gates, but this one seems much better built than others. The instructions are poor, but installation was pretty easy to figure out. We installed it in a wide kitchen door (42") to keep two large dogs in/out. We didn't use the small discs/cups in the installation; we just let the tension screws with their rubber feet/caps press directly on the door frame. So far, this appears to be quite stable. I had been worried that the gate (the swinging part that opens) would be too narrow - my wife and I are big people - but it is plenty wide. Opening the gate is a bit tricky as others have said, but it is easy to handle once you get the hang of it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Dreambaby Madison Xtra Tall Swing Close Gate Combo Pack- Black

BEST GATE EVER - AND WE'VE OWNED MANY ! !

01/31/2011
By ,
Gresham, Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We read all the reviews on this product and many other types of gate reviews. We purchased this gate expressly for the reason of keeping our pets out of our "office" area.
We have 13 small dogs (min pins and pomeranians). One is a min pin/pom mix and is only 3 lbs and very tiny. SHE can get through the slats (widest opening is 2 1/4"), but the other dogs cannot. This gate is terrific for the others because they would just jump up, hang on to the top of the other gates, then hoist themselves over the top. Some would just jump clear over the other gates entirely (our high jumpers). This gate even keeps out our 2 FULL-SIZE dobermans who also used to jump over the other gates.
We have several gates throughout the house and this one is BY FAR the best we have ever owned or used. SUPER SIMPLE to put together and works just like it says - opens easily by lifting up slightly, swings open either way, and closes automatically. It only doesn't latch closed if you very gently close it and stop it from latching. It's pretty too. We are going to replace all of our gates with this one.
We have the gate at an angle, snugged up against a bookshelf and my daughter's piano and it opens and closes just fine.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Dreambaby Madison Xtra Tall Swing Close Gate Combo Pack- Black

Big Gate Stops All

10/25/2010
By ,
Rochester, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a surprise. This gate was simple to install and keeps the dogs from invading the kitchen.
Tall enough to hold child or Shepherd, great design and low cost considering the materials used. . .
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Dreambaby Madison Xtra Tall Swing Close Gate Combo Pack- Black

GREAT!!!!

10/15/2008
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I Love this gate!!! It is very easy to set up. I have a 23month old and a 10 month old. I used to have the small $11 dollar gates on the bottom of the stairs but my 23 month old daughter figured out how to climb it and eventually broke it from pulling on it. It was really hard to find a gate for my stairs because they have round spindles on them, but at the top of the first spindle there is a square part (as shown in my pic), so I needed a gate that would be high enough to reach that flat surface. THe opening of my stairs is exactly 41" and this gate fits perfect for this length using BOTH the provided extensions. I used the pressure mount because I did not want to make holes in my wall or stairs and it is still very sturdy. I am very very happy with this gate. I am thinking about getting the shorter version for the top of my stairs as this one is too tall for that purpose.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Dreambaby Madison Xtra Tall Swing Close Gate Combo Pack- Black

A MUST HAVE IN EVERY HOUSE!!!

02/21/2009
By ,
Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this gate with the intentions to separate my two mini dachshunds from the rest of my house and it has done the job PERFECTLY.. My dogs are 8 and 10 pounds and they cannot get through the spaces of the gate. My kids who are 4 and 5 can open the gate just fine. It is very easy to operate and install. Requires no tools, no messing up your walls and it is a very good looking fence not your normal cheap looking gate. HANDS DOWN THE BEST MONEY SPENT ON A GATE!!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Dreambaby Madison Xtra Tall Swing Close Gate Combo Pack- Black

Excellent safety product for dogs or baby's

07/03/2013
By ,
Carnegie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this dream baby gate and wish I would have found it sooner!! It would have saved me numerous holes in my wall from using the standard drill in to wall type of baby gates. If your looking for a gate for your dogs or baby's, get this gate. There's no drilling required, you just turn the nobs on each end of the gate tight and they basically just tighten to your wall and that's how the gates held in to place. It also swings shut, and opens from each direction. I purchased my gate for my baby, but my mother suggested it to me after she saw my aunt use it for her large rotwiller dog. The gate is extremely sturdy, it's high and also looks really nice. Those other safety gates are junk and will eventually put holes in your wall like mine. You can't beat the price either. I've already spent double the price of the dream gate on the regular drill type gates. Get this gate, you will not be disappointed!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Dreambaby Madison Xtra Tall Swing Close Gate Combo Pack- Black

Works for me great.

