Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for J.L. Childress Co. JL Childress - Airport Gate Check Car Seat Bag

J.L. Childress Co. JL Childress - Airport Gate Check Car Seat Bag

If you are worried about your childs car seat getting ruined during flight travels, get the JL Childress - Airport Gate Check Car Seat Bag and keep it well protected. This air travel bag will protect your babys car seat from dirt and germs while traveling. The JL Childress - Airport Gate Check Car Seat Bag is available in a bright red color and large graphics that makes it easily identifiable for return to gate. The gate check bag for car seat will ideally fits most car seats. The JL Childress Car Seat Bag also comes with an attached pouch into which it can bundled into when not in use. The airplane car seat bag will cover the entire car seat and can be secured using its car seat lock. Maintenance of the air travel car seat cover is easy and just a quick wipe down with a damp cloth is enough to keep it looking clean.
Average Customer Rating:
3.944 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(54 Reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
22
4 stars
20
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation81%44 out of 54reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 20 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
22
4 stars
20
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for JL Childress - Airport Gate Check Car Seat Bag

Keeps the car seat clean but doesn't last long

12/23/2012
By ,
Rancho Cucamonga, ca
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is our second purchase. With duct tape we were able to use our first bag for several flights with our Chicco 30 car seat before the bag was beyond repair. We bought a replacement because we discovered that there are no padded car seat covers that our Evenflo symphony 65 car seat will fit into. (Such a bummer since I really like the car seat.) So far the bag has been used only once to fly some where and it already has small holes where the material ripped. I would only recommend this bag if you're needing something to protect your car seat while in storage or if your car seat will absolutely not fit in any other bag.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for JL Childress - Airport Gate Check Car Seat Bag

You get what you pay for...

03/17/2011
By ,
Milwaukee, Wi
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought 2 of the car seat bags for a family trip. The bags were very thin and clearly weren't made to hold up to the abuse of baggage carriers. By the second plane ride, there were small rips in the bags...I don't know that we will be able to use them for another trip. But they served their purpose of protecting the car seats for one trip. The bag was big enough to fit any seat on the market, but I specifically had an Evenflo and Britax. The opening was wide and made it easy to get the seat in. The handle was big enough to comfortably carry the bag.
The bag indicates that this is for gate check only, but we checked both our car seats with our luggage, as did several other parents on our flight. Although there may have been less damage to the bag had we checked in at the gate instead!
Overall, I would suggest this if you plan to just use it once or twice. However, if you need to travel more frequently, I would suggest the more expensive and durable bags on the market.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for JL Childress - Airport Gate Check Car Seat Bag

Does the Job

01/17/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We have a tall car seat, and this JUST covered it. Ours came with a nice big white block to write our name on, which was very nice. It kept our car seat clean and dry. The bag itself got pretty much destroyed by the gate-check people. It's now covered in dirt and has a tear in it, but my car seat is spotless, so it did its job. Since my car seat cost nearly $200 and the bag was only $10-15, I don't care if it didn't hold up too well against the gate-checkers; I'd gladly purchase a new one for my next trip.
The handle is in a bit of an awkward spot, just because of the way a car seat's weight is distributed. I feel like it would have been better to be on the back of the bag. However, it did make it a little bit easier to carry the car seat through the airport, and it didn't tear away from the bag. The cord for the drawstring is way too long and gets caught on things. I'd cut and re-knot it to be shorter if I used this again.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for JL Childress - Airport Gate Check Car Seat Bag

