Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zizzle Pirates of the Caribbean 3 Ultimate Black Pearl Playset

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Zizzle Pirates of the Caribbean 3 Ultimate Black Pearl Playset

Sail to the World's End with buccaneers and scalawags alike on this ultimate Black Pearl playset, for use with 3" Pirates of the Caribbean action figures. The Black Pearl features a massive two feet of play, with over 20 fun features and sound effects. A retracting rope flies figures up to the crow's nest and a bank of recoiling cannons trigger lights and sounds. But that's not all: a launching platform sends figures into battle, while a trap door provides a quick getaway to an escape skiff!
Average Customer Rating:
3.333 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(45 Reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
9
4 stars
13
3 stars
12
2 stars
6
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation67%30 out of 45reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
9
4 stars
13
3 stars
12
2 stars
6
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Pirates of the Caribbean 3 Ultimate Black Pearl Playset

A Good buy for any PotC fan

01/18/2008
By ,
Edison NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I recently picked up this set for $25 at my local Wal-Mart, andI must say that the shipis quite impressive.
As an adult collector I must say this set is amazing, esspecially for the modes $25 asking price.
It's massive, and full of features. I however, did not put any batteries in as I find electronic sound effects to be irritating.
The ship lacks some fine detailing, and looks a tad bland compared to the hyper detailed 3 3/4 inch figures for wch it's intended, but over all the deailing is very nice with gold accents and cloth sails.
I have had no durability issues, but I could see it falling apart during "rough play" at the hands of a young child, but as a display piece it's fine, and in fact a little more durable than oher cold cast resin display pieces.
I wish the set would've had more "foot pegs" to keep figures in place, but tha's a small complaint.
At $25 this set is a deal and a half.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Review 2 for Pirates of the Caribbean 3 Ultimate Black Pearl Playset

Not a very sturdy product

08/25/2007
By ,
Two Rivers, WI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is a really cool pirate ship, except it isn't very sturdy. For the price that we payed I would expect it to stay together fairly well. Pieces fall off with the slightest touch. I just don't feel the product with a child in mind.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 3 for Pirates of the Caribbean 3 Ultimate Black Pearl Playset

I should have believed past reviews

01/14/2008
By ,
Antelope, Ca
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this ship for my son for christmas despite the poor reviews I had read online. This was the one thing he really asked for and wanted. Now I have ship pieces all over my family room, and the main mask has already broken in two. The idea of the Black Pearl ship is great, but is very poorly made. The masks fall off just by looking at them. doors fall off easily, and the ship breaks off into pieces which my son cannot put back together without help. My son seems to like the ship and plays with it everyday, but I'm not sure how long it will last. This ship was too expensive to fall apart and break in only a couple weeks.
My advice, don't buy it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 4 for Pirates of the Caribbean 3 Ultimate Black Pearl Playset

Better than expected.

01/02/2008
By ,
HURRICANE, UTAH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When researching this pirate ship for a 2007 Christmas gift for my 9 year old grandson (he wanted it!), I was put off by the many negative comments about it falling apart so easily while being played with. Fortunately, I came across a lady who had put it together (it does require assembly, about an hour's worth) a week ahead of time, and super-glued those areas that were prone to come apart. While putting it together (I'm a 63 year old grandma) I must say I was impressed with the overall quality and clever ways that the ship can be played with. Definately worth buying and gluing ahead of time! AND HE LOVED IT!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Review 5 for Pirates of the Caribbean 3 Ultimate Black Pearl Playset

Really cool toy

01/04/2008
By ,
Mississippi Gulf Coast
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If they had these when I was a kid, this would have been my favorite toy! This pirate ship is a fantastic idea in concept. Lots of cool features, very realistic looking, and all around just a cool toy. On the downside, it's construction was poorly thought out! The masts will not stay on, the slightest movement and they fall off... same for some of the trap doors. I had to rig some of the parts with electrical tape to keep it together because let's face it, boys like to PLAY not stare. My 6 yr old really loves it and i'm happy with my purchase, I just wish it stayed together better.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 6 for Pirates of the Caribbean 3 Ultimate Black Pearl Playset

Don't know if I'd buy it again.

01/15/2008
By ,
Findlay, OH
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The excitement. The happy, smiling face. The joy of getting a package in the mail. My son loved experiencing all of the above. It could have been an emptied pop bottle. The enjoyment of his experience was worth the price. Value and durability of the toy.....I'm sure that the glue manufacturers are making plenty of money off of the sale of this toy. Not for little or impatient children should have been in large letters all over the box. My son still loves it, though. Thanks
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 7 for Pirates of the Caribbean 3 Ultimate Black Pearl Playset

PIRATES OF THE CARIBBEAN 3 ULTIMATE

01/22/2008
By ,
BOHEMIA, NY
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
THIS TOY IS NICE AS IT IS LARGE AND HAS MANY COMPARTMENTS BUT THE SAILS FALL OFF VERY EASILY AND THE PIECES ARE DIFFICULT FOR A CHILD TO REASSEMBLE BY THEMSELVES. MY CHILDREN WERE NOT ABLE TO PUT THE SHIP BACK TOGETHER WITHOUT MY HELP AND THAT MEANT CONSTANT REBUILDING. PERHAPS THE NEXT TIME THE COMPANY COULD MAKE A PRODUCT THAT STAYS TOGETHER A LITTLE BIT MORE AND THEN THE CHILD CAN PLAY WITHOUT THE CONSTANT FIXING REQUIRED TO MAKE IT WORK.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 8 for Pirates of the Caribbean 3 Ultimate Black Pearl Playset

