Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Dreambaby Dreambaby Chelsea Xtra Wide Swing Close Gate Combo Pack- Black

Dreambaby Dreambaby Chelsea Xtra Wide Swing Close Gate Combo Pack- Black

Average Customer Rating:
4.626 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(174 Reviews) 147
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
130
4 stars
33
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation95%165 out of 173reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
24 Questions | 94 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
130
4 stars
33
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Dreambaby Chelsea Xtra Wide Swing Close Gate Combo Pack- Black

Hard to use so I returned it ASAP

12/17/2012
By ,
Salem, Or
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Once I finally got it all pieced together and put up I had to wrestle and push and pull to even get the gate to open. Every time I tried it was a wrestlng match and was marring my walls. Sent it back as it was expensive. i Will say the metal used is solid.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Dreambaby Chelsea Xtra Wide Swing Close Gate Combo Pack- Black

Expensive Mistake!

08/20/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We bought this gate because it had so many great reviews, and we have a very wide opening between our living room and kitchen.
We have a 2 year old and a 1 year old, and I can't tell you how many times I have had this gate come loose from them hanging on it and pulling on it. It has completely destroyed our walls down to the metal corners I am just praying that we don't have to have them completely re- sheet rocked! Wish I'd just gone with a hardware mounted gate from the start, it would have been a lot less expensive to repair the damage from that, than this gate!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
-5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Dreambaby Chelsea Xtra Wide Swing Close Gate Combo Pack- Black

Kept the twins out!

12/21/2009
By ,
Mount Juliet, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought 3 of these gates and some of the extensions. I bought an extension to fit this area. Love the fact that these gates are pressure mounted.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Dreambaby Chelsea Xtra Wide Swing Close Gate Combo Pack- Black

Great Gate!

01/12/2012
By ,
WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this gate online to store in, I believe May or June of 2011 on Walmart.com. I liked that it was't flimsy and was great quality. My husband had to help me put it up just because our wide doorway frame was slightly off square. My security door was perfect by just leaving the small extra section off. Our puppy can only get in our front room when we want. We're all happy. This door won't wear out. It looks really nice!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Dreambaby Chelsea Xtra Wide Swing Close Gate Combo Pack- Black

piece of mind

03/15/2014
By ,
Crystal Lake IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This gate fit perfectly in our larger-than-normal stairway and I love that it automatically closes so I dont have to worry about our little guy taking a tumble. Was very easy to install.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Dreambaby Chelsea Xtra Wide Swing Close Gate Combo Pack- Black

Excellent item. Worth every penny.

02/15/2014
By ,
Bellevue, Nebraska
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PROS: I tried one of those cheap plastics gates and it wanted to keep falling down, then i tried a Summer Multi-Use Deco Extra Tall Walk-Thru Gate and it wasn't long enough. I have a 10 month old who decided to walk early and learn from his brother how to crawl up the stairs, so I needed something immediately. So I bought this baby gate (2 of them) and it works perfect. My infant hangs on them and they do not budge. They are very strong and durable.
CONS: not many bad this to say about this item other than its a big pain tightening the gate to the wall because it does not come with a wrench so you have to use your hand (which almost give you blisters) to tighten. Some of the gates come with a specific wrench for that purpose. You have to tighten the top ones together at the same time and then the bottom ones together. It is a little time consuming. If you did it right, you are set until they are old enough to not need them anymore. In the end, they kinda don't turn out to be the same length all the way around because after you tighten one or two of them they don't want to tighten anymore, so you have to compensate on the other tightening bolts. But it still works!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Dreambaby Chelsea Xtra Wide Swing Close Gate Combo Pack- Black

PERFECT!!! Just what we needed!

01/01/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shortly after my son turned 1 he took a spill down our stairs (pushing over an existing baby gate) and scared us half to death. From that moment I knew we needed another option, one that would be sturdy, allowing him to stand at it and shake it if he wanted, as well as push on it without it moving. I did some research online, as well as talked to a friend who had this same gate and loved it. Sure enough we love it too! We have had it for about a month now and it hasn't even budged a millimeter. My son stands at it and shakes it (when daddy's coming up the stairs!) and has pushed and pulled on it plenty of times without anything happening. The installation was super easy and only took about ten minutes. We have a wooden banister at the top of our stairs and I didn't want a gate we would have to drill into the wall. I loved that this gate had the option of either drilling or just using the pressure mounted cups with grippy stuff on them. Although at first I thought it might be a good idea to drill into the wall for added support we have not had to because the grippy cups alone provide enough stability! I feel comfortable and safe with this gate up and know my little guy can't push it over, resulting in another scare for mommy and daddy! I would definitely recommend this gate to anyone that needs something safe for the top of their stairs. DEFINITELY worth the money!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Dreambaby Chelsea Xtra Wide Swing Close Gate Combo Pack- Black

Sturdy, easy to open & easy to install

03/15/2014
By ,
San Jose, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Remember that the gate will be misaligned BEFORE installation & will align itself after you install it.
Love the gate. After using Evenflo mesh gate for 4 months & falling twice while going over the gate, we finally decided to buy this one. Fits our 48 inch opening without issues with the bottom part being 47 inches because of the foot board. It's individually adjustable. :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Dreambaby Chelsea Xtra Wide Swing Close Gate Combo Pack- Black

Sturdy but gate opening is narrow

02/09/2014
By ,
SD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The total width is wide, but the opening that you walk through is narrow. It's sturdy enough to keep our 100 lb. dog on one side and our 20 lb. baby on the other.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Dreambaby Chelsea Xtra Wide Swing Close Gate Combo Pack- Black

Finally a gate that works!

