Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Dreambaby Dreambaby Chelsea Swing Close Gate Combo Pack- Black

Dreambaby Dreambaby Chelsea Swing Close Gate Combo Pack- Black

Nothing is too much when it comes to ensuring your babys safety at home. A lot of accessories are added to make the place safe enough for the childs well being. One such important accessory is the Dreambaby - Swing Closed Security Gate. This baby gate helps to keep your baby safe while you are not around to keep a watch. This sturdy, swing-close baby gate will fit openings from 28" - 39" using the two included extensions (includes 2 x 3.5" extensions). With the help of the optional extensions available for purchase separately, this doorway baby gate can be expanded up to 53", making it suitable for almost all gaps and openings. This pressure mounted baby gate can be used for doorways, top and bottom of stairs and wide doorways or hallways. It opens in both directions and swings itself close automatically on its hinges. This doorway baby gate has an easy one-hand operation for parents. You can even use it to retain pets.
Average Customer Rating:
4.615 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(166 Reviews) 149
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
126
4 stars
29
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation95%157 out of 166reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
22 Questions | 115 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
126
4 stars
29
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Dreambaby Chelsea Swing Close Gate Combo Pack- Black

Not for Top of Stairs

01/15/2008
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We purchased this product because the description said it was ideal for top or bottom of stairs. When we opened the box, there was a warning within the instructions and on the gate itself to not install at the top of stairs. I do not have any knowledge of durability, set-up, or features for this review as we returned the product for a gate made for the top of stairs. But if I can prevent someone the hassle of ordering and returning a product, I thought it would be worth doing a review.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+64points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Dreambaby Chelsea Swing Close Gate Combo Pack- Black

Great gate! Shuts automatically

02/02/2014
By ,
PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have 2 of these gates for my 15 mo old baby. They are great. They look a little more "fashionable" than the typical old wooden gates that we used to have for my other kids. Plus you don't have to keep trying to "step" over them. You simply slide the lock back and lift a little on the gate and swing it open. It immediately shuts behind you which comes in handy if you have your hands full. It is adjustable (as far as the width to the doorway and how the gate "lines" up with the "base") which took awhile to get it right but it was easy to put together. My 10 yr old daughter put it together so that should say something. We love the gates. I will say that the first gate we bought approximately 6 or 7 months ago doesn't slam shut anymore automatically, we do have to manually close that one. It may just need some adjusting but just haven't had time to look at it extensively. However, the gate still works. Im pleased with my purchase and would definitely buy another one should we need one.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Dreambaby Chelsea Swing Close Gate Combo Pack- Black

Bad Custumer Service from Manufacturer

11/21/2011
By ,
Indiana
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When I received this gate it was missing all hardware and mounts. I called the manufacturer on the paperwork on four separate occassions trying to get the replacement parts. They didn't return my call several times, one time they gave me an email to send the info in to, that didn't work either. The last time I called and finally got someone to answer after spending 10 minutes on the phone with her giving her my info and the exact gate she tells me I now need to email her a proof of purchase! WTH! Why would I need the mounting and hardware if I didn't own the gate! I ended up hanging up and decided to return the gate. It was way too much work for a gate that shouldve came with the proper parts to begin with. But since they practically beg you on the box and paperwork "not to return it to the store" I though I'd give them the benefit of doubt and let them make it right, but they just didn't come through. I ended up returning to Walmart for a full refund and I will try another gate!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Dreambaby Chelsea Swing Close Gate Combo Pack- Black

Perfect after careful installation

02/04/2010
By ,
Fort Wayne, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are looking for a product to install within an hour, this may not be for you. I did not care about installation time because I knew whatever we got, it would be hard to fit where we wanted to put it. We had the baseboard, and the banister in the way on one side and the wooden (non-flat) post on the other side. I took a 2x4 and attached it to the post, then removed the hardware for the banister at the top of the stairs and removed the baseboard below this to give the gate a secure place to attach it to the wall. I also wedged a thin piece of wood under the gate to keep it secure underneath. All this work was worth it. The gate closes and locks by itself and I feel very secure that my one year old cannot follow her brothers when they go to the basement. My 7-year-old can operate it well, but my 5-year-old still cannot. By the way, I am a 32 yo female with a very limited knowledge of tools! The best tools I used were the level and ruler.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Dreambaby Chelsea Swing Close Gate Combo Pack- Black

