Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Dreambaby Dreambaby Chelsea Auto Close Security Gate with Extensions- Black

Dreambaby Dreambaby Chelsea Auto Close Security Gate with Extensions- Black

The Chelsea Auto Close Security Gate by Dreambaby provides a secure barrier for your curious little ones. Keep them safe and confined to areas of the house where they're out of harm's way with this sturdy gate. The Chelsea Gate is designed to fit a wide range of doorways, hallways, top or bottom of stairs, and other openings. This gate combo pack will fit openings from 28" to 39" using the two included extensions. The Chelsea model gate will conveniently open in both directions and swing closed automatically so you'll never need to worry about closing the gate behind you when your hands are full or you're in a hurry. The Chelsea Auto Close Security Gate is also ideal for keeping pets confined to specific areas of the house. Expand your Chelsea Auto Close Security Gate up to 111" with optional extensions which can be purchased separately.
Average Customer Rating:
4.617 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(175 Reviews) 158
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
132
4 stars
32
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation95%166 out of 175reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
22 Questions | 124 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
132
4 stars
32
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Dreambaby Chelsea Auto Close Security Gate with Extensions- Black

Not for Top of Stairs

01/15/2008
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We purchased this product because the description said it was ideal for top or bottom of stairs. When we opened the box, there was a warning within the instructions and on the gate itself to not install at the top of stairs. I do not have any knowledge of durability, set-up, or features for this review as we returned the product for a gate made for the top of stairs. But if I can prevent someone the hassle of ordering and returning a product, I thought it would be worth doing a review.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+65points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Dreambaby Chelsea Auto Close Security Gate with Extensions- Black

Great gate! Shuts automatically

02/02/2014
By ,
PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have 2 of these gates for my 15 mo old baby. They are great. They look a little more "fashionable" than the typical old wooden gates that we used to have for my other kids. Plus you don't have to keep trying to "step" over them. You simply slide the lock back and lift a little on the gate and swing it open. It immediately shuts behind you which comes in handy if you have your hands full. It is adjustable (as far as the width to the doorway and how the gate "lines" up with the "base") which took awhile to get it right but it was easy to put together. My 10 yr old daughter put it together so that should say something. We love the gates. I will say that the first gate we bought approximately 6 or 7 months ago doesn't slam shut anymore automatically, we do have to manually close that one. It may just need some adjusting but just haven't had time to look at it extensively. However, the gate still works. Im pleased with my purchase and would definitely buy another one should we need one.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Dreambaby Chelsea Auto Close Security Gate with Extensions- Black

Bad Custumer Service from Manufacturer

11/21/2011
By ,
Indiana
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When I received this gate it was missing all hardware and mounts. I called the manufacturer on the paperwork on four separate occassions trying to get the replacement parts. They didn't return my call several times, one time they gave me an email to send the info in to, that didn't work either. The last time I called and finally got someone to answer after spending 10 minutes on the phone with her giving her my info and the exact gate she tells me I now need to email her a proof of purchase! WTH! Why would I need the mounting and hardware if I didn't own the gate! I ended up hanging up and decided to return the gate. It was way too much work for a gate that shouldve came with the proper parts to begin with. But since they practically beg you on the box and paperwork "not to return it to the store" I though I'd give them the benefit of doubt and let them make it right, but they just didn't come through. I ended up returning to Walmart for a full refund and I will try another gate!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Dreambaby Chelsea Auto Close Security Gate with Extensions- Black

Perfect after careful installation

02/04/2010
By ,
Fort Wayne, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are looking for a product to install within an hour, this may not be for you. I did not care about installation time because I knew whatever we got, it would be hard to fit where we wanted to put it. We had the baseboard, and the banister in the way on one side and the wooden (non-flat) post on the other side. I took a 2x4 and attached it to the post, then removed the hardware for the banister at the top of the stairs and removed the baseboard below this to give the gate a secure place to attach it to the wall. I also wedged a thin piece of wood under the gate to keep it secure underneath. All this work was worth it. The gate closes and locks by itself and I feel very secure that my one year old cannot follow her brothers when they go to the basement. My 7-year-old can operate it well, but my 5-year-old still cannot. By the way, I am a 32 yo female with a very limited knowledge of tools! The best tools I used were the level and ruler.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Dreambaby Chelsea Auto Close Security Gate with Extensions- Black