08/03/2007
By ,
Denton, Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This gate was so simple to install and is a ease to use. Finally a gate that is wide enough to fit the opening I needed it for. Looks great and is completely functional.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Dreambaby Chelsea Xtra Wide Swing Close Gate Combo Pack- Black

Worth every penny!!!

04/14/2012
By ,
NW Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought my Dream Baby gate last October for my large plaster doorway in the living room. My main purpose for the gate was to keep my (now) 20 month old daughter away from the less child proofed areas of the house. For convenience, I needed a gate with a swing door because I have two dogs (one refuses to jump them) and a gate that extended wide enough to fit the doorway. The great thing about this gate is I didn't have to drill into my wall to mount it! The pressure mounts have held up wonderfully and have left NO marks on my walls. The gate itself is solid. I catch my daughter constanty hanging on it and always trying to find ways to get over it. She is a monkey and has succeeded twice with the help of her rocking chair. She has yet to get the gate door open (when closing the door pushing down on the top of it helps it latch) and even with as often as it is used it has shown no sign of wear. All in all, one of the best purchases I have ever made....and my husband agrees!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Dreambaby Chelsea Xtra Wide Swing Close Gate Combo Pack- Black

Love!!!!

03/06/2014
By ,
Bowman, ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this baby gate to keep my daughter out of the kitchen. It works great. I have no issue putting it together an getting it installed. Worth the money to me!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Dreambaby Chelsea Xtra Wide Swing Close Gate Combo Pack- Black

Overall good gate

03/07/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good produce only negative is you need two people to put the gate in place. Once secured, it is sturdy and doesn't move in place.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Dreambaby Chelsea Xtra Wide Swing Close Gate Combo Pack- Black

Perfect

03/04/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The gate is extremely sturdy and easy to install. It comes with caps that screw into the walls at the edges of the gate to keep it from falling down. I must have for either children or dogs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Dreambaby Chelsea Xtra Wide Swing Close Gate Combo Pack- Black

Good gate for money

02/19/2014
By ,
Kentucky
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works well for our 12 month old but I can see the gate not staying closed well with very much pressure on it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Dreambaby Chelsea Xtra Wide Swing Close Gate Combo Pack- Black

Very well made and sturdy exactly what we needed.

01/17/2014
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this gate because I have two new puppies & I need to confine them to the kitchen sometimes. Our entry area is large and this gate fit exactly. It looks great too. The black iron does not take away from the decor it looks really nice. Installation was easy too. It does say to screw in the end caps or use the two sided tape to secure the gate but I didn't want to mark up my cabinets. It holds perfectly without it even with the puppies jumping on it. The door is easy once you get use to it. Just pull back the lever and lift up and it swings either direction. I'm really glad I purchased it, it's been a huge help and if will last for years.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Dreambaby Chelsea Xtra Wide Swing Close Gate Combo Pack- Black

Better than expected

09/30/2010
By ,
Columbia, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this gate to prevent my dogs from going upstairs. Instead of mounting it on the bottom stair, I have it mounted between the wall of my front entrance and the stairwell. It works great and it also prevents my dogs from getting to the front door and getting out when we have visitors. It was very easy to install. I used the mounts with the two-sided tape instead of drilling for the scews, and it is holding up just fine. The pass-through gate is easy to operate and great that it swings both ways. It did have a large sticker on the bottom of both sides, but a little Goo Gone and elbow grease took care of it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Dreambaby Chelsea Xtra Wide Swing Close Gate Combo Pack- Black

Nice looking, solid, sturdy. It has a good latch.

01/13/2014
By ,
Upland, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This baby gate works fine. It was a bit of a challenge for us to install because of the particular area where it is being used. It closes off a kitchen entrance that has a wall on one side and a cabinet on the other. We had to raise it up so that it would touch the wall and not the baseboard on one side and the side of the cabinet on the other. The side of the cabinet doesn't come down to the floor, but sits on a smaller base. We have to be careful to step up over the bottom bar because of this--a slight inconvenience. It is a solidly made gate and has a very good latch, better than the other gate we bought for the other entry to the kitchen.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Dreambaby Chelsea Xtra Wide Swing Close Gate Combo Pack- Black

Perfect!

02/02/2014
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We needed a gate to keep our puppy in the kitchen. Most baby gates/pet gates were not wide enough. The gate was easy to install, and works well. We especially liked that it is pressure-mounted, so no holes in the wall.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Dreambaby Chelsea Xtra Wide Swing Close Gate Combo Pack- Black

Not for jumping dogs

12/03/2013
By ,
Harrisburg PA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I installed this gate to stop my three small dogs from trying to get outside my house when I answer the front door doorbell. They have a habit of jumping onto the gate, which nocks the gate loose from the 4 side restraining cups. The cups should be made of metal and much deeper to hold the side adjustment screws when side pressure is put on the gate. I ended up installing 1 1/2 inch wooden blocks; 2 for each adjustment screw, which supports the adjustment screws from coming loose from the retaining cups. Also I have wooden paneling and a wooden banister that I was able to secure the retaining cups and the wooden blocks to. I do not know how the side adjustment cups would be safely secured when wall board is the construction material.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 148 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next