Perfect gate for families with toddlers

06/24/2012
By ,
Houston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this gate to keep my running, climbing, tumbling, rough nearly 2yo son from getting into my kitchen and messing with the oven, dishwasher, etc. I ordered 2 gates, which arrived early; picked up via site-to-store to avoid shipping costs. This gate is solid; I got the black ones, which worked well for my kitchen...looks great! I did not want to drill holes into the walls or baseboards, so I pressure-mounted both gates, including one with extensions (ordered separately) spanning a >55inch area. I used handi-tak to protect the walls & for additional stability (in place of sticky pads provided), which was excellent. My tough kid jumps onto the gate, hangs off, shakes, pushes...everything he can think of, but the gate won't budge. And there's no way he'll be able to open the door - requires one to lift the gate door slightly while pulling back on the latch. He's upset, but it's for his protection & my sanity. Overall, I'm a very pleased mama!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Dreambaby Chelsea Swing Close Gate Combo Pack- Black

dreaming Chelsea swing close gate

04/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was easy to install, I liked that and it helps keeps my dogs where I want them to be and my grandchildren to when they visit.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Dreambaby Chelsea Swing Close Gate Combo Pack- Black

A MUST HAVE!!

04/06/2010
By ,
Kingwood, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not only is this gate very well priced it has a beautiful black finish that goes with any decor AND it's easy to install. It took my husband about 10 minutes to install completely. The TWO features I love the most is that the gate opens in BOTH directions AND is SELF-CLOSING...a MUST have when you have two little ones. :-) We have two of these and absolutely love them! Thank you DreamBaby!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Dreambaby Chelsea Swing Close Gate Combo Pack- Black

great

03/31/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this to keep my dogs out of my living room and it works perfect. It was not difficult at all for me to put together myself. I just wish it didn't come with all of these stickers on it, that was kind of annoying to remove all of them.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Dreambaby Chelsea Swing Close Gate Combo Pack- Black

Love this gate!

12/04/2009
By ,
Lake Ridge, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This gate was easy to install, works exactly as advertised and perfect for bottom (or probably even top) of stairs.
It swings closed gently but clicks when it does and opens with 1 hand. I have a 3 1/2 y.o. and she figured it out after showing her one time. I'm guessing that a child would be able to open the gate themselves around the time they can comfortably go up stairs.
The only thing I would advise is that it tells you in the installation manual to install it on the bottom step if you are putting it at the bottom of stairs, but i put mine on the floor about 3 inches in front of the bottom step and I think it's a better place. You can still step on the bottom stair when coming down, lean over a little to open the gate and step to the floor. You can also (if tall enough) step over the gate and not feel unsteady doing so.
I really love this gate and have already recommended it to a friend. I am going to get another one for the top of the steps.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Cincinnati
Stairs
Posted 02/02/2014
Pressure mounts are NOT to be used at the top of stairs.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Dreambaby Chelsea Swing Close Gate Combo Pack- Black
03/17/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This gate is really sturdy, it looks attractive, and is mostly a great product. I am using it for a dog gate so my needs may be different than for those using it as a baby gate.
Initially I didn't like the automatic close feature because the other gates I use don't have this (it's silly but I had to get into the habit of remembering which I needed to close myself and which did it on its own). I did adapt to that but I am still not used to the way the gate opens and closes. You have to slide a button and lift up at the same time, which is inconvenient. I almost returned it after a week because of this, but I'm glad I didn't because the benefits outweigh the detriments. It does make it really baby-proof, but for me it's just an extra annoying step, and sometimes it's difficult to get it open. Overall though it is sturdy, looks nice, and does its job. I like the pressure mount gates because they are easy to set up and take down, making them easily portable. And the price is a definite selling point.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Dreambaby Chelsea Swing Close Gate Combo Pack- Black

Love!!!

03/06/2014
By ,
Bowman, ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this baby gate to keep my daughter out of the kitchen. It works great. It was easy to put together a install. Worth the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Dreambaby Chelsea Swing Close Gate Combo Pack- Black

Awesome Gate

08/26/2009
By ,
Freehold, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this one and the First Years gate to see which I liked best and ended up keeping both. The Dream Baby gate is super easy to install as is the Frist years one. The Dream Baby opens by pulling the gate up slighty and has a lock on the top which you slide to close or open the gate. Super easy to work. I have it at the bottom of the stairs and my 17 month old who is Jr. Hoodini can't manage to open it. The First Years one I have in the doorway to his room and this one you push down on a pedal to open or close and he can't figure it out either. It's more handsfree than the Dream Baby but it didn't come in black which I needed to blend in downstairs so hence the different gates and colors. Value gets 4 stars because I didn't really shop around for best price. Features, nothing special and durability, well, I haven't had it long enough to know for certain but I think it will last a very long time. May buy either gate again for other areas.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Dreambaby Chelsea Swing Close Gate Combo Pack- Black

Awesome Security Gate

06/10/2010
By ,
Liverpool, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered 2 of these gates for my outside deck to accomadate my spoiled Pug! He likes to lay outside but our quaint neighborhood has un-fenced yards and his wire chain gets stuck in between the slated deck floor, restricting him until someone free's him. This gate fits perfect in my 36" openings. Not only is this gate versatile in swinging both directions, it is easy to install and operate, it's sturdy, and it's decorative too!!!! Arrived quickly, ordered on internet on a Sunday and were delivered on Tuesday. We are all happy campers with these gates...
It also serves in keeping the rabbits and squirrels from visiting, and restricts access to the stray cats & dogs coming on the deck and ripping up my mosquito netting to the gazebo with their nails. Haven't had them long enough to know how it stands up to the weather elements, but am gonna get a couple more for the inside of the house. A little costly but worth every penny!!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Dreambaby Chelsea Swing Close Gate Combo Pack- Black

love these gates!

