Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Spalding Spalding 48" Polycarbonite Basketball Backboard and Rim Combo

Spalding Spalding 48" Polycarbonite Basketball Backboard and Rim Combo

This Spalding 48" Polycarbonite Basketball Backboard and Rim Combo can be used on most Spalding/Huffy portable basketball poles and in-ground poles. This backboard and rim combo can also be mounted to a flat surface, eave or rooftop. Mounting hardware varies by application and is not included. This Spalding basketball backboard includes a Slam Jam rim for your own spectacular breakaways and dunks.
Average Customer Rating:
4.288 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(52 Reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
28
4 stars
17
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation90%47 out of 52reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
24 Questions | 21 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
28
4 stars
17
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Spalding 48" Polycarbonite Basketball Backboard and Rim Combo

Basketball backboard & Rim Combo

12/17/2012
By ,
Spartanburg, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The parents are very satified. This one is a child's gift.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Spalding 48" Polycarbonite Basketball Backboard and Rim Combo

lasted a 1 1/2 years

10/12/2013
By ,
Fort Wayne, IN
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I got this backboard a year and a half ago. We were very pleased with it, no scratches or cracks, etc.. Today, however, my 11 year old son made a shot and a huge hole popped out of the backboard. The hole is the exact size of the basketball and almost as perfectly round. Not happy now! The warranty is for one year. We have had it for 1 1/2 years. Not worth it considering that I now need to buy a new one and go through the hassle of putting another basketball goal together and mounted :(
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Spalding 48" Polycarbonite Basketball Backboard and Rim Combo

IBMGuru

04/07/2010
By ,
Indianapolis, IN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was heistant on buying a plastic backboard, or acryllic, I wanted the heavy professional looking plexiglass. This back board was light enough for me to install myself. I had to modify and drill two holes in my 1980s old style pole as the cross brackets were too far apart to meet the upper and lower mount points. I drilled a couple more holes in the extra steel brackets that came in the box to make the backboard secure. My son and I are out every night shooting since I put it up 2 weeks ago.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Spalding 48" Polycarbonite Basketball Backboard and Rim Combo

Good bacsketball goal BUT

03/28/2011
By ,
Caledonia, MS
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this backboard to replace existing one that cracked. After reading reviews I felt confident that I did not need to purchase any mounting pieces because what was existing on our pole should work...WRONG, if it is a different name brand it will not work. Ended up having to spend another $100 to get the mounting piece--finally got it up and it looks and works great! I could have saved myself some money if I would have known in the beginning that it wouldn't work.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Spalding 48" Polycarbonite Basketball Backboard and Rim Combo

parts mismatch

04/04/2010
By ,
Winnsboro, SC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The product itself works fine. We'll see how it holds up over time. We had several installation and design issues. There are no cross braces provided, even though they are shown in the manual. Fortunately, I had a couple on hand, but mine extend to the outer upper corner of the backboard, and there are no pre-drilled holes there. So I had to drill my own holes. In my opinion, braces only going to the midpoint on the board (as shown in the manual) would not be supportive anyway. We never could install the slammer-jammer spring with our extension arm mount because the hardware provided is a mismatch. Another larger diameter washer would be needed in addition to the large washer provided. It isn't really necessary as we don't allow anyone to hang from the rim anyway. (That used to be a technical foul and grounds for ejection.) The rim has a more solid feel without it. There are nice trim pieces for the lower corners of the backboard, but unfortunately none of the metal screws provided is the right size for the pre-drilled holes. So we'll have to wait on that until the next visit to the local hardware store.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Spalding 48" Polycarbonite Basketball Backboard and Rim Combo

Great Product - Great Value

10/10/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My grandson needed his backboard and rim replaced, and we began looking for brands that would fit. We soon realized that since the old backboard and rim were made by Huffy, we would have to replace it with the same brand, which is now Spalding. We could have gone another route with a more expensive backboard and rim, but we would have had to have bought more hardware to make it fit. In addition, Walmart's price was the best of all the vendors we checked. We ordered it online, and it came promptly. The Spalding 48" backboard and rim combo fit perfectly with the old hardware, which was over 15 years old. There was hardware supplied that allowed us to attach it to the goalpost with not a lot of effort. This is a good first time or replacement; it's well made and should give us many more years of pleasure.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Spalding 48" Polycarbonite Basketball Backboard and Rim Combo

Great Basketball Backboard

06/01/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We used the universal mount to attach it to our garage. It is very heavy and it took 4 men to hoist it up...Once mounted, it's great! Hopefully will be durable for many years to come!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Spalding 48" Polycarbonite Basketball Backboard and Rim Combo

so far, so good!

