Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Mainstays Mainstays 7-Piece Stainless Steel Cookware Set

Mainstays Mainstays 7-Piece Stainless Steel Cookware Set

Stainless steel cookware sets from Mainstays are attractive cook-n-serve pots and pans for your kitchen. The Mainstays 7-Piece Steel Cookware Set includes a one-quart covered saucepan, a two-quart covered saucepan, a four-quart covered Dutch oven, and an 8-1/2" open high saut pan. This stainless steel cookware set includes glass covers that are heat-resistant and shatterproof. They also let you see the food inside while its cooking. The stay-cool handles ensure safety while cooking and handling. The surface of the Mainstay Steel Cookware Set heats quickly and evenly for faster cooking and great taste.
Average Customer Rating:
4.323 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(443 Reviews) 360
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
254
4 stars
127
3 stars
31
2 stars
13
1 star
18
Customer Recommendation90%398 out of 443reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
51 Questions | 209 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
254
4 stars
127
3 stars
31
2 stars
13
1 star
18
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mainstays 7-Piece Stainless Steel Cookware Set

Better than I thought!

06/16/2009
By ,
Rancho Cucamonga, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used the set every day this week and there isn't a scratch or a burn mark on them. They are a very good value and better quality than I expected!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Mainstays 7-Piece Stainless Steel Cookware Set

Great cookware set for the money.

07/28/2010
By ,
Gateway to the Thumb of Michigan.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my RV, I figured for $30 with free shipping it is worth it. I got it today, way more than I expected! Nice set for the price, will be a good addition to my cookware in the RV! Haven't cooked on them yet, but I don't expect any problems.
If you need a good, cheap set, this is the one.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Mainstays 7-Piece Stainless Steel Cookware Set
11/01/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
These pots and pans work very well if you are looking for new ones and don't wanna spend a ton of money. I went through so many sites looking through different options, but decided to go with stainless steel because I don't want to deal with non stick teflon and the problems with that. I am also on a budget. I am not 100% sure of the quality of the "stainless steel" because after looking at websites, some things claim to be made of 100% stainless steel, but sometimes aren't. Either way, I don't regret buying these, they do the job, and look nice. You need to make sure to use a bit extra cooking spray or oil, and don't let oil cook dry on the pan obviously as with any stainless steel pan because it will burn on. But, these worked out perfect for me and the amount of money I was willing to spend on a set of pots and pans. The smallest pot is pretty tiny, but I live alone and am not cooking for a huge family. I think for a couple, or someone living alone, and on a budget, these are perfect.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Mainstays 7-Piece Stainless Steel Cookware Set

Wow, very impressed!

04/12/2010
By ,
Northeast, USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had wanted to replace my cookware set and found this set online. My current set was a T-Fal 10-piece set that had seen its day, and I was drawn to this one due to the excellent value and significantly high customer ratings. I just cooked my first meal in it and I couldn't be happier with the quality and cleanup. Even though the 'main' frying pan, a saute pan, is a bit smaller than my old one, it nicely fit 4 large pork loins. I was slightly concerned when I read lots of reviews that stated it was perfect for a bachelor/single person and not for a family, but I am glad I decided to purchase it for my family of 4. The quality is quite good for the price and it looks like it would have cost a lot more than what I paid for it. I recommend it for everyone, regardless of family size. After scrubbing my old set after some cooking disasters, I will gladly take a downsize in the frying pan for the easy clean-up!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Mainstays 7-Piece Stainless Steel Cookware Set

Perfect set!

11/20/2013
By ,
all over
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
4 years ago my husband and I were poor college students and desperately needed some new pots and pans! So we went on the hunt for inexpensive we really didn't have money to spend but really needed cookware I stumbled on this set and decided to purchase since the reviews at the time were good. I can now say 4 four years later that it was the best purchase we have ever made.
We are a family of 5 and use these pots/pans every day usually 2-3 times a day and they have held up extremely well. There was a bit of a learning curve at first since we were not used to stainless steel cookware but it wasn't a bad experience. The biggest thing we learned was to not cook on high or else everything will stick like crazy!
We have also used these on electric, gas and ceramic stoves and all have performed well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Mainstays 7-Piece Stainless Steel Cookware Set

Very Good for the Money

06/08/2009
By ,
Tucson, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this set last week and have tried them all out. They heat quickly, and cook evenly. The pans are sturdy enough for the price, and the glass lids are thick, heavy and seem very durable.
I bought a much more expensive stainless skillet last year which took weeks of use to break in, everything stuck to it no matter how well I heated the cooking oil. I had no such problems with these pans, fried eggs slipped right out of them. They've discolored a bit, but to me, that's good, it's the seasoning that helps keep food from sticking.
As is expected with cookware in this price range, the handles are spot-welded to the pan, rather than riveted, so they won't last a lifetime. But, I wasn't expecting that at this price. I paid more for my name-brand stainless skillet than I did for this whole set.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+84points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
NJ
Good for money
Posted 08/28/2011
I bought this 3 years ago and still looking good. Works the best for my everyday cooking. I recommend it for every health conscious people who prefer stainless steel. The only thing is we have to use a tougher scrubber to wash the pots (sponges won't do good). I use a metallic scrub bob + gloves and it washes to a bright new finish everyday. Totally a good purchase for me.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Mainstays 7-Piece Stainless Steel Cookware Set

I Love This Product !!!!!

