Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Philips Philips 160GB Hard Drive DVD Recorder w/ HDMI, DVDR3575H/37

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Philips Philips 160GB Hard Drive DVD Recorder w/ HDMI, DVDR3575H/37

Here's how to make TV work on your schedule instead of the other way around. It features an ATSC/NTSC tuner to receive both conventional analog broadcasts and over-the-air digital broadcasts, where available. The built-in hard drive stores up to 200 hours of videos, which you can later choose to record to DVD. You can even "pause" live TV shows and watch instant replays. It records on any blank DVD +R/+RW/-R/-RW disc. An HDMI port upconverts DVDs to 720p, 1080i or 1080p formats on compatible HDTVs.
Average Customer Rating:
3.939 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(66 Reviews) 63
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
30
4 stars
20
3 stars
3
2 stars
8
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation80%53 out of 66reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
30
4 stars
20
3 stars
3
2 stars
8
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Philips 160GB Hard Drive DVD Recorder w/ HDMI, DVDR3575H/37

Great Poorman's TiVo

08/01/2007
By ,
Kalamazoo, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not a TiVo, but very good. If your from the VCR era, this is a must have replacement. If your a DVD R person - you'll love the hard drive. If you want to upgrade to HDTV w/no box then this is it. The only draw back is that it is a little pricey.
Basically has the same functionality as a VCR, but with the added feature of "time shifting" or "pause live tv" like you would find on a TiVo. Generally very easy to set up and is pretty intuiative if you think VCR and not TiVo. You can do dubbing from hard drive to DVD (single&dual layer) and visa versa. You can do basic screen titles and chaptering, as well as, coping from video/still camera. Programing is VCR like, but easier. Has quick one touch record in 30 min intervals. Opps another draw back - if you switch input modes from antenna to Cable - you have to re-learn all the stations. So for those of us with analog cable and digital antenna, it kinda clumbsy, but workable for everynow and then football games, etc.
I made the right decission and will soon forget about the extra $100 compared to a disk only model.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 2 for Philips 160GB Hard Drive DVD Recorder w/ HDMI, DVDR3575H/37

The Best Digital Tuner w/HDD Recorder.

07/04/2007
By ,
Freehold, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This DVD Recorder is probably the best one on the market with a Digital Tuner (ATSC & QAM) and a Hard Drive.
For any who have never experienced a DVD Recorder with a Hard Drive in it, the reason I feel it's essential is because you can record programming on the HDD, do your editing, and then dub the edited content on a DVD all within the same unit.
The Audio and Video quality of the Philips 3575 is very good, even in the lower recording speeds which yield more time on a DVD, you will still be impressed with how good your recordings look.
Speaking of recording times, you can put 1-Hour, 2-Hours, 2.5-Hours, 3-Hours, 4-Hours, or 6-Hours on one DVD, those same settings using the 160gb HDD for recording will yield: 33-Hours, 66-Hours, 82.5-Hours, 99-Hours, 132-Hours, or 198-Hours (which is more than one whole week of recording).
The interface is user friendly enough that you should be able to get most of your tasks done without looking at the manual. It will also give you an informative Menu when you create/finalize a DVD so it can be played elsewhere.
As for the Digital Tuner, with my cable company I can only receive OTA (Over The Air) channels through the Digital receiver. So channels like ABC, NBC, CBS, FOX, My-9, CW 11, and some PBS Channels are all that will come through. In the event that you want to record something else, the unit has Front A/V Inputs so you can wire your Cable Box to them and record via a Line Input...or in the case of the Philips 3575 "E2" which is the Front Jacks.
All in all I like this machine very much and would recommend it to anyone who is interested in a great quality DVD Recorder.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+24points
Review 3 for Philips 160GB Hard Drive DVD Recorder w/ HDMI, DVDR3575H/37

My unit records in 16:9

02/14/2008
By ,
Madison, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had purchased 4 recorders with tuners prior to the Phillip's with HDD and was unable to get them to work succesfully with my 2-1/2 year old RCA HDTV with DVI input. This Phillips works just fine with the DVI input. I recorded the Today show and it really did an incredible job. Despite what the instruction manual said... it DOES record in 16:9 which was a must. The digital quality of the recording was light years ahead of a VCR! It will store 33 hours in the highest quality setting and is near HD after the upconvert. The picture was still very good in standard mode (66 hours). I wanted a unit without the monthly subscription. TiVo HD DVR is the same $300... but doesn't play or record DVD's and you need to pay $400 more for a lifetime subscrition for TiVo for the life of the unit. So TiVo would cost $800 ($300 for HD, $400 for service, and $100 for a DVD recorder) So I have money left over for a new Sony receiver and a HD DVD player.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Review 4 for Philips 160GB Hard Drive DVD Recorder w/ HDMI, DVDR3575H/37

