Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Spalding Spalding 79351 NBA Polycarbonate 44 Inch Basketball Backboard & Rim Combo

Spalding Spalding 79351 NBA Polycarbonate 44 Inch Basketball Backboard & Rim Combo

Shoot some hoops at home with the Spalding 79351 NBA 44" Basketball Backboard and Rim Combo. It is very versatile and designed to turn your surroundings into a cool courtyard. This Spalding basketball backboard is made from a durable polycarbonate material and has a rectangular shape. You can mount it on a flat surface, such as a garage wall for games in the driveway or onto the rooftop. This polycarbonate basketball backboard is also designed to fit both round and square poles, so it can be placed on an in-ground system for a permanent court in your backyard or driveway area. It features the NBA logo and comes with a Slam Jam breakaway rim that has 8" solid steel for durability. This Spalding basketball backboard is a complete set, which is ideal for practicing your shots and layups or having a fun game with all your friends. It does not include the mounting hardware for setup.
Average Customer Rating:
3.542 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
7
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation75%18 out of 24reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 6 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
7
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Spalding 79351 NBA Polycarbonate 44 Inch Basketball Backboard & Rim Combo

never delivered

12/23/2012
By ,
MO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ordered this item in plenty of time for Christmas, was told item would be here by Dec. 17 at the latest. It is now two days till Christmas and still MIA!
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Spalding 79351 NBA Polycarbonate 44 Inch Basketball Backboard & Rim Combo
12/27/2007
By ,
Tidewater, VA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The web site description did not state that all of the hardware required to mount was not included. Brackets required are listed in the instructions as not supplied and an 800 number is given to obtain the brackets at additional cost and additional shipping charges.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Spalding 79351 NBA Polycarbonate 44 Inch Basketball Backboard & Rim Combo

great backboard - great value

09/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a replacement so needed to do some "retrofits". Directions provided for many install options as well as hardware.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Spalding 79351 NBA Polycarbonate 44 Inch Basketball Backboard & Rim Combo

Nice board for the price

01/02/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The construction of the frame is nice, and the hoop secures tightly to the system. I was a little worried about the flimsy nature of the plastic backboard itself at first. But after I got it up, it seems fairly sturdy. The ball deflects off it as you would expect it too rather then being too much of a cushion that stops the bounce. Or being too hard to make it seem to bounce off harder then it was thrown. It's not professional grade by any means, but for a home backboard for my kids to play around with, and for it's under one hundred bucks price range it gets the job done.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Spalding 79351 NBA Polycarbonate 44 Inch Basketball Backboard & Rim Combo

Better than expected

03/29/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a well-constructed and solid backboard and rim for the money. The ball reflects off of it very true and accurately - it is not a flat "thud" like one might expect.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Spalding 79351 NBA Polycarbonate 44 Inch Basketball Backboard & Rim Combo

Waste of money

03/01/2011
By ,
Utah
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have owned this less than two years and the acrylic is shattering to pieces.
My oldest (11yrs old) was trying to make a three pointer and hit the upper left corner and chunks came falling down.
The acrylic is only 1/16" thick, so it's designed to break. Frame and rim are good though. May slap some plywood on the frame and call it good.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Spalding 79351 NBA Polycarbonate 44 Inch Basketball Backboard & Rim Combo

Will break in a short time period!

05/27/2014
By ,
Portland, Oregon
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this, and it lasted last than 3 months! Cracked when my '6 year old' made a shot in the CENTER of the back board. The Plexiglas is way too flimsy and thin. It is a total waste of money!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Spalding 79351 NBA Polycarbonate 44 Inch Basketball Backboard & Rim Combo

Disappointed

07/07/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After opening box, I noticed that the large staples that held box together had made deep scratches in the edge of the backboard. Also the basketball net was not in the box , even though it had "all weather net included "printed on the box. We had to use a lot of the pieces from our old backboard to mount it to our existing pole.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Spalding 79351 NBA Polycarbonate 44 Inch Basketball Backboard & Rim Combo

