Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bell Sports Platinum 15 Function Wireless Speedometer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Bell Sports Platinum 15 Function Wireless Speedometer

With fifteen useful measuring functions, Platinum's wireless speedometer offers premium performance, wireless technology and a large, backlit screen. It includes all standard time, speed and distance measurement functions plus extras like a clock, calories burned and a low battery indicator.
Average Customer Rating:
2.971 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(69 Reviews) 63
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
22
4 stars
10
3 stars
6
2 stars
6
1 star
25
Customer Recommendation48%33 out of 69reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
22
4 stars
10
3 stars
6
2 stars
6
1 star
25
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Platinum 15 Function Wireless Speedometer

Bought this at Local Walmart

06/16/2010
By ,
Raleigh NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mine looks a little different than the one in the picture
on here, maybe newer version. But has exact same title and 15 functions, and after reading the reviews,
same directions, pretty easy to install. Here is a short
YouTube clip on it.
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 2 for Platinum 15 Function Wireless Speedometer

Nice product

02/12/2008
By ,
Houston, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have read reviews where the unit didn't work properly or didn't work at all. I suspect they installed the wheel sensor improperly just like I did initially. The wheel sensor has to be mounted with the battery port facing "out" (away from the wheel, on the front of the fork post) and the magnet crossing the top portion. This is opposite what you would think it to be, you would want the "smooth" side facing out because it has a better, cleaner look. Also, I installed my magnet at the "X" cross of the spokes and the sensor in the appropriate place. The instructions do not clearly state that and I think it leads to incorrect installations. I hope this information helps, enjoy the outdoors!!! :-)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+16points
Review 3 for Platinum 15 Function Wireless Speedometer

Instalation help

09/15/2008
By ,
Watauga, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As described in review posted 2/12/08.. instructions are not very descriptive on how to install. Just shows small pictures of installation.
1. Instal meter display on handlebars (of course). 2. Remove screw peg on the magnetic clip for spokes and place on spokes as close to crossing where remote sensor will be placed on fork.
3. Instal sensor on fork with battery side out (so battery is easy to replace without removing entire sensor casing). ****Sensor and magnet must pass within 2mm of each other to work.*******
4. Power up the unit and spin the wheels for test reading and you are ready to ride.
Unit powers it's self off after a delay. Works GREAT!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 4 for Platinum 15 Function Wireless Speedometer

Speedometer on Steroids

07/14/2007
By ,
southern Utah
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was really impressed once I installed the speedometer (comes with 3 sizes of O rings to fit your handlebar). The magnet took a little adjusting to get the suggested spacing right.
The trial front wheel spin didn't work, so I thought I had a bad unit. But when I rode the bike, it came on and gave me the changing speed, plus the time. End of first run I checked the Calories, time used, distance, average speed, odometer. Great info! At first the labels for these were a little hard to read--need to be out in the light.
The odometer keeps track, while all the rest can be easily erased for the next ride.
Get one, you'll like it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Review 5 for Platinum 15 Function Wireless Speedometer

Wireless Bike Speedometer

08/12/2007
By ,
Southern New Jersey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This unit meets all expectations. Easy to install.
After talking to the manufacture rep, I returned the first one I purchased due to a faulty sensor.
This unit work fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 6 for Platinum 15 Function Wireless Speedometer

Junk

08/29/2007
By ,
San Diego
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product is a piece of (for lack of a better word)JUNK! It would work then not work. Had to keep readjusting the unit. The magnet would literally have to touch the sensor when it was going by for it to work at all.
Do yourself a favor spend a little more and buy a Cat's Eye Enduro 8 they work beautifully
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 7 for Platinum 15 Function Wireless Speedometer

Junk!

01/18/2009
By ,
Oregon
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Junk! The speed readings work up to 11 mph, and then as my speed increases the unit’s readings go backwards until reaching 0. Whenever I hit the reset button, all settings reset to factory default. Thus, I cannot reset the odometer without needing to reprogram the unit. During normal riding, it is impossible to avoid hitting the reset button on occasion, which resets the unit and requires reprogramming. Had I read the other reviews on this product prior to purchase, I would have never bought this product. I only read the reviews after purchase looking for possible hints for making the product work. The only suggestions deal with magnet-sensor adjustments. I have tried all the suggestions and still find the unit to be JUNK! The bottom line is that the magnet-sensor adjustments are far to critical and difficult to maintain. This product has absolutely no reliability or accuracy.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 8 for Platinum 15 Function Wireless Speedometer

Great, but follow directions!