Best Philips Recorder

09/24/2007
By ,
Silver Spring, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's great to have a machine with a hard drive! Due to working a straight 12-hour night shift, I find it mandatory to have a dependable way to time-shift the primetime programs that I like. With the hard drive, I no longer have to worry about running out of room on the DVD and then having to watch programs immediately the next morning, then deleting to make room for the following evening. I can just continue recording till the end of the week and then watch everything on the weekend. A great boon to shift workers everywhere.
I especially like the fact that I can be watching one program from the hard drive even WHILE it's recording another program. I have made use of the HMDI connection to a Panasonic HDTV and the progressive scan is amazing. This machine also is equipped with 12x dubbing capability - a one-hour show can be dubbed to a DVD in only 5 minutes, with the resulting audio and video quality just about the same as viewing directly from the hard drive.
I'm very happy with the purchase and you will be too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 5 for Philips 160GB Hard Drive DVD Recorder w/ HDMI, DVDR3575H/37

Philips DVD Recorder

02/22/2008
By ,
Nashville
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If it can be done with a DVR, this machine can do it, and then some. The learning curve is just a tad steep but with all it can do, you have to learn most of it, so that's not really a problem. The ONLY real problem I had with this product is the remote control. The font on the remote is about 3pt, meaning without proper magnification, it is almost impossible to read. With so many buttons and such incredibly small font labels, anyone over 40 had better be in a very well lit room to see it. I've been trying to memorize the remote so I can just use it by touch instead of having to read where the buttons are. There have been serveral times when i've been trying to use the remote but it was facing backwards in my palm (and I'm a guy!! I know how to handle a remote!!).
Other than that, I would highly recommend this product (if you can find it in stores - I had to look in 3 stores to find it in stock).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 6 for Philips 160GB Hard Drive DVD Recorder w/ HDMI, DVDR3575H/37

Best on the market today

02/15/2008
By ,
So. Cal.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been using this recorder for 7 months.
The previous poster is incorrect about 16:9 recording.
The 3575 WILL record WS programs on digital channels thru it tuner. It records what is fed to it, either natural WS or 4:3 packaged with LB/PB. You must set its "TV Aspect" to 16:9 Wide.
I now have two of them and they work great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 7 for Philips 160GB Hard Drive DVD Recorder w/ HDMI, DVDR3575H/37

does not record 16:9 aspect ratio

02/09/2008
By ,
upper great plains
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
A major and serious defect of this product is that it will not record in 16:9 aspect ratio. It only records in 4:3 aspect ratio. This important fact is in small print inside the manual in a small note box, and should be right up front on the product specification sheet- but it isn't there. So buyer beware of this fault. This defeats the purpose of recording HD ATSC programs because the resulting recording is effectively an NTSC format of 4:3 aspect ratio. Despite the fact that these days most new HD TV systems can upconvert the 4:3 aspect ratio image to the 16:3 aspect ratio image, the quality loss is inescapable. In other words, despite the unit's HDMI compatibility and 160 GB recording memory and the ATSC/NTSC tuners (good points in this combo) it fails to meet my expectations for recording quality. Now I have to go to the trouble of returning it to the store and getting a different, better, machine. Hopefully that won't be a time consuming process. For these reasons, it does not provide the bang for the buck that this expensive DVD tuner and recorder should provide, why I give it an overall fair rating, and why I do not recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 8 for Philips 160GB Hard Drive DVD Recorder w/ HDMI, DVDR3575H/37

A great product for those without cable

08/18/2007
By ,
Hanover, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Philips Hard Drive DVD Recorder is awesome!!
I am now able to record my favorite shows that are broadcast in Hi-Definition. I was not able to record in Hi-Def on my dish recorder before and when I'd try to watch the recordings, they were all snowy and fuzzy. No matter what channel I'm trying to record, all of my shows are crystal clear!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 9 for Philips 160GB Hard Drive DVD Recorder w/ HDMI, DVDR3575H/37

