Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Spin Master Air Hogs Havoc Heli Laser Battling Set

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Spin Master Air Hogs Havoc Heli Laser Battling Set

Battle helicopters with your friends and shoot them down from the sky with the high-energy Air Hogs Havoc Heli Laser Battling Set. Simply fly into position with these menacing, precision airborne vehicles, then fire from your controller and send your hapless opponent into a wild tailspin! Each helicopter features a revolutionary infrared laser targeting system that really lets you shoot your enemies out of the sky! Plus, they're equipped with authentic battle sounds, for a super realistic experience.
Average Customer Rating:
3.346 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(107 Reviews) 92
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
26
4 stars
33
3 stars
18
2 stars
12
1 star
18
Customer Recommendation64%69 out of 107reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
26
4 stars
33
3 stars
18
2 stars
12
1 star
18
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Air Hogs Havoc Heli Laser Battling Set

TONS OF FUN ...FOR YOUR $$$

12/11/2007
By ,
FLORENCE , SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I READ ALL THE REVIEWS AND THOUGHT TO MYSELF THERES ONLY 1 WAY TO FIND OUT IF THERE ANY GOOD . SO I WENT TO WALMART AND BOUGHT THEM . CHARGED THEM UP ..AND AFTER ABOUT 2 MINUTES OF LEARNING HOW IF FLY'S I WAS ALL OVER THE ROOM ....THEY FLY ABOUT 5 TO 10 MINUTES DEPENDING ON HOW YOU FLY IT ...IF YOU TAKE THEM OUT SIDE ON A CALM DAY , THEY WILL GO OVER A ONE STORY HOUSE, NO PROBLEM ...AND ALL AROUND ...
THE ONLY DOWN FALL IS YOU NEED GOOD BATTERY'S TO CHARGE THE LITTLE LIPO ...AND IT TAKES ABOUT 15 TO 20 MINUTES TO CHARGE ...I RECOMMEND THIS FOR AGES 5 AND UP BUT THE ADULT WILL FLY IT MORE THAN THE KIDS ...SO PARENTS BEWARE BUY 2 ...ONE FOR THE KIDS AND ONE FOR YOU AT THE OFFICE .......LOTS OF FUN ...WORTH EVERY PENNY I SPENT ...AND VERY VERY DURABLE ...BUT IF THEY SOMEHOW GET BROKEN BEST BELIEVE I WILL BE BUYING ANOTHER 1 ....THANK YOU ..AIRHOGS FOR ALL THE FUN.....
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 2 for Air Hogs Havoc Heli Laser Battling Set

A lot of fun!

08/22/2007
By ,
Austin, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I picked up a set of these this weekend at my local Walmart. I own one of the original Havoc Helis so I was already familiar with the way that they fly.
At first the both helis seemed a little difficult to control but after about 5 flights they stabilized and fly even better then the original Havoc Heli. No you can tell the difference between theses and the original because these are a whole lot more responsive.
Now to the laser battle portion - this is a blast. Once you get the hang of making the heli go where you want it to go tracking down your opponent is a lot of fun. My brother-in-law and I regularly team up now in order to battle it out.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+22points
Review 3 for Air Hogs Havoc Heli Laser Battling Set

Great toy

01/04/2008
By ,
Vermont
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got these as a Christmas gift and assumed that they were going to be little more than a gimmick toy. THEY ARE NOT.
Out of the box these choppers were the "it gift" at Christmas this year. They were the toy that EVERYONE from child to grandparents had to play with............all day long.
Durability:
When you first pick one of these up you'll think they are fragile, but after perhaps a hundred collisions with everything you can think of, mine are still flying unscathed. Very durable.
Easy to fly:
My 3 year old daughter was flying one of these in minutes. Seriously. Don't get me wrong, they aren't precision flying machines. But you can easily get one airborne, hovering and landing with just a few minutes of practice (which is half the fun).
The bottom line is these are just plain fun and seem to appeal everyone regardless of their age.
I'm 33 years old and this is the first time I have taken the time to write a review for any product anywhere. Good times!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 4 for Air Hogs Havoc Heli Laser Battling Set

Havoc

11/18/2007
By ,
East Greenbush, NY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I wouldn't say that it's superb, but i also wouldn't say that it's a waste of money.(eventhough i think it's WAY too much for a small toy helicopter that could possibly break in seconds) It's a fun toy to scare your pets, if you have any, and you can do alot with it. I wont go into detail for the sake of families safty everywhere. Now for the good part, this toy is small enough to fly in your house, but it's battery life is very small.(or at least it was for me, WHICH I think it's unfair) But I still would recomend it because it does keep your children at bay ;-)
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Review 5 for Air Hogs Havoc Heli Laser Battling Set

Not necessarily for children.

