Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Philips Philips 50" Plasma HDTV with Digital Tuner, 50PFP5332D/37 - Energy Star Compliant

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Philips Philips 50" Plasma HDTV with Digital Tuner, 50PFP5332D/37 - Energy Star Compliant

Shipping Note: This item is shipped via a freight trucking service. The company will call you to schedule a delivery appointment, so ensure someone is home at the scheduled delivery time. Please note that this item is available for curbside delivery only, and will not be moved into your home or garage. We recommend you have help available to move the item to its final location. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the Philips 50" Plasma HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
4.321 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(56 Reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
39
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation84%47 out of 56reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
39
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Philips 50" Plasma HDTV with Digital Tuner, 50PFP5332D/37 - Energy Star Compliant

GREAT PICTURE QUALITY

08/04/2007
By ,
CANOGA PARK CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I GOT THIS TV COUPLE WEEKS AGO AFTER LOTS OF RESEARCH AND LOOKING AROUND. THE PICTURE QUALITY IS GREAT. I AM SO HAPPY (EVEN THAT I GET SO PICKY ) . I RECOMMEND THIS TV FOR MOVIE PLAYING, BUT NOT FOR HARDCORE VIDEO GAME PLAYERS CAUSE THE PLASMA TVS WILL NEED TO BE GIVEN A BREAK EVERY FEW HOURS.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Review 2 for Philips 50" Plasma HDTV with Digital Tuner, 50PFP5332D/37 - Energy Star Compliant

Great HDTV!

08/02/2007
By ,
Auburn, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value for a 50" plasma. Standard DVD's are breathtaking. Even standard def tv looks good on this set. Sounds great, looks very sharp on the wall. All around very happy. Cons: Remote could have been a little more substantial. No VGA in. Has 4 little nubs on back (I assume for use with some proprietary mounting system) which have to be removed before using a standard wall mount - all with absolutely no documentation for help. None of those cons take away at all from the fact that this would be a great tv for much more $$, let alone at the great price here.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 3 for Philips 50" Plasma HDTV with Digital Tuner, 50PFP5332D/37 - Energy Star Compliant

after 3 months, still happy

03/28/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read a lot of the reviews on tv's before buying and was cautious going into the hdtv project. After shopping around, I found Walmart had competitve prices including the extended warranty. I've had this tv now for 3 months and I've watched to see if the price had dropped... it hadn't - which is a bonus for me buying when I did.
So far, the tv has been great. Hadn't run into any of the problems others have had (reviews). Picture is great. I get my local channels with a rabbit ears antenna. I wasn't overly impressed with my satellite reciever and upgraded to the hd dvr a few weeks ago. Both the over the air and hd satellite channels are excellant. Hard to watch the regular 480i programming anymore.
I did contiplate between a 720p/1080i set vs. the new 1080p sets. For the price I paid, I'm glad I went the 720p/1080i route. I'm still a ways off from buying a blu-ray but I do have a hd upconverting dvd players and those movies look as good as the broadcast & HD satellite programming.
Regarding the features, there is no picture-in-picture or split-screening, but that is an easy trade for the price. If your looking for a good entry level hdtv and want something big, I think this is a good set.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 4 for Philips 50" Plasma HDTV with Digital Tuner, 50PFP5332D/37 - Energy Star Compliant

Proud Owner

08/31/2007
By ,
Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is by far a great HDTV at such a great price compared to other stores with the same TV. The picture is awesome. Very easy setup and would highly recommend this TV to anyone thats shopping for a HDTV.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 5 for Philips 50" Plasma HDTV with Digital Tuner, 50PFP5332D/37 - Energy Star Compliant

Great Buy!

