Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for South Shore Furniture South Shore Savannah Door Chest, Pure White

South Shore Furniture South Shore Savannah Door Chest, Pure White

The South Shore Savannah Door Chest, Pure White would be an ideal choice for your child's bedroom as it comes in a variety of storage combinations to suit every requirement. While decorating your toddler's room, consider the South Shore Pure White baby dresser, as it can create a regal look that your little prince or princess will surely love. Made of composite wood panels, the South Shore Door Chest comes with certification from theForest Stewardship Council (FSC) which makes it an eco friendly option. The chest features two drawers and three open storage compartments featuring two adjustable shelves which you can utilize to keep necessary or decorative items. Behind the swing open door are three adjustable and two fixed shelves where you can keep your child's clothes. The drawers come with wooden knobs to allow easy access. Some assembling of the chest would be required upon delivery of the product.
Average Customer Rating:
3.588 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(80 Reviews) 74
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
23
4 stars
30
3 stars
11
2 stars
3
1 star
13
Customer Recommendation76%61 out of 80reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 30 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
23
4 stars
30
3 stars
11
2 stars
3
1 star
13
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for South Shore Savannah Door Chest, Pure White

Don't let the kids climb on it!

12/11/2012
By ,
Pompano Beach, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have purchased and assembled many RTA pieces in my life. This one was about average in difficulty for its size, and I put it together by myself (female, 5'5"). The instructions could have been a bit clearer for people who haven't done this before - such as saying that the finished edge should be on this side, etc. But if you've done a few of these, you shouldn't have a problem with this one.
I was very surprised (and a little disappointed) to find that the drawer slides are plastic. This may work to our advantage, since we are at the beach where everything rusts, but I am a little concerned about whether they'll hold up. I was impressed that there was a piece included whose sole job was to keep me from smashing the plastic drawer slides when hammering them in.
Some of the pieces - especially the cabinet door - are a bit lighter (flimsier) than I expected. Also the screws don't go all the way into the knobs (door & 2 drawers), so they feel loose all the time. The little piece on the front of the bottom (it's mainly decorative) is kind of difficult to get on, and comes off easily when lifting the cabinet for moving - but once you have it where you want it, you can put that piece back in and it seems to stay. All of the problems with that little piece could be solved by the use of different (better) hardware - such as the twist lock devices used on the rest of the cabinet.
Other than those few little things, I was happy overall. There was no damage to the piece upon delivery, and all the parts were there. It looks really nice and fits perfectly in the place we planned to put it. I am a little concerned that it won't last long, because it is light, and we are using it in a commerical application, but frankly for as cheap as it was, if we had to buy a new one every other year, it wouldn't be a big deal.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for South Shore Savannah Door Chest, Pure White

I had no problems

08/29/2007
By ,
Ft Riley, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you put this product together by the directions it will look awesome. There are some gaps but that is how it should look. I love it and it looks great in my daughters room.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for South Shore Savannah Door Chest, Pure White

It's exactly what I wanted!

10/02/2010
By ,
Lawton, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have no issue with this product it was easy to assemble and it goes well with the other product from the south shore line. I loved the end result I read alot of the comments prior to purchasing this product and I almost did not buy it but I can say that I do have a negative thing to say. I the product is assemble right you will not have any problems. I am still working on the completion on my nursery but I did add a few picture of the 3 south shore products I purchased
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for South Shore Savannah Door Chest, Pure White

DO NOT BUY!!!!!

01/19/2008
By ,
La Porte, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT!!!!! My husband and I initially loved it and purchased it. After the chest came (LATE and with no notice e-mail) we put it together. It looks so cheesy and cheap...we wasted $215 and 3 hours putting this piece of junk together!
There are unsightly gaps on every straight line of this chest! YES we put it together correctly, and tried every way to fix the problems with no luck! The door is TOO SMALL for the chest!
Save your money, time, and energy!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for South Shore Savannah Door Chest, Pure White

Looks nice but not the best quality

10/15/2013
By ,
Augusta, GA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It's a very cute Dresser and it looks nice finished in our Daughters Room. But it's pretty cheep made and has a couple of little flaws.
For example the door is a thin pressed wood just like the back of Dresser and surounded by a frame instead of having a real wood door like most furnitur you see and buy. Most connecting parts are plastic instead of metal. Color chips of easy on butom where it stands on carpet and we had to take of the little front bord ( on butom , waved looking bord, it seems to be only for looks) wile standig on the carpet with just a few books on shelf, we where not able to open butom draw without having to lift the draw up!
Not sure if I would recommend or buy it again. It was inexpensive and I guess you get what you pay for! So if you look for a dresser what's cute and cheep and you not care about its quality than go for it but if you want quality and something that's good for a very long time, than you might want to buy something different!!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for South Shore Savannah Door Chest, Pure White

perfect for a first time parent!!