05/01/2010
By ,
Idaho
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am the proud momma of a 7 pound Chihuahua and a 3 pound Miniature Maletse. I live in a Mobil Home Park and the fence had to meet specs to park rules...not a problem. Going in and out a gate with the dogs in the yard can be quite tricky at times if your hands are full. This gate fits perfectly in the opening for the fence gate area and it is self closing.
All you need to do is let it go. Due to the size of my babies I am very careful not to let them out so they may get hurt. This is a life saver and allows me to hold them at bay as the gate swings closed and latches automatically with no more than a slight push. It is a great product. More than enough to hold my little pups where they belong. Since I ordered it on line and had it delivered to another store in Idhao...it did take quite a while to get it here. Took about 20 minutes to adjust it with the expansions to fit our opening but once it was in, it is very sturdy. I would buy this product again.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Dreambaby Madison Xtra Tall Swing Close Gate Combo Pack- Black

Excellent and handsome gate

03/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this gate to keep my very athletic dog from jumping over a shorter gate. Although the instructions are difficult to follow, the gate is easy to install without the instructions and requires no tools unless you want to secure it with screws. It functions as advertised and closes automatically. The last feature can be a pain, but you should be able to secure the door in an open position easily. The gate opens in both directions. It is sturdy, handsome, and it keeps my dog in the room. I highly recommend it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Dreambaby Madison Xtra Tall Swing Close Gate Combo Pack- Black

Puppy gate

06/14/2008
By ,
Southern Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently became the parent of a rottewiler puppy. I quickly learned the gate I owned wasn't going to last long, so I purchased the extra tall baby gate from Wal-mart.com and am very pleased with it. My Gus is now 4 months old, weighs 41.5 lbs., and his front paws sits on the top rail of the gate. I love the convenience of the walk-through and it swings in both directions. Would recommend to anyone with a large dog. Very easy to install.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Dreambaby Madison Xtra Tall Swing Close Gate Combo Pack- Black

Great Quality

03/24/2011
By ,
Foresthill, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this gate because I'm about to have a baby boy in mid-April and wanted one that would protect him from our five dogs. They know how to jump over short gates and blocks so I needed something extra tall. After the small amount of assembly, the gate is plenty high enough, very sturdy, looks amazing, and I love how the gate opens both outwards/inwards. This gate is saving me so much trouble... no more dogs breaking into the room and destroying things! I do not have the gate in my doorway, it's in the hallway, so I used one of the extenders, which was easy to do. Very pleased and happy about this product.
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Dreambaby Madison Xtra Tall Swing Close Gate Combo Pack- Black

PERFECT!!

12/22/2011
By ,
Fort Madison, IA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We got this for my stairway inside our front door, my son is 2, and although he can do stairs very well, he is an amazing escape artist and has attempted to run out our door a couple times!! we tried the flimsy plastic and wooden ones, but he just busted through or climbed over those. this is an amazing gate, easy to assemble and it comes with screws to attach to your wall for a more permanent gate or adhesive tape which has worked just as well. It also works well for our pets!! would definitely recommend!! OH and btw.. when you first get the gate out of the box don't be worried, it may look to be off or bent, but it is supposed to be that way, it straightens up when it's installed!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Dreambaby Madison Xtra Tall Swing Close Gate Combo Pack- Black

Love it!!!!!!!!!

02/26/2013
By ,
denver,co
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This gate was very easy to install and it keeps in my big 120lb mastiff, I would buy again and i highly recommend it!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Dreambaby Madison Xtra Tall Swing Close Gate Combo Pack- Black

Just what we needed!