A+

10/16/2014
By ,
California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Protected my daughters care seats at the airport.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Convertibility
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for JL Childress - Airport Gate Check Car Seat Bag

did its job, but only twice

08/04/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought the bag for a round trip flight going on vacation, hoping to use it on multiple trips for the next few years.
The Good: Cost compared to others. Easy to put the car seat in and also easy to fold it back up and it's smaller than my wife's purse! No fussing with it as it was quick to do this at the gate and then gate check the car seat.
The Bad: On the flight down, got the bag and car seat back and the seam had ripped open about 6 inches. Obviously people are going to grab the bag any way they can and not necessarily by the handle, which held up fine, but the seam ripped. It still folded up fine and I used it a week later for the flight back. The seam had ripped another 12 inches so I took the car seat out of bag, wadded up the bag, and tossed it in the trash. Wasn't going to get another use out of it.
Summary: Paid less than $20 for it so not complaining about that and it also did its job in protecting the car seat for an entire trip. So it did it's job in not letting any scratches or marks of any kind get on the seat, but only for 2 flights so if you want something that will last longer I would suggest spending more on a nicer bag and get your money's worth.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for JL Childress - Airport Gate Check Car Seat Bag

worked great!

09/11/2009
By ,
Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
worked great - was big enough for my Keyfit 30 + the base + some blankets!! Made traveling just a little easier :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for JL Childress - Airport Gate Check Car Seat Bag

Cheaper but you get what you pay for!

06/12/2011
By ,
Indiana
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I read all of the reviews and decided that this sounded like the best deal for occasional travel. Unfortunately, the bag ripped in the airport before we even made it to our gate! We had to borrow shipping tape from the desk at the check in gate before we could gate check it and then sew the seam closed when we got to our destination. It worked fine on the way home, but only because we had already sewed all of the weak spots closed! It did not make traveling any easier. You could take a chance with this cheap bag, but you may need to borrow tape when you get to the airport!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for JL Childress - Airport Gate Check Car Seat Bag

Great way to travel!

11/17/2009
By ,
Bothell, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
With a little planning ahead, this worked great for us, and held up perfectly. It is large as well, and we were able to fit our Britax Marathon and a booster seat in as well as a coat and blanket. I love the way that it folds down into its own zipper pouch for easy storage.
My only complaint would be that when you have the string pulled closed, and pick up the bag by the handle, it will open up the top. The easy fix was to just tie a slip knot in the string after cinching it closed and tuck the string inside the hole.
I would highly recommend this...we didn't check it with baggage but did a gate check (as we didn't want to lose the car seats!)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for JL Childress - Airport Gate Check Car Seat Bag

Not a durable product

05/24/2011
By ,
Manchester, NH
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This bag is very cheaply made bag. I flew to Georgia from Boston. When I checked my luggage, they put the carseat while in the bag into a large plastic bag. When I pick up my luggage, the plastic bag had been removed and the car seat bag had 3 different holes in it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for JL Childress - Airport Gate Check Car Seat Bag

Served its purpose!

02/12/2012
By ,
Prescott, WI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this for a recent trip out east. I bought both the stroller cover and the car seat cover. Both served their purpose. In the past I have had luggage returned to me with grease/dirt stains. I bought these to protect our Graco Snugride 32 and Chicco umbrella stroller. The fit was fine, the ease was fine. This is a nylon product so they may only last after a few uses. The only thing that could improve these is if they had a long shoulder strap for shuffling through the airport!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per year
 
My Product Recommendations
 
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for JL Childress - Airport Gate Check Car Seat Bag

It helped us alot!

12/27/2008
By ,
Monterrey, Mexico
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We traveled by plane for the first time with baby... the car seat fit and we still had alot of space for some presents he got for Christmass that didn't fit in our luggage. It saved the day when we stuck in there a big toy, a bag with stuff and a big jacket. It gathered our things. We didn't send it with our luggage, instead my husband carried it from the strap (heavy, but didn't break!) on the airport and when we got to the plane he simple attached the seat and we still had the bag for the other things. The only thing is that it can be hard to get the car seat inside because the bag doesn't have a structure (it's just a huge bag)... but its fine 'cause it's lightweight. It dind't get any holes from the trip... and folded perfectly into a small rectangle that we stuck in the stroller later.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for JL Childress - Airport Gate Check Car Seat Bag

somewhat helpful

01/09/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This product made transporting the carseat throughout the airport very easy. It was also great for tossing the baby's winter coat into once we got to the airport. However, upon arriving home I noticed the bottom of the bag has a tear in it after using it the first time. This is a bit disappointing.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for JL Childress - Airport Gate Check Car Seat Bag
05/24/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The material is too thin and it is not easy to carry around.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for JL Childress - Airport Gate Check Car Seat Bag

It made it through our trip, but...