09/26/2007
By ,
Branson, Mo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this tv about six weeks ago. Its a great tv with great picture. Sound is to be expected with such a thin tv (not much room to put speakers). Plus when you buy a 50" plasma/lcd its suggested you get a seperate audio system. I got a dobby digital 7.1 which is awesome. The tv o/s is easy to operate, but if you went from a "dumb" tv it may be a bit of shock. The defualt picture was a little bright for my taste, but i lowered the brightness and its now good to go. A recommened product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 6 for Philips 50" Plasma HDTV with Digital Tuner, 50PFP5332D/37 - Energy Star Compliant

Couldnt Get A Better Deal!

02/04/2008
By ,
Milford, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I have looked and researched for a plasma tv for about 2 months. Well, we are sooo happy with this purchase! The colors are so vibrant and the quality of the picture is awesome! We have HD channels and of course the picture, colors, quality is outstanding but I cant be anymore pleased with the "regular" channels too. We love this tv!! We have a 51" DLP projection tv that we replaced this one with. DLP is supposed to give the best "quality, vibrant" picture......This plasma tv blows that out of the water!! I cant say enough about this plasma. The features are great and easy to use. And you cant get a better deal for the price and quality of this tv!! You cant go wrong with this tv! You wont be sorry if you decide to buy this tv!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 7 for Philips 50" Plasma HDTV with Digital Tuner, 50PFP5332D/37 - Energy Star Compliant

Excellent for the price!!!

10/22/2007
By ,
Dallas, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great television. The picture is crystal clear. Make sure you have HDTV offered by your cable company. The difference in the analog broadcast vs. the HD broadcasts is night and day. The sound is better than I expected, but much better if connected to an external audio system.
Does get a little warm. Would recommend putting the television in a larger room.
Overall, I am very please with my purchase of this television.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 8 for Philips 50" Plasma HDTV with Digital Tuner, 50PFP5332D/37 - Energy Star Compliant

Philips Service

02/28/2008
By ,
Derry, NH
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The power supply failed on my Philips 50" HDTV after two weeks of operation. It took six weeks for Philips to get the unit repaired. There are progressive scan lines in the picture even with the unit connected to a Comcast HDTV box. The TV screen gets extremely hot. When I purchase another TV, it will not be made by Philips Electronics.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 9 for Philips 50" Plasma HDTV with Digital Tuner, 50PFP5332D/37 - Energy Star Compliant

Absolutely A Great Buy

02/13/2008
By ,
Springfield, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is ONE GREAT tv. I'm very pickey about products I buy. I read the spec's and features on this model and it has everything including a built in 30 watt amplifier, which is great for a tv. It's got an equalizer, pixel plus and many, many more features not found on other sets. Phillips is a well known brand that you have little to no problems with. I can't believe the price Wal-mart is selling it for. It's not a bargain, it's a STEAL. I mounted mine on the optional mounting stand I also got at Wal-Mart and it really looks great. It's like being at the movies. If you want a nice 50" tv with great features and a GOOD PRICE, than this is the one for you. I very, very highly recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 10 for Philips 50" Plasma HDTV with Digital Tuner, 50PFP5332D/37 - Energy Star Compliant

Excellent TV

03/12/2008
By ,
Lexington, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After weeks of plasma vs. LCD research I found a plasma TV would be the best fit for me and my family considering our viewing habits. I shopped prices at a few of the big electronics stores and none could touch what I got for the price of this TV. Sure I could've paid $3,000 for a "big-name" 1080 LCD or 1080 plasma but I'm not about to pay that much money for a TV that will probably be technologically outdated in 5 years. Blacks are black and whites are white. Tons of color options. I LOVE IT and everyone else who's seen it loves it, too. Not too sure about the sound quality since I get my audio through a surround system. The only con is the remote. It's pretty much useless.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 11 for Philips 50" Plasma HDTV with Digital Tuner, 50PFP5332D/37 - Energy Star Compliant

