Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Vizio Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Vizio Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L

Special Online Only Price - Not Available in Stores The Vizio 37" LCD HDTV features a built-in tuner that receives conventional analog channels (NTSC), as well as the new digital channels (ATSC), including over-the-air HDTV broadcasts, where available, and unscrambled digital cable channels. An exceptional contrast ratio and fast 8-ms. response time deliver excellent picture quality. The Vizio 37" LCD HDTV also has a variety of inputs that connect to DVD players, surround-sound systems, entertainment gear and even a computer. The stand can be removed for wall mounting with an optional VESA installation kit. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the Vizio 37" LCD HDTV. Otherwise, the picture quality of an HDTV without an HD source may not be much better than that of a standard-definition TV. Please contact your local cable or satellite TV provider for details on how to upgrade to HD programming.
Average Customer Rating:
4.56 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(389 Reviews) 321
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
281
4 stars
78
3 stars
9
2 stars
9
1 star
12
Customer Recommendation92%359 out of 389reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
281
4 stars
78
3 stars
9
2 stars
9
1 star
12
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L

Never so frustrated

01/05/2008
By ,
Sacramento, Ca
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Just wanted to do something nice for my 80-something auntie who has macular deneration and had been watching a 20 yr. old tv....purchased this tv without batting an eye, my husband had said this was a great product for the money. Bought item took to my aunt's home and within a few days she statred having problems with the signal going out and the audio. We have had Directv out to check box, dish and cables, even had Vizio put a new "board" in this thing and still are having problems. Took a 6mo old Toshiba to her home hooked it up and it did perfectly fine no problems at all. Did the same with the Vizio in my home and it worked fine..no problems. I am completely baffled!!! The one thing that is a problem is that if trying to program a Directv remote you are out of luck...there is no Vizio listing when choosing a brand to coordinate with....so you are at the mercy of some "universal"codes to program the remote. I never could get the satellite remote to do everything I had to do sound on the Vizio one and the guide on the other. I have spent every weekend making trips to my aunt's to do some sort of work with this tv since Nov 27th( not that she's not worth it) but when you purchase something you really want it to work without this much stress!! When this tv was on and working it seemed to be a fine product but I would certainly caution anyone to maybe go with something that is a bit more expensive but a more tried and true brand name.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 22 for Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L

OPPS

03/10/2008
By ,
Jacksonville, Florida
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Right out the box I started having trouble with this one. Online it showed and stated an audio out, which I need for my surround sound system. Opps they forgot to tell you it is an optical output only and there are no adapters to take it to RCA which guess what, is what most home systems use. So I had to go buy another reciever unit that had an optical audio input and a cable. So if you are not hooking up to a system this maybe a good buy for you. If you are and have a system that has RCA plugs then you may want to opt for a Sony because one way or another you are going to be spending a lot more money hooking this one up.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 23 for Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L

great for tv

09/21/2007
By ,
PA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
this 37" is great for the mid size living room but i wouldn't recommend if you play video games. the previous screen would get displayed as a shadow in the background, very annoying. hdtv and standard tv was good though. had to use Y audio cables to hook up surround sound because it has no audio out.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 24 for Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L

Picture not good

10/03/2008
By ,
Akron, Ohio
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I was very disappointed with this Vizio HDTV. Gray spots all over, fuzzy and I couldn't find any where to change the screen format. Wide is it. After a Sanyo that was no better than my 5 yr old tube TV, a Philips that had a great picture, but I wanted a little bigger TV, and yesterday I got the Vizio 37", and this was the worst of all. The Vizio goes back today and I may go back to my tubed Philips.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 25 for Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L
02/14/2009
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I returned this TV.It is only a 720p.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 26 for Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L

Buttons on TV are not smooth

09/10/2007
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buttons on TV are not smooth to operate. Sometimes, you have to push them 2 or 3 times before the TV reacts. Besides, TV display is turned on slowly, after it acknowleges the ON button on TV or from the remote.
The color and picture are great.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 27 for Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L

Disapointed Picture Quality

02/15/2009
By ,
San Antonio, TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very disapointed with picture quality. I viewed the same model in other stores before shopping on-line to get the best price. My TV does not have the quality of picture that I viewed elsewhere. This applys to HD cable as well as with a Blue Ray DVD player.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 28 for Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L

Good but no cigar

05/28/2008
By ,
Lompoc, Ca
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Awesome out of the box, easy setup, great picture on DVDs, but less than satisfactory on cable hookup with coaxial cables. Decided to return it after a week because it does not have features I need...No zoom or screen formating on the remote control, no side hookups, and only optical audio output. You have to drill down into on- screen menu to change from wide, panoramic, normal which is unacceptable to view stock quotes on CNBC or movies with subtitles. I returned TV to Walmart and purchased another Vizio from another source, the VX37HDTV, which is far superior.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 29 for Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L

Visio 37 inch LCD

11/29/2008
By ,
Shoreview, MN
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
For 30 years, standard RCA pin plugs have protruded straight out from the body of the TV, VCR etc. Not on this VISIO
They hid the pugs under a panel and they prtrude downward. I had to turn the whole TV upside down so I could finally read the labels.
Also from Admiral to Samsung, the input outputs are yellow, white and red. Visia comes out with an additional Green and blue. I use TV ears to hear better but this set has no indication as to whether it is audio out or audio in.
Look on the back on any electronic equipment and it will always say Video In and out , Audio In and out. Nowhere does it say in or out.
I may take this back to the store and get a decent TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 30 for Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L

