Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Vizio Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Vizio Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L

Special Online Only Price - Not Available in Stores The Vizio 37" LCD HDTV features a built-in tuner that receives conventional analog channels (NTSC), as well as the new digital channels (ATSC), including over-the-air HDTV broadcasts, where available, and unscrambled digital cable channels. An exceptional contrast ratio and fast 8-ms. response time deliver excellent picture quality. The Vizio 37" LCD HDTV also has a variety of inputs that connect to DVD players, surround-sound systems, entertainment gear and even a computer. The stand can be removed for wall mounting with an optional VESA installation kit. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the Vizio 37" LCD HDTV. Otherwise, the picture quality of an HDTV without an HD source may not be much better than that of a standard-definition TV. Please contact your local cable or satellite TV provider for details on how to upgrade to HD programming.
Average Customer Rating:
4.56 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(389 Reviews) 321
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
281
4 stars
78
3 stars
9
2 stars
9
1 star
12
Customer Recommendation92%359 out of 389reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
281
4 stars
78
3 stars
9
2 stars
9
1 star
12
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L

Pixels...

11/03/2008
By ,
Moline, IL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased this TV from my local Walmart. When i took it home and set it up, it turned on and worked fine, but had 4 dead pixels (Pixels that just dont work) in the middle of the screen. I returned it and got a new one. This TV started out fine, but after about a month it had 3 dead pixels. By the time i realized this it was too late to return it to Walmart. In order to have it fixed by Vizio it would just be too big of a hassle. There is obviously a problem with the pixels in these televisions. I would not recommend this to anyone. The only nice part of this TV is that hooking my computer into it does look very nice. Other than that this TV has not even come close to my expectations.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 22 for Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L

Buttons on TV are not smooth

09/10/2007
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buttons on TV are not smooth to operate. Sometimes, you have to push them 2 or 3 times before the TV reacts. Besides, TV display is turned on slowly, after it acknowleges the ON button on TV or from the remote.
The color and picture are great.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 23 for Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L

Okay as second or third set

12/05/2007
By ,
Ormond Beach, FL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is your basic, meat and potatoes set that doesn't have a lot of bells and whistles, but is perfect for a bedroom or kitchen. Not large enough to have the gang over to watch the big game, but certainly works well enough for other applications. Picture quality is acceptable, and it sounds fine. If you're looking for a new TV, and price is your biggest concern, you will certainly get what you paid for with this set. Nothing more, but nothing less.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 24 for Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L

OPPS

03/10/2008
By ,
Jacksonville, Florida
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Right out the box I started having trouble with this one. Online it showed and stated an audio out, which I need for my surround sound system. Opps they forgot to tell you it is an optical output only and there are no adapters to take it to RCA which guess what, is what most home systems use. So I had to go buy another reciever unit that had an optical audio input and a cable. So if you are not hooking up to a system this maybe a good buy for you. If you are and have a system that has RCA plugs then you may want to opt for a Sony because one way or another you are going to be spending a lot more money hooking this one up.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 25 for Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L

Good but no cigar

05/28/2008
By ,
Lompoc, Ca
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Awesome out of the box, easy setup, great picture on DVDs, but less than satisfactory on cable hookup with coaxial cables. Decided to return it after a week because it does not have features I need...No zoom or screen formating on the remote control, no side hookups, and only optical audio output. You have to drill down into on- screen menu to change from wide, panoramic, normal which is unacceptable to view stock quotes on CNBC or movies with subtitles. I returned TV to Walmart and purchased another Vizio from another source, the VX37HDTV, which is far superior.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 26 for Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L

great for tv

09/21/2007
By ,
PA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
this 37" is great for the mid size living room but i wouldn't recommend if you play video games. the previous screen would get displayed as a shadow in the background, very annoying. hdtv and standard tv was good though. had to use Y audio cables to hook up surround sound because it has no audio out.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 27 for Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L

Picture not good

10/03/2008
By ,
Akron, Ohio
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I was very disappointed with this Vizio HDTV. Gray spots all over, fuzzy and I couldn't find any where to change the screen format. Wide is it. After a Sanyo that was no better than my 5 yr old tube TV, a Philips that had a great picture, but I wanted a little bigger TV, and yesterday I got the Vizio 37", and this was the worst of all. The Vizio goes back today and I may go back to my tubed Philips.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 28 for Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L

Visio 37 inch LCD

11/29/2008
By ,
Shoreview, MN
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
For 30 years, standard RCA pin plugs have protruded straight out from the body of the TV, VCR etc. Not on this VISIO
They hid the pugs under a panel and they prtrude downward. I had to turn the whole TV upside down so I could finally read the labels.
Also from Admiral to Samsung, the input outputs are yellow, white and red. Visia comes out with an additional Green and blue. I use TV ears to hear better but this set has no indication as to whether it is audio out or audio in.
Look on the back on any electronic equipment and it will always say Video In and out , Audio In and out. Nowhere does it say in or out.
I may take this back to the store and get a decent TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 29 for Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L
02/14/2009
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I returned this TV.It is only a 720p.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 30 for Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L

Disapointed Picture Quality

02/15/2009
By ,
San Antonio, TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very disapointed with picture quality. I viewed the same model in other stores before shopping on-line to get the best price. My TV does not have the quality of picture that I viewed elsewhere. This applys to HD cable as well as with a Blue Ray DVD player.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 31 for Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L

You get what you pay for ...