Great value for the price

05/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent replacement backboard and net for what you pay. Very easy to assemble which surprised me. It comes with all of the nut and bolt hardware needed for different types of installations, so you end up with extra hardware! I had one part that was broken during shipping but a call to the toll free support number had a free replacement at my door within 48 hours! Sure there are more heavy duty models out there but you pay a lot more for them. I think this is an excellent value for the price and it should last a few years. It looks even better than the manufacturers pictures!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Spalding 79351 NBA Polycarbonate 44 Inch Basketball Backboard & Rim Combo

not even 2 years

04/26/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
We had this backboard for just 2 summers. We live in Michigan so it only gets use during the summer. It started falling apart at the end of the 1st summer and it is now the beginning of the 3rd and it just shattered.
I do not recommend this if you want it to last more than 2 years.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Spalding 79351 NBA Polycarbonate 44 Inch Basketball Backboard & Rim Combo
03/07/2011
By ,
Potlatch, Idaho
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Works OK. Can not figure out why mounting hardware was not included. I knew this when I bought it but really, it is necessary to use this product so why is it not included? Keep this in mind. Other than that, the backboard seems sturdy and after we accomodated "other" mounting hardware, it installed easily.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Spalding 79351 NBA Polycarbonate 44 Inch Basketball Backboard & Rim Combo

Easy to install as a replacement backboard.

09/03/2012
By ,
schaumburg, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would have liked an option for just the backboard without the goal as my old goal was in good shape.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Spalding 79351 NBA Polycarbonate 44 Inch Basketball Backboard & Rim Combo
08/17/2011
By ,
Indiana
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Thought the backboard would be a bit more substantial.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Spalding 79351 NBA Polycarbonate 44 Inch Basketball Backboard & Rim Combo

ok

11/08/2013
By ,
raleigh, nc
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
this was a replacement for a spalding basketball system that the backboard cracked after about 5 years. it was smaller than the original but the brackets fit.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Spalding 79351 NBA Polycarbonate 44 Inch Basketball Backboard & Rim Combo
07/18/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I replaced the backboard & rim on my old Huffy in ground goal with this model. It took about 2 hrs total time with no major issues. The Spalding acrylic board looks really nice. Its not overly large like some high end models. The rim is very solid. It dosen't have plastic hooks that hold the net (tend to pull off) like my old Huffy model. The net was low end quality. The ball bounces true enough off the thin acrylic backboard, however it does sound like a "thud." It dosen't seem to bother my 13 year old son. He's happy with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Spalding 79351 NBA Polycarbonate 44 Inch Basketball Backboard & Rim Combo

easy to install

10/03/2013
By ,
Cape Coral, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this replacement after the first one cracked grom long exposure to the sun. I know I will have to purchase a nrw one in another year or so. They are not build to be longlssiting.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Spalding 79351 NBA Polycarbonate 44 Inch Basketball Backboard & Rim Combo

Holding up so far.

09/26/2013
By ,
Schenectady, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Backboard seemed a little thin. But so far is holding up. Have only played a few games but am satified with my purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Spalding 79351 NBA Polycarbonate 44 Inch Basketball Backboard & Rim Combo

Replacement Backboard to Pole

05/05/2010
By ,
Scranton, Pa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy replacement to an existing Huffy system. Universal fit allowed use of existing hardware to put this up. Adjustable tension for rim allowed customization for "give" on the rim.
Easy processing and pickup. Smaller package size than I would have expected. Easily transport in a car.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Spalding 79351 NBA Polycarbonate 44 Inch Basketball Backboard & Rim Combo

best

02/28/2009
By ,
brooklyn ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i love this backboard easy to fit up my sons love it and they play with it everyday i recommend it to anyone
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Spalding 79351 NBA Polycarbonate 44 Inch Basketball Backboard & Rim Combo

As advertised

05/16/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
As advertised... nothing disappoint but nothing to rave about either... Fairly easy to install...
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 22 total reviews
1 2 Next