02/25/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i super like this, it was easy to put it together..some say about the space between door/drawers but its not really a big of a deal...overall its really pretty, good price, you just have to be more creative to make the cabinet a lot more outstanding... :)
HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for South Shore Savannah Door Chest, Pure White

Door chest!

07/02/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I were looking for a dresser for our daughter. I didn't want to hang all of her things (onesies, etc.). We also did not want to spend a lot of money since there were a million other things we had to get for our first child! We wanted something that would last a few years. When I saw this dresser online I loved it!! And it was under $200!! We paid $193 with shipping to our home and taxes. It got here really fast! Less than a week. It did take some time to out together just because there are a lot of pieces (I mean it is a dresser). However, the instructions were simple. We had a few leftover parts. I'm hoping they are just extra lol. It is shorter than I would like but I knew that before ordering it. I'm 5'4 and it comes to around my shoulders. The drawers slide smoothly. You can make the shelves any height. It was a little dirty on some pieces from packing but it came right off when I wiped it with a rag. Also, when I was reading reviews on this product before purchasing, I noticed many people complaining about the gap in the door. Yes, there is a gap. You can tighten it and it will close the gap towards the drawers but there will just be a gap on the far side (by the hinges). To me this isn't a big deal, our dresser is turned at an angle so you can't see unless you look for it. The white is a bright white. It matches our storkcraft Carrara crib perfectly. I can't wait to order the matching changer!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for South Shore Savannah Door Chest, Pure White

Ok product

04/18/2014
By ,
Las Vegas, Nv
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The item is great but when my boyfriend and I were putting it together we noticed a crack in the door by the bottom hinge and the paint was chipped in several spots. There is a lil gap in the door but it's not a big deal and it doesn't look bad at all. I need to see how I can get them to send me another door. Over all it's an ok product. I bought it even though it was a lil out of my budget so I'm a lil disappointed with the crack in the door but other than that it's good.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for South Shore Savannah Door Chest, Pure White

Not Worth the Money

03/29/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was VERY disappointed in this product. The drawers do not align, the back was not aligned, I was missing pieces and it is very flimsy. For the amount of money I paid for it, I would have gone to IKEA for something I knew that would withstand time. I am very upset and I can't return it due to building it. I just wish I would have known before purchasing it. The drawers at the bottom do not align, the door does not align or close, and it makes this look cheap.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for South Shore Savannah Door Chest, Pure White

Very cute, a little lightweight

03/25/2014
By ,
Louisville, KY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This chest is very cute. We did have a damaged door and hinge in our set, but the company sent out a new door with no problems. In my opinion, the directions from this company are a little unclear, but not so much that you can't figure it out. The chest, more specifically the door, is somewhat lightweight and flimsy, but it will certainly serve its purpose. The price was great. Overall, I am very happy with this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for South Shore Savannah Door Chest, Pure White

Better than expected after reading reviews.

03/07/2014
By ,
Osceola Mills, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My husband had this assembled in just under 2 hours. It looks very cute in our little girl's room. Only complaint is that the front edge of one of the shelves was cracked, but after assembly it really isn't noticeable unless you're really looking for it. For the price, this seems to be a nice piece so far. I like that the drawers have a safety stop so they can't be totally removed. I don't expect it to last forever, but it seems to be sturdier than expected. Hoping the dresser and changing table will assemble easily also and be just as nice.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for South Shore Savannah Door Chest, Pure White

Very cheap piece of furniture

10/16/2012
By ,
Puyallup, Wa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have never given a bad review, but you deserve to know what you are buying before you bother. First of all, it came in a box with a lot of pieces and very undetailed directions on how to put it together. It took 3-4 hours to assemble (both my husband and I as a team). There were probably 100 steps total because each step had multiple components within it. Second, it is such a cheap piece of furniture that the pieces don't even fit together snug. The door hinge broke, everything was so fragile. The door doesn't even shut all the way. It came with plenty of dings and scratches too. It's wobbly and very fragile. I don't think it would survive a move. We bought this for my daughter's room, and if she wasn't in love with it (she's 8 and loves everything) then we would be taking it back. I wouldn't be so upset if it only costed 100.00 or less. But, at 175.00 I thought it would be better quality. Very disappointed. I learned my lesson about buying South Shore furniture though.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for South Shore Savannah Door Chest, Pure White

Horrible piece of furniture.

