Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Vizio Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Vizio Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L

Special Online Only Price - Not Available in Stores The Vizio 37" LCD HDTV features a built-in tuner that receives conventional analog channels (NTSC), as well as the new digital channels (ATSC), including over-the-air HDTV broadcasts, where available, and unscrambled digital cable channels. An exceptional contrast ratio and fast 8-ms. response time deliver excellent picture quality. The Vizio 37" LCD HDTV also has a variety of inputs that connect to DVD players, surround-sound systems, entertainment gear and even a computer. The stand can be removed for wall mounting with an optional VESA installation kit. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the Vizio 37" LCD HDTV. Otherwise, the picture quality of an HDTV without an HD source may not be much better than that of a standard-definition TV. Please contact your local cable or satellite TV provider for details on how to upgrade to HD programming.
Average Customer Rating:
4.56 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(389 Reviews) 321
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
281
4 stars
78
3 stars
9
2 stars
9
1 star
12
Customer Recommendation92%359 out of 389reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
281
4 stars
78
3 stars
9
2 stars
9
1 star
12
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L

Very Bad Product

11/03/2007
By ,
California
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
First day unit worked great. Second day screen started flickering and remote functions stopped working. Third day picture totally was gone and would briefly flicker on every minuteor so. PURE JUNK unit. Very dissatisfied.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 22 for Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L
02/14/2009
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I returned this TV.It is only a 720p.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 23 for Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L

Buttons on TV are not smooth

09/10/2007
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buttons on TV are not smooth to operate. Sometimes, you have to push them 2 or 3 times before the TV reacts. Besides, TV display is turned on slowly, after it acknowleges the ON button on TV or from the remote.
The color and picture are great.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 24 for Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L

Okay as second or third set

12/05/2007
By ,
Ormond Beach, FL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is your basic, meat and potatoes set that doesn't have a lot of bells and whistles, but is perfect for a bedroom or kitchen. Not large enough to have the gang over to watch the big game, but certainly works well enough for other applications. Picture quality is acceptable, and it sounds fine. If you're looking for a new TV, and price is your biggest concern, you will certainly get what you paid for with this set. Nothing more, but nothing less.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 25 for Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L

great for tv

09/21/2007
By ,
PA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
this 37" is great for the mid size living room but i wouldn't recommend if you play video games. the previous screen would get displayed as a shadow in the background, very annoying. hdtv and standard tv was good though. had to use Y audio cables to hook up surround sound because it has no audio out.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 26 for Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L

OPPS

03/10/2008
By ,
Jacksonville, Florida
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Right out the box I started having trouble with this one. Online it showed and stated an audio out, which I need for my surround sound system. Opps they forgot to tell you it is an optical output only and there are no adapters to take it to RCA which guess what, is what most home systems use. So I had to go buy another reciever unit that had an optical audio input and a cable. So if you are not hooking up to a system this maybe a good buy for you. If you are and have a system that has RCA plugs then you may want to opt for a Sony because one way or another you are going to be spending a lot more money hooking this one up.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 27 for Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L

Good but no cigar

05/28/2008
By ,
Lompoc, Ca
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Awesome out of the box, easy setup, great picture on DVDs, but less than satisfactory on cable hookup with coaxial cables. Decided to return it after a week because it does not have features I need...No zoom or screen formating on the remote control, no side hookups, and only optical audio output. You have to drill down into on- screen menu to change from wide, panoramic, normal which is unacceptable to view stock quotes on CNBC or movies with subtitles. I returned TV to Walmart and purchased another Vizio from another source, the VX37HDTV, which is far superior.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 28 for Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L

Disapointed Picture Quality

02/15/2009
By ,
San Antonio, TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very disapointed with picture quality. I viewed the same model in other stores before shopping on-line to get the best price. My TV does not have the quality of picture that I viewed elsewhere. This applys to HD cable as well as with a Blue Ray DVD player.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 29 for Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L

Picture not good

10/03/2008
By ,
Akron, Ohio
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I was very disappointed with this Vizio HDTV. Gray spots all over, fuzzy and I couldn't find any where to change the screen format. Wide is it. After a Sanyo that was no better than my 5 yr old tube TV, a Philips that had a great picture, but I wanted a little bigger TV, and yesterday I got the Vizio 37", and this was the worst of all. The Vizio goes back today and I may go back to my tubed Philips.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 30 for Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L

Visio 37 inch LCD

11/29/2008
By ,
Shoreview, MN
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
For 30 years, standard RCA pin plugs have protruded straight out from the body of the TV, VCR etc. Not on this VISIO
They hid the pugs under a panel and they prtrude downward. I had to turn the whole TV upside down so I could finally read the labels.
Also from Admiral to Samsung, the input outputs are yellow, white and red. Visia comes out with an additional Green and blue. I use TV ears to hear better but this set has no indication as to whether it is audio out or audio in.
Look on the back on any electronic equipment and it will always say Video In and out , Audio In and out. Nowhere does it say in or out.
I may take this back to the store and get a decent TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 31 for Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L

VISIO 37L

08/06/2007
By ,
Cotopaxi, CO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great picture quality and value. Would like to see an "S" video input and a video/audio output connection.
Debbie
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 32 for Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L

We love it!