Great buy

05/02/2008
By ,
Kintnersville, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this product for a few weeks now. I have found it to be just great! Little expensive but those monthly costs for Tivo add up. I have no monthly cost to deal with like a tivo or dvr from cable or satilite. Figuring out the digital channels was not to easy, but It took me only a couple hours. I made a spreadsheet and it is not an issue. I went away for a week and set it up to record all my shows and when I came back I was easily able to watch the shows. Recording setup is just like a VCR accept the picture is just like I am watching Live TV and I can start watching the program before it is done recording. One other thing I found is you can pause Live TV up to 12 hours or your HDD runs out of space whatever comes first. I am told that TiVo is only for 30 minutes. It has features I have not had time to get to, but will reallly need to use when recording the home movies to DVD. So far I love it!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for Philips 160GB Hard Drive DVD Recorder w/ HDMI, DVDR3575H/37
04/29/2008
By ,
West Palm Beach, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This
DVR is worthless. The 160 gb hard drive is the only attractive benefit,
but the overall primitive nature of this product makes the larger hard
drive totall irrelevant.
The biggest (and fatal) flaw of this DVR is the fact that it has no
ability to download TV Guide programming data from PBS stations as
other DVR devices can do. Therefore, you have no online program
listing. AFTER you record, all you really know is the date, time, and
length of the recording, but not the progam NAME. Even then, it will
not give you a LIST, but a picture of the first frame of the recording.
Can you imagine having 60 hours of programming without the name?
Also, you cannot automatically record a program on regular schedule.
For instance, you cannot automatically record the Nightly News.
Instead, you must create a new recording every single day. The timed
recording feature of this device is more primitive than the cheapest
VCR of yesteryear.
If you're attacted by the cheap price of this DVR, there is a reason.
It's a cheap piece of junk that will give you many, many, hours of
annoying frustration trying to turn it into something useful.
Buy ANYTHING but this DVR. Even if they dropped the price to $25 it
wouldn't be a bargain.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Review 11 for Philips 160GB Hard Drive DVD Recorder w/ HDMI, DVDR3575H/37

Excellent product

01/23/2008
By ,
Corbin, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This has been an awesome addition to my home. I was looking to replace a Pioneer DVD recorder and this one far exceeds it. It has a huge hard drive which means it can hold lots of shows, it has QAM tuning which means that I can get HD stations from my cable company without having to pay extra, it has an easy interface to set up and watch programs I record, and it has a built-in cable signal booster that has made my new TV's picture look so much better. I'm currently using it to record 8 hours of television every day and watch it later that evening. But unlike Tivo, there's no monthly charge. This thing is perfect for me! In fact, I even bought the two-year extended warranty.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 12 for Philips 160GB Hard Drive DVD Recorder w/ HDMI, DVDR3575H/37

I LIKE IT WITH RESERVATIONS

10/08/2007
By ,
Borden, IN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This recorder works as expected with reservations. It has some firmware issues. It can freeze up during editing resulting in data loss. It has frozen during scene deletes and title splits. I have been able to get the data back by using the next chapter buttons to ask it to move back into the missing data. I have only had it happen 2x, and discovered the recovery process on the 2nd occurance. Overall, Philips' customer service is better than most in product knowledge and helpfulness, but they haven't had fixes for the problems. Otherwise, I love being able to record onto the harddrive, make my edits, and save it to DVD. My only other complaints are that it doesn't merge titles, you can't record on one channel & watch another, and you have to tell it if you have svideo connections or RCA jacks depending on your input source, and that you have to choose between digital and analog on your channel selection, unlike other brands that let you browze thru both. So far I have not had any compatability issues with DVD's made on this recorder playing on other players, and it plays DVD's made on my computer without a problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for Philips 160GB Hard Drive DVD Recorder w/ HDMI, DVDR3575H/37

Great for BJU classes

10/11/2007
By ,
Temecula, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this to record BJU home satellite classes and it works perfectly! I've used a friends DVR (different brand) so I knew a bit of what I was doing but this one was definitely easier to use. I'm not saying that it is easy to use. There is a learning curve when you start using it. But it becomes an invaluable tool that goes much more quickly with a little time! I put tabs on the manual for quick reference when I was learning to do specific tasks with it. The manual has very clear pictures on how to set timers, divide titles, name titles, dub, name DVD, and finalize. I am VERY happy with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 14 for Philips 160GB Hard Drive DVD Recorder w/ HDMI, DVDR3575H/37

