Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for South Shore Furniture South Shore Savannah Door Chest, Pure White

South Shore Furniture South Shore Savannah Door Chest, Pure White

The South Shore Savannah Door Chest in a Pure White finish would be an ideal choice for your child's bedroom as it comes in a variety of storage combinations to suit every requirement. While decorating your toddler's room, consider the South Shore Pure White baby dresser, as it can create a regal look that your little prince or princess will surely love. Made of composite wood panels, this dresser chest comes with certification from the Forest Stewardship Council (FSC), which makes it an eco-friendly option. The chest features two drawers and three open storage compartments featuring two adjustable shelves which you can utilize to keep necessary or decorative items. Behind the swing open door on this South Shore door chest are three adjustable and two fixed shelves where you can keep your child's clothes. The drawers come with wooden knobs to allow easy access. Some assembling of the chest would be required upon delivery of the product.
Average Customer Rating:
3.547 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(95 Reviews) 89
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
27
4 stars
35
3 stars
13
2 stars
3
1 star
17
Customer Recommendation75%71 out of 95reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 30 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
27
4 stars
35
3 stars
13
2 stars
3
1 star
17
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for South Shore Savannah Door Chest, Pure White

I had no problems

08/29/2007
By ,
Ft Riley, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you put this product together by the directions it will look awesome. There are some gaps but that is how it should look. I love it and it looks great in my daughters room.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for South Shore Savannah Door Chest, Pure White

It's exactly what I wanted!

10/02/2010
By ,
Lawton, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have no issue with this product it was easy to assemble and it goes well with the other product from the south shore line. I loved the end result I read alot of the comments prior to purchasing this product and I almost did not buy it but I can say that I do have a negative thing to say. I the product is assemble right you will not have any problems. I am still working on the completion on my nursery but I did add a few picture of the 3 south shore products I purchased
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for South Shore Savannah Door Chest, Pure White

DO NOT BUY!!!!!

01/19/2008
By ,
La Porte, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT!!!!! My husband and I initially loved it and purchased it. After the chest came (LATE and with no notice e-mail) we put it together. It looks so cheesy and cheap...we wasted $215 and 3 hours putting this piece of junk together!
There are unsightly gaps on every straight line of this chest! YES we put it together correctly, and tried every way to fix the problems with no luck! The door is TOO SMALL for the chest!
Save your money, time, and energy!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for South Shore Savannah Door Chest, Pure White

Looks nice but not the best quality

10/15/2013
By ,
Augusta, GA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It's a very cute Dresser and it looks nice finished in our Daughters Room. But it's pretty cheep made and has a couple of little flaws.
For example the door is a thin pressed wood just like the back of Dresser and surounded by a frame instead of having a real wood door like most furnitur you see and buy. Most connecting parts are plastic instead of metal. Color chips of easy on butom where it stands on carpet and we had to take of the little front bord ( on butom , waved looking bord, it seems to be only for looks) wile standig on the carpet with just a few books on shelf, we where not able to open butom draw without having to lift the draw up!
Not sure if I would recommend or buy it again. It was inexpensive and I guess you get what you pay for! So if you look for a dresser what's cute and cheep and you not care about its quality than go for it but if you want quality and something that's good for a very long time, than you might want to buy something different!!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for South Shore Savannah Door Chest, Pure White

perfect for a first time parent!!

02/25/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i super like this, it was easy to put it together..some say about the space between door/drawers but its not really a big of a deal...overall its really pretty, good price, you just have to be more creative to make the cabinet a lot more outstanding... :)
HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for South Shore Savannah Door Chest, Pure White

Door chest!

07/02/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I were looking for a dresser for our daughter. I didn't want to hang all of her things (onesies, etc.). We also did not want to spend a lot of money since there were a million other things we had to get for our first child! We wanted something that would last a few years. When I saw this dresser online I loved it!! And it was under $200!! We paid $193 with shipping to our home and taxes. It got here really fast! Less than a week. It did take some time to out together just because there are a lot of pieces (I mean it is a dresser). However, the instructions were simple. We had a few leftover parts. I'm hoping they are just extra lol. It is shorter than I would like but I knew that before ordering it. I'm 5'4 and it comes to around my shoulders. The drawers slide smoothly. You can make the shelves any height. It was a little dirty on some pieces from packing but it came right off when I wiped it with a rag. Also, when I was reading reviews on this product before purchasing, I noticed many people complaining about the gap in the door. Yes, there is a gap. You can tighten it and it will close the gap towards the drawers but there will just be a gap on the far side (by the hinges). To me this isn't a big deal, our dresser is turned at an angle so you can't see unless you look for it. The white is a bright white. It matches our storkcraft Carrara crib perfectly. I can't wait to order the matching changer!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for South Shore Savannah Door Chest, Pure White

Very cheap piece of furniture

10/16/2012
By ,
Puyallup, Wa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have never given a bad review, but you deserve to know what you are buying before you bother. First of all, it came in a box with a lot of pieces and very undetailed directions on how to put it together. It took 3-4 hours to assemble (both my husband and I as a team). There were probably 100 steps total because each step had multiple components within it. Second, it is such a cheap piece of furniture that the pieces don't even fit together snug. The door hinge broke, everything was so fragile. The door doesn't even shut all the way. It came with plenty of dings and scratches too. It's wobbly and very fragile. I don't think it would survive a move. We bought this for my daughter's room, and if she wasn't in love with it (she's 8 and loves everything) then we would be taking it back. I wouldn't be so upset if it only costed 100.00 or less. But, at 175.00 I thought it would be better quality. Very disappointed. I learned my lesson about buying South Shore furniture though.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for South Shore Savannah Door Chest, Pure White

Love it!!

11/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Looks great. Yeah there's a ton of little screws and stuff, but again, for $160, steal!!
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for South Shore Savannah Door Chest, Pure White

Looks good

11/01/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It looks like the picture, my daughter is happy with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for South Shore Savannah Door Chest, Pure White

Extremely hard assembly

11/09/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Instructions are not very specific and screws and and all the hardware is not labeled so you have to be guessing wich one goes were took me and my wife 4 hours to assemble
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for South Shore Savannah Door Chest, Pure White

Missing parts. Nice style.

11/07/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Missing parts for drawer assembly. Poor quality wood and materials. The size and design are nice for my purposes.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for South Shore Savannah Door Chest, Pure White

Horrible piece of furniture.

02/28/2012
By ,
Chesapeake, Va
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Looked amazing online and I sadly made the mistake of not reading the bad reviews until my husband and I attempted to put it together. It's got so many pieces that it's just ridiculous. It's horribly cheap and flimsy and even comes with a hook to screw it into the wall so that it doesn't topple over on your child. Not something that I want in my child's nursery after reading that. The screws strip while screwing them in, the flimsy papery wood chips and breaks while putting it together and there are gaps in between the drawers because of how poorly it was constructed. The pieces don't even fit together properly if you put it together! Not to mention that we followed the directions exactly how they said. I would highly recommend you look elsewhere because this is not at all worth the amount of money you're paying. I'm honestly scared to open up the matching changing table for fear that it's as cheap and flimsy as this piece.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Bellflower, CA
Safety
Posted 06/05/2013
All nursery furniture should be secured to the wall no matter how sturdy you feel it is. The last thing you want is your armoire falling on top of your child and killing them. The hook is there for safety, not because it's flimsy furniture.
0points
Customer Avatar
Chesapeake, Va
Not that bad.
Posted 03/26/2012
For the amount of money spent it really isn't that bad. It hasn't toppled over and we didn't put the hook into the wall. It's not as cheap looking now that it's sitting in the room and the little cracks between the doors are small and look fine. The matching changing table goes fine with it. Really not as bad as it seems.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 13 for South Shore Savannah Door Chest, Pure White

very bad quality,falling apart...waste of money

10/19/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was surprised how poor this item is for the price, I can't believe it has not been recalled yet, this is supposed to be for a child's room, the drawers are falling apart, the chest front is made of paper!! and the drawers base is from cheap carton, had my 3 years old socks and undies only and they fell off, chest base coming off each time you open the bottom drawer, I am very sorry I bought it, I wish I can return it, here it is in my daughter's bedroom almost empty... don;t buyyyyyyyyy!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for South Shore Savannah Door Chest, Pure White

Cute but damaged

10/11/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After you get it all done , it looks really cute, but for sure you will receive some pieces damaged. I thing the biggest problem is the door. Doesn't shout all the way, unless you pool it up and use your knee to push it in. I ordered this item 2 times, and same problems with both . But I must say beside all the problems this chest is so cute and I just love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for South Shore Savannah Door Chest, Pure White

A nice product for the money

10/06/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would call this a good value. It did take 2 of us about an hour and a half to set up. The directions were fairly clear, and we had no major problems in the assembly. It looks nice finished, and has plenty of storage. We actually added a garment bar to the side with a door and only used 2 of the shelves. It works perfectly in our nursery!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for South Shore Savannah Door Chest, Pure White

Some what helpful

10/02/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I like it so much, even though I thought it would of been a little bit taller...the picture is very deceiving. As far as the instructions go I think the screws should of got labeled cause I'm not bob the builder so I don't know all my screws
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for South Shore Savannah Door Chest, Pure White

Love the look, wish it had been shipped better

02/06/2012
By ,
Bay Area, California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I absolutely love the look of this armoire. My fiancé and I built it in about an hour and a half for our sons nursery. It doesn't have a wardrobe rack just shelves inside the door. We took out a couple shelves and put one in ourselves. Great for the price. Seems sturdy for what we are using it for. My only complaint is that because it shipped from NY and it wasn't packaged all that great it did have a few damaged pieces. It was really just a nick or ding here or there. Thankfully they were all in places that you can't see like the back. Other than that I LOVE it! Drawers work great, shelves are sturdy, door opens and closes easily and the gaps are even. I think it's perfect for a baby's room.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for South Shore Savannah Door Chest, Pure White

It's soo cute it's the right one

09/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was in need of a door chest and I was looking all over and did not find one I liked so I looked at Walmart .com and ( since I have the south shore changing table with two draws ) I look this one up and I was so happy it's really Sturdy and heavy ,,,, it's only 4 feet 7 in but it's the right one for my little girl and some of my stuff to fit ,, I'm so happy with it I'm looking for the rest of the set from south shore
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for South Shore Savannah Door Chest, Pure White

I love this chest!

11/01/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i don't know what everyone is complaining about. I love this chest! My husband helped me put it together and it looks just like the one in the picture :) it is just the right hight so i can put some things on top of it. the drawers and the door fit nicely. there is a small gap around he door, but the door is adjustable so you can move it over a bit. i don't think it looks bad at all. in fact it is a perfect piece for my soft yellow nursery :) the only thing i was disapointed in was that the tracks for the drawers are plastic. yet the drawers work fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for South Shore Savannah Door Chest, Pure White

Decent Enough...

08/04/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It went together easy enough - though I maybe should let my husband answer that since I had nothing to do with the assembly :)
There are gaps where the drawers are and the top drawer doesn't seem to shut all the way but not noticable enough to return or stress on.
The MAJOR downside it it's HEIGTH!! It is true to measurement but MAN IT IS SHO SHORT!! I did not actually hold up a tape measure and now standing next to it - it only goes up to my armpit. Do not look at the picture and think it's tall - it's not. Thus 4 stars :O)
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 90 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next