Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Magnavox Magnavox DVD Recorder w/ Digital Tuner, ZC352MW8

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Magnavox Magnavox DVD Recorder w/ Digital Tuner, ZC352MW8

Featuring an integrated ATSC digital tuner, this DVD recorder plays and records all your favorite media. It's packed with features, such as progressive scan and Dolby Digital sound, that make playback and recording easy and enjoyable. You also get MP3 and CD-DA playback capabilities, all included in one machine.
Average Customer Rating:
3.551 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(49 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
16
4 stars
16
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation65%32 out of 49reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
16
4 stars
16
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Magnavox DVD Recorder w/ Digital Tuner, ZC352MW8

vcr/dvd/combo

02/14/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After figuring out the proper connection from the diagrams of which took awhile and getting it all in operation I tried each of the procedures that it was supposed to do. I was quite satisfied with the results for dubbing either way and withe recording from the TV and also the dubbing from a camcorder. I recommend this product for the price and the performance.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 2 for Magnavox DVD Recorder w/ Digital Tuner, ZC352MW8

A good DVD recorder for the price!!

02/24/2008
By ,
Houston Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Worked great first time out of the box. Hooked it up to my cable TV DVR to record shows from it. A bit slow when loading a blank or recorded disc but that wasn't a major problem with me.
Recording & playback is very good but I don't suggest recording any slower than 3 hour speed as picture quality suffers.
Plenty of inputs & outputs to hook up to almost anything. Doesn't have HDMI input or output. For my system I used S-video & the RCA inputs to record from my cable DVR plus componant video output (instead of S-video) and the coaxial digital audio out for playback to my television and stereo reciever.
Please note: This recorder is a standard definition unit & will not upconvert DVD playback to HDTV quality however it will play Dolby Digital 5.1 commercial DVD's in great quality with the digital audio out jack or in stereo/Dolby Surround using the RCA audio out jacks. The SDTV tuner will convert HDTV (from an antenna) broadcasts to standard definition for recording or playback on any TV whether HDTV or analog TV. In other words you can use it for watching digital over the air TV stations with a regular TV set that doesn't have a digital tuner. The recorder does not have an RF adapter to hook up to older TV's that don't have line in jacks.
I'm very happy with this recorder except for the menu editing feature which I didn't like very well. Have not useed the timer fuction at all so I can't comment on it.
The manual says the recorder works with 4x to 16x media which is quite correct as I've tried all 3 speeds of DVD media in it with very good results. It records in realtime with any + or - R DVD recordable media you put in it. As to recording time it does a bit over each time stated for the disc and onscreen time left display. I get 2 hours & 12 minutes for a disc recorded at SP (2 hour) speed and about 2 hours 45 minutes for a disc recorded at the 2.5 hour speed. 3 hour speed is near 3 hours and 20 minutes in total recording time.
Can play audio CD's as well as VCD discs but will not play an SVCD disc nor will it play DIVX, XVID or other computer video formats.
The manual is written very well. Anyone can figure out how to use the recorder from it without any problems. I'd suggest this DVD recorder to anyone...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 3 for Magnavox DVD Recorder w/ Digital Tuner, ZC352MW8

Very Happy with product

08/09/2008
By ,
Ramseur, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased two of these dvd recorders just over a year ago while shopping for my daughters birthday present and have been satisfied with how well this recorder works. The only problem I have had was setting up to record shows when I am away from home but read the manual to figure it out. The digital tuner works great with my cable provider giving me a few extra channels I was not picking up on my older DVD Recorder. I recently asked my daughter how hers was doing and receive a positive response from her also.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 4 for Magnavox DVD Recorder w/ Digital Tuner, ZC352MW8

Excellent Product! A++!

12/13/2007
By ,
Dayton, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent product. I had no problem setting it up. Quiet, fast, great quality video and easy to use. On screen display allows you to name your own titles with your remote! Only one style of disc menu though. Up to 6 hrs of recording! and has timed recording. Records right from cable like a DVR. I bought it on sale for $49.00.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 5 for Magnavox DVD Recorder w/ Digital Tuner, ZC352MW8

Just what the DR. ordered!

06/30/2008
By ,
Eastern KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very user friendly! Digital tuner is a great plus!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 6 for Magnavox DVD Recorder w/ Digital Tuner, ZC352MW8

Awesome DVR

03/06/2008
By ,
CAROL STREAM,IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I actually purchased this product to upgrade my analog signal to digital hd-tv. I have a 13" Sony Trinitron tv with a 44" Philips indoor antena (rabbit ears). I can receive about 20 channels --the picture quality is crystal clear!! Basic setup was a breeze though I must say- my tv has audio and video "in" which simplified things. I record my fave soaps and Judge Judy daily and the occasional special to archive. Awesome Dvr at a great price!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 7 for Magnavox DVD Recorder w/ Digital Tuner, ZC352MW8

nice gift

12/20/2007
By ,
Evansville,IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very nice dvd recorder,I bought it for my husband for Christmas. He really likes it,and it is easy to understand.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 8 for Magnavox DVD Recorder w/ Digital Tuner, ZC352MW8

User Friendly

12/25/2007
By ,
Chicago, Ill
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This DVD recorder was easy to set up and use right out of the box, without reading the instructions!
I was able to connect it to my tv and transfer my recordings from my directv dvr (which eventually loses the data because the hard drive dies) to a dvd. I like the ease of choosing the format right from the remote, giving me the ability to choose 2hrs, 4hrs, 6hrs. I used 6hrs and did not notice too much picture quality integrity loss. The only feature I missed is an hdmi connection.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 9 for Magnavox DVD Recorder w/ Digital Tuner, ZC352MW8

AWESOME PRODUCT!