Okay as second or third set

12/05/2007
By ,
Ormond Beach, FL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is your basic, meat and potatoes set that doesn't have a lot of bells and whistles, but is perfect for a bedroom or kitchen. Not large enough to have the gang over to watch the big game, but certainly works well enough for other applications. Picture quality is acceptable, and it sounds fine. If you're looking for a new TV, and price is your biggest concern, you will certainly get what you paid for with this set. Nothing more, but nothing less.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 31 for Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L

our tv

07/02/2007
By ,
Moravia, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
we are very pleased with our choice....the size is perfect for the size of our room !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 32 for Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L

We love it!

08/11/2007
By ,
Rutland, VT
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Much more than we expected for the price. Lightweight, easy to move around, easy to connect, and what a great picture. The Pro Football Hall of Fame game and the PGA Championship were awesome. Leno in HD makes you feel like you're in the studio. We'll be getting a 26" for our bedroom.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 33 for Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L

So far, so good

11/10/2008
By ,
new mexico
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this before the x-mas sales because i needed a new t.v. I had the choice boiled down to either vizio or insignia(best buy) and decided the vizio was the way to go. After 2 days I only have 1 bad thing to say about this tv. The connections are on the bottom rear of this instead of on the side or front. For a 60 yr. old disabled person to get under there to hook up cables was a real chore. Side access like the insignia has would be the best I think. The remote is very simple as has been remarked on in other reviews but ok i guess. A few more features would be nice, but for the money($657.) i can't gripe too much. I only have sd service at the moment and it's a lot better than what i thought it was going to be after reading some of the reviews concerning this. I'm getting hd soon so i'll know how that is then. I'll write another review once i get that and I've had this set for a couple months. I don't think you"ll be disappointed with this tv.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 34 for Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L

Not Bad for the price

02/02/2008
By ,
TENNESSEE
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my first BIG TV. Ok, maybe to some it's not big enough. For the price listed I thought it was a great deal, which it is in a way. I am a bit unsat about the pic quality while watching movies that revolve around a darker scenery with a little light visible to make out the character's faces. The pic looks smeared...there's a massive, noticable difference in contrast from dark to light tones making people and object look like a cheap imitation Final Fantasy movie remake.. (a little digital animated appearance). However I am not utilizing the HD part of the TV so that may make up the difference. Other than that, it's a great addition to the home that'll make any small room look big.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 35 for Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L

Great product for the price

10/13/2007
By ,
Howard County, MD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Everything about this unit is well worth the price. Only real drawback is that there is no audio out capability. You need to connect through a component such as your set top cable box. The sound quality could also be better, when using the component inputs. Overall a great product and comparable to the other higher priced models.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 36 for Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L

So far so good!

04/15/2009
By ,
Tampa, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The TV is very elegant.
The HD channels picture quality are great, those non HD are a little ugly.
It has been three weeks since I purchased the product so far I highly recommend this product.
The installation is easy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 37 for Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L

good value

04/15/2009
By ,
northern California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
this tv works great, sets up easily, great sound, but the picture does not have bright colors like the Sharp. there is a decidedly orange cast to the picture, and i had to adjust the backlight to maximum to get away from dark shadows on the faces. the one in the store is the same way. but for the money it is a pretty good deal, as the adjustments allow for adequate brightness and fairly good skin tones. i am using it with regular cable, but the store has satellite HD, so it probably would not make a difference. there are not a lot of 37in sets to choose from either. i have had it 4 months.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 38 for Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L

Great buy for the money

11/02/2007
By ,
Iowa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought the 37" and 26" sets.
They seem 95 percent as good as a Samsung for 30 percent less money.
Picture quality is great. If you turn up the brighness and contrast a hair on the 26" it look just like a Samsung.
The 37inch is plenty bright inside my room with windows slightly shaded. I amost need sunglasses when something white comes on screen. I have been happy with the settings out of the box.
Only Drawback is sound quality and lack of audio outputs for external sound. You have to pull the sound out of your cable box and turn cable box or stereo off each time.
I'd pay $50 more if VIZIO would put better sound
in them!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 39 for Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L

Good Value

07/17/2008
By ,
Bossier City, LA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have had the product for a little over a month and have encountered no issues. Set up was easy. Picture is Excellent in HD and very good with regular cable. Would like a remote that is programmable for other devises. Would also enjoy an audio out that is not optical. Not a very feature rich tv but for the money is a very good purchase. Works great as a computer monitor as well. This 37" is a great purchase over the 32's out there. Am very happy I decided to spend the few extra bucks for the 37". Would have been great to have included a wall mount....but really none of them do. Buy it!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 40 for Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L

Very nice unit

10/04/2008
By ,
Allentown
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Replacing a two-year old 37" Westinghouse that stopped working. Was looking for an inexpensive TV. Saw this Vizio on Walmart.com, and then went to store to see it. Also downloaded manual to see what features it had and ordered it right away. Was delivered in 3 days! It comes with a very simple remote and very nice features so that you can adjust picture (which took a little time to get it right). To me, it has better speakers than many other LCD TV's.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
21-40 of 322 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  17 Next