Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Polaroid Polaroid 40" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, TLA-04011C

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Polaroid Polaroid 40" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, TLA-04011C

Enjoy high-definition picture quality along with today's most popular HDTV features. The tuner can receive conventional analog channels (NTSC) and the new digital channels (ATSC), including over-the-air HDTV broadcasts and unscrambled digital cable channels, where available. Two HDMI inputs allow you to connect compatible video components for superb digital picture quality. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the Polaroid 40" LCD HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
3.875 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(72 Reviews) 65
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
38
4 stars
14
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
12
Customer Recommendation74%53 out of 72reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
38
4 stars
14
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
12
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Polaroid 40" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, TLA-04011C

not too bad

02/07/2008
By ,
Martinsburg, WV
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I settled for this one after the local walmart not having the 42" vizio in stock. The price for a 40" isn't bad at all. Alot of people at work said they've heard alot of bad things about this one, but it's a hit & miss type of thing with ALL the tv's; some people get bad ones. Over all this TV is very good. Picture is GREAT, EVEN on regular cable. I hooked it up and let the channel scan do it's thing, it even found more then a dozen digital channels on comcast plus their music channels. It has a built in guide that works with some channels, the menu is pretty easy, it has a total of 9 inputs!!! The sound isn't bad at all for a tv, just don't turn the bass up!!! I have this tv hooked up to my computer too through HDMI for use as a second monitor & watching movies and stuff and it looks awesome! If you haven't gotten this tv because of bad reviews, just get it and try it out!! If all-else fails, you have 90 days to take it back!!
Just one thing I wish it would have is PIP, other then that, it's a great tv for the price!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 2 for Polaroid 40" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, TLA-04011C

Quite Disappointing...

06/26/2010
By ,
Florence, SC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We've had this TV for less than 2 years now. During this time, we have experienced the sound issues others have described (low volume on peripherals), the TV not turning on or off when the buttons are pressed (need to unplug to reset), as well as a huge dark cloud in the middle of the screen. A month after the dark cloud appeared, a small child accidentally bumped the TV, and now we have a series of permanent black and multi-colored lines running vertically all over the screen. (Kinda reminds me of "The Matrix" opening sequence.)
At the onset, this was a very impressive television, but now I wouldn't even begin to recommend it to anyone at all.
By the way, if anyone knows how to fix the image issues (lines and cloud), please email me!!! I'm not exactly able to afford a replacement yet.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 3 for Polaroid 40" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, TLA-04011C

Very nice LCD-liquid crystle TV

11/20/2007
By ,
New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have to adjust the picture with the many different settings for it to have the best picture for watching. Besides that the TV is perfect!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 4 for Polaroid 40" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, TLA-04011C

Polaroid? You bet!

10/13/2007
By ,
Gallatin TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I almost went with another brand. Polaroid? I thought they made just camera's. I reviewed several brands on-line and really wanted the Sony; but way out of my price range. I purchased this TV at my local Wal-Mart store. I like the ability to access each TV's MENU section to see how easily it functions and Wal-Mart let me do just that. The Polaroid was super simple. Also, like an earlier review person stated: Hooking up additional equipment is a snap. My wife hooked up our computer to it and I was amazed at the picture quality. Other than the price the picture sold me. It is awesome. Just the let you know I specifically bought this TV for gaming. The first thing played on it was Halo 3 and the end result was perfect. This 40" HDTV also has great sound ( for integrated speakers ). I recommend this TV only because I spent 2 months looking at several brands, thus trying to understand the difference between Plasma, LCD, DLP, Rear Projection etc...it gets crazy. LCD in 720 seemed to fit what I wanted to use it for...Gaming. I hope you enjoy yours as much as I have mine.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 5 for Polaroid 40" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, TLA-04011C

excellent buy

08/28/2007
By ,
fort worth, tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
for a couple of months i went from store to store checking out tvs and found this to be the best tv for me.
i live in an apartment and its like having a mini movie theater at 10% of the price! video games and movies are great on it and my friends don't scoff and say "polaroid?" they say "woah... sweet!"
and now the details, good and bad
good:
a samsung hdtv is what you want if you have the money to blow on one. about $1500-2000-3000 should get you 40". but at HALF the price (allowing me to live with myself) for the "bang for your buck", this is THE tv to get. get something smaller or bigger and the value decreases considerably.
good:
other reviews said that 480 & 720 look good, they do, as one would expect blowing up a bad tv signal to 40" would make it noticably worse than on a smaller tv. and 1080 is obviously amazing, it made my dad almost buy the same tv (he ended up making no purchase of any kind)
good:
there is a guide button that displays show information and whats coming on that (hd) channel for like the next 6 hours which is nice.
bad:
as far as features worth mentioning the guide button is it and thats only worth mentioning if you don't have tivo or something digital that does that for you.
bad:
the sound quality is ...weird and maybe this is my fault but. for ps2 games, some the sound can be at 15 (15 out of 100, which is what normal antenna tv is watched at) and the speakers are crackling but other times they don't crack but the bass is non-existant. dvd's are never played at 15, more like 45... so if you forget and turn the channel... boom. and there have been times i've cranked it up to 100 and only then was satisfied with the volume. (fyi i'm not hearing impaired)
this tv is THE best deal. i would buy it now or wait until the next amazing deal comes along... but who knows when that may be?!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Review 6 for Polaroid 40" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, TLA-04011C

