Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Dreambaby Dreambaby Chelsea Extra Wide Auto Close Security Gate with Extensions- Black

Dreambaby Dreambaby Chelsea Extra Wide Auto Close Security Gate with Extensions- Black

The Chelsea Extra Wide Auto Close Security Gate by Dreambaby provides a secure barrier for your curious little ones. Keep them safe and confined to areas of the house where they're out of harm's way with this sturdy, extra wide gate. The Chelsea Extra Wide Auto Close Security Gate is designed to fit a wide range of doorways, hallways, top or bottom of stairs, and other openings. This gate combo pack will fit openings from 38" to 53" using the two included extensions. The Chelsea model gate will conveniently open in both directions and swing closed automatically so you'll never need to worry about closing the gate behind you when your hands are full or you're in a hurry. The Chelsea Extra Wide Auto Close Security Gate is also ideal for keeping pets confined to specific areas of the house. Expand your Dreambaby Chelsea Extra Wide Auto Close Security Gate up to 121" optional extensions which can be purchased separately.
Average Customer Rating:
4.631 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(187 Reviews) 160
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
139
4 stars
37
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation96%178 out of 186reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
26 Questions | 97 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
139
4 stars
37
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Dreambaby Chelsea Extra Wide Auto Close Security Gate with Extensions- Black

Hard to use so I returned it ASAP

12/17/2012
By ,
Salem, Or
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Once I finally got it all pieced together and put up I had to wrestle and push and pull to even get the gate to open. Every time I tried it was a wrestlng match and was marring my walls. Sent it back as it was expensive. i Will say the metal used is solid.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Dreambaby Chelsea Extra Wide Auto Close Security Gate with Extensions- Black

Expensive Mistake!

08/20/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We bought this gate because it had so many great reviews, and we have a very wide opening between our living room and kitchen.
We have a 2 year old and a 1 year old, and I can't tell you how many times I have had this gate come loose from them hanging on it and pulling on it. It has completely destroyed our walls down to the metal corners I am just praying that we don't have to have them completely re- sheet rocked! Wish I'd just gone with a hardware mounted gate from the start, it would have been a lot less expensive to repair the damage from that, than this gate!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
-5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Dreambaby Chelsea Extra Wide Auto Close Security Gate with Extensions- Black

Kept the twins out!

12/21/2009
By ,
Mount Juliet, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought 3 of these gates and some of the extensions. I bought an extension to fit this area. Love the fact that these gates are pressure mounted.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Dreambaby Chelsea Extra Wide Auto Close Security Gate with Extensions- Black

Great Gate!

01/12/2012
By ,
WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this gate online to store in, I believe May or June of 2011 on Walmart.com. I liked that it was't flimsy and was great quality. My husband had to help me put it up just because our wide doorway frame was slightly off square. My security door was perfect by just leaving the small extra section off. Our puppy can only get in our front room when we want. We're all happy. This door won't wear out. It looks really nice!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Dreambaby Chelsea Extra Wide Auto Close Security Gate with Extensions- Black

it works!

12/18/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We used this gate at the bottom of our stairs, on one side we have a wall with base board, and the other side is a fancy mis-shaped post. Because of the pressure mounting, this gate could fit in that awkward opening, and it's holding up great! I love that the door swings shut. it's a short gate, and narrow, but when we dont have the baby in our arms, we just step right over it anyways. The opening of our stairwell was in the middle of using the extension and not using the extension (if that makes sense), so the top latch of the gate doesnt hook but the bottom does, and that works fine for now.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Dreambaby Chelsea Extra Wide Auto Close Security Gate with Extensions- Black

Finally a convenient gate!