Perfect gate for families with toddlers

06/24/2012
By ,
Houston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this gate to keep my running, climbing, tumbling, rough nearly 2yo son from getting into my kitchen and messing with the oven, dishwasher, etc. I ordered 2 gates, which arrived early; picked up via site-to-store to avoid shipping costs. This gate is solid; I got the black ones, which worked well for my kitchen...looks great! I did not want to drill holes into the walls or baseboards, so I pressure-mounted both gates, including one with extensions (ordered separately) spanning a >55inch area. I used handi-tak to protect the walls & for additional stability (in place of sticky pads provided), which was excellent. My tough kid jumps onto the gate, hangs off, shakes, pushes...everything he can think of, but the gate won't budge. And there's no way he'll be able to open the door - requires one to lift the gate door slightly while pulling back on the latch. He's upset, but it's for his protection & my sanity. Overall, I'm a very pleased mama!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Dreambaby Chelsea Auto Close Security Gate with Extensions- Black

Great product.

09/13/2014
By ,
Iowa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product. Easy to install.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Dreambaby Chelsea Auto Close Security Gate with Extensions- Black

Quality Product

10/03/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Before purchasing the Dreambaby Chelsea Gate, I owned 4 previous gates. I think that makes me qualified to rate this wonderful product. Assembly and installation was fast and easy. The gate closes itself quickly. I like the quality of the materials used in this product. It is strong and very sturdy, a high quality product. Should I ever need a second gate, I will definitely purchase this gate again. I am exceptionally satisfied with this product.
Additionally, this gate was shipped to me days ahead of the stated delivery date. Wonderful!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Dreambaby Chelsea Auto Close Security Gate with Extensions- Black

Awesome Gate!

09/23/2014
By ,
North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this gate! We have 2 and planning to purchase 2 more. We looked at many and after reading reviews settled on this one because it came with the extensions we needed and it was a great price. This black gate looks elegant against our wood interior instead of cheap. I love that it automatically closes so I don't have to worry about my 7 year old forgetting to close it. Fairly easy to install and that gap between the gate and side are supposed to be there when you take it out of box for those complaining about it. It isn't real loud when it closes either.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Dreambaby Chelsea Auto Close Security Gate with Extensions- Black

A MUST HAVE!!

04/06/2010
By ,
Kingwood, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not only is this gate very well priced it has a beautiful black finish that goes with any decor AND it's easy to install. It took my husband about 10 minutes to install completely. The TWO features I love the most is that the gate opens in BOTH directions AND is SELF-CLOSING...a MUST have when you have two little ones. :-) We have two of these and absolutely love them! Thank you DreamBaby!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Dreambaby Chelsea Auto Close Security Gate with Extensions- Black

Gates are very easy to install

08/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought the Gate for our puppy, liked it so much, we bought a second Gate. Gates close quickly, he is unable to follow us. But the spring isn't so strong a closure, that it would hurt him if he were fast enough to get caught in it.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Dreambaby Chelsea Auto Close Security Gate with Extensions- Black

Love this gate!

12/04/2009
By ,
Lake Ridge, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This gate was easy to install, works exactly as advertised and perfect for bottom (or probably even top) of stairs.
It swings closed gently but clicks when it does and opens with 1 hand. I have a 3 1/2 y.o. and she figured it out after showing her one time. I'm guessing that a child would be able to open the gate themselves around the time they can comfortably go up stairs.
The only thing I would advise is that it tells you in the installation manual to install it on the bottom step if you are putting it at the bottom of stairs, but i put mine on the floor about 3 inches in front of the bottom step and I think it's a better place. You can still step on the bottom stair when coming down, lean over a little to open the gate and step to the floor. You can also (if tall enough) step over the gate and not feel unsteady doing so.
I really love this gate and have already recommended it to a friend. I am going to get another one for the top of the steps.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Cincinnati
Stairs
Posted 02/02/2014
Pressure mounts are NOT to be used at the top of stairs.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Dreambaby Chelsea Auto Close Security Gate with Extensions- Black