Nice Product............

09/03/2007
By ,
Lees Summit, Mo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this tv after looking at several from no-name to brand-name and now I know I made a excellent choice. The preset factory settings "stink" but after I tweeked the colors by raising the red levels, unset vivid setting, set brightness to 50-53, lowered the contrast to 7-12 and used the sharpness set at 5-6, this thing looks incredible using a cable box. Even the regular channels look good to great. Add the $60 extended warranty for 2 yrs compared to $200-$300 at CC or BB. After all its new to the market but "WHY" pay 2-3 times more for a brand name when quality is what you want. Thats why the big names are suffering. My opinion only! I will buy a 46" for my living room!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 7 for Polaroid 40" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, TLA-04011C

Retired

02/28/2008
By ,
Copperas Cove, Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this 40" LCD TV about 45 days ago and the picture is outstanding. But just a few days ago I noticed a dark/gray vertical line that started at the top center of the screen and ran down about four inches, so I just kept and eye on it. Changed channels, it stayed the same. Then I checked our other LCD TV in the bedroom, and there was no problem with it at all. After a few hours of watching the 40" I noticed the more lines, and they were getting longer, and more of them were appearing. Then it started looking like water was poured across the top of the TV, and it was slowly running down the screen. I called support, and they ordered a new part for it, and when it comes, I have to contact some folks locally, to have them come out and install it, at no charge to me (that's their words, ha! ha!) I'll just have to wait and see what happens.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 8 for Polaroid 40" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, TLA-04011C

Excellent Value and Quality

07/05/2007
By ,
Valparaiso, IN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buying your first big screen TV is an exciting time, and I was even more thrilled when I brought home my Polaroid LCD TV. At a fraction of the cost of the "Big Boys" the Polaroid delivers excellent pictures to a very impressive 40 inch LCD. Living in an apartment the room itself isnt that bug so when cou can choose to save $100 by dropping 2 inches, its worth it. This TV is excellent for those looking to get into the HD market.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 9 for Polaroid 40" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, TLA-04011C

BEST VALUE FOR YOUR DOLLAR

11/12/2007
By ,
Oil City, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this tv a few days ago. I love it. I have shopped around everwhere and ended up at WalMart.Eventhough i have never heard much about Polaroid tv's i felt it had the best bang for your dollar. I loooked at VIZO and Sanyo and decided to get this one.It has great features i liked including lots of inputs and 2 hdmi inputs even pc input. You can view normal size screen view in full,zoom and widescreen.The sound is excellent in the built in surround sound.I set this tv on top of my mantle above my fireplace didnt even need a wall mount just set directly on the mantle without the stand and secured it to the wall with some wire and anchors looks awsome.There is a lot of adjustments and preset picture modes along with your own custom mode you can do to the picture. So dont be scared if you looked at this tv in person and were worried about the picture color quality just ask to check out the controls for the tv.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for Polaroid 40" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, TLA-04011C

good

08/19/2007
By ,
Akron, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This t.v. is very good; but has some bad points. First I had to get a new remote; mine only worked with the mute button; but over the phone Polaroid agreed to mail me a new one, they did and it works. I needed the remote to get to the 'input' button to play dvd's.
The good is; with h.d. cable service the picture is totally excelent. And it does display 1080 ! The bad thing is, for programs not broadcast in h.d. the picture is basically kind of blurry. But luckily my service has many h.d. channels (all three major networks, some others, and an awesome Discovery channel).
It's weird the t.v. seems small when you have it on the table turned off, (I don't believe in hanging it on the wall) but when you're watching full screen the t.v. is huge !
For the price and h.d. pic quality I highly recommend it !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 11 for Polaroid 40" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, TLA-04011C

