Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Vizio Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Vizio Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L

Special Online Only Price - Not Available in Stores The Vizio 37" LCD HDTV features a built-in tuner that receives conventional analog channels (NTSC), as well as the new digital channels (ATSC), including over-the-air HDTV broadcasts, where available, and unscrambled digital cable channels. An exceptional contrast ratio and fast 8-ms. response time deliver excellent picture quality. The Vizio 37" LCD HDTV also has a variety of inputs that connect to DVD players, surround-sound systems, entertainment gear and even a computer. The stand can be removed for wall mounting with an optional VESA installation kit. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the Vizio 37" LCD HDTV. Otherwise, the picture quality of an HDTV without an HD source may not be much better than that of a standard-definition TV. Please contact your local cable or satellite TV provider for details on how to upgrade to HD programming.
Average Customer Rating:
4.56 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(389 Reviews) 321
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
281
4 stars
78
3 stars
9
2 stars
9
1 star
12
Customer Recommendation92%359 out of 389reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
281
4 stars
78
3 stars
9
2 stars
9
1 star
12
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L

You get what you pay for!

01/15/2008
By ,
Oregon\Idaho border.
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I had this tv for a few days now and noticed after around 8 hours of being on,the picture would all of a sudden get real pixleated.Called customer service and they said that it needed repair,I live out in the boon docks over 75 miles from the nearest service tech and Vizio will not pay the mileage that is that far from service.Vizio does not have a software upgrade that a consumer can do,Philips does,all you do is download new software from Philips site and install with USB flash drive on your Philips tv and then the tv does all the upgrading,Vizio does not have this feature,so beware,if you live too far from a Vizio repair site.So I am bringing it back tomorrow to Walmart.My neighbor has a new Philips and his picture is way better than this Vizio,I just bought.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 22 for Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L

great for tv

09/21/2007
By ,
PA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
this 37" is great for the mid size living room but i wouldn't recommend if you play video games. the previous screen would get displayed as a shadow in the background, very annoying. hdtv and standard tv was good though. had to use Y audio cables to hook up surround sound because it has no audio out.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 23 for Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L
02/14/2009
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I returned this TV.It is only a 720p.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 24 for Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L

Disapointed Picture Quality

02/15/2009
By ,
San Antonio, TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very disapointed with picture quality. I viewed the same model in other stores before shopping on-line to get the best price. My TV does not have the quality of picture that I viewed elsewhere. This applys to HD cable as well as with a Blue Ray DVD player.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 25 for Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L

OPPS

03/10/2008
By ,
Jacksonville, Florida
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Right out the box I started having trouble with this one. Online it showed and stated an audio out, which I need for my surround sound system. Opps they forgot to tell you it is an optical output only and there are no adapters to take it to RCA which guess what, is what most home systems use. So I had to go buy another reciever unit that had an optical audio input and a cable. So if you are not hooking up to a system this maybe a good buy for you. If you are and have a system that has RCA plugs then you may want to opt for a Sony because one way or another you are going to be spending a lot more money hooking this one up.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 26 for Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L

Okay as second or third set

12/05/2007
By ,
Ormond Beach, FL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is your basic, meat and potatoes set that doesn't have a lot of bells and whistles, but is perfect for a bedroom or kitchen. Not large enough to have the gang over to watch the big game, but certainly works well enough for other applications. Picture quality is acceptable, and it sounds fine. If you're looking for a new TV, and price is your biggest concern, you will certainly get what you paid for with this set. Nothing more, but nothing less.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 27 for Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L

Buttons on TV are not smooth

09/10/2007
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buttons on TV are not smooth to operate. Sometimes, you have to push them 2 or 3 times before the TV reacts. Besides, TV display is turned on slowly, after it acknowleges the ON button on TV or from the remote.
The color and picture are great.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 28 for Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L

Good but no cigar

05/28/2008
By ,
Lompoc, Ca
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Awesome out of the box, easy setup, great picture on DVDs, but less than satisfactory on cable hookup with coaxial cables. Decided to return it after a week because it does not have features I need...No zoom or screen formating on the remote control, no side hookups, and only optical audio output. You have to drill down into on- screen menu to change from wide, panoramic, normal which is unacceptable to view stock quotes on CNBC or movies with subtitles. I returned TV to Walmart and purchased another Vizio from another source, the VX37HDTV, which is far superior.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 29 for Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L

