Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Vizio Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Vizio Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L

Special Online Only Price - Not Available in Stores The Vizio 37" LCD HDTV features a built-in tuner that receives conventional analog channels (NTSC), as well as the new digital channels (ATSC), including over-the-air HDTV broadcasts, where available, and unscrambled digital cable channels. An exceptional contrast ratio and fast 8-ms. response time deliver excellent picture quality. The Vizio 37" LCD HDTV also has a variety of inputs that connect to DVD players, surround-sound systems, entertainment gear and even a computer. The stand can be removed for wall mounting with an optional VESA installation kit. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the Vizio 37" LCD HDTV. Otherwise, the picture quality of an HDTV without an HD source may not be much better than that of a standard-definition TV. Please contact your local cable or satellite TV provider for details on how to upgrade to HD programming.
Average Customer Rating:
4.56 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(389 Reviews) 321
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
281
4 stars
78
3 stars
9
2 stars
9
1 star
12
Customer Recommendation92%359 out of 389reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
281
4 stars
78
3 stars
9
2 stars
9
1 star
12
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L

Never so frustrated

01/05/2008
By ,
Sacramento, Ca
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Just wanted to do something nice for my 80-something auntie who has macular deneration and had been watching a 20 yr. old tv....purchased this tv without batting an eye, my husband had said this was a great product for the money. Bought item took to my aunt's home and within a few days she statred having problems with the signal going out and the audio. We have had Directv out to check box, dish and cables, even had Vizio put a new "board" in this thing and still are having problems. Took a 6mo old Toshiba to her home hooked it up and it did perfectly fine no problems at all. Did the same with the Vizio in my home and it worked fine..no problems. I am completely baffled!!! The one thing that is a problem is that if trying to program a Directv remote you are out of luck...there is no Vizio listing when choosing a brand to coordinate with....so you are at the mercy of some "universal"codes to program the remote. I never could get the satellite remote to do everything I had to do sound on the Vizio one and the guide on the other. I have spent every weekend making trips to my aunt's to do some sort of work with this tv since Nov 27th( not that she's not worth it) but when you purchase something you really want it to work without this much stress!! When this tv was on and working it seemed to be a fine product but I would certainly caution anyone to maybe go with something that is a bit more expensive but a more tried and true brand name.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 22 for Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L

Okay as second or third set

12/05/2007
By ,
Ormond Beach, FL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is your basic, meat and potatoes set that doesn't have a lot of bells and whistles, but is perfect for a bedroom or kitchen. Not large enough to have the gang over to watch the big game, but certainly works well enough for other applications. Picture quality is acceptable, and it sounds fine. If you're looking for a new TV, and price is your biggest concern, you will certainly get what you paid for with this set. Nothing more, but nothing less.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 23 for Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L

Good but no cigar

05/28/2008
By ,
Lompoc, Ca
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Awesome out of the box, easy setup, great picture on DVDs, but less than satisfactory on cable hookup with coaxial cables. Decided to return it after a week because it does not have features I need...No zoom or screen formating on the remote control, no side hookups, and only optical audio output. You have to drill down into on- screen menu to change from wide, panoramic, normal which is unacceptable to view stock quotes on CNBC or movies with subtitles. I returned TV to Walmart and purchased another Vizio from another source, the VX37HDTV, which is far superior.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 24 for Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L

Visio 37 inch LCD

11/29/2008
By ,
Shoreview, MN
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
For 30 years, standard RCA pin plugs have protruded straight out from the body of the TV, VCR etc. Not on this VISIO
They hid the pugs under a panel and they prtrude downward. I had to turn the whole TV upside down so I could finally read the labels.
Also from Admiral to Samsung, the input outputs are yellow, white and red. Visia comes out with an additional Green and blue. I use TV ears to hear better but this set has no indication as to whether it is audio out or audio in.
Look on the back on any electronic equipment and it will always say Video In and out , Audio In and out. Nowhere does it say in or out.
I may take this back to the store and get a decent TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 25 for Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L

OPPS

03/10/2008
By ,
Jacksonville, Florida
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Right out the box I started having trouble with this one. Online it showed and stated an audio out, which I need for my surround sound system. Opps they forgot to tell you it is an optical output only and there are no adapters to take it to RCA which guess what, is what most home systems use. So I had to go buy another reciever unit that had an optical audio input and a cable. So if you are not hooking up to a system this maybe a good buy for you. If you are and have a system that has RCA plugs then you may want to opt for a Sony because one way or another you are going to be spending a lot more money hooking this one up.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 26 for Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L

Buttons on TV are not smooth

09/10/2007
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buttons on TV are not smooth to operate. Sometimes, you have to push them 2 or 3 times before the TV reacts. Besides, TV display is turned on slowly, after it acknowleges the ON button on TV or from the remote.
The color and picture are great.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 27 for Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L