01/09/2008
By ,
Kansas City, MO.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It takes a lot of time to learn how to fly no matter what the package says, around a month. You'll still have fun flying them though! It should be recommended for a older age group because it is stryofoam but, it is durable enough to crash multiple times. I would recommend that if you know it's going to crash or you about to try to catch it in mid-air or to avoid hitting someone: Stop all throttle to reduce the amount of damage to the heli, other objects or slightly stinging someones skin.
I had to take it back to the store due to one of the controllers malfunctioning. I was heartbroken to find out it's out of stock online as well as in-store.
In the meantime while waiting for them to return me and my wife have picked up 2 Air Hogs Havoc Stingers. They look like Dragonflys. They seem to fly slightly more steady than the Dueling versions but we are still going to get the Dueling version again as soon as the are in-stock!
The Phillips
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 6 for Air Hogs Havoc Heli Laser Battling Set

Affordable RC toys

11/17/2007
By ,
Longview, WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Flys well, is fun and but one of the helicopters does not do what it is suppose to. Still fun and does meet our expectations
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 7 for Air Hogs Havoc Heli Laser Battling Set

Heli Battle

01/26/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product fully met my expectations.
It was ready to fly after charging the batteries. Charge time was 10-15 minutes with a flight time of about 10 minutes. We were able to get several flights out of a single set of batteries.
Initial learning curve for flight was reasonable, 2-3 attempts and we were able to maneuver it around the living room without too much trouble. Control is a bit touchy when the batteries are fully charged but scales down as charge depletes. One thing to watch for when using it indoors is hair can get wound up in the tail rotor and spin it out of control. The tail rotor pulls off without any tools required to clear it out. A firm pull and it comes right off.
Durability is good. We have crashed my set into about everything in the house and we have yet to even replace a tail rotor after a month.
The laser system was my only real disappointment. The red heli had a much larger cone of fire than the blue one did.
Overall, We have been satisfied with this product. It brought 10 straight hours of entertainment Christmas day as even the grandfather had to take a turn.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 8 for Air Hogs Havoc Heli Laser Battling Set

lots of fun

01/25/2008
By ,
Pennsylvania
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was reluctant to buy this product. I kept reading other reviews saying it wasn't worth the price, or the charge did not last very long. The charge doesn't last very long (10 mins), but it also doesn't take very long to recharge (20 mins). We have lots of fun with it while it is charged, and find something else to do while it is charging. Each controller takes 6 AA, and the copter itself plugs into the controller to charge. No batteries needed for the copter.
My 11 year old learned to fly immediately, and also how to put me in a tailspin! They are very lightweight. I could see how they could easily get damaged by younger children, or pets. One flew past our Labrador's head, and she almost snatched it out of the air. So the dogs go outside when we play with these.
I don't think these would fly outside at all. I lose control when I fly over a heat vent when the heat is on. Otherwise, very easy to fly.
I think they are a little overpriced. I wouldn't by them for someone irresponsible. But if you are willing to pay the price, I would recommend this product, as we are having lots of fun with them! They are better than I expected.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 9 for Air Hogs Havoc Heli Laser Battling Set

Fun for All

01/04/2008
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My son recieved these helicopters from Santa and they were a big hit, not just with him, but with every member of the family.
After the initial charge, the copters flew well past the 5-6 minute fly time as mentioned on the box. It does, however, take the full 20 minutes or so to charge the copters if fully drained. I also recommend waiting the additional 10 minutes to cool off the copters before recharging. They are built very sturdy and after a few trial and error flights, they are easy to manuver.
We do recommend reading all instructions and adding the weights before attempting to fly and "fight". This made hitting the other copter with the "beam" much easier.
Fun was had by all on Christmas morning and even a few of the younger adultspurchased these after playing with them.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for Air Hogs Havoc Heli Laser Battling Set

Very Disappointed

01/08/2008
By ,
Dayton, OH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unbelievably disappointed in this toy. Returned it Dec. 26. The helicopters are so unbelievably fragile that one broke the first time it hit the ground. The object of the game is to shoot each other down with the lasers, so I never expected it to break first time down. However, we were never able to actually shoot each other down, simply crashed. The helicopters are so hard to maneuver and keep in the air that there is no way you could ever hold one steady enough to actually shoot the other one down. And, by the time you feel like you're getting a handle on how to maneuver the heli's, they run down, have to sit 20 minutes to "cool down" the controller, then another 15 minutes to recharge the helicopters. Not worth 70 cents...much less the $70 price.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 11 for Air Hogs Havoc Heli Laser Battling Set

FUN FOR SHORT TIME

01/07/2008
By ,
Southampton, NJ
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Son was very excited to get these for Christmas. We were concerned that maybe he was too young at 5-6 but he's pretty good at older aged toys so we gave it a try. If you decide to purchase for your younger child, make sure you have the time to help them for awhile. At first, the helicopters lifted off and it was alot of fun although they crashed into everything for awhile while attempting to get a handle of the controller so you need an adult to assist while kids are learning how to use the controller if they are younger. However, they don't stayed charged very long & after about the third day, we had to shut off the switch on the helicopters to charge and switch back on to try to fly. They started going in circles on the floor and would not lift off or could not lift off and we all basically lost interest in following the instructions & trying to figure out whether the helicopter was pointing away from us while we were using the controls & trying to press the tail fin button to straighten it out from spinning so it would lift off and we simply couldn't get it to do it so. So, needless to say, the helicopters sit in a box. We never did get to do any battles yet. May we'll find time to try it again. Was very disappointed in this purchase especially since it was costly.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
0points
Review 12 for Air Hogs Havoc Heli Laser Battling Set