Very nice tv but there are problems

03/08/2008
By ,
chicagoland
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The picture on this TV is superb! Sound is very good as well. However I use a Dolby Digital reciever system for most movie watching.
Digital tuner is excellent. I am one who still use an outside tv antenna for my tv. The tuner pulls in all the analog broadcasts in my area no problem, just like my old tv did. It also picks up the digital broadcasts which are by far much more clearer. In addition there are many more digital channels being broadcast in my area than analog. When the TV autoprogrammed the channels it found fourteen analog stations compared with thirtyeight digital stations. And all these stations are free, over the air broadcasts with many of the programs in HD.
The setup menu was very simple and adjustments are very easy to make.
I do like this tv alot.
However I did need to exchange it for another. The first one exhibited some problems making loud "clicks" and some times losing the picture and/or sound when it would click. The clicking sound was quite loud, it sounded like a relay being activatied.
One time when the unit was off, (and had been off for 18 hours) it started clicking. Four or five clicks then silent for awhile then a few more clicks. At this point I decided to exchange it.
I did read another post further down this thread where the reviewer indicates being able to se little green lights through the vent holes on the side of the tv. He states that Philips confirms that these lights should not be lit when the unit is off. When my tv was off, these lights would be on. Perhaps it is a faulty circuit board.
Anyway I have exchanged it and the second unit is working good so far. And I do not see the green lights when the unit is off.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 12 for Philips 50" Plasma HDTV with Digital Tuner, 50PFP5332D/37 - Energy Star Compliant

Worse Tv Ever

04/05/2008
By ,
thomaston, ga
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i bought this tv eight months ago. it was working fine then it got lines in it and would not come on half the time. so then wal mart swapped it my second one worked for four days. i will not buy another phillips tv. when it is working it great but it must be made out of cheap parts.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 13 for Philips 50" Plasma HDTV with Digital Tuner, 50PFP5332D/37 - Energy Star Compliant

A VERY POOR QUALITY TV

01/26/2008
By ,
York, SC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this TV on 1/01/08.
We installed the TV same day the picture is great
However two days later I noticed that the TV just cut itself off for no reason. I noticed this three different times. Also When I would turn the TV off
Sometime you would hear the relay in the back make a click sound other times you would hear nothing but the screen would shout down.
I called Philips They had me to reset the TV by unplugging the TV and then plug the power back in after a minute or so. This seemed to be a short term fix the TV would do the same again.
I took the TV back to exchange only to bring the second TV home and this TV sets in my home with the exact same problem. After Talking to Philips
I got them to confirm that both TV’s that I have tried do have power board problems. The TV’s were manufactured only one month apart.
Philips was of no help at all. They told me that since I had reset the board and it was working at the time that I was talking to them that there was nothing that they were going to do...
So after that remark from Philips I will be taking this TV back tomorrow to Wal-Mart for refund
And I will never purchase another Philips product
Again. If you research the net you will also see other people have had the same problem.
One word of advice if you own this set. Turn the set off and look through the back of the vent holes look to see if there are green led lights glowing after you turn the set off, You have the same problem as I do. This information is from Philips
They told me that there should be no lights coming from the boards in the back of the TV The lights should only glow only when the unit is turned on. One word for Wal-Mart They is great they stand by what they sell. I would buy form them again and again no matter how much money you spend they are great.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 14 for Philips 50" Plasma HDTV with Digital Tuner, 50PFP5332D/37 - Energy Star Compliant

sweet product

12/30/2007
By ,
Cleveland, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the color and sound quality is amazing, the tv is really heavy make sure you have a secure/sturdy tv stand....great buy
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 15 for Philips 50" Plasma HDTV with Digital Tuner, 50PFP5332D/37 - Energy Star Compliant

GREAT TV!!!

01/12/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
GREAT TV 4 THE PRICE !!! N LOOKS GREAT ON MY WALL...
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 16 for Philips 50" Plasma HDTV with Digital Tuner, 50PFP5332D/37 - Energy Star Compliant

Sound quality is a huge plus!