Good enough for even big dogs

08/15/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Directions are a little lacking, but still not too difficult to figure out. Hardest part is getting gate and end piece to meet--lots of tension. A strong pair of extra hands make it much easier than using the adjusting wheels until you get the fit close.
Our 45 lb Airedale jumps on it every morning to say Hello and it still stays in place.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Dreambaby Chelsea Auto Close Security Gate with Extensions- Black
03/17/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This gate is really sturdy, it looks attractive, and is mostly a great product. I am using it for a dog gate so my needs may be different than for those using it as a baby gate.
Initially I didn't like the automatic close feature because the other gates I use don't have this (it's silly but I had to get into the habit of remembering which I needed to close myself and which did it on its own). I did adapt to that but I am still not used to the way the gate opens and closes. You have to slide a button and lift up at the same time, which is inconvenient. I almost returned it after a week because of this, but I'm glad I didn't because the benefits outweigh the detriments. It does make it really baby-proof, but for me it's just an extra annoying step, and sometimes it's difficult to get it open. Overall though it is sturdy, looks nice, and does its job. I like the pressure mount gates because they are easy to set up and take down, making them easily portable. And the price is a definite selling point.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Dreambaby Chelsea Auto Close Security Gate with Extensions- Black

amazing gate

07/31/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great gate for the money... when hard set it holds back my 100 lb. Old English sheep dog...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Dreambaby Chelsea Auto Close Security Gate with Extensions- Black

Great gate used daily.

07/14/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great gate being used in a daycare center.Easy for staff to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Dreambaby Chelsea Auto Close Security Gate with Extensions- Black

Awesome Gate

08/26/2009
By ,
Freehold, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this one and the First Years gate to see which I liked best and ended up keeping both. The Dream Baby gate is super easy to install as is the Frist years one. The Dream Baby opens by pulling the gate up slighty and has a lock on the top which you slide to close or open the gate. Super easy to work. I have it at the bottom of the stairs and my 17 month old who is Jr. Hoodini can't manage to open it. The First Years one I have in the doorway to his room and this one you push down on a pedal to open or close and he can't figure it out either. It's more handsfree than the Dream Baby but it didn't come in black which I needed to blend in downstairs so hence the different gates and colors. Value gets 4 stars because I didn't really shop around for best price. Features, nothing special and durability, well, I haven't had it long enough to know for certain but I think it will last a very long time. May buy either gate again for other areas.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Dreambaby Chelsea Auto Close Security Gate with Extensions- Black

Great Gate

06/03/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This gate was very easy to install, I did it in under 30 minutes with very little effort. I do recommend reading the directions and watching the video first, but the actual installation was very
easy. Would recommend this gate for anyone who wants to limit pet or baby areas. Great gate!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Dreambaby Chelsea Auto Close Security Gate with Extensions- Black

Awesome Security Gate

06/10/2010
By ,
Liverpool, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered 2 of these gates for my outside deck to accomadate my spoiled Pug! He likes to lay outside but our quaint neighborhood has un-fenced yards and his wire chain gets stuck in between the slated deck floor, restricting him until someone free's him. This gate fits perfect in my 36" openings. Not only is this gate versatile in swinging both directions, it is easy to install and operate, it's sturdy, and it's decorative too!!!! Arrived quickly, ordered on internet on a Sunday and were delivered on Tuesday. We are all happy campers with these gates...
It also serves in keeping the rabbits and squirrels from visiting, and restricts access to the stray cats & dogs coming on the deck and ripping up my mosquito netting to the gazebo with their nails. Haven't had them long enough to know how it stands up to the weather elements, but am gonna get a couple more for the inside of the house. A little costly but worth every penny!!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Dreambaby Chelsea Auto Close Security Gate with Extensions- Black

Great gate

08/06/2010
By ,
Beaverton, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This gate is very sturdy and works exactly as described. We have the tall version of this gate as well at the top of our stairs, but due to the banister we had to get this gate for the bottom part of the stairs.
The gates are constructed well and still automatically close behind us. There are 3 of us going up and down CONSTANTLY, so knowing that it still closes on it's own speaks volumes.
Once out of the box, there is a gap in the gate, but that's supposed to be there. There is a yellow tag that explains why. As long as you read what's included, setup time is short and very easy. I installed the top gate and took me about 20 mins. The bottom gate was installed by my husband and took him about the same.
The only thing about the gate that may get some people irritated is that it has to be aligned PERFECTLY for the gate to operate as instructed. It doesn't take a genius to align it, so just take your time and it'll be done in a snap.
We've received a lot of compliments on these gates, and even though they seem a bit spendy, they are completely worth every penny.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Dreambaby Chelsea Auto Close Security Gate with Extensions- Black

A very sturdy yet stylish product

07/18/2009
By ,
Terre Haute, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love the gate. It was easy to intall and looks great. I ordered the gate in black because it goes with my decor. The gate was purchased to keep our dogs out of our formal living room. It looks very stylish and doesn't talke away from the look of the room. Love it! Love it! Love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 159 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next