Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Black & Decker Black & Decker Electromate 400, Power Charger for AC & DC Appliances, VEC026BD

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Black & Decker Black & Decker Electromate 400, Power Charger for AC & DC Appliances, VEC026BD

Black & Decker's Electromate is an all-in-one solution for all your power needs . It provides 450 instant amps for jumpstarting your vehicle. Its dual 12 volt DC power outlets also power or recharge DC household appliances. Plus, it has an exclusive, built-in 120 volt AC charger for use with an ordinary household extension cord. Don't worry about flats, the Electromate has an inflator, and a work light too.
Average Customer Rating:
4.256 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(43 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
27
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation88%38 out of 43reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
27
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Black & Decker Electromate 400, Power Charger for AC & DC Appliances, VEC026BD

Awesome jump pack for a great price!

06/07/2008
By ,
Boone, IA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The B&D Electromate 400 is one of the best jump pack that I have ever purchased by far (I have bought several brands...this replaces them all). It does it all, not only jump start your car but will fill up your flat tire, run dc appliances and run household 110 VAC.
I carry it with me when I am on the road SUV in my, not only for emergencies, but for recharging my laptop computer and to power my printer.
I also take it with me, when my family goes camping. My wife uses this to power her 13" flat LCD monitor tv for her soaps.
It holds a great charge and does not die out easy. I have one in my SUV, in my pick-up truck and in my wife's car. Going to get another for my son's car (I don't want to share mine...Haha).
I totally recommend this jump pack/air compressor/110 VAC & 12 VDC power source/work light, for the person on the go who needs portable power. Two thumbs way up!!
Did my research and Wal-Mart.com has the best price on this jump pack. Wal-Mart.com was between $20.00 - $40.00 cheaper than other competitors. Fast shipping if your local store does not have one in stock.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 2 for Black & Decker Electromate 400, Power Charger for AC & DC Appliances, VEC026BD

A must have product

09/27/2007
By ,
Seattle, Washington
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I brought this unit in December of 2006 during a winter storm power outage in Seattle Washington. We used the inverter part to run the electronic part of our pellet stove and it worked great. I've also used the AC to power my portable guitar amplifier outside. I've used it to put air in my RV tires and charge my cell phone battery. I've used it a few times to give jumps and it's worked great every time. I'm considering buying one for my wife and daughter this Christmas. This is a must have tool for temporary emergency power.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per month
+25points
Review 3 for Black & Decker Electromate 400, Power Charger for AC & DC Appliances, VEC026BD

Excellant!!

08/30/2007
By ,
Odin, Il
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great! I've used it about a year. Perfect for power outages, jump cars, camping, etc. Never had a problem with it. Well worth money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per month
+8points
Review 4 for Black & Decker Electromate 400, Power Charger for AC & DC Appliances, VEC026BD

Another great B&D product

12/31/2008
By ,
Houston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Walmart had the best price around on this highly rated all-in-one power center. It works GREAT... air pressure gauge is very accurate, power functions exceeded my expectations, AND, you can just plug it into an extension cord to recharge it. HIGHLY recommended!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+5points
Review 5 for Black & Decker Electromate 400, Power Charger for AC & DC Appliances, VEC026BD

easy to use & helpful

05/25/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this after purchasing another brand and returning it. Use this for power to run hedge trimmers around the yard. Also used it to jump start lawn mower battery. Worked great!
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Review 6 for Black & Decker Electromate 400, Power Charger for AC & DC Appliances, VEC026BD

Has Everything

12/27/2008
By ,
Saint Louis, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've owned this practical tool about a month. I bought it as a back-up after my battery died twice due to a faulty back up light switch. The switch was sucking all the power from my battery because it wouldn'tt shut off, unbeknownst to me since I don't regularly check my tail lights to see if they're on.
Other products don't have as many features as this B&D and cost as much or more.
I'm very pleased with it so far. I'll know how good it is after owning it longer and using it more.
I like the design of the case. Very easy to store.
Wal-mart had this baby to me in days. Very fast response.Great product.Very powerful and practical at a great price.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 7 for Black & Decker Electromate 400, Power Charger for AC & DC Appliances, VEC026BD

A very helpful product

07/23/2007
By ,
Corbin, Kentucky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had mine for about a year now and I've used it 5 or 6 times on other peoples cars and it gets the job done. it's heavy like any other charger but you only have to charged it once every 4 months, I recommend it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Review 8 for Black & Decker Electromate 400, Power Charger for AC & DC Appliances, VEC026BD

Watch your Watts

08/11/2009
By ,
Reno, NV
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Purchased the Electromate 400 and charged it up. First thing I tried was my coffee maker- no go, takes more than 400 watts. I guess I should have paid more attention. It is easy to carry, not too heavy but you need to lug an extension cord (not included) for re-charging and the cables separately. I think it will be useful to take on the road for charging cell, camera and laptop batteries and if needed to inflate something or jump start a car. An attachment that plugs into the unit and then into the lighter to jump a car would be nice. I did learn from B & D customer service that printed on the bottom of every electrical appliance is the WATTS required. So if in doubt, check it out. You may need a larger wattage power station to run what you need .
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 9 for Black & Decker Electromate 400, Power Charger for AC & DC Appliances, VEC026BD

so so

12/18/2007
By ,
michigan
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is not a cure-all but will serve the purpose in a pinch.
+'s- plenty of power to crank your vehicle- sturdy case- simple to use
-'s cables need to be longer (they have to be stored separate from the unit anyway)- air hose is too short also - built in light is non directional you will still need another light source in poor conditions
(haven't tried the ac power )
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
0points
Review 10 for Black & Decker Electromate 400, Power Charger for AC & DC Appliances, VEC026BD

Electromate - Awesome!