12/03/2007
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall a nice TV, especially for the price. Brightness is far more than sufficient -- max'ing out the brightness actually hurt my eyes sitting about 10 feet away. Very clear picture with HD programs. Sound was better than I expected for those small looking speakers.
Now for the bad news. I purchased this "new" TV from BJs club, not Wal Mart, but they apparently sent me a returned unit (evidenced by the not-so-new packaging inside and out). I found out why when I turned it on -- the monitor was defective with a bright blue vertical line down the middle of the screen. That's the risk of buying online with no brick-and-mortar retail outlet nearby.
Vizio has a very good 30-day warranty (in addition to the standard warranty) in which they will replace defective TVs free of charge, including shipping and return shipping. Their willingness to stand behind their product won them a second chance from me. We'll see how the new TV turns out when I receive it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 32 for Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L

great inexpensive product

08/27/2007
By ,
Mt. Pocono, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture quality is as good if not better than more expensive LCDs. Sound quality is average, no audio outs. If you are a little creative this is not a problem. If you bought an LCD TV you probably have digital cable. Just run your sound through the set top or use your VCR tuner. Invest in HDMI and digital cabling and you're good to go. "OH YEAH", don't forget that surround sound system you always wanted too!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 33 for Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L

Great price!

03/07/2008
By ,
Pleasant Grove, Al
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this the day after thanksgiving for $448,00, Wow! The set up was easy, Using it with Direct tv and HDMI. The 720p resolution leaves something to be desired. Squiggly edges to objects. I have a 1080i plasma monitor in the den and I am use to a sharper image. Overall I am happy. Remote is awesome, and the sound is great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 34 for Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L

It's alright

03/02/2008
By ,
Chicago, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just bought this tv the other day and I would have to say it is decent. The picture is good for the price but there are some features missing that I would have liked to have. Normally I use my tv as an alarm clock and this tv doesn't have that, not a big deal cause I still have a regular alarm clock. I am going to exchange this one for a samsung of the same size mostly so I can get a slightly better contrast ratio and the a/v inputs on the side. I would still recommend this vizio as a good tv though if you are looking for a nice entry level lcd for a very fair price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 35 for Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L

VIZIO

09/08/2008
By ,
Lake Havasu City AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Got a good price on the 37" VIZIO. Picture is not quite as clear as we expected. Sound is great. Remote is a breeze. TV is not advertised as 1080i or as 720P; not in front page of manual either.
Works fine for our application, but picture detail would be much more important elsewhere.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 36 for Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L

Very good deal

01/19/2009
By ,
Southern Indiana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We got this TV a week before Christmas because our old TV went out. Both my wife and I have been pleased with it. Set up was a breeze, in all honesty I spent more time putting together the new entertainment center than hooking up the TV. Sound and picture are fantastic and you couldn't beat the price on it before Christmas. I would recommend this TV for anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 37 for Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L

Meets my needs

09/09/2008
By ,
NW GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It works well with just a cheap indoor antenna, although I will be getting HD on DirecTV next week. It also looks good with my Wii!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 38 for Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L

So far, so good

11/10/2008
By ,
new mexico
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this before the x-mas sales because i needed a new t.v. I had the choice boiled down to either vizio or insignia(best buy) and decided the vizio was the way to go. After 2 days I only have 1 bad thing to say about this tv. The connections are on the bottom rear of this instead of on the side or front. For a 60 yr. old disabled person to get under there to hook up cables was a real chore. Side access like the insignia has would be the best I think. The remote is very simple as has been remarked on in other reviews but ok i guess. A few more features would be nice, but for the money($657.) i can't gripe too much. I only have sd service at the moment and it's a lot better than what i thought it was going to be after reading some of the reviews concerning this. I'm getting hd soon so i'll know how that is then. I'll write another review once i get that and I've had this set for a couple months. I don't think you"ll be disappointed with this tv.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 39 for Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L

Great Picture

04/30/2009
By ,
Boston, MA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just purchased this product and it has great sound quality and picture for the price. A really great buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 40 for Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L

Good Value

07/17/2008
By ,
Bossier City, LA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have had the product for a little over a month and have encountered no issues. Set up was easy. Picture is Excellent in HD and very good with regular cable. Would like a remote that is programmable for other devises. Would also enjoy an audio out that is not optical. Not a very feature rich tv but for the money is a very good purchase. Works great as a computer monitor as well. This 37" is a great purchase over the 32's out there. Am very happy I decided to spend the few extra bucks for the 37". Would have been great to have included a wall mount....but really none of them do. Buy it!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
21-40 of 322 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  17 Next