12/05/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had to use baby gates off and on for 23 years for children and large pets. This is the first one that has ever been a no hassle gate. The fact that this has a walk through gate that actually closes itself is more convenient than you can imagine. I love this gate and would highly recommend it to anyone.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Dreambaby Chelsea Extra Wide Auto Close Security Gate with Extensions- Black

It works for Malamutes too

11/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this gate for over 2 years--it is installed in a french door threshold between the living room and a sun room to restrict my 2 Alaskan Malamutes--each weighs over 100 lbs.---they have not broken thru (which has been done with plastic and wooden gates) but they can see into the house--great for confining them at meal times and when having company--I have recommended this gate to other Mal owners--and the black goes perfectly with my wrought iron end tables and lamps--I am extremely satisfied with this product.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Dreambaby Chelsea Extra Wide Auto Close Security Gate with Extensions- Black

Finally a gate that works!

08/03/2007
By ,
Denton, Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This gate was so simple to install and is a ease to use. Finally a gate that is wide enough to fit the opening I needed it for. Looks great and is completely functional.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Dreambaby Chelsea Extra Wide Auto Close Security Gate with Extensions- Black

Worth every penny!!!

04/14/2012
By ,
NW Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought my Dream Baby gate last October for my large plaster doorway in the living room. My main purpose for the gate was to keep my (now) 20 month old daughter away from the less child proofed areas of the house. For convenience, I needed a gate with a swing door because I have two dogs (one refuses to jump them) and a gate that extended wide enough to fit the doorway. The great thing about this gate is I didn't have to drill into my wall to mount it! The pressure mounts have held up wonderfully and have left NO marks on my walls. The gate itself is solid. I catch my daughter constanty hanging on it and always trying to find ways to get over it. She is a monkey and has succeeded twice with the help of her rocking chair. She has yet to get the gate door open (when closing the door pushing down on the top of it helps it latch) and even with as often as it is used it has shown no sign of wear. All in all, one of the best purchases I have ever made....and my husband agrees!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Dreambaby Chelsea Extra Wide Auto Close Security Gate with Extensions- Black

PERFECT!!! Just what we needed!

01/01/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shortly after my son turned 1 he took a spill down our stairs (pushing over an existing baby gate) and scared us half to death. From that moment I knew we needed another option, one that would be sturdy, allowing him to stand at it and shake it if he wanted, as well as push on it without it moving. I did some research online, as well as talked to a friend who had this same gate and loved it. Sure enough we love it too! We have had it for about a month now and it hasn't even budged a millimeter. My son stands at it and shakes it (when daddy's coming up the stairs!) and has pushed and pulled on it plenty of times without anything happening. The installation was super easy and only took about ten minutes. We have a wooden banister at the top of our stairs and I didn't want a gate we would have to drill into the wall. I loved that this gate had the option of either drilling or just using the pressure mounted cups with grippy stuff on them. Although at first I thought it might be a good idea to drill into the wall for added support we have not had to because the grippy cups alone provide enough stability! I feel comfortable and safe with this gate up and know my little guy can't push it over, resulting in another scare for mommy and daddy! I would definitely recommend this gate to anyone that needs something safe for the top of their stairs. DEFINITELY worth the money!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Dreambaby Chelsea Extra Wide Auto Close Security Gate with Extensions- Black

Great gate

11/01/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We used 2 extensions with our gate - it was a 2 person job to put up. The measurements listed on the product description are not 100% accurate - we had to use wooden blocks against each post in the wall. Another extension wouldn't work.
Over all we are very happy with this gate. It's sturdy and isn't an eyesore. It works great for keeping little ones out of places they don't need to be ;)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Dreambaby Chelsea Extra Wide Auto Close Security Gate with Extensions- Black

Better than expected

09/30/2010
By ,
Columbia, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this gate to prevent my dogs from going upstairs. Instead of mounting it on the bottom stair, I have it mounted between the wall of my front entrance and the stairwell. It works great and it also prevents my dogs from getting to the front door and getting out when we have visitors. It was very easy to install. I used the mounts with the two-sided tape instead of drilling for the scews, and it is holding up just fine. The pass-through gate is easy to operate and great that it swings both ways. It did have a large sticker on the bottom of both sides, but a little Goo Gone and elbow grease took care of it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Dreambaby Chelsea Extra Wide Auto Close Security Gate with Extensions- Black