03/27/2008
By ,
Niagara Falls, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The ease of use and the picture quality are excellent. I was looking for a DVD recorder that did a good job of getting digital TV channels and this product has exceeded my expectations with respect to this. Great job in coming out with this excellent DVD recorder!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 10 for Magnavox DVD Recorder w/ Digital Tuner, ZC352MW8

Great value for money

04/02/2008
By ,
Kissimmee, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are thrilled, not being technically minded - we are amazed we have been so successful so easily, playback is better than on our previous (much more expensive recorder) and we have managed to finalize our discs for playing on other DVD players.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 11 for Magnavox DVD Recorder w/ Digital Tuner, ZC352MW8

Great Product

11/13/2008
By ,
Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've owned this DVD Recorder now for several months, and I'm very happy with the product.
Learning new things everyday. I've been able to edit out the commercials when I use a rewritable disc. However, I would like to be able to do this on a DVD/R disc and then play on an other recorder commercial free, but this doesn't seem to be available. I can play them back on the recorder commercial free however. I like the option of being able to record one show, and watch another show on a differant channel at the same time. Over all I'm very please with this recorder. My next project is to figure out how I can hook up just a DVD player, and record shows on the DVD recorder, and watch movies on the player at the same time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 12 for Magnavox DVD Recorder w/ Digital Tuner, ZC352MW8

Great DVD Recorder

07/31/2008
By ,
port washington, wi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this dvd player is great.. i love the built in tuner.. it was easy to hook up.. i tape my favorite show and it came out great.. I really love this dvd player..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for Magnavox DVD Recorder w/ Digital Tuner, ZC352MW8

Good with a minor drawback

06/13/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Record quality is good until you get up to 3 hours/disk. Stick at 2 hours and you'll be happy.
Remote is irritating because the buttons are small and you have to look before you press anything.
Overall, I'm happy with it though.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 14 for Magnavox DVD Recorder w/ Digital Tuner, ZC352MW8

Not bad for a few $

06/15/2008
By ,
New Port Richey, FL.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So far So GOOD!, ~ Digital Tuners Nice!, Timer Recoding Not a Problem!!. Picture & Audio Are Great!. ~ I purchased 3yr replacment plan, ~ Just to make Sure!!!....
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 15 for Magnavox DVD Recorder w/ Digital Tuner, ZC352MW8

good product

01/09/2008
By ,
fort worth texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i use this every day , the digital tuner is slow but, that is a minor flaw. the recordings from vhs,dvd and broadcast television are really good and the recorder is simple to operate.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for Magnavox DVD Recorder w/ Digital Tuner, ZC352MW8

Great Buy

04/20/2008
By ,
Atlanta, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product performed well. I used it to record tv shows and movies. I returned it for the Hard Drive model which I am extremely satisfied with. Great Buy. Similar recorders with the tuner at other stores started at $200.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 17 for Magnavox DVD Recorder w/ Digital Tuner, ZC352MW8

Very good VCR replacement

08/10/2008
By ,
Bristol CT.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Really satisfied with the DVR. Owned 3-4 weeks and had exceeded expectation. Pwners manual didn't list Maxwell DVD+ RW (sold at wALMERT) but they work fine. 6 hour record speed is OK for shows with little action, but sports quality is not real good. 4 hour speed is as good as cable picture. This is my first DVR and is seems to have a lot of features. Previous reviews reported that it loses program memory, but it hasn't failed and everything I record is on the timer.
I considered a unit with a disk drive, but a 15 pack of DVDs holds more than I will ever need.
One big PLUS is that it has cable coax input and output so you can record one channel while watching another. The DVD does not have a modulated output to the TV so when watching a DVD, I switch to the video input mode on the TV and use the RCA inputs. Not really a problem, but it is a difference from a VCR.
I would recommend to anyone looking for a VCR replacement. Great value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for Magnavox DVD Recorder w/ Digital Tuner, ZC352MW8

Just what I had in mind

01/15/2008
By ,
2065
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I work evenings and record a lot of programs to watch later. My vcr died and I wanted to be able to move the disk to any room I may be in. This product allows me to record and then play on my regular dvd players (also Magnavox) and still be able to reuse the same disk multiple times. I can erase what I have watched, or leave it alone. It has a digital tuner which is supposed to be necessary in 2009, so my bases are covered. Who needs a vcr any more???? The programming is a bit difficult at first, but easier when I had done it a few times. You don't have to be a rocket scientist.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 19 for Magnavox DVD Recorder w/ Digital Tuner, ZC352MW8

does what it's supposed to

12/18/2007
By ,
Fort Stewart, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i would rate this product just 'ok'. the programs recorded are a little fuzzy, but it gets the job done. i like how it has a timer so you can program it to record the shows and don't have to worry about it when the show comes on.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 20 for Magnavox DVD Recorder w/ Digital Tuner, ZC352MW8

just what I wanted

05/09/2008
By ,
Metairie, La
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The price was right for just the results I wanted. The Tuner is great and the recorder plays everything I have recored before I got it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 42 total reviews
1 2 3 Next