A great DVD Recorder to own

10/05/2007
By ,
Miami, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I own a previous DVD Recorder which I was not fully satisfied with, I went searching for a better DVD recorder when I stumbled upon this Philips DVD Recorder with the 160GB HDD, The HDD made all the difference. Not only I don't have to own a bunch of DVD-/+RW or R, I can just use the HDD for all my recording. Especially when you have a capacity of close to 200 hours of recording space on SLP mode and 32 hours on HQ(High Quality) recording. And not to mention the most important feature on this Philips recorder, the built-in HD Tuner, it says SDTV on the recorder but all my recording are in High Def if the channel is HDTV, and the HDMI output gives out High Definition quality. Alot cheaper than a Tivo and better considering no subscription. Great buy, I truely recommend it if you can not see yourself pay a hefty price on an overated Tivo. You can dub from the HDD to DVD and vice versa. An USB port to play your favorite music while relaxing. All these features for a reasonable price, can't be beat. Also you receive an array of space for your timer programming, since am an avid show watcher, I have a bunch of shows to record and I need lots of pages to program my timers not a few lines like other DVD recorder provides. I don't have time everyday to erase timers and input new ones for the time I need to record; since this Philips recorder has enough pages for the timer programming, I can program 20 or more programs to record without having to check on them every week. Very important. Set it and forget it. Great buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 15 for Philips 160GB Hard Drive DVD Recorder w/ HDMI, DVDR3575H/37

Nice device

10/04/2007
By ,
Boston, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This device is an excellent replacement for the VCR, obviously adding a lot more capability. I've had good luck with Philips products, they seem to fly under the radar of some of the bigger (more expensive) names. Pair this up with the Philips 47PFL5432D/37 1080P HDTV ($1,697 at WalMart) and a Philips MANT510 over-the-air HIDEF antenna (about $25 on Amazon) and you've got a heck of a nice setup for relatively short money. My only gripes are minor. I was surprised the DVD player did not support DVD-A (DVD Audio) as I have alot of 5.1 mixes (Steely Dan, etc.) and as others have noted the buttons on the remote are rather small. There is also no onscreen TV guide but I was aware of that before purchase and considered it a frill. Other than that, this is a great deal and I am happy with our purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 16 for Philips 160GB Hard Drive DVD Recorder w/ HDMI, DVDR3575H/37

Awesome DVR

03/14/2008
By ,
Charlotte, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a GREAT DVR. Its easy to use. We set it up to record from the dish (DirecTV) directly (via time) or from the DirecTV DVR. We have downloaded some things from On Demand that our toddler loves and then recorded it to the Phillips DVR hard drive then to DVD. For the money, there isn't a better one on the market. I highly recommend this.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 17 for Philips 160GB Hard Drive DVD Recorder w/ HDMI, DVDR3575H/37

Phillips 160 GIG Hard Drive Recorder

03/29/2008
By ,
Woodstock, IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this unit today I am packing it up and its going back to the store tomorrow its too complicated, Its nothing compared to the Panasonic Models with the hard drive, and Programmable TV Guide for scheduling recordings. Its unfortunate Panasonic does not make these models any more Plus the tuner does not display all my cable channels it only goes to channel 99 and I can't get the unit to communicate with my Comcast DVR unit so I can't transfer the video from Comcast DVR unit onto the hard drive of the Phillips so can edit out the commercials. My overall rating poor, poorly egineered, and highly complicated to learn and operate. Its menu system is light years behind the Panasonic models with the TV Guide. The remote does not even have a volume button and the text on remote is too small.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-1point
Review 18 for Philips 160GB Hard Drive DVD Recorder w/ HDMI, DVDR3575H/37

Quality Item

08/08/2007
By ,
KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used the 3575H for 2-3 weeks now and really like it. It was abreeze to set up. It records sharp images. I like not having to change the vcr tapes when recording shows, but not ready to watch them yet. It is more costly than just a dvd recorder, but for me the 160GB Hard Drive is worth it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 19 for Philips 160GB Hard Drive DVD Recorder w/ HDMI, DVDR3575H/37

Cannot record Direct TV

03/22/2008
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The features on this unit are very nice, unfortunately you can no longer use them with Direct TV as all of there channels are protected.
It will record network TV (for now) so if you need it for that you should be ok (for now).
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Review 20 for Philips 160GB Hard Drive DVD Recorder w/ HDMI, DVDR3575H/37

my bad luck

04/01/2008
By ,
OC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
First thing I noticed was a pretty audible hum when turned on, and thinking this unit will have to be really good to keep. There is the warning in the manual not to use the HD for permanate storage, indicating maybe some unstable software was inside. The next thing I noticed was some minute remote flashing and color changes when recording some sat premium programing. I then tried a timer recording to disk. When the recording was to start, it asked for a recordable disc (it did not recognize the blank disc that I had put in it that it had already had recognized prior) and then proceeded to substitute a recording to the HD instead. I then tried a direct recording to the same disc and it recorded fine. The next disc worked fine off the timer. This is just after 1 day of testing...
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 64 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next