12/16/2007
By ,
Athens, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had heard many terrible things about Philips in the past, but I figured with a 2 year warranty and Walmart's return policy, I'm pretty well covered.
It is definitely heavier than most units this size, so I was weary of wall-mounting it. The glass base is surprisingly sturdy and very stylish, but if you have young kids, definitely get an entertainment center that's high enough to prevent little fingerprints.
After completing the initial setup, which gives a great amount of audio and video options in an easy-to-use on-screen menu, I started flipping through the channels that it had automatically found. Much to my delight, all of the HD channels from my cable provider were there, without even ordering the HDTV box that they said would be required (for an additional monthly fee).
That is where the problems started though. After about 30 minutes, I noticed several thin, vertical, white lines forming on the left side of the screen. They persisted even after all of the troubleshooting steps on Philips' website. I called to have it repaired under warranty, they diagnosed the problem as a faulty logic panel, but Philips could not get anyone out to look at it for over 2 weeks. So I returned it to Walmart and got a replacement. That replacement has been working wonderfully, no complaints.
One point that I feel is absolutely above and beyond all other choices is the sound quality. While most people may be using a surround sound system with a TV this size, that's not currently in my budget. That's what stood out while I was looking at all of my choices. While it's not Dolby 5.1 or "shake the house with your bass" quality, by any stretch, it's certainly the best out of all the Sony, Vizio, and Magnavox TV's of the same size, only this Philips was hundreds of dollars less!
Don't listen to the other reviews about picture quality, it's all a matter of personal experience and opinion. I would definitely recommend this to anyone who's just getting their feet into the door of large-screen HDTV's and are on a budget.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 17 for Philips 50" Plasma HDTV with Digital Tuner, 50PFP5332D/37 - Energy Star Compliant

THE BLACK SCREEN!!!!

09/30/2007
By ,
phoenix, az
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
this tv lasted only 34 days before the "black screen" problem happened. do a search online youll see what im talking about. the product worked perfect, then suddenly the screen died, but the audio still worked. we took it back to walmart. i would not buy this.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 18 for Philips 50" Plasma HDTV with Digital Tuner, 50PFP5332D/37 - Energy Star Compliant

FANTASTIC!!

06/14/2008
By ,
Temple,TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This TV is the best purchase that I have made in a TV in a long time. The picture is clear and will knock your socks off!! With digital TV signal it is the best! Phillips has made a very good product. Plasma is much better than LCD when it comes to clarity of picture. I have two other Digital TVs that are LCD and they are not as good as my plasma in clarity. Thanks Walmart for having such fantastic deals as this. Oh I had purchased this same TV at Sams Club and it was $225.00 more so I took it back and got the very same TV for less through Walmart.com. Thanks again!!
Randy W.
Temple,TX
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for Philips 50" Plasma HDTV with Digital Tuner, 50PFP5332D/37 - Energy Star Compliant

Philips 50" Plasma HDTV

01/28/2008
By ,
San Antonio, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall this TV has been really good. My whole family has fallen in love with it. When all the connections (the wires and any DVD Players) are done right the picture is really good. The regular speakers are good but if you have surround sound connected to it the experiece and quality is alot better. Thanks to Bose. Moving up from a 27" to this 50" is a huge difference. Thank you Wal-Mart. The only draw back is that there are no audio out-puts and when setting it up where you want it, it take two people. LOL. The experience was really enhanced when we watched "The Planet Earth" on it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Philips 50" Plasma HDTV with Digital Tuner, 50PFP5332D/37 - Energy Star Compliant

Stunning Picture and Sound

07/15/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This TV is amazing. The setup is incredibly easy. Initial color, picture, and sound adjustments are in a super straight-forward walkthrough format, but the results are perfect.
Within 25 minutes out of the box, the stand is assembled, the DVR or cable box hooked up, the initial setup completed, and jaw-dropping HD pictures are playing on the TV--so huge and clear you can watch your TV from the neighbor's house ;)
If you are looking for a TV with picture-in-picture though, this one doesn't have that.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 44 total reviews
1 2 3 Next