01/13/2014
By ,
lexington park,md
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We only could use one extension on our gates because of our narrow door ways. Works. Perfectly! Great buy! Looks stylish excellent quality. !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Dreambaby Chelsea Swing Close Gate Combo Pack- Black

Great gate

08/06/2010
By ,
Beaverton, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This gate is very sturdy and works exactly as described. We have the tall version of this gate as well at the top of our stairs, but due to the banister we had to get this gate for the bottom part of the stairs.
The gates are constructed well and still automatically close behind us. There are 3 of us going up and down CONSTANTLY, so knowing that it still closes on it's own speaks volumes.
Once out of the box, there is a gap in the gate, but that's supposed to be there. There is a yellow tag that explains why. As long as you read what's included, setup time is short and very easy. I installed the top gate and took me about 20 mins. The bottom gate was installed by my husband and took him about the same.
The only thing about the gate that may get some people irritated is that it has to be aligned PERFECTLY for the gate to operate as instructed. It doesn't take a genius to align it, so just take your time and it'll be done in a snap.
We've received a lot of compliments on these gates, and even though they seem a bit spendy, they are completely worth every penny.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Dreambaby Chelsea Swing Close Gate Combo Pack- Black

A very sturdy yet stylish product

07/18/2009
By ,
Terre Haute, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love the gate. It was easy to intall and looks great. I ordered the gate in black because it goes with my decor. The gate was purchased to keep our dogs out of our formal living room. It looks very stylish and doesn't talke away from the look of the room. Love it! Love it! Love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Dreambaby Chelsea Swing Close Gate Combo Pack- Black

SUPER-DUPER GATE!!!!!!

07/31/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had many gates of the years and after looking at all the other reviews, I decided to take a chance on the Dream Baby gate. I LOVE IT!!!!! Not only does it look better than most other gates (the black looks great with my decor), it actually works like it is supposed to . . . effortlessly! I bought it for those rare occasions when I have to keep my dogs out of the way of a repair/service person. The dogs love it too! Now I don't have to put them in a room and shut the door. They can watch all the action from behind a very secure gate. It's easy to open with one hand, it so convenient that it opens from either side, and I never have to make sure the closes because it always does, all by itself! If you are like me, and have given up on gates, give it one more try with this one. I also purchased the 10.5" extentsion so I can use it in a larger opening. I'm so happy I got this gate!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Dreambaby Chelsea Swing Close Gate Combo Pack- Black

Love this gate!

10/27/2009
By ,
Utah
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this gate!!! I purchased it for the top of my stairs. I live in a multi level home with a bathroom door at the top of the stairs. I was worried that I wouldn't be able to install the gate there with the door frame and the baseboards....but it worked!!! I was able to mount it just fine. It took a little work to make sure that it was all even, but it was worth the effort. It comes with both screws and sticky pads for mounting. I used the screws on the bottom and the sticky pads for the top...both work great.
It swings both ways, so I can go either up or down the stairs. It keeps my 9 month old safe when we are upstairs. My 3 and 6 year old can open it. It closes by itself. At first it didn't swing closed, but by adjusting the tension a bit, it swings just fine now.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Dreambaby Chelsea Swing Close Gate Combo Pack- Black

Very High Quality

03/03/2008
By ,
West Kentucky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought 3 of these gates. I must say, that they exceeded my expectations. They are of very high quality in both fit and finish, solidly built and secure in the latching mechanism. The gate latches at both the top and bottom, yet is easy to open with one hand by sliding a button on the top with your thumb and then lifting the gate with the same hand. My wife especially likes the fact that they will swing open both ways and then close automatically. You don’t have to remember to close the gate. Opening both ways is especially handy if the baby happens to be sitting close to the gate as you can open it away from the baby. They were easy to install using no tools. If I were to buy another gate, not only would I choose this model again, but I already have for my daughter’s house. Although slightly more expensive than some other models, this gate is well worth every penny.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Dreambaby Chelsea Swing Close Gate Combo Pack- Black
08/25/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The gate is easy to install and sharp looking. The downfall is the gate has a strong spring so when you let go it slams shut.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 150 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next