Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Spalding Spalding 72354 Residential Portable Basketball System with 48" PolyCarbonate Backboard

Spalding Spalding 72354 Residential Portable Basketball System with 48" PolyCarbonate Backboard

You can play basketball every day in your backyard with the Spalding 72354 Residential Basketball System. The attached rim is made from solid steel, and features an all-weather net that can withstand different weather conditions. The 37.5-gallon base on the Spalding 72354 Residential Basketball System adds stability, and can be filled with either sand or water. This residential portable basketball system has a full manual to help you quickly and accurately assemble your system. With this steel-framed 48" polycarbonate Spalding basketball backboard, you won't have to worry about purchasing a new system as your child grows. The Pro Glide lift system allows you to easily adjust the height in six-inch increments, from 7.5 feet to 10 feet. This residential portable basketball system is a wonderful choice for basketball players who want to hone their skills at home.
Average Customer Rating:
3.464 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
11
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation68%19 out of 28reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 1 Answer
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
11
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Spalding 72354 Residential Portable Basketball System with 48" PolyCarbonate Backboard

Waste of Money

05/31/2009
By ,
Mount Holly, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This basketball goal is a piece of junk. It literally fell apart after one month. The wheels broke off of the base making it impossible to move. The thin plastic backboard gets distorted in the heat. The backboard cracked. Then, even with 200 lbs of sand in the base the goal blew over in the wind and completely shattered. I had to throw it in the trash. $250 wasted. Do not buy this.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Spalding 72354 Residential Portable Basketball System with 48" PolyCarbonate Backboard

DO NOT BUY THIS BB HOOP

07/22/2010
By ,
Le Mars, Iowa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We ordered this hoop from Wal-Mart. com. It came really fast which was great. We started to put it together and had several problems. First we were missing 8 different parts, second you have to be a magician to put this together and third we now have a very disappointed birthday girl who can't play on her new hoop. Of course, we started to put the hoop together after 5pm, so when we realized that the parts were missing and called customer support, they are only open from 8-5. Tried to go on their web site and that also failed. We have put together sheds, desks, tables, computers, beds and other items that require undertanding directions and tools and have never had as many problems as we have with this hoop. We are very dissapointed and if I could, I would get my money back and buy something different. We decided to spend some good money so that the hoop would last for several years. I don't even know if this thing will make it through the assembly!!! Beware if you buy!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Spalding 72354 Residential Portable Basketball System with 48" PolyCarbonate Backboard

nice hoop

04/12/2009
By ,
Southern California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
At first I was worried I would be missing some hardware parts based on other reviews, but I didn't have that problem. All parts were there, installation was ok, and the whole system works fine. I installed it by myself so it took awhile, but it wasn't too difficult because the manual was helpful. Make sure you tighten all bolts because if its loose, the basket will rattle when u shoot. Overall its a great hoop, nice big backboard that can be banked easily. Adjusting height is simple also.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+47points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Spalding 72354 Residential Portable Basketball System with 48" PolyCarbonate Backboard

Hard to assemble, fun to use

07/06/2007
By ,
ST Augustine, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A good basketball system. Provided quite a challenge to set up. Several of the holes for the bolts had to be routered out with a drill. The directions were not the most clear. However, the finished product is easy to raise and lower and my kids really enjoy using it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Spalding 72354 Residential Portable Basketball System with 48" PolyCarbonate Backboard

Mostly pleased with this

03/09/2009
By ,
Massachusetts
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a decent basketball hoop for the money. The only think I am not impressed with is the height adjustment. The mechanism is very finicky and the pin-in-the-hole system doesn't work very well. Also the button that activates the adjustment is only plastic and it doesn't work very well against the metal spring of the height adjusting pin. Aside from the lousy height adjustment this is a great basketball hoop, very sturdy and fun to use. When the package arrived, the plastic base was cracked. We called the company and they immediately offered to send us a new one. It arrived in about a week or so.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Spalding 72354 Residential Portable Basketball System with 48" PolyCarbonate Backboard

Good product but missing hardware!

10/19/2007
By ,
Lawndale, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am now very happy with the basketball system. Unfortunately, when I first tried to put the system together I discovered two problems: 1 bolt came without any threads and the wheel bracket was missing! I bought a replacement bolt from the hardware store but had to order the part from the maunfacturer. I ordered the part on a Thursday and received it the following Thursday. Assembly is definately a two person job and make sure that you are putting the bolts in right holes (I found that I had put two poles on upside down so the bolts weren't going through the correct holes). System seems to be great now that assembly is over!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Spalding 72354 Residential Portable Basketball System with 48" PolyCarbonate Backboard

apalding 48" portabalbe basketball system

12/05/2008
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The basketball system is fine now that it's been set up, but we began the process missing the two support bars that hold the post to the base. Then we got the posts, were missing hardware. Then we filled the base with water, and there were two holes. So I plugged one with the gum I was chewing, but the other flooded the floor, so we dumped it and filled the base with sand. When we went to move it, the wheels didn't work properly so we had to carry the 300+ pounds, which will make life interesting because the court gets set up and broken down once a week.
Now that it is complete, I'm satisfied with the way it works when it's being used. I am disappointed in the ridiculous number of calls we had to make to get it up and functional.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Spalding 72354 Residential Portable Basketball System with 48" PolyCarbonate Backboard

Good net!