07/24/2008
By ,
Chicago
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read the reviews of this product before buying. I am totally satisfied! The only real problem I had was strapping the devices on the the handle bars and fork. (In my case, I had to bend the straps in the opposite direction of the way they were naturally rolled.) Make sure you do not tighten straps on the fork until your are sure of positioning. Yes, the magnet on the fork must come HAIR-CLOSE to the unit on the spoke. Make sure the fork unit is positioned with the smooth side toward the spoke AND that the marked, indented corner on that side is at the TOP. If you position this unit on the RIGHT side of the fork, it can only be positioned this way anyway. MAKE SURE YOU PUT THE MAGNET ON THE SPOKE CLOSET TO THE FORK UNIT! For me, I had to put the fork unit at the bottom of the fork. The magnet fit very securely on the spoke.
This product has everything: time, temperature, fat grams burned, calories burned, trip distance and time, average speed, maximum speed. It sets easliy. The hassle of putting it on the bike was worth it to me!
PS - You will need a tool - a knife or scissors to cut excess strap. It does come with extra straps.
A+!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 9 for Platinum 15 Function Wireless Speedometer

Great Features

09/22/2007
By ,
Maryland
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Many useful features in this multi-function speedometer, such as a timer, calorie counter, min, max and avg speed, as well as the usual functions you'd expect in a bike speedometer (i.e. actual speed when riding and odometer).
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 10 for Platinum 15 Function Wireless Speedometer

Not worth the hassle

09/02/2007
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i have to agree, i have had to reset the device before every ride, it goes out in the middle of rides!!!!
Get a wired one, or just a better known brand.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:3 - 4 months
+1point
Review 11 for Platinum 15 Function Wireless Speedometer

Bell Platinum Wireless Bike Computer

07/08/2008
By ,
Palm City, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the functions delivered this unit has an awesome price point! I came across a computer I hadn’t seen before now ~ Bell’s Platinum Series Wireless PN: 1000849, which goes for a whopping $19.95!
It has what I was looking for in a bike computer. It is wireless and had the other functions I was seeking but the price point was way less than half of what I expected to pay! I ran this baby through the “grinder” on my mountain bike for a week. How can Bell make an accurate, wireless bike computer with a price point of less than 20 bucks is unbelievable! Nobody else comes close. And yes, it has rubber O-rings to seal the battery compartments.
The Bell Platinum Wireless Bike Computer is easy to set up and fun to use. Just make sure you set up the spoke magnet and sensor accurately and correctly and chose the appropriate wheel value for your bike. It isn’t stated in the setup manual but my guess is that the distance parameter for the computer and sensor is the usual maximum 27 inches because it even works with the computer zipped inside my baggy mountain shorts front pocket ~ a handy way to prevent an intense sun from deteriorating the LCD screen! I’m on my way out to get another Bell wireless computer for my other bike!
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for Platinum 15 Function Wireless Speedometer

Garbage

05/30/2008
By ,
Sacramento, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This was the worst product I have ever bought. The computer worked fine and setting it up was easy. The major problem was the sensor and magnet. At first it didn't work, then I installed it a different way, and then it worked but only some of the times. It would work for a couple of seconds and then read zeros. The directions for installation were horrible. It was all pictures and there was no written directions. The pictures were small and hard to understand. Then when I read some of the reviews I followed the ohter reviewers directions and still the thing did not work. Im so fed up with this product. Im going to my local bike shop to see if they can figure out what to do, if not I will return it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for Platinum 15 Function Wireless Speedometer

Seems to work OK...

08/02/2009
By ,
Salt Lake City, UT
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've never owned a bike speedometer, so I didn't know what to expect, particularly from a wireless unit. When I used the recommended wheel size number setting for 26" mountain bike (2045), I found that I was going farther than the odometer indicated, possibly due to fatter than normal mountain bike tires. I am playing with the wheel size number setting to get the correct reading. When I use the setting of 2130 it seems to give me the correct computation. After reading all the reviews, I have some concerns about the integrity of the product. I think many issues are the result of improper installation. I have logged less than 100 miles, but so far I believe unit is working well.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for Platinum 15 Function Wireless Speedometer

Great looking piece of junk

08/11/2008
By ,
Richmond, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I really wanted this to work - the functions are great, the price at Walmart is great, it looks great - it should BE great!
Not so. I mounted the first one according to the tiny confusing pictures (what, no text?) in the manual. It worked until I got up to 11 mph or so then went to 0 mph until I got under 11, and so on.
I called the toll-free number. I didn't have the model number (it's not on the product) and the curt associate said I had to have that for her to help me...she agreed with my statement that I should take it back and get a product that worked and was supported by good customer service. This should have been my cue to do exactly that, but I persevered! I called again and told another person what was going on. She suggested I buy new batteries, and I told her I didn't want to spend 25% of the cost of this thing on something that was supposed to be included. She sent me another one.
It did the same thing. I read the reviews about keeping the display unit within 18" of the sensor, so I duct-taped it to a spot 13" from the sensor. The speed went up to 20 mph and then would drop to 2, then 3, then 8, then 18. The mileage was incorrect as well. I've spent a lot of time trying to get two of these speedometers to work, and now I'll spend time returning one and finding a reasonable-priced alternative.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for Platinum 15 Function Wireless Speedometer