Picture not good

10/03/2008
By ,
Akron, Ohio
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I was very disappointed with this Vizio HDTV. Gray spots all over, fuzzy and I couldn't find any where to change the screen format. Wide is it. After a Sanyo that was no better than my 5 yr old tube TV, a Philips that had a great picture, but I wanted a little bigger TV, and yesterday I got the Vizio 37", and this was the worst of all. The Vizio goes back today and I may go back to my tubed Philips.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 28 for Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L

great for tv

09/21/2007
By ,
PA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
this 37" is great for the mid size living room but i wouldn't recommend if you play video games. the previous screen would get displayed as a shadow in the background, very annoying. hdtv and standard tv was good though. had to use Y audio cables to hook up surround sound because it has no audio out.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 29 for Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L
02/14/2009
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I returned this TV.It is only a 720p.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 30 for Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L

Disapointed Picture Quality

02/15/2009
By ,
San Antonio, TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very disapointed with picture quality. I viewed the same model in other stores before shopping on-line to get the best price. My TV does not have the quality of picture that I viewed elsewhere. This applys to HD cable as well as with a Blue Ray DVD player.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 31 for Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L

Good HDTV for price

10/03/2007
By ,
SW Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this TV in the store and was really suprised at the quality of the product. I was going to go with a 32" but I am really glad I purchased the 37" instead. There are not a lot of bells and whistles but for just viewing I am very pleased. I did have to do quite a bit of playing with the controls to get the picture the way I like it. Out of the box I thought the color was washed out, once I made the adjustments it looks great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 32 for Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L

Nice picture, no audio out

09/24/2007
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This TV has a great picture. If you don't have a surround sound system to hook up to it, I would highly recommend it. But it has NO audio out options. If you want to hook it up to your surround sound forget it. Vizio makes the same TV for other stores which I later purchased and it is awesome.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 33 for Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L

Good price! Good picture.\!

04/07/2008
By ,
Spotuhern Illinois
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my first purchase of a Vizio product and I must say thai I am pleased. I have looked around, believe me. For the price and the overall picture quality this one is hard to beat. It is a bit lacking on all the bells and whistles of some of the more expensive models but I do not think one would be disappointed with this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 34 for Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L

our tv

07/02/2007
By ,
Moravia, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
we are very pleased with our choice....the size is perfect for the size of our room !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 35 for Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L

So far so good

10/07/2007
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've have the TV for about 2 weeks now and so far I'm loving it... Great picture quality, sound is giving me some trouble, but I think it's just a setting I messed up when I was doing my initial push every button phase... Overall this is a great product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 36 for Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L

GOOD VALUE

06/03/2008
By ,
San Diego, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A lot of T.V. for the money. The Vizio 37" is the only one I found that just fits our entertainment center with 1/8th inch to spare on each side. Can't wait to use our HD DVD machine with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 37 for Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L

So Far So good!!

02/21/2009
By ,
Salisbury,NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Hey, I just bought this t.v. tonight after researching and checking reviews and prices at tons of stores and sites.It was between this one and a phillip 42. So far everything looks great it hooked up very easily! My 2 yr old is already in love with the new and improved bigger Mickey Mouse!lol. I know alot of people get into detail with technical terms, well I don't know alot of tech stuff. I'm a stay at home mom and needed a good, resonably priced t.v. and I think I've found it! I will repost in a few weeks or month to tell how I like it! Oh and it comes a long with a super simple fold out page with directions how to hook up and then how to personalize the t.v.!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 38 for Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L

Good tv for the money

12/01/2008
By ,
Kane, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I recently bought this tv on black Friday because mine quit working. I was kind of ify of buying it because it is not brand name. So far im pleased with the tv. The only gripe I can give is that it is 720p and not 1080p. Other then that its a good tv for the price and I have not had any problems with it yet. I also was noticing how many other people were buying them and there were a lot being sold of this brand. Also has enough hook ups for my games and pc that I also use on it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 39 for Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L

Good Value

07/17/2008
By ,
Bossier City, LA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have had the product for a little over a month and have encountered no issues. Set up was easy. Picture is Excellent in HD and very good with regular cable. Would like a remote that is programmable for other devises. Would also enjoy an audio out that is not optical. Not a very feature rich tv but for the money is a very good purchase. Works great as a computer monitor as well. This 37" is a great purchase over the 32's out there. Am very happy I decided to spend the few extra bucks for the 37". Would have been great to have included a wall mount....but really none of them do. Buy it!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 40 for Vizio 37" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, VW37L

outstanding

10/10/2007
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A really good buy for the money!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
21-40 of 322 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  17 Next