01/06/2010
By ,
so. cal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We purchased this for our son for Christmas and are very pleased with it. It looks nice mounted on the house and seems to have a good bounce in the backboard. Wal-mart beat everyone's price and it shipped within a week. We have only had it for about 2 weeks but, so far, so good!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Spalding 48" Polycarbonite Basketball Backboard and Rim Combo

Fit Perfectly, but apparently manufactured to fail

04/13/2013
By ,
San Antonio, Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My teen sons managed to break a hole in the center of the backboard. It was a 44" backboard, but I hoped that this slighter larger 48" backboard would fit the same brackets. It did and gave a slightly larger area to play off of. Perfect fit to the existing brackets and easy to replace and assemble. I did add a support piece across the back of this backboard which will hopefully prevent further incidents of this type, but who knows? It seems a mystery to me why the manufacturer does not support the Plexiglas above the rim area, but probably just so we all have to buy replacements after a year. The holes for the horizontal bracket are already pre-drilled, so why not build it right in the first place? We had this set for about 1 1/2 years prior to the damage, so I hope this last longer with daily use. I gave it only a 4 stars rating because it could be supported properly with the pre-drilled holes but Spalding chooses to manufacture something that will fail in time. The $150 price tag for replacement is almost as much as a brand new basketball system, but I did not want the hassle of moving 300 lbs. of sand somehow out of the current base to a new one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Spalding 48" Polycarbonite Basketball Backboard and Rim Combo

Basketball Goal

03/12/2011
By ,
Kansas City, KS
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I happy with the product itself, what I was not happy about is that I was shorted 4 bolts that I needed to put the item together and then after I had it together I then realized I needed to order a mounting bracket for the product because it did not come with one. So I have had the item now for two weeks and am still waiting on the bracket to put the backboard up, so even though I got the item together in just a couple of hours I still cant use it because I did not have all of the items. But on the plus side, I dont think this goal will ever break.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Spalding 48" Polycarbonite Basketball Backboard and Rim Combo

Great Deal

04/22/2009
By ,
Northwood, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Backboard and rim were easy to put together and are sturdy enough for our driveway games. Not a heavy duty unit, but for the price you can't beat it especially when other stores are selling the exact same unit for $50 more.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Spalding 48" Polycarbonite Basketball Backboard and Rim Combo

Sturdy and plays and looks nice

04/20/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I combined the Spalding 48" Backboard Combo (model 79354) with the Spalding U-Turn lift (Model#316) and mounted them on a 3.5" pole cemented into the ground. Together, they provide a really nice backboard that looks great. When it first arrived, I was concerned that the backboard may be a little flimsy given it is polycarbonate instead of glass or acrylic but when mounted properly, it seems like it's going to be a pretty sturdy system. For the average family use and neighborhood action this will see, I think it is going to be money well spent.
I highly recommend the U-Turn lift system. I was going to go with a stationary mount but decided it was worth the extra cash to have something that could easily move from 7 ft for my young daughter to regulation height as she gets older or if I have friends and older kids who want to play at 10 ft. It quickly moves up and down with a few quick turns. The mount is very strong and quite heavy at around 60 pounds. I had help, but 1 person could do this alone if you did it correctly. It took about 2.5 - 3 hours to completely mount the system, but I was also tending to steaks on the grill during part of that time. I was a little leery at first about a "universal" mount that is supposed to work for 3 different mounting options. It seems like any time I hear "universal" it ends up meaning it really doesn't work well for any of the options, but this does perform well in my application with the 3.5" pole at least. It also appears to include everything you'd need for 4" square pole and roof mount as well.
The directions for the mount are much better than the backboard. When you get to mounting the backboard to the mount, you are pretty much on your own with this combination, but you do have all the parts you need. The only thing I added were a couple of washers.
Overall, a pretty positive experience. It looks great, seems to be quite sturdy and plays well.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Spalding 48" Polycarbonite Basketball Backboard and Rim Combo

Love this product

05/06/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My grandchildren love this basketball backboard and rim. It's a nice big size and it looks great. Don't bother to spend more, this one is terrific.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Spalding 48" Polycarbonite Basketball Backboard and Rim Combo

Backboard Bonanza

09/01/2010
By ,
Richmond Heights, OH.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The backboard,rim,net, and parts in one box.
Delivered in 3 working days. Awesome. opened
the box and assembled the unit within 45 min.
Good instruction manual. any issues toll-free no:#
provided for any questions. Great unit. Hey it will
be outside in the yard 365 days a year and get
weather-beaten. can't beat the price. Definitely
worth going with this unit. Same item at Dicks, or
Dunhams is $100 more.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Spalding 48" Polycarbonite Basketball Backboard and Rim Combo

broke after light use for a year!!!!!

03/23/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Looked good but didn't last!!!!!
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Spalding 48" Polycarbonite Basketball Backboard and Rim Combo

good backboard

04/01/2009
By ,
tn
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When i unpacked the backboard it was more light weight than what i expected, however after i mounted it to a homemade pole with a steel plate, it was very sturdy and exceeded my expectations. I am very pleased
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Spalding 48" Polycarbonite Basketball Backboard and Rim Combo

Great product. Great service.

06/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great as expected. It was missing some hardware and the center section on the bottom pad, but I called Spalding and they sent everything that I asked for.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Spalding 48" Polycarbonite Basketball Backboard and Rim Combo

A very good replacement backboard!

05/31/2014
By ,
west monroe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I liked the fact that the product perfectly fits the Spalding pole. It is the same quality as the original backboard and works to perfection.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Spalding 48" Polycarbonite Basketball Backboard and Rim Combo
04/21/2011
By ,
North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son loves his new backboard. The assembly was a little tough because I had to tweek the directions a little to make it work with our pole. But I figured it out and it is doing the job. My son loves the bounce off of the backboard and the rim. Other than trying to have it shipped site to store and it taking almost a month, they cancelled it and reissued us another one and it was here in a week!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Spalding 48" Polycarbonite Basketball Backboard and Rim Combo

Replacement backboa

03/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a replacement backboard for the one my kids broke. It bolted right in place and fit perfect.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 45 total reviews
1 2 3 Next