Second purchase

10/10/2014
By ,
Scranton Pa.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We live in a split level home and these gates are great for keeping our 6 month old puppy contained in spaces where we can keep tabs on him. Eli is a pit/lab mix and these work great during training sessions. This product is made in the U.S.A. and built to last. Very minimal assembly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Dreambaby Chelsea Extra Wide Auto Close Security Gate with Extensions- Black
12/28/2011
By ,
Melbourne, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product quality is very good. This is a sturdy gate. The only negative is that when assembled for an opening of about 47", only one small extension rail is used. This results in having to extend the securing screws out to almost their full length. The latching mechanism on the top of the gate remains too far apart to work. The directions say that when fully assembled, this gap will close. Well, at least for me, it didn't. Still, the gate won't open unless you lift up on it (as it's supposed to), so it functions well as a dog gate. In fact, it makes it very easy for me to open. My dogs have not yet jumped on the gate, so I don't know if the lack of top latching will allow it to open with that kind of force.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
NY
Posted 05/02/2013
Did you use the larger of the two extensions? I have this gate in a 47.5" hallway and used the larger extension, fits perfectly!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Dreambaby Chelsea Extra Wide Auto Close Security Gate with Extensions- Black

great gate

11/20/2010
By ,
Irvine, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this gate...it fits perfectly. The other gates I tried didn't work because they were not adjustable. I have based board that sticks out farther than the wall...and this was the only one that works...and it wasn't even for a baby...a puppy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Dreambaby Chelsea Extra Wide Auto Close Security Gate with Extensions- Black

Love this baby gate

08/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this gate to cover a very large opening between our kitchen and living room. I love how it looks, the auto close and how I didn't have to drill into the wall and mess up my door frame. I didn't like how we had to buy 2 extension pieces, for an extra $50, but in the long run it all worked out. The gate is sturdy against my 8 month olds attempts to break it down!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Dreambaby Chelsea Extra Wide Auto Close Security Gate with Extensions- Black

Love the gate!

08/24/2008
By ,
upstate New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read a lot of reviews from a lot of websites in the search of a gate that was going to hold up and be easy to use. Since I found the reviews helpful, I felt the need to leave one as well! There were more reviews for the white version, but the black color looks better with our decor. I found these gates on another website, but didn't want to pay shipping. With site-to-store, I didn't have to pay shipping and got the item I wanted!
I am really happy with my choice. I chose two gates, one for our larger opening between our living room and kitchen and one for our hallway. Both work excellent. My husband put them up in no time, and have needed little adjustment in the month we have had them.
The door swings closed behind me so I don't have to reach behind when I have things in my arms (such as my little one!) also, I can operate the latch with one hand, which is great. I highly recommend these gates!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Dreambaby Chelsea Extra Wide Auto Close Security Gate with Extensions- Black

Extra wide gate

08/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LOVE it! Classy and easy to assemble, feels very durable and comes with extra tidbits to screw the gate into doorways, etc., making sure a little one can't topple it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Dreambaby Chelsea Extra Wide Auto Close Security Gate with Extensions- Black

Good Product

08/16/2014
By ,
IL.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got this gate to keep my two dogs out of my dinning room. It works great and I love the door so you don't have to step over it. I don't always latch the door because the dogs can't open it (YET).
It's nice to find something made of metal and not plastic!!! Don't have to drill holes to install this so I didn't put holes in walls or my cabinets.
Think it would be a great gate for kids
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Dreambaby Chelsea Extra Wide Auto Close Security Gate with Extensions- Black

well constructed, easy to install

08/07/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
works great once installed. I have small dogs that are climbers and jumpers and the design of the gate prevents them from escaping. It is also very secure and the self closing walk through gate is fantastic. turns out we didn't need the included extensions, but I saved them just in case we do in the future.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 161 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  9 Next