Works as expected..son loves it

06/03/2008
By ,
Michigan
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I read reviews before purchasing so I knew to buy a tube of super glue for some of the pieces. We glued some of it as we put it together and my son who is 8 and a big pirate lover loves to play with it. He also has the Step 2 pirate ship, which is mainly made of wood and a lot sturdier than this POC ship but my son has gotten hours of play out of it. Since it was on clearance, it was definetely worth the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 9 for Pirates of the Caribbean 3 Ultimate Black Pearl Playset

ship falls apart constantly

01/14/2008
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
All I have to say is thank god I bought this when it was on sale. I had to scotch tape some of the pieces to get them to stay together before my son could even play with it! I t is a great idea with excellent actions...if only the hinges would stay together. My 3 yr old still evjoys playing with it while wathing the "pirates" movie, doesn't realize that ship would have sunk in a minute!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 10 for Pirates of the Caribbean 3 Ultimate Black Pearl Playset

Good but Bad

01/07/2008
By ,
Iowa
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My son is a POTC fanatic. This was THE Christmas toy for him this year. It's huge and has fun additions to the ship it just seems to fall apart allot. However, he does take this opportunity to make it his own creation. Lot's of pieces - but he does like it. Would I recommend it - maybe. Depends how much your child likes POTC and if you have patience to replace pieces.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 11 for Pirates of the Caribbean 3 Ultimate Black Pearl Playset

not worth price

12/28/2007
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I paid 50 dollars for this for christmas for my son. Huge disappointment. As soon as he touches it, it falls apart. It would have been different had I paid 20 bucks. It is a large boat and pretty put together. maybe good for older child. also disappointed to pay that much and characters not included. It is on the box, just didn't see that. Returning to store!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 12 for Pirates of the Caribbean 3 Ultimate Black Pearl Playset

Daughter, yes daughter loved it

01/28/2008
By ,
Kentucky
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
my 10 year old daughter who has never asked for any toys aimed toward "boy" toys asked for this after Christmas. She played with her cousin's ship. She loves it has played with it with the pirates figures as well as her littlest pet shop toys and her polly pockets. She loves all the sound effects and special effects. Good toy for both boys and girls alike.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 13 for Pirates of the Caribbean 3 Ultimate Black Pearl Playset

Not what I expected

12/27/2007
By ,
Queens NY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This Ship is overall huge and it would be fun to play with if the poles holding up all of the Staffs wouldn't fall off. You can not put the figures that we purchased on it with out something falling down. My son loves to play with it but then gets frustrated when everything falls apart. I also put super glue on some of the poles that were falling off.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for Pirates of the Caribbean 3 Ultimate Black Pearl Playset

Breaks easily

01/25/2008
By ,
Salt Lake City, UT
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My son loved the ship we bought him, so we bought one for our grandsons. The only problem is that before they can play with it you have to glue gun 5 or 6 of the parts to the ship or they fall off all the time, which is very frustrating to the kids. They should have made fewer removable parts or made them stay on better. It's a fun toy though!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for Pirates of the Caribbean 3 Ultimate Black Pearl Playset

My kid loves this toy

12/28/2007
By ,
Lancaster, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My kid loves this toy. It could be a little bit better built, though. The masts don't stay as firmly in place as I'd like all of the time. Some of the trap doors are difficult to reset, especially for a child. But there is a lot to this toy, and my kid plays with this toy quite a lot. It is very imaginitive.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for Pirates of the Caribbean 3 Ultimate Black Pearl Playset

Not worth the money, but neat toy

12/27/2007
By ,
springboro, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My little boy got this for christmas and he loves it, but it does fall apart so easy like everyone says, so I would not buy it for a child who frustrates easily or doesn't like to build things! It is a really cool ship with alot of playspace on it, just wish it held up better, other than that its great!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for Pirates of the Caribbean 3 Ultimate Black Pearl Playset

Fun To Assemble & Play With!

12/26/2007
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Each of my sons received this toy for Christmas. One of my sons is younger than the recommended age for the toy, but he was able to assemble it himself by following the detailed directions. They both love the Pirates of the Caribbean. I know they will get much enjoyment out of this toy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for Pirates of the Caribbean 3 Ultimate Black Pearl Playset

Too many parts that come off!

02/22/2008
By ,
North Carolina
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
If the parts on this ship would not fall off so easily, this would be a great toy. It is huge for the price and has neat features; however, the masts keep popping off (aren't secure on the connecting parts for some reason) and other parts are easily knocked off. It is frustrating!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 19 for Pirates of the Caribbean 3 Ultimate Black Pearl Playset
04/30/2008
By ,
San Diego, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My 3 year old son plays with this on a daily basis. It is HUGE! The masts are very sturdy and don't fall off like the MegaBlok POTC ships do. The only downfall is that a the railings at the very front of the boat fall off very easily. Other than that, this is a great buy!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Pirates of the Caribbean 3 Ultimate Black Pearl Playset

Not for kids

01/04/2008
By ,
Clermnot, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I thought that the product had to many parts for small children to put together. I had an adult help the child and they were both getting frustrated. Once the ship was put to together it did not stay that way for very long. Cheap toy. I will know better the next time.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
1-20 of 43 total reviews
1 2 3 Next