10/20/2007
By ,
Santa Clara, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The bag barely fit our Britax Decthlon seat. When we unfolded the bag at the gate of the airport and got the seat in the bag, I was sure it was going tear before we got it fully cinched shut. Granted, we could have left it slightly opened at the top, but isn't the purpose of the bag to keep the seat clean & dry?? The leg of the flight we gate checked the seat was an international flight and the bag came out extremely dirty and scuffed, but it suprisingly didnt tear. I dont think it was worth the price paid, but like I said in the title: It made it through our one trip.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for JL Childress - Airport Gate Check Car Seat Bag

Airport Gate Bag Quality as Expected

03/04/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this bag of course to protect the car seat on our flight. The 2nd flight there was damage to the bag (rip and tear) but not the car seat. I would hate to send a car seat on a plane and not protect it. The bright red color is nice to identify the car seat. Our only problem was with the string. It got caught in the carousel. We had to almost break it to get it to release. We just didn't think about that. So 2nd flight. We tied it up in a knot and there wasn't a problem. I don't think this bag will last over 2 trips.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for JL Childress - Airport Gate Check Car Seat Bag

Not worth the money

08/09/2010
By ,
Ft. Campbell, KY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When I got this it was just to protect my little girls car seat at baggage claim however it was so cheaply made it couldn't even do that! It broke on the way to our destination. It was large enough to fit our car seat - but once it broke we could not use it on the way home. Waste of $!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for JL Childress - Airport Gate Check Car Seat Bag

Great product for great price.

08/15/2012
By ,
MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bag came in very handy when I had to gate check my son's carseat on a recent trip. It folds up nicely to fit in a purse (or backpack pocket, in my case) and is easy to use. My son's large Britax carseat fit very easily and the bag held up through 3 different flights. Not a tear on it. The only complaint I have is that I wish it had a tag to write our info on it, but I just made my own. I would definitely recommend this product if you need something to protect your carseat when gate checking.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for JL Childress - Airport Gate Check Car Seat Bag

Good for the price

01/07/2010
By ,
Missoula, MT
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We got this car seat bag for a trip we recently took that had two take offs and landings total. It did its job - the car seat made the trip undamaged. The bag, however, now has a few rips in it, so I don't know how many more loads and unloads it has left.
It's difficult to carry the car seat in the bag, a shoulder strap would be wonderful. The bag is very spacious and held our large car seat (Britax Marathon) easily. For what we paid, it was a good choice.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for JL Childress - Airport Gate Check Car Seat Bag

Thin Fabric

10/25/2007
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Just a warning we had a tear in the bottom of the bag before we reached the desk to check our luggage... I was so nervous to check the bag so we lugged the thing through the airport , through security and had them load it under the plane....on the way home the car seat bag was checked, well the airline was not so sure it was super sturdy either so they put a extra sized plastic bag around it to prevent it from ripping and separating from our carseat.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for JL Childress - Airport Gate Check Car Seat Bag

Great Idea

10/16/2012
By ,
Ark via Bahrain
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have yet to use this but it is big enough to hold my carseat and base while going to Bahrain via London. I am not sure how it will hold up but No problem really its a bag it should have wear. The only thing I hated about this was the bag that your supposed to fold this up and put it in. Its tiny and really not good for the bag plus its attached lol...Anyway great bag recommended... I am using this with an evenflo carseat.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 46 total reviews
1 2 3 Next