Pass on this speedometer

07/17/2008
By ,
Colorado
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Nice functions, but not worth the packaging due to 3 problems:
1. Magnet and sensor have to be very close for proper functioning. I had to use 2 magnets almost touching the sending unit and still had to adjust them every several rides.
2. Unit must be manually restarted after 5 minutes of rest. If you forget to restart it, then forget accurate mileage readings.
3. Worst of all, the unit stops all speed/mileage functions at speeds >20 mph. I tried it multiple times and it never worked beyond about 20 mph. The max velocity it ever recorded was 20.3. This makes it entirely useless for total mileage reporting.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 16 for Platinum 15 Function Wireless Speedometer

malfunctions

07/22/2008
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
When I installed this on my road bike for the first time, it kept shutting down on me in the middle of my rides. I then had to force the magnet to pretty much touch the sensor while i was riding (i could hear them clicking together as i rode) and i'd get a more accurate reading...sometimes. then i found out the sensor stops reading anything if i went over 15-16 mph. so in my rides, i had to constantly weigh-do i want an accurate reading and slow down, or do i just want to enjoy my rides? i eventually just took the unit back to walmart and told em it didn't work. It's a total waste of time and money.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 17 for Platinum 15 Function Wireless Speedometer

Works fine if you don't ride fast

01/07/2009
By ,
Las Vegas
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
With the help of reading some other reviewers tips, I managed to get a good signal and consistent output EXCEPT, the problem with higher speed readings I was never able to correct.
For that reason, after several days of using it, I'm going to return it.
Tip_as mentioned it must be close (almost touching magnet), but it also helps if magnet and sensor are angled to make them pass as flush to each other as possible. Moving both nearer hub might help improve speed reading some, as it just doesn't work well when the magnet is whipping around towards the outside of wheel.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for Platinum 15 Function Wireless Speedometer

spend the xtra $5. trust me

04/26/2009
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this product and it took a while to get it to work. When I finally got it to read I found it complicated to choose the different settings especially when riding. It worked fine for a while but then I had to change it from the front tire to the back and it just gave out completely. I bought new batteries for it ($8) and even put it back on the front tire but nothing. So now I have to spend more money on another one. So that's about $45 that I have already spent. Don't do the same mistake that I did and do it right the first time.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 19 for Platinum 15 Function Wireless Speedometer

Love the calorie counter

01/28/2009
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Once I got it adjusted to register--which took quite some time--I loved it. It keeps track of calories and fat burned which is helpful if you're trying to lose weight. I also like the wireless feature.
The only thing I found different from the instructions is that the computer does not come on automatically--which caused me to believe it wasn't working--when I start pedaling. I have to turn it on first.
I would recommend this product to anyone looking for a speedometer that does more than keep track of speed and miles.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 20 for Platinum 15 Function Wireless Speedometer

Pass on the bike computer

09/14/2008
By ,
USA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Before I bought the product, I read and considered the mixed reviews. Some people could get the item to work, some couldn't. I spent ten hours trying to get the bike computer to work consistently, and I failed. A number of things about the design of the product could be changed. The magnet housing that goes on the spoke should be something other than plastic. The mounting unit for the display should be redesigned for mounting on either a horizontal or vertical cylindrical tubing, or better yet, mounting on any surface--flat or cylindrical. The method of mounting the sensor to the bike fork with just two wire tires is less than ideal. A better mounting solution should be designed. But the worst problem is that although the sensor works (it toggles with each revolution of the magnet), the transmission between the sensing unit and the display is intermittent at best! Even when I mounted the display on the frame closer to the sensing unit, I couldn't get the display to work consistently. Just one month ago I bought a PlanetBike Protege 9.0 wireless bike computer for another bike and, once I installed it, the bike computer works flawlessly. Although the PlanetBike computer doesn't display calories burned, it does display up to 4 functons at a time. Plus, at only $13 more than what I paid for the Bell Computer, the PlanetBike computer was worth every penny. If your time is valuable and you can afford an etra $13, avoid this computer and buy a different brand that you know will work.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
1-20 of 64 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next