02/28/2012
By ,
Chesapeake, Va
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Looked amazing online and I sadly made the mistake of not reading the bad reviews until my husband and I attempted to put it together. It's got so many pieces that it's just ridiculous. It's horribly cheap and flimsy and even comes with a hook to screw it into the wall so that it doesn't topple over on your child. Not something that I want in my child's nursery after reading that. The screws strip while screwing them in, the flimsy papery wood chips and breaks while putting it together and there are gaps in between the drawers because of how poorly it was constructed. The pieces don't even fit together properly if you put it together! Not to mention that we followed the directions exactly how they said. I would highly recommend you look elsewhere because this is not at all worth the amount of money you're paying. I'm honestly scared to open up the matching changing table for fear that it's as cheap and flimsy as this piece.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Bellflower, CA
Safety
Posted 06/05/2013
All nursery furniture should be secured to the wall no matter how sturdy you feel it is. The last thing you want is your armoire falling on top of your child and killing them. The hook is there for safety, not because it's flimsy furniture.
0points
Customer Avatar
Chesapeake, Va
Not that bad.
Posted 03/26/2012
For the amount of money spent it really isn't that bad. It hasn't toppled over and we didn't put the hook into the wall. It's not as cheap looking now that it's sitting in the room and the little cracks between the doors are small and look fine. The matching changing table goes fine with it. Really not as bad as it seems.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 14 for South Shore Savannah Door Chest, Pure White

Love the look, wish it had been shipped better

02/06/2012
By ,
Bay Area, California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I absolutely love the look of this armoire. My fiancé and I built it in about an hour and a half for our sons nursery. It doesn't have a wardrobe rack just shelves inside the door. We took out a couple shelves and put one in ourselves. Great for the price. Seems sturdy for what we are using it for. My only complaint is that because it shipped from NY and it wasn't packaged all that great it did have a few damaged pieces. It was really just a nick or ding here or there. Thankfully they were all in places that you can't see like the back. Other than that I LOVE it! Drawers work great, shelves are sturdy, door opens and closes easily and the gaps are even. I think it's perfect for a baby's room.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for South Shore Savannah Door Chest, Pure White

3 1/2 years later we still love it!

02/03/2014
By ,
WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We've had this armoire for 3 1/2 years and we love it. So far with 2 kids opening, closing, slamming the door and occasionally climbing on it, it is holding up well to my surprise. Yes, there is an ever so slightly gap between the door, but I have never even noticed it as I had to specifically go look at mine to see if it was there. It is not great quality, but it is a great armoire for under $200.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for South Shore Savannah Door Chest, Pure White

Love it!

02/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We received this for our baby nursery...Very good quality...Easy to put together! We love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for South Shore Savannah Door Chest, Pure White

I love this chest!

11/01/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i don't know what everyone is complaining about. I love this chest! My husband helped me put it together and it looks just like the one in the picture :) it is just the right hight so i can put some things on top of it. the drawers and the door fit nicely. there is a small gap around he door, but the door is adjustable so you can move it over a bit. i don't think it looks bad at all. in fact it is a perfect piece for my soft yellow nursery :) the only thing i was disapointed in was that the tracks for the drawers are plastic. yet the drawers work fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for South Shore Savannah Door Chest, Pure White

Decent Enough...

08/04/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It went together easy enough - though I maybe should let my husband answer that since I had nothing to do with the assembly :)
There are gaps where the drawers are and the top drawer doesn't seem to shut all the way but not noticable enough to return or stress on.
The MAJOR downside it it's HEIGTH!! It is true to measurement but MAN IT IS SHO SHORT!! I did not actually hold up a tape measure and now standing next to it - it only goes up to my armpit. Do not look at the picture and think it's tall - it's not. Thus 4 stars :O)
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for South Shore Savannah Door Chest, Pure White

Broken

01/14/2014
By ,
Il
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Before I even got to finish putting it together it broke!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for South Shore Savannah Door Chest, Pure White

love it!

08/14/2007
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I WAS VERY SKEPTICAL WHEN I PURCHASED THIS ITEM, BECAUSE OF THE BAD REVIEW IT RECIEVED, BUT I WAS IMPRESSED. IT LOOKS BEATIFUL IN MY DAUGHTERS ROOM, AND WAS EASY TO ASSEMBLE.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 75 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next