Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Philips Philips HTS3544/37 Home Theater System w/ HDMI DVD Player & iPod Dock

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Philips Philips HTS3544/37 Home Theater System w/ HDMI DVD Player & iPod Dock

Connect to and enjoy as many media sources as you can handle . This versatile home theatre system from Philips plays what you want to watch or hear, and even includes a GoGear and iPod dock. USB Direct plays photos and music directly from a USB flash drive. An MP3 line-in connection lets you play music from portable media players. Bring all your favorite audio and video media to life with 1080i HDMI high definition. Video upconversion, DTS, Dolby Digital and Pro Logic II surround sound and 12-bit/108MHz video processing provide crystal clear audio and sharp, natural images.
Average Customer Rating:
4.028 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(181 Reviews) 154
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
93
4 stars
52
3 stars
8
2 stars
4
1 star
24
Customer Recommendation83%151 out of 181reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
93
4 stars
52
3 stars
8
2 stars
4
1 star
24
Customer Reviews
Review 41 for Philips HTS3544/37 Home Theater System w/ HDMI DVD Player & iPod Dock

This system is the SHIZ NIT

01/18/2008
By ,
Macomb, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lemme tell you..this system is sweet...i hooked this bad boy up and watch National Treasure...the thunderstom in the movie was AMAZING with this system..i live in a college dorm, and my neighbors were complaining that stuff in there room was moving around, and they thought their was a real thunderstorm out. i am not kidding, i only had the volume about 1/4 of the max...and the ipod thing is sweet!!!!!...i've never written a review about anything...but i couldn't resist with this system...you looking, and got around 200...buy this, you won't be sorry.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 42 for Philips HTS3544/37 Home Theater System w/ HDMI DVD Player & iPod Dock

Don't Go Here

10/31/2007
By ,
Florida Keys
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this product thinking the brand would guarantee a quality product. I spent an hour running wires, etc., put in a CD an it sounded great. For about a minute. Then the volume slowly started to decrease to nothing within another minute. Called Phillips - told to send it to them and they'd replace it. By the way, it will be 3 to 4 weeks (15 working days PLUS shipping time) and I have to pay the shipping. So I have no DVD player for another month, am out $15 to return it at my cost and have the hassle of boxing it and sending it back. Ouch!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 43 for Philips HTS3544/37 Home Theater System w/ HDMI DVD Player & iPod Dock

AWESOME!!!

03/22/2008
By ,
West Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hooked it up immediately after buying. DVD part is,of course, directly to TV. However, I connected satellite box into the home theater. This is optional, but I thought it best for sound. It is used with my 32 inch Philips LCD, and turning it any more than halfway up will blow you out of the room. Remote is already compatible with the TV, so I just use the one from theater. I have never gone wrong with Philips products, and did not go wrong here. Bought it directly from store shelf so I got to enjoy it immediately. ABSOLUTELY NO REGRETS!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 44 for Philips HTS3544/37 Home Theater System w/ HDMI DVD Player & iPod Dock

Great System!!!

03/14/2008
By ,
Jacksonville Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My Husband Loves this system!!!! He finally decided to buy this one after sleeping on it for a while. Right when we got it home he started working on it. Usually he gets frusterated with putting things together, but this system was stress free!!!! We enjoy this product very much. He has hooked up his playstation and our satellite to it and it has very good sound quality! I would recommend this system to anyone. My husband likes it so much he may leave me for it ha ha!! With a name like phillips you can't go wrong!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 45 for Philips HTS3544/37 Home Theater System w/ HDMI DVD Player & iPod Dock

DOA - no power

12/29/2007
By ,
Cleveland, OH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Experienced the exact same problem a previous person noted - the unit was completely dead on arrival. Actually, the light on the power switch briefly flickered red for a fraction of a second when I plugged it in, then nothing.
I'm still debating whether to try another unit or get something else. It does look pretty nice, and has all the features and connectors I need. But if these units have such a poor power supply from day one (or other power switching issues), I'm concerned how long it will last.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 46 for Philips HTS3544/37 Home Theater System w/ HDMI DVD Player & iPod Dock

SHORT COMINGS

10/29/2008
By ,
Jupiter, FL.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When I purchased this Home theater system, I thought it was a good deal, and may be a good deal for others. The problem I have, all of the speaker wires have a preset length. The length is inadequate to place the rear speakers to get true surround sound. I contacted Philips customer service and there is no solution to this problem. The length is what it is. There are no connector accessories to resolve this problem.
Therefore, I had no choice but to return the unit to Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 47 for Philips HTS3544/37 Home Theater System w/ HDMI DVD Player & iPod Dock

All that you want

09/04/2007
By ,
Queens, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to set up (I recommend HDMI cable) great sound, and the DVD player gives a great picture (tried it out with lord of the rings... wow) The MP3s dock is a nice bonus but no access to the iPod w/ remote (so use a playlist). The speakers are lightweight which make the rear speakers easy to put on a wall with only a single nail or screw. The only way that this would be better would be to have wireless speakers; but honestly for this price that would be asking too much.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 48 for Philips HTS3544/37 Home Theater System w/ HDMI DVD Player & iPod Dock

Very good product at very decent price

01/01/2008
By ,
MA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am using this product for last 5 months now and I am still excited about it. It was easy to install , took about 20 mins to get everything setup and the sound blew me up. It plays USB direct which I love the most and then it's beautiful and light also (except woofer). Only Disadv I can think of are you don't have CD tray open/close button on remote and then you can't control bass treble , but still it's bass is good. Go ahead with the system and Rock your world !!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 49 for Philips HTS3544/37 Home Theater System w/ HDMI DVD Player & iPod Dock

Do not recommend at all

12/13/2007
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I Do Not recommend This Item if you are looking to buy a nice reliable home theater system. I bought this Item not that long ago And set up the entire thing to find out it wouldn't even turn on! I then packed it back up returned it and once again set it all up. It worked for about 12 hours shut itself off with a DVD in it. (could not retrive dvd). And did not ever turn back on.
Also Item does not provide surround sound for T.V. Only for a Dvd