Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for First Alert First Alert CO605 Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Battery Backup

First Alert First Alert CO605 Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Battery Backup

First Alert CO605 Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Battery Backup runs on A/C power and easily plugs into any standard outlet with no additional mounting necessary. The battery backup ensures that the alarm works even during power outages. A single button allows you to test the efficiency of the unit or mute it during a false alarm. This First Alert carbon monoxide alarm utilizes an electrochemical carbon monoxide sensor for increased accuracy and meets UL standards. A low-battery signal alerts you when it's time to replace the backup batteries (2 AA batteries included). An easy, front-open compartment lets you change the batteries conveniently. Comes with a 7-year limited warranty.
Average Customer Rating:
4.571 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
32
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation93%39 out of 42reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 14 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
32
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for First Alert CO605 Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Battery Backup

Worth having

01/12/2011
By ,
Fort Washington, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The CO monitor is reasonably priced and is made by a well known company. I purchased one for each floor of the house including the basement
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for First Alert CO605 Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Battery Backup
01/29/2012
By ,
Pennsylvania
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have bought these two detectors and so far they are working fine, A small price to pay for your life.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
WearEver Grip Right Non-Stick 10" Fry Pan
5 out of 5(11)
 
 
 
 
 
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for First Alert CO605 Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Battery Backup

Good product!

01/16/2014
By ,
Midwest US
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: Compact design.
Cons: It is extremely difficult if not impossible to insert the 9V battery into this unit. The manufacturer's response was that they are aware of this problem and have re-designed the unit to accept three AA batteries (these work well). Just ensure that you get the new design unit with the AA batteries (this will be stated at the rear of the package).
Other thoughts: This model does not have a digital display. Pressing buttons to 'Test" tells me nothing except that the alarm sounds at some pre-determined value or per some pre-programmed function which may or may not be related to CO levels. This means that consumers have to place their trust in what the manufacturer states. What would be the price of device malfunction or product design failure? The customer has no way to verify the device calibration. A continuous digital display in PPM of CO levels would be a step in the right direction.
The unit that I purchased is going back to the store because there is no way I can install the 9V battery (newer models utilize AA batteries which are fine).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for First Alert CO605 Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Battery Backup

THIS PRODUCT SAVED MY FAMILY'S LIFES LASTNITE

06/08/2008
By ,
Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have this in my home. Lastnite it started going off. I had never heard one go off before. I got my kids and pets out of the house and called the fire department. They arrived and found that my house was at 50% full of carbon monoxide where my water heater is at. The water heater was the source of the problem. If it was not for this alarm my children and I would not be here today. This alarm SAVED our lives. I am going to invest in one of these for each room of my house.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+45points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for First Alert CO605 Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Battery Backup

GREAT PRODUCT PEACE OF MIND

09/01/2014
By ,
ILLINOIS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought two of these, one for my home and one for my daughter's.
This is an excellent product, plug in and battery backup for continuous operation.
Hopefully we never hear the alarm in a real situation but having it provides great peace of mind.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for First Alert CO605 Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Battery Backup

nice size

11/01/2009
By ,
west
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
was a replacement for one that died. this one is a nice size. plugged into the bottom socket doesn't interfere with top socket.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for First Alert CO605 Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Battery Backup

First Alert Model CO606

02/06/2009
By ,
New Hampshire
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this First Alert Model CO606 less than 6 months ago and the light went out and the batteries were not even lasting a day. I don't recommend this product to anybody. I also called them and there mailbox was full and they don't have a way to contact them thru email. I will be looking for another resource for Smoke or Carbon Monoxide Detectors.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for First Alert CO605 Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Battery Backup

Simple and it works

05/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ordered it over the internet picked it up at the store...was glad to see that a battery was included. Plugged it in tested it and good to go!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for First Alert CO605 Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Battery Backup

A Small Price to Pay For Staying Alive

10/27/2013
By ,
Santa Fe, New Mexico
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Although you must have a malfunction in a CO2 producing item to rate this product's ability to give warning, it is an absolutely needed item. The test alarm is piercing and loud. Only the drugged would sleep through it. If you use gas of any type, propane, natural, butane, you MUST have one of these. Please.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for First Alert CO605 Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Battery Backup

Not so sure

12/03/2013
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
We had had one of these for years and it worked great. When trying to put the battery in this new one...we could not get it in. The design is poor! It will beep low battery every minute without the backup battery when plugged in! Returned it. Will look for one where the battery is more accessible.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Midwest US
9V battery issue
Posted 01/16/2014
The 9V backup battery is near impossible to install. The manufacturer acknowledged this and stated that they had re-designed the product to accept three AA batteries; this AA batteries design works!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for First Alert CO605 Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Battery Backup

Piece of mind:

02/08/2014
By ,
Cape Cod
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product and price point from Wally. I ordered it site to store, and it arrived in a few days.
The instructions are expanded, so that you can get a complete understanding of how Co detectors work. It also comes with a 9V battery for the backup portion. Another feature that I liked was the fact that the plug is located near the top of the unit, so with it plugged into the bottom outlet, you still have the top outlet available.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for First Alert CO605 Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Battery Backup

Awful product

02/21/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had to return it the next day bc the alarm kept beeping bc the battery never attached. So annoying.
A review had said that the manufacturer fixed it by getting triple A batteries but the one sent to me had the old type of battery.
Would never buy this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for First Alert CO605 Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Battery Backup

Worth paying a little extra.

04/06/2014
By ,
ORRINGTON, MAINE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read many reviews and this became the obvious choice. The unit it replaced didn't have the battery backup. First alert has a great reputation. Good luck shopping.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for First Alert CO605 Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Battery Backup

CO detector

04/04/2014
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This item arrived on time and in good shape. It was easy to set up, and when tested, the alarm sound was a high-pitched "chirp", loud enough but not too loud.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for First Alert CO605 Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Battery Backup

Finally a affordable CO detector

03/06/2014
By ,
Clinton Iowa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was seeing on the news all about people getting sick / die this year. My old one I have at home is 10 plus years old. Got to thinking it was time to replace or add to for safety measures. I don't get why it has battery back up since if I loose electricity my furnace shuts off. I guess its a added benefit. Im glad technology has been able to make these more affordable for families to buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for First Alert CO605 Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Battery Backup

Seems to work great

03/25/2014
By ,
Centennial, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got it super fast, and was easy to just plug in. Seems to be working. So much easier than having to "install".
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for First Alert CO605 Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Battery Backup

Something everyone should have in their home!

02/05/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After hearing a few stories on the news about families being poisoned by Carbon Monoxide in their homes, I decided to get one of these for every floor. I like that this one simply plugs into a wall outlet and also has a battery backup. It's well worth the price for the piece of mind.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for First Alert CO605 Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Battery Backup

A Life Saver

08/17/2008
By ,
New Jersey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Every home should have at least one carbon monoxide detector, and this one is an excellent choice as it comes from one of the top names in the business. For the money, I don't think there is a better detector available with the features this one has or I'd have bought it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for First Alert CO605 Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Battery Backup

very good product

02/17/2009
By ,
CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
With two little ones at home, we wanted something that was safe, and compact enough to keep on the bathroom counter! It doesn't make any noise, which is a plus!!! Plus it's batterie back up is nice!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for First Alert CO605 Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Battery Backup

everyone needs one!!!

03/10/2014
By ,
Colorado Springs, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just had friends entire family pass away from carbon monixide poisoning in their home. Eveyone needs this. Please get one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 29 total reviews
1 2 Next