01/05/2008
By ,
Suburban Philadelphia area
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the Tramontina pots and pans! They are attractive (mirror finish), good conductors of heat and are extremely durable. I am soooo... hard on my cookware and this set lives up to the job like a trooper. I burn food nice and crispy and most times the food forms a sheet and lifts right out. I drop the pots regularly and the lids never shatter and the metal does not react to my carelessness.
I have bought more than one set for myself and my daughters have purchased a set for themselves and their families now that they have a home of their own. I love this company's product so much, I am going to buy a set for my mother as well.
This product is so much value for the money. I have owned this product for over four years and as long as this set is available I will buy it. You could not do better with much pricier sets.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+148points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Mainstays 7-Piece Stainless Steel Cookware Set

Love this!!!

05/06/2008
By ,
Bluefield, WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read one review and they mentioned how slow it heats!! I thought mine heated VERY fast... My spaghetti last night was boiling in about 10 minutes.. Normally it takes a bit longer due to the amt. of water I use!!! And I have only used my set once so far but OMG.. It's amazing!! I wanted something non-stick without the teflon and this is a God send.. lol.. I've owned t-fal before and it lasted a year or so.. Then I bought some of the Revereware copper bottomed set and it was good... Everything stuck though! Then for Christmas my mother bought me Wearever non-stick and it's too large for my burners.. lol.. So, I bought this!!! The shine is gorgeous too!!! Go buy them!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+69points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Mainstays 7-Piece Stainless Steel Cookware Set

Longtime owner of this set

11/08/2010
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned this set of pots and pans for about 8 years now. I only paid $14.99 for them and didn't think they'd be around but a few months, much less 8 years. The only reason I will be purchasing a new set is because we are moving into a new RV fulltime next month and I want to have all new things in the kitchen. I can advise you not to cook on high heat with these. Depending on the food, it could stick...If food does stick, I put a small amt of warm water in the bottom of the pan, sprinkle well with regular table salt and let sit. The stuck food comes right off. And in most cases, if you let the scorched food sit in the pan for a few minutes, it will render itself clean again. I have used any kind of utensil in them...it has not scratched at all. They are still as bright and shiny as the day I bought them...only thing I would not recommend...don't put them in water that has bleach in it...it will discolor the handles. Mine were done this way by accident and I will never be guilty of it again!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Mainstays 7-Piece Stainless Steel Cookware Set

Nicer than expected

06/24/2009
By ,
Scranton, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These are a great starter set of pots they are durable and they are light. We love them. They wash beautifully.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+95points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Mainstays 7-Piece Stainless Steel Cookware Set

The Cookware You'll Stay Home For

03/01/2011
By ,
Tucson AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mainstay Cookware... where have you been all my life?! I LOVE this cookware set! I was prepared to pay up to $100 for new cookware. I bought 2 sets of Revereware prior to this buy.. they each lasted 10-12 years.
But I decided that, due to my budget, I did not want to spend alot on cookware. I almost ordered a set on another site that was about $15 more than this before I found these.
This set is beautiful and the visual appeal of a product is one of my key buying criteria. They are also SO easy to clean. One of my hates in life is scrubbing pots. These clean with ease.
They cook well.. the directions say medium to medium high heat and this is because the heat conduction is excellent on these pots. I usually start out on medium high to get it going and then reduce to medium or low to cook. I love the glass tops. I find myself cooking more now that I own this cookware.
The construction is solid and the pots light but not flimsy. I don't like heavy cookware as I can't lift it. And I've always used stainless steel.
I'm thinking of buying a second set "just in case" they stop producing these. I have learned that if you really like something you should buy two... whoever designed this cookware is a GENIUS.
Well done Mainstay!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Mainstays 7-Piece Stainless Steel Cookware Set

Good Pots and Pans

11/18/2010
By ,
New Smyrna Beach, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My daughter loved these. She saw them in the store, and I got an even better price online. She likes not having a non-stick surface because she can scour the heck out of them. But the finish is so nice, nothing stuck anyway. The glass lids let you see how the food is doing without removing the lid. Good product for the price. Fast shipping, too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Mainstays 7-Piece Stainless Steel Cookware Set

