Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tekno Tekno Robotic Puppy, Dalmation

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Tekno Tekno Robotic Puppy, Dalmation

Tekno the Robotic Puppy is back and better than ever! The latest version of Tekno is an adorable little Dalmation dog. Thanks to advancements in artificial intelligence and robotics, Tekno is as close to a real puppy as you will find. He barks, walks, dances, and wags his tail. He can also sense touch and sound and even comes with a "Doggy Translator" that let's you know exactly what he's feeling.
Average Customer Rating:
3.788 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
12
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation79%26 out of 33reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
12
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Tekno Robotic Puppy, Dalmation
01/08/2008
By ,
Ut
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I don't think this product works very well. It doesn't respond to any directions given. I thought it was equipped with highly sensative sensors that prevent it from walking into things. If it hits a wall it just stands there and tries to keep walking. For the price I paid for this I think it should work much better. Even the technical support was ridiculous. It said not to return it to the store, but to contact their website. Their website doesn't work! It redirects you to site about animal adoptions.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 2 for Tekno Robotic Puppy, Dalmation

a general annoyance

12/08/2007
By ,
TN
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
We got this toy for my son's birthday and it just doesn't do what is advertised. If you pet it, it pants and wags its ears... if you don't, it wanders around for a few minutes and whines FOREVER!! It held the ball and bone about 2-3 times and then the magnets didn't work.... it was kinda sad... My son messed with it (or watched me try to mess with it) for about 20 minutes and then never touched it again... I couldn't even talk him into it. His exact words were, "No, thank you, Mom, that toy stinks."
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Review 3 for Tekno Robotic Puppy, Dalmation

Good for ages 6 & up

01/12/2008
By ,
Wichita Falls, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was a gift to our 6 year old on his birthday. He's very good with it, and it was a great price, compared to stores like Target and Toys R Us.
I would recommend it be only for those 6 years & up, since his 4 1/2 year old brother dropped it and broke off his leg within 24 hours of it being open (it was reattached rather easily by me!).
Overall, I'd say it was a 7 out of 10 as far as electronic gifts go. My son enjoys playing with it, and hopes to graduate to a 'real puppy' sometime this year.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 4 for Tekno Robotic Puppy, Dalmation

OK for a younger child

12/29/2007
By ,
Louisiana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this for my 11-year-old after he begged for it. He played with it for 2 days then turned it over to my 4-year-old. The remote does not work (I think it needs a new battery) and it takes awhile to train (which is annoying to a 4-year-old) but it is fun. The translator is hard to understand most of the time. For the original price, I expected it to do alot more. It is rather basic and simple. I wish I had waited until the price went down.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 5 for Tekno Robotic Puppy, Dalmation

Good for ages 6+

09/18/2007
By ,
Ionia, MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this for my son for his 4th birthday. I think it was alittle to much for him. The dog does everything but go potty. You have to be prepared to take care of a puppy if you choose to leave it on. Although I returned it I would purchase it for a child 6 or older who is ready to take on some responsibities of a pet. Read the instructions before trying to remove it from the box!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 6 for Tekno Robotic Puppy, Dalmation

low price but dumb

04/14/2008
By ,
atlanta
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
bought it because it was the cheapest in category of interactive toys. But found that it was far from interactive. moreover its communicator was also not working , speaker was malfunctioning. finally returned it. lost about ten dollars in lieu of mailing expenses. but satisfied that walmart took it back without any hesitation.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 7 for Tekno Robotic Puppy, Dalmation

kids like it

01/13/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
my kids like the dog doesn't do as much as i thought and demands attention every minute or wines. my daughter thinks the dogs real but then again shes only one and my son 4years old loved to play with the dog at first but after awhile he doesn't play with it as often now only had the toy for 5 days
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 8 for Tekno Robotic Puppy, Dalmation

Fun for all ages

01/12/2008
By ,
utah
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We purchased this dog for our 2 year old who loves dogs! He played with it for awhile but lost interest.I think being 2 would have something to do with it! We have enjoyed watching it but it goes through batteries fast! Overall ok but might be more suitable for older kids.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 9 for Tekno Robotic Puppy, Dalmation

great tec toy

12/31/2007
By ,
bridgeport, wa.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
we bought this for our daughter age 5 and she loves it, walks barks and is very interactive and it wont wet on the carpet or chew up shoes. keeps her busy for hours, read instructions first to find out how to get it free from the packing or youll be sorry
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for Tekno Robotic Puppy, Dalmation

For Grandchild

01/11/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was for a 9 year old grandchild who requested it for Xmas. It is LARGER than expected and was packaged beautifully, but was very hard to open. Mother had to open it up. Grandchild was very pleased and played with it a lot.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 11 for Tekno Robotic Puppy, Dalmation

difficult to use

01/26/2008
By ,
houghton, MI
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
this product is very difficult to use. The remote control works once in a blue moon so it seems like the dog is not working properly. The dog just moves around and barks alot. Daughter does not play with the toy that much.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 12 for Tekno Robotic Puppy, Dalmation

Don't Waste Your Money

01/03/2008
By ,
Omaha, NE
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product is not worth the price. While it's cute for about 5 minutes, it only has several features and is not very interactive. My child played with it for a few minutes the first day and hasn't touched it since.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
0points
Review 13 for Tekno Robotic Puppy, Dalmation

Fun Toy

01/11/2008
By ,
Indiana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bough this for my 10 year old daughter and she seems to enjoy it! It has a lot of functions and comes with two toys ( a bone and ball)! The sound is not to loud or annoying! Hopefully she will enjoy it for a while!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 14 for Tekno Robotic Puppy, Dalmation

A very interactive product

12/25/2007
By ,
manasquan, nj
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Helpful for Autistic/ADHD afflicted 6 year old daughter. We also own Tekno Pony and are going to get the Tekno Kitty as well. Would like to see it roll over, the ability to eat as well but overall a fun product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for Tekno Robotic Puppy, Dalmation

Smarter than my child

01/14/2008
By ,
Nebraska
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Other than struggling to get the product out of the packaging, this toy has been fun to play with. My child is still trying to figure out all of the functions. It would help if we read the manual.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 16 for Tekno Robotic Puppy, Dalmation

AWSOME and GREAT!!!

11/28/2007
By ,
Dallas,TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the BEST present I have EVER given my child for Christmas and the price is so CHEAP expessaly theres so much things it does that the destription does not tell you!!!so its even better!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for Tekno Robotic Puppy, Dalmation

Tekno Rogotic Puppy Dalmation

01/14/2008
By ,
Capon Bridge WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My two girls loved this toy. And since they are 13 and 12 I would say buy it. Not only has this toy held up to just them they have a 6 year old brother that trys to fight for it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 18 for Tekno Robotic Puppy, Dalmation

Great Companion

01/03/2008
By ,
Pulaski,Va
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This toy and it is a great companion. It also serves as a great teaching tool too,because you have to treat it like a real puppy. It is very well made.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for Tekno Robotic Puppy, Dalmation

a wonderful surprise

01/03/2008
By ,
seymour, in
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tekno was a wonderful surprise for my 7 year old, who wanted an inside puppy for Christmas. He does almost everything a real puppy would do.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Tekno Robotic Puppy, Dalmation
12/27/2007
By ,
Anniston,AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 3 year old son loves his. He calls it puppy.
When it cries he says " It's ok puppy and covers
it up with his blanket. Very nice toy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 27 total reviews
1 2 Next