08/11/2007
By ,
Rutland, VT
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Much more than we expected for the price. Lightweight, easy to move around, easy to connect, and what a great picture. The Pro Football Hall of Fame game and the PGA Championship were awesome. Leno in HD makes you feel like you're in the studio. We'll be getting a 26" for our bedroom.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 33 for Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L

great tv

11/06/2007
By ,
barstow, ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i purchased the vizio 37" and it is great, picture, sound and features are all great. i would recommend this tv for anyone with value and quality on there mind. i am using this in my bedroom and will probably purchase the 42" for my livingroom.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 34 for Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L

Great product with one annoying problem

11/07/2007
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall quality of television is fantastic except for one annoying problem. The TV at times will "freeze" in some ways. The HD channels will become extremely zoomed in and this cannot be fixed without unplugging the TV from the wall. The remote will not work to turn the TV off. I have contacted support about this issue with no resolve yet. Other than this issue, however, I am extremely satisfied with my television purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 35 for Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L

Nice without the "bells and whistles"

11/04/2007
By ,
KY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If you don't need things like picture in picture, and audio out, this is your tv. I can Audio out from my DirecTV, so no problem there. And I personally don't need picture in picture, so no need for me to pay for that feature. Of course, no product or company is perfect, so the guy below me no doubt did get a bad unit. Darn shame. Mine is fine. I wonder if he actually has HD set up or not. Regular feeds do not come in crisp on this tv.. but HD is flawless!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 36 for Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L

Impressive

01/04/2008
By ,
Sotheast Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have been researching for 6 months to find a nice HD TV within my price range. I went into the store several times to compare the pictures with other brands. Being a skeptic on a budget, I feel I made a good choice. I have only had the TV for one week and so far so good. The sound is phenomenal without surround sound hooked up, the colors are vivid even on the non HD channels (had to upgrade to HD thru Dish). I am very pleased with this product. So if you’re looking for a HD TV in this price range, this is a great buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 37 for Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L

Vizio is makes quality TV's

08/18/2008
By ,
Illinois
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was nervous about buying a brand I had never heard of before but, these TV's have an awesome picture!! I went into Wal-Mart too buy a name brand TV (Sony,Samsung,ect.) but, standing there watching all the TV's on display. I kept going back too the Vizio for having the best picture. I'm glad too say I have had mine now for 6 months and love it. I plan too buy another Vizio LCD for our bedroom. Great product, you won't be disapointed with!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 38 for Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L

My Vizio 37" LCD HDTV

04/09/2009
By ,
Hixson, TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Resolution is very good, controls are easy to access, both on side of TV and on remote.
The main problem I've had with it is that there are no audio output jacks to provide a surround-sound system with TV audio. Had I realized this at the time I bought it, I would have selected another model that had the audio-output jacks.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 39 for Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L

GREAT BUY!!

01/08/2008
By ,
Brooklyn, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My husband and I purchased this TV as an early anniversary gift for my parents during a visit to Georgia in November 2007. My father is very skeptical about all this new technology. So it did not come as a shock when he called to complain about a week after we left, saying that there was some picture distortion on the right side of the screen. So I told them to call Walmart. The next day they were able to exchange it for another set w/o issue.
My mother claims that now she have to peel him off the couch during his days off.
The picture quality is great - despite no HDMI plug was used for cable box. Because the TV is in their living room (w/vaulted ceilings) the sound is good, but better when heard through the surround sound - thanks to the lovely handywork from my hubby!
Now they like to show off the TV when guests come over.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 40 for Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L

good tv

02/22/2008
By ,
wisconsin
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
only had this tv two weeks but so far so good, we went from a 20" regular tv to a 37" lcd hdtv what a difference, set-up was easy although the instructions stumped me, a word of advice though is don't waste your money on the hdmi cable unless your components have the hdmi slot, you can use your regular coax or rca plug cables, all in all i am pleased and will consider buying a bigger one next time for the game room.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
21-40 of 322 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  17 Next