Great Quality for the price

12/16/2007
By ,
Wellington, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had my set for roughly a year now and it still looks and cooks great, very durable, we have Ceramic tile floors in our kitchen and I have dropped the pots and lids to many times to count and no dings and no broken glass, I am going to purchase a second set for myself.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Mainstays 7-Piece Stainless Steel Cookware Set

Verdict is still out

10/23/2011
By ,
Fredericksburg, VA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Upon initially getting my cook set, I was quite excited. They were stainless steel and looked great. be warned...the frying pan is quite small. You will definitely need a larger one. Nonetheless, after using the set a few times, the pan leaves a burnt residue after each use. Very disappointing. Also, the food sticks to the pan. I'm not sure if this is only because it is new! But I can't say that I will go out and buy another set. Given the chance, i woul buy another brand.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Mainstays 7-Piece Stainless Steel Cookware Set

Great Beginner Product

12/08/2009
By ,
Lynnwood, WA.
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I lost everything in my home, so I shopped around quite a bit to decide on what to buy for myself and my new start. I purchased this set of pans not really knowing what to expect . I had always used waterless cookware in the past. I was pleasantly surprised by them and have used them every day since. They are lightweight, aside from that-for the price-this is a great set of pans! I noticed they didn't do well in the dishwasher so I wash mine by hand and dry immediately. Even heating throughout, and snug fitting lids are nice as well. I would not recommend these for a person who lets their dishes sit in the sink overnight ..I got a small rust spot on mine that way when I forgot to wash my pan. Happy cooking!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Mainstays 7-Piece Stainless Steel Cookware Set

great value

11/08/2009
By ,
las vegas , nevada
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I thought these were going to be jusk ok but I was really surprised. They felt like a way more expensive set. You just cant beat stuff from walmart period.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Mainstays 7-Piece Stainless Steel Cookware Set
01/09/2012
By ,
Irondequoit, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I needed to get a new cookware set and wanted stainless steel. However, I didn't have a lot of money to spend on a new set. I read the reviews on here and decided to try them. They were on sale for $25 at the time, so I figured it wouldn't hurt.
Overall, I really like them. Obviously they're not the fanciest, but they work well for my husband and I. I really like that the fry pan has high sides and one of the lids fits on it. I've only had problems cooking bacon. Nothing else has stuck on. The key to using stainless steel is heating the pan, then adding oil. After the oil is warm, then you add the food.
When washing, I did notice a little residue that can be left on unless you scrub a few times. However, I read on here and on other blogs about stainless steel cleaners- use BarKeeper's Friend. I decided to try that and it's AMAZING. I didn't need to scrub at all. Just a wipe and my pots and pans are shiny as new. It cleans other things as well and is super cheap.
Overall, I think this set is more than worth the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Mainstays 7-Piece Stainless Steel Cookware Set

Great Cookware

12/08/2013
By ,
St. Louis, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought these because I got tired of the non-stick cookware inside black layer breaking/cracking and depositing black little things floating in my food, so I got these and they are excellent, very durable, handles don't get hot while cooking, two sizes pots to warm up different size can goods, smaller skillet to fry food, I also bought a larger skillet they only have in store for cooking two hamburgers at once, I'm a good cook, but I don't like to cook, but since I bought these, I cooked a lot more and really made the holidays much better, so these are a great buy
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Mainstays 7-Piece Stainless Steel Cookware Set

good for the price

03/24/2008
By ,
Colorado
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product is a good buy overall. I wanted something that didn't have teflon on it, and something sturdy, and this product fits that bill. I like the product overall, but I would warn others about several things. First, it takes some time to get used to cooking with the tri-clad product. It heats up very slowly, but gets very hot and holds heat a long time, so it can reak havok on breakfast. Secondly, my set became discolored the first time I used each pan. I cooked mac n cheese in the pot, and you could see where individual noodles had been. I have been unable to make pancakes that turned out properly in this set. The pans are holding up okay so far, but the screws have already rusted. All in all, a good buy, but I'm saving up for something better.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Mainstays 7-Piece Stainless Steel Cookware Set

Good cookware for the price

03/28/2012
By ,
Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These pots and pans are a great buy in my opinion. They seem sturdy, they look nice, they recommend hand washing (they are dishwasher safe though), and even after washing in the dishwasher they still look great. I have not had ANY issue with food sticking to the pan, which is what I was worried about. They heat evenly and the instructions specify that you only need low to medium high heat, not high heat and they are right. My old pots had to be on high heat to get food to cook the way I wanted it to. Even with gravy and spaghetti sauce which usually require constant stirring to make sure it doesn't stick to the bottom and burn, these pans have not had either problem and with only consistent stirring - not constant! In short, I am really glad I bought these pans, and am considering buying more to have as a backup!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 361 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  19 Next