Visio 37 inch LCD

11/29/2008
By ,
Shoreview, MN
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
For 30 years, standard RCA pin plugs have protruded straight out from the body of the TV, VCR etc. Not on this VISIO
They hid the pugs under a panel and they prtrude downward. I had to turn the whole TV upside down so I could finally read the labels.
Also from Admiral to Samsung, the input outputs are yellow, white and red. Visia comes out with an additional Green and blue. I use TV ears to hear better but this set has no indication as to whether it is audio out or audio in.
Look on the back on any electronic equipment and it will always say Video In and out , Audio In and out. Nowhere does it say in or out.
I may take this back to the store and get a decent TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 30 for Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L

Picture not good

10/03/2008
By ,
Akron, Ohio
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I was very disappointed with this Vizio HDTV. Gray spots all over, fuzzy and I couldn't find any where to change the screen format. Wide is it. After a Sanyo that was no better than my 5 yr old tube TV, a Philips that had a great picture, but I wanted a little bigger TV, and yesterday I got the Vizio 37", and this was the worst of all. The Vizio goes back today and I may go back to my tubed Philips.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 31 for Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L

Nice picture, no audio out

09/24/2007
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This TV has a great picture. If you don't have a surround sound system to hook up to it, I would highly recommend it. But it has NO audio out options. If you want to hook it up to your surround sound forget it. Vizio makes the same TV for other stores which I later purchased and it is awesome.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 32 for Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L

Good Deal

12/24/2007
By ,
Puyallup, WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality was excellent and couldn't beat the price. The sound could be better, but I also purchased a surrond sound system and that did the trick so all in all good experience, the item was on time and great price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 33 for Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L

Beautiful TV

01/28/2008
By ,
Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The picture is perfect, sound too is very nice. Not bad at all for the price, this TV was so great I bought a few of them in different sizes for the other rooms in the house.
The only thing I dislike is it is a bit difficult changing cords because the TV is in a entertainment center, I wish they were in the front. Very easy to set up, just hooked our box up and plugged it in, works great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 34 for Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L

Good HDTV for price

10/03/2007
By ,
SW Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this TV in the store and was really suprised at the quality of the product. I was going to go with a 32" but I am really glad I purchased the 37" instead. There are not a lot of bells and whistles but for just viewing I am very pleased. I did have to do quite a bit of playing with the controls to get the picture the way I like it. Out of the box I thought the color was washed out, once I made the adjustments it looks great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 35 for Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L

Vizio37

01/31/2008
By ,
Va.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love my new HDTV. The picture is great considering I don't have HD service from Comcast. I'm having the same problem as the other lady with connecting surround sound need to purchase one of those adapters. Overall I'm satisfied.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 36 for Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L

Very pleased!

06/04/2008
By ,
Milwaukee
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Awesome picture quality and sound!
Love that it's alot lighter and less bulky than the TV it's replacing too.
Extremely happy with our purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 37 for Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L

NICE PRODUCT

06/11/2008
By ,
ARDMORE, OK
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am pleased so far with this television. For the money, I really could not expect more. I would recommend this product to anyone...
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 38 for Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L

Good value

12/09/2008
By ,
Oklahoma City
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm a value shopper, which means I want a good product for a fair price. I drive a Camry, not a Hummer. Consumer Reports rated the Vizio as a good HDTV for the money, and they were right. It was easy to set up, picture is great, sound is great. We'll probably by another when we're ready for a larger model.
Be warned, though, that buying the HDTV is only the start. You also have to buy or lease a converter box to turn your cable signal into an HDTV signal (at least $10/month from Cox) and a HDMI cable to connect the box to the TV (~ $30). Without these, you'll only have a nice, clear, regular TV picture, not a high-definition picture.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 39 for Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L

Good Deal

08/09/2008
By ,
Corona,CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I don't know if it is my cable box or what but I have to turn the volume to at least half way up to hear whats going on. Overall the product is great!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 40 for Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L

Lovin my flat screen

12/08/2008
By ,
Columbus, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Me and my boyfriend went to Walmart to buy a 42 inch flat screen Sanyo, well we got there late and all were gone. We were upset so we decided to get a 37 inch Vizio. We got home and fell in love...it wasn't too big it wasn't too small...it was just right for our front room. The sound is wonderful we don't even need extra speakers...and for the price the picture is great! We now plan to purchase a 32inch for the bedroom! Lovin it!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
21-40 of 322 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  17 Next