Great Product

10/10/2007
By ,
Watertown, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I spent a few days looking for the PERFECT tv to spend his deployment money on and found this one. We are extremelly happy with our purchase. I dont see where some have said that its blurry on channels that doesnt have HD. We have the HD service but hardly use it and I have never noticed that its blurry on normal channels. I also enjoy that the buttons are on the side of the TV making it hard for my 11 month old to change the channel. That was a big plus for us. I also love the fact of all of the inputs as we have a home theater set hooked up, cable box, xbox 360 and wii all hooked up with it and didnt have to purchase something else to do it. I also enjoy the fact I can hook up my computer to it. Who wouldnt want a 40inch computer screen.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 12 for Polaroid 40" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, TLA-04011C

Nice TV for the price

11/18/2007
By ,
San Diego, Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have only had this TV for a few weeks but I was happy with it out of the box. I have not had any problems with it. The picture quality is nice with the HDMI. The sound is ok nothing to brag about but who needs it when you have a home theater system. I looked at other TVs for around the same price and this one blew them out of the water with it's fetures and picture quality. All around nice TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 13 for Polaroid 40" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, TLA-04011C

Picture Blackout

03/20/2008
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My picture blackout and you can still hear the show. I have to turn it off and on again before the picture comes back. It does this to me once a day. I am taking it back to the store because I only had it for 3weeks. I love the picture and the price but I will make sure I get an extended service agreement.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 14 for Polaroid 40" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, TLA-04011C

Nice product

07/25/2007
By ,
Dub Ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Tv. Better than I expected
Pros- Nice Picture at 480p or 720p
Nice and big
Great Price for tv
Cons- I had a "stuck pixle" tht was blue in top right corner of tv but would come and go at random times not a big deal
Speakers are on bottom not that great could be better if they were on the side
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 15 for Polaroid 40" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, TLA-04011C

great tv

01/18/2008
By ,
winfield KS
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I use this TV every day and it works great could of used pip and the sound can get scratchy when it is lows but that is expected I have used this for every thing ps3 cable box both 720p HD and VGA computer and the all work great could of used more HDMI ports though.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 16 for Polaroid 40" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, TLA-04011C

About as low as an LCD tv can go

05/27/2008
By ,
Hammond
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This tv is not manufactured by the film company that we think of as Polaroid, but rather by someone who pays royalties to Polaroid to use their name. The color depth is horrible, and the tv does not display more than about 18 bits of color (this means there is obvious banding on almost everything, especially gradiants. In addition, its only a 6-bit panel, so it uses dithering to simulate 16.7 million colors (even though the video processor cannot display 16.7 million colors even if it were driving an 8-bit panel. The dithering causes an obvious checkerboard pattern of pixels moving across the screen and is very visible in anything that is moving, particularly dark objects. The VGA input does accept 1366x768 resolution, however the color depth is so limited that the only thing that looks distortion-free is black text on a white background. In addition, nearly every forum on the internet that reviews this TV is devoid of anyone who has had this TV last more than about 7 months before breaking. So, you can "waste" $830 or you can "spend" $1,000 and get something thats actually worth paying real money for.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Review 17 for Polaroid 40" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, TLA-04011C

worth the wait

08/21/2007
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really pondered on the idea of getting this tv for months. I went to Walmart and picked it up, got it all hooked up and still I wasn't sure weather I had made a good purchase and about 3 hours after watching it, it blew up, went totally black. I contacted polaroid right away and went back to Walmart with the tv, both places were more than helpful. I got the new tv home and hooked it up and now that I have one that isn't defective, it is wonderful and I don't regret a thing I had to go through as long as I ended up with this tv.
The picture is great and I see in other reviews that people are complaining about the speakers but mine are great. I would suggest buying this tv to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 18 for Polaroid 40" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, TLA-04011C

no good

11/01/2007
By ,
ogden,ut.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
this tv cost me over $1,000.00 dollars. bought 03/03/07, went out in 7 months. can not get any support from polaroid. do not reccomed this tv.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 19 for Polaroid 40" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, TLA-04011C

stopped working after 1 year

12/22/2007
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We bought this tv because we heard it was a good brand. We have had it for 13 months and it wont turn on anymore. There was a one year warranty on it so we are out of luck. We called polaroid and they will not help us. So basically we spent a lot of money on a tv that worked for one year. I do not recommend this television to anyone to buy unless you want to waste your money!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 20 for Polaroid 40" Class LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, TLA-04011C

Product is great, shipping was bad!

11/27/2007
By ,
Ringgold, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The first TV was broken when it arrived and would not work. The shipper (Seko) called 3 days before it arrived to let me know the set was damaged and wanted to ship it back to the distributor. I let them go ahead and ship the broken set because I was promised it could be returned to the local store for replacement or refund which is what I did. The store personnel were most helpful and exchanged the set for the last one they had. The new set works great and I am pleased with both the set and the Walmart Service -Fort Oglethope, Georgia store! The choice of shipper could be better but at least they called to let me know there was a problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
1-20 of 66 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next