Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Spalding Spalding 80348 48" Eco-Composite Basketball Backboard and Rim Combo

Spalding Spalding 80348 48" Eco-Composite Basketball Backboard and Rim Combo

The Spalding 80348 48" Eco-Composite Basketball Backboard and Rim Combo is designed to be used on portable and in-ground basket poles. The 48" wide fan-shaped backboard is made from recycled materials, making it both environmentally friendly and easily compostable. It can be fitted into both round and square poles. The Spalding backboard and rim combo can be easily carried to the field or any playing ground. It also comes with a slam jam breakaway rim equipped with an ultra-smooth spring action. This means that it can take the weight of the player while he tries out different slam-dunk stunts. The rim itself is made from solid steel, thus offering long-lasting performance. Available in a combination of red and black colors, this 48" basketball backboard is built to withstand different weather conditions, providing a great basketball practice experience every single time.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation79%15 out of 19reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 9 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Spalding 80348 48" Eco-Composite Basketball Backboard and Rim Combo

Not so good

04/19/2009
By ,
Ithaca, NY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Backboard was in damaged condition, packing box was
already opened. Did not realize the rim had chipped paint and the plastic bottom of backboard has a triangle
shape chunk out of the bottom.
Not very happy with the condition of it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Spalding 80348 48" Eco-Composite Basketball Backboard and Rim Combo
05/03/2009
By ,
Indiana, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A good replacement backboard. However, since only 2 of the 6 molded mounting holes lined up with existing mounting holes on the old frame, it was difficult to attach the backboard/hoop. In hindsight, considering the hours and work involved with adapting it to my 10 year old post and base, I would have been better off to spend $50 or $60 more and replace the entire post/base combination.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Spalding 80348 48" Eco-Composite Basketball Backboard and Rim Combo

returned without taking from store

09/02/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The description of the product does not match at all the product. It is not an "eco-board", it is just a piece of flimsy plastic. Where it looks like cushoning on the bottom is just a pre-form plastic coverage to look like what true boards have. I did not even removed from the store, I returned right then and there.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Male
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Spalding 80348 48" Eco-Composite Basketball Backboard and Rim Combo

OK for preteens

05/06/2011
By ,
Cleveland, Oh.
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this backboard to replace a badly weathered one, so the install was very easy. After it was up and my son (9yrs old) used it to rebound a few times, one could hear and see the difference in rebound quality. I will change it when he gets older.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Spalding 80348 48" Eco-Composite Basketball Backboard and Rim Combo

Disappointed

01/14/2009
By ,
Corpus Christi, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I spend 65 dollars to suprise my son with something he's wanted for awhile. When I opened the box, the first thing I noticed was this item was originally packed two in one box. That means someone had to open the box and physically remove the other unit. In doing this, they left out of my box the instructions and I suspect some of the hardware that prevents me from being able to mount it to my garage. I have been a unable to get it to work, nor have I been able to get any information from the Spalding company.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Spalding 80348 48" Eco-Composite Basketball Backboard and Rim Combo

Piece of Junk

08/07/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Flimsy plastic piece of junk. What happened to the quality fiberglass backboards they used to make years ago? This will be going back.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Spalding 80348 48" Eco-Composite Basketball Backboard and Rim Combo

just what i wanted

04/29/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very satisfied with transaction. Product was priced well, shipped earlier than expected and pick up at store went smoothly. Included hardware and instructions. What else could I ask for?
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Spalding 80348 48" Eco-Composite Basketball Backboard and Rim Combo

This product worked great!

06/21/2010
By ,
Raleigh, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We already had a huffy adjustable goal so this worked with no adjustments. All parts arrived with no damage to the product. Arrived ahead of schedule which really helped as we had kids coming to play and had no other options! (thanks)
This backboard is the right size but it is a little bit flimsy for the price. But, it works and performs well. Only additional comment is that the description should say that it fits huffy goals as this is a spalding, which seems to be the same company. Other than that this is worth the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Spalding 80348 48" Eco-Composite Basketball Backboard and Rim Combo
08/19/2013
By ,
Louisville, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this backboard and rim as a replacement. Was a perfect fit and easy to install. Recommend this for anyone looking for a good product at a good price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Spalding 80348 48" Eco-Composite Basketball Backboard and Rim Combo
04/03/2009
By ,
Maine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product was delivered before scheduled pick up date, and in store pick up was fast and convienient. Product is as advertised and is of good quaility material. We needed to provide our own mounting materials, but were told that in advance. Backboard is made of hard plastic, so we used steel bracing to sturdy up the mounting.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Spalding 80348 48" Eco-Composite Basketball Backboard and Rim Combo

Easy to Set up

04/26/2013
By ,
Curt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Instructions a little vague but easy to assemble and appears very sturdy. All equipment present you need except tools. Highly Recommend for value vs cost.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Spalding 80348 48" Eco-Composite Basketball Backboard and Rim Combo

excellent product for the price

01/03/2009
By ,
Warren, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very sturdy and secure backboard and rim for price. Shipped on time.
Very satisfied with the product.
However, no hardware was with it and had to buy it. Did give a complete outline of what was needed and had no problem getting it.
Easy to install
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Spalding 80348 48" Eco-Composite Basketball Backboard and Rim Combo

Perfect for our needs

12/28/2008
By ,
Franklin, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this as replacement for the backboard and rim we had on an elevator pole. As advertised, this product fit the existing pole perfectly. The instructions were easy to follow. "Ship to store" was also quicker than estimated.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Spalding 80348 48" Eco-Composite Basketball Backboard and Rim Combo

Good solid product. Very satisfied

08/27/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was easy to figure out the setup. The instructions were good. My 12 year old and 9 year old boys love it. We mounted it to the wall in the garage. Got the brackets from Amazon.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Spalding 80348 48" Eco-Composite Basketball Backboard and Rim Combo

Product is very effective

02/15/2009
By ,
Cherokee, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
THIS IS A VERY GOOD PRODUCT FOR WHAT I PAID FOR IT. WE ARE VERY HAPPY WITH THE NEW BACKBOARD & GOAL.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Spalding 80348 48" Eco-Composite Basketball Backboard and Rim Combo

Great Product!

05/05/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product - great price - fast shipping! Easy to assemble - had it up in no time at all.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Spalding 80348 48" Eco-Composite Basketball Backboard and Rim Combo
04/27/2009
By ,
Wisconsin
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Instructions were a little confusing, all in all though, good product for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Spalding 80348 48" Eco-Composite Basketball Backboard and Rim Combo
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5