Waste of Money

11/18/2007
By ,
NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought these helicoptors for my boyfriend and after he spent several hours trying to get the to fly we realized they were junk. The instructions were not much help, either. We tryed everything the instruction booklet says to do to get to fly correctly. It was very frustrating because the helicoptors would just crash; resembling a fish out of water.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 13 for Air Hogs Havoc Heli Laser Battling Set

Takes patience at first but lots of fun:

01/02/2008
By ,
Gettysburg
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Thank goodness my son had figured these out with his uncle and cousins because my dad (his grandfather) and I were having no luck whatsoever. The trimming instructions for starting are bogus. Son said, "Set the 'copter on a small table, hit the throttle full speed and then back off. Once it's in the air, then trim it." It worked!! After a bit of practice we were all over the house. They won't break unless you squash them. They are still hard to control but are a lot of fun. It just takes some patience at the outset. I wanted a small, easy, inexpensive, tough RC 'copter to try before I went bigger and more expensive and these are just right!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 14 for Air Hogs Havoc Heli Laser Battling Set

A BIG HIT!

01/03/2008
By ,
Henderson, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have had numerous other airhog products and I haven't been impressed. And this one worried me because it was sooo spendy - 40.00 would have been a better price.
But it has been a BIG hit, it was purchased for our 7 year old, but even my 3 year old figured out how to fly it. My father also received one and he couldn't get enough of it. Along with the rest of the Adults. My son is dissappointed you can't take it outside and I was worried that it was for Inside Only. But they are small and haven't hurt a thing - my husband and I describe them as big mosquitos flying around. They would definitely work better in a high ceiling home.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for Air Hogs Havoc Heli Laser Battling Set

OK (I Guess?)

01/12/2008
By ,
Philly Burbs
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I'm a father of 2 teenage girls and decided to get them a more manly toy for Xmas (my wife got them a load of girly stuff!). These helicopters fly fairly well but don't like to go forward much even after adding the little weights to the noses, thus they tend to hover in one place. Laser fighting is a bit over rated because it seems too easy to shoot down the enemy - just hold down the trigger and soon the other helicopter will spin out of control. On the positive side, it is 3 weeks after Xmas and they still work and my girls boyfriends love them so I guess they are a hit!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 16 for Air Hogs Havoc Heli Laser Battling Set

Awesome toy!

12/18/2007
By ,
Astoria
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After a day of fiddling my husband was able to become quite a pro at this helicopter. He has flown the expensive RC helis before and had way more trouble with those. It's not great outside but it wasn't meant to be. For the price you pay, you can't expect a professional grade helicopter. This is a great toy for those with the slightest bit of patience. The price is reasonable compared to other types of RC helis. Our heli has survived 4 kids learning to fly it and a cat with a vengeance for it and still flys great, even with tape on the tail.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 17 for Air Hogs Havoc Heli Laser Battling Set

fun

01/10/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The helicopters are a lot of fun for adults too. They hold up well to crashes (we haven't broke them yet). Make sure you read all the directions. The batteries need charged long enough and the trim needs set properly. Then they fly great and hover. Shooting each other while flying works great. They only fly five minutes for each charge of 20 minutes and battery cool down of 10 minutes, but its worth the fun to us. They were hard to find in the store so we ordered at Walmart. com and the shipping was only 97 cents because they are so light.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 18 for Air Hogs Havoc Heli Laser Battling Set

As Expected

01/04/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have had air hogs products before, and were not surprised that the helis were styrofoam. They are very lightweight, and in my opinion, are best for older kids (12 & up, maybe?) We have had some crashes and have not had any serious damage yet. It did take a bit of time to learn the controls, as well as get the "nose weights" just right. My husband and teenage son have had a lot of fun with these, and are now trying to do some precision maneuvers through tight spaces when they are not shooting one another out of the sky.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Review 19 for Air Hogs Havoc Heli Laser Battling Set

Grandson's Christmas present

01/02/2008
By ,
Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My grandson has had a kick with these 2 little helicopters. He crashed them several times, ran into the ceiling, walls, Christmas tree, scared the dog, etc...figured them out very quickly. I'm 62 and got them up in the air and moved them around pretty easily and had a good time. My grandson kept shooting me down. His father then took over for me and picked up how to fly them and gave my grandson a run for his money. They were a great Christmas gift for a 14 year old boy, 62 year old grandfather, and a 45 year old father.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Review 20 for Air Hogs Havoc Heli Laser Battling Set

What I expected, but not him.

01/10/2008
By ,
Ohio
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I got this for Christmas for one of my twin sons and he was disappointed in the product but it was exactly as I supposed it would be. They models are difficult to control, but easier than any other model helicopter i've encountered. Mostly it has to do with the difficulty of rebalancing the trim regularly. Also, the charge life is short, which is normal for an RC model like this. About 3 mins of play time for a 15 minute charge. This all seems fine to me but i'm a 33 year old and my son is 8 so he was disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
1-20 of 93 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next