07/14/2010
By ,
Beaverton, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After 4 hours of running around on one day and not finding anything to fit our staircase/budget; I went online and found this gate. WE LOVE IT!!
The installation instructions are a breeze and total time took about 30 mins. I suppose it would take less time, but we have baseboards that we had to adjust the gate to. We love the height of this gate and opening it is super easy (for adults.) Our 7 year old daughter was able to open it, but had to use both hands. One for pushing the latch and other to lift the gate. Our 1 year old definitely won't be able to open this on her own.
We also love the automatic close feature and that the gate opens both ways. Those alone make this gate an awesome product.
We are using this gate for the top of the stairs, so we did use the screws to mount the gate to the walls. I (160 lbs) hung myself from it and it didn't budge.
I would definitely recommend this product. Not only is it a perfect gate, but for the money, you're get an amazing, well-made product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Dreambaby Madison Xtra Tall Swing Close Gate Combo Pack- Black

Perfect product

08/21/2010
By ,
Buford ,Ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased the gate one month ago and we love it.It is just what we need .Very tall,strong,hard to open for a kid,swings close.It was not cheap but not overpriced.It is the perfect thing on top of our steps.The only person who doesn't like it is my 1 year old son.I trust this product.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Dreambaby Madison Xtra Tall Swing Close Gate Combo Pack- Black

Awesome gate

01/17/2011
By ,
Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed an extra tall gate for the top of my stairs and this one works great.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Dreambaby Madison Xtra Tall Swing Close Gate Combo Pack- Black

Best gate ever!!!!!!!

06/15/2010
By ,
MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This gate is very sturdy!!! My 2 year old cant climb this one.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Dreambaby Madison Xtra Tall Swing Close Gate Combo Pack- Black

Perfect for pets!

03/13/2014
By ,
Spencer, IA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought these mainly for our dog, he likes to wet on beds and claim them as his own! So we bought 2 of these gates and although he is very unhappy with them, we are enjoying them! The height is great. He's an English Bulldog but if he can come close to reaching the top, he will find a way over it. I am 5'2" and the gate hits me at the chest. I love the vertical bars, he can't climb them. He doesn't chew on them although he did destroy his metal kennel, he seems to leave the gates alone even when left home alone. The walk through gates are so much nicer than the ones you have to step over or remove to get around. The door automatically swings shut if you forget to close it. We have one at the top of our down stairs and the bottom of our up stairs. Would highly recommend to use even for kids. Our 6 and 7 year old can get them open with very little issues but our 4 year old can't open them at all. The pressure mount is really sturdy.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Dreambaby Madison Xtra Tall Swing Close Gate Combo Pack- Black

Big Gate Opening-Very Well Made-Easy to Install-A+

10/20/2010
By ,
North Andover, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We needed a gate for a 34" arch opening for our new dog. We did a lot of research on gates and this is the one we chose mostly because of the LARGER Gate opening 18-1/4" to 19-3/4" makes a huge difference between the Regalo which has only a 15" opening.
Very Easy to install. Yes, the locking side looks bent when out of the box it's in a "V" shape. It is bent that way to provide extra tension against wall. If you install level and tighten both top sides evenly until there is an 1/8" gap at the lock and there will be no problem. I installed in under 10 minutes (5min was for reading the directions)
Here is some information you might find helpful:
Gate opening: 18-1/4" hinge to lock, 19-3/4" bar to bar.
1/2" thick steel bars, 2-1/4" space between bars.
1-1/2" thick bottom frame.
40-1/2" height at top of curve, 39-1/2" height at bottom of curve.
If you are mounting on a door unit, the gate height will most likely interfere with the door knob,
if that is a problem, then pick a different gate.
Overall we like the color, style, function and hopefully the longevity of this gate.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Dreambaby Madison Xtra Tall Swing Close Gate Combo Pack- Black

Best Baby Gate Yet

03/05/2009
By ,
St. Louis, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the 4th baby gate we have purchased and set up in less than one year. Our first gate was a cheap wooden retractable (lasted 4 weeks), the second a heavy duty plastic retractable (lasted 1 week, put holes in walls), and the 3rd a heavier duty plastic swinging gate that needed more set-up (lasted 6 weeks).
This is by far the most expensive gate we have purchased, but SO worth the price. I wish we had just bought two of these in the beginning rather than waste money on the cheaper models.
PROS:
-- Very easy to open one-handed with a baby, toddler, or basket of laundry in hand. Slightly push the button on top, lift and push/pull. Difficult enough that a toddler could not operate.
-- Opens either direction, forward & backward.
-- Easy to install.
-- DURABLE
-- Tall! Older kids and pets won't be tempted to try to climb over it instead of opening it the way it was intended, which is how two of our cheaper gates were broken.
CONS:
None so far!
With 4 kids, this is a godsend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 560 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  28 Next