08/15/2009
By ,
Cape Cod, MA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This was probably one of the most difficult things to put together. Bolts didn't fit into their holes - we had to drill. But, now that we know how to do it - we could probably do it a lot easier the second time around (Oh, I hope we never have too!). Its a great net - but there should be a better way to assemble!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Spalding 72354 Residential Portable Basketball System with 48" PolyCarbonate Backboard

Basketball system

12/27/2013
By ,
Henderson, Nv
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice set up, good to have two to assemble. There were no holes in the shipping box, however there was one piece missing which was the was a cover under the hoop used to cover the spring which attaches the hoop along with two screws. Hopefully it is not a big deal getting them to send me another of these. (This product was a gift to my grandson and granddaughters)
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Spalding 72354 Residential Portable Basketball System with 48" PolyCarbonate Backboard

1 broken piece. Overall great product.

05/07/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great product for the price. I didn't give a better review because the water (or sand) tank lid was broken. I haven't contacted Spalding yet. I hope they can send a replacement.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Spalding 72354 Residential Portable Basketball System with 48" PolyCarbonate Backboard
08/18/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
IT'S HARD TO ASSEMBLE, THE SCREW AND THE HOLE DON'T MATCH, IT TOOK US 10 HOURS TO SAND AND POLISH THE HOLE TO MATCH THE SCREWS...PRODUCTS NEED TO BE IMPROVED.
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Spalding 72354 Residential Portable Basketball System with 48" PolyCarbonate Backboard

This goal is Poor Quality - Stay Away

04/23/2014
By ,
Sandy Springs, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The box containing the goal arrived quickly. We looked forward to spending a Saturday afternoon assembling it. We gathered the required tools for the project, opened the box, carefully removed the parts, then organized, inspected and inventoried them. We found one part missing: the Black Cover that fits over the bracket part of the rim, Part 200503. More importantly, we found that the Black Base, Part 600027, that holds the water or sand to support the goal was cracked. This was a show stopper on assembling the goal that day. We had to pack up our tools, box up the parts that we had carefully organized on ground, order the missing or broke parts, and wait until the next weekend to attempt assembling the goal again. What a waste of time!
The Spalding brand years ago had a reputation of quality. NO MORE! In more closely reading a number of reviews on this imported product, I found several that indicated the Black Base was cracked and another one had to be ordered directly from Spalding. The company is fully aware of the high number of cracked bases, yet STILL sells and ships out the product without checking to determine if the Black Base is cracked. No quality control checks! NONE whatsoever!!! This is unconscionable. The Spalding brand has sunk and, if it continues such practice, will go out of business, mark my words!
Having to ream out paint from holes so that bolts can be fastened is absolutely ridiculous and a blatant sign of poor quality!
My advice to any potential buyer of this poor quality product is STAY AWAY. Furthermore, if this product is any indication of the quality of Spalding products these days, STAY AWAY from the Spalding Brand altogether! No quality control! Poor quality junk!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Spalding 72354 Residential Portable Basketball System with 48" PolyCarbonate Backboard

Good value for money; fairly easy to assemble

09/17/2013
By ,
East Lyme, CT
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a good quality bball goal. I was able to assemble it in about 90 minutes with no help. One past (screw on cap for base) was broekn on arrival but I called the toll free number and a new part was sent to me the next day. I especially like the convenience of changing the height of the hoop since we have kids of differnt ages.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Spalding 72354 Residential Portable Basketball System with 48" PolyCarbonate Backboard
03/18/2010
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
this product could be assembled so much easier with better instructions. They could of use letters like A attaches to B and B attaches to C for the poles. And through out the directions it was way to complicated this needs to be looked at again and simplified. when I called customer service i was on hold for 40 minutes. When the operator answered the phone and I advised her of my problem she replied didn't I just speak with you. This assured me that I'm not the only person having problems with assembling this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Spalding 72354 Residential Portable Basketball System with 48" PolyCarbonate Backboard

Too Hard To Put Together

07/03/2009
By ,
canal winchester, Oh
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This product was too hard to put together. It took 4 men to try and figure it out. It has already cracked in 2 places and it is only 3 months old. I would recommend you have the store put it together by someone experienced.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Spalding 72354 Residential Portable Basketball System with 48" PolyCarbonate Backboard

great value

04/22/2010
By ,
Elyria, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value, arrived on time and was fairly easy assembly (for a grandma and dad) to assemble.
I would definately recommend this to anyone who has kids or grandchildred.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Spalding 72354 Residential Portable Basketball System with 48" PolyCarbonate Backboard

Better than expected

01/08/2011
By ,
Loganville, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It took my son and his Dad a while to
Put it together due to the lack of good written instructions. The goal is sturdy and very good quality for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Spalding 72354 Residential Portable Basketball System with 48" PolyCarbonate Backboard

Okay, but broken parts

12/23/2013
By ,
Owings Mills, MD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The system arrived when it was supposed to, and the delivery man even brought it into the house. It was assembled easily, although three parts were broken. Hopefully these will be replaced free of charge. My grandson is calling from Maryland, to report these parts. If they are replaced, I would recommend this transaction as excellent, but for now we will say it is good. The system is a good value.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Spalding 72354 Residential Portable Basketball System with 48" PolyCarbonate Backboard

Great beginner hoop set

01/04/2011
By ,
Dallas,TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great set for a 6 year old just learning to play.Also easier to assemble than I would have believed by reading other reviews.I did it by myself in about 4 hours,everything fit just fine and all parts were there.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Spalding 72354 Residential Portable Basketball System with 48" PolyCarbonate Backboard

Difficult to assemble

10/30/2009
By ,
Denver, Colorado
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very, very difficult to assemble!!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 27 total reviews
1 2 Next