06/02/2009
By ,
atlanta, ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product does EVERYTHING is says it will. There are enough electro-gadgets on it to impress my husband and still easy enough for me to use. He used it to jump start his car a few times as well as inflate the tires. I used it as a back-up charger for my cell phone. As a matter of fact, I charged my phone 5 times and it barely made a dent in the Electromate's battery. When not in use, the Electromate holds its charge for at least a few months. It's been a very handy and reliable back-up source.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 11 for Black & Decker Electromate 400, Power Charger for AC & DC Appliances, VEC026BD

A Fine Value Package

02/17/2009
By ,
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Compact, nicely laid out package consisting of air compressor, battery charger, trouble light and assorted power outlets, the Black & Decker Electromate 400 is a fine resource to have at the ready in one's garage, or, especially during the risky winter driving months, in one's vehicle. I charged my new unit up upon finding it delivered to my porch on Friday evening. The very next day, I used it to jump-start a lady's weak car battery in the supermarket parking lot. 'Worked like a charm.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Review 12 for Black & Decker Electromate 400, Power Charger for AC & DC Appliances, VEC026BD

GREAT PRODUCT!!!!

02/18/2008
By ,
Rhome, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
THIS PRODUCT WORKS GREAT AND MET FAR MORE THEN MY EXPECTATIONS. I JUMP STARTED MY CAR TWICE IN ONE DAY....WITH A COMPLETELY DEAD BATTERY. THEN, OUR ELECTRICY WENT OUT THAT SAME NIGHT AND WE PLUGGED IN OUR ELECTRIC FIREPLACE BLOWER INTO ONE OF THE TWO AC INPUTS AND IT RAN FOR OVER 5 HOURS, AND THEN OUR ELECTRICITY CAME ON. WE WOULD HAVE BEEN VERY VERY COLD. IT PLUGS RIGHT INTO AN EXTENSION CORD AND ONLY TAKES ABOUT 6 TO 8 HOURS BEFORE IT IS FULLY RECHARGED.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 13 for Black & Decker Electromate 400, Power Charger for AC & DC Appliances, VEC026BD

Great Gift Idea!

01/07/2009
By ,
Pittsburgh, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this as a Christmas gift for my husband, and he was very happy when he opened the box because he had been wanting one of these products for some time now. Also, the fact that it was a Black & Decker product made a big difference to him. He has already tried many of the features, and so far, they have all worked. So he is very pleased with this product, and I am happy that I scored a "10" on one of his Christmas presents.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 14 for Black & Decker Electromate 400, Power Charger for AC & DC Appliances, VEC026BD

Would not jumpstart my car

05/26/2009
By ,
New York, NY
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
When I first got this product, I thought it would be the end all be all of car emergency problems. It was great to be used for flat tires, but unfortunately the one time I had to use this to jumpstart my car it failed.
To make matters worse when I tried to recharge it, it would no longer take or hold a charge. If this was a do or die emergency I would've been stranded.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 15 for Black & Decker Electromate 400, Power Charger for AC & DC Appliances, VEC026BD

Yep and yep and yep

03/16/2009
By ,
Lodi, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Owner of '67 Buick Special that is very sentimental. In other words, starts when she's warm and keeps going based upon maintenance. Needed jumps from cold, tire went flat and charge of other things all in one day. Black and Decker; You are so loved in Lodi, Ca. Amazing to buy something that does exactly what it says it will do in this day and age. Done deal!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 16 for Black & Decker Electromate 400, Power Charger for AC & DC Appliances, VEC026BD

Best I have Owned!

06/15/2009
By ,
Grand Portage, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is by far the best portable power supply/booster I have ever owned, and I have had 3 other brands before buying my Black & Decker.
The battery life is excellent and has the power to jump-start an almost completely dead battery. It holds it's charge even when stored for weeks. The Walmart price was the best value for the money!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 17 for Black & Decker Electromate 400, Power Charger for AC & DC Appliances, VEC026BD

Disappointed

10/07/2009
By ,
SW Washington state
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this to run a credit card machine and a couple of light bulbs while selling my products at craft shows and markets. It will run the credit card machine all day with no problem, However, the battery goes dead after just a couple of hours when running the lights. I don't know, maybe I just expected too much.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 18 for Black & Decker Electromate 400, Power Charger for AC & DC Appliances, VEC026BD

power to go

06/15/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
this product is great when there is no power source available or you need a little air for that tire that is low. I just wish there was some way of storing the booster cables or some way of attaching them to the unit when not in use. We purchased 1 for a fathers day gift for my father-Inlaw and 1 for ourselves.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 19 for Black & Decker Electromate 400, Power Charger for AC & DC Appliances, VEC026BD

Every Household Needs One.....

05/25/2009
By ,
Memphis, TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just a very good product for all households. Inflates toys, air mattresses, tires, etc., jumpstarts dead batteries in autos, fourwheelers, motorcycles, etc, powers DC and AC appliances. If one is camping, traveling, RVing, this is the perfect tool to have along. Wish I'd bought this years ago.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 20 for Black & Decker Electromate 400, Power Charger for AC & DC Appliances, VEC026BD

keep me warm & my car running

03/30/2008
By ,
alliance, ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I live alone and have an all eletrice house so every storm we have I lose my power and freeze. with this little baby, I can puge in my eletrice blanket to keep warm and my laptop to watch the storm. and after a cold storm I had to use it to jump my car. only toke one try.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
0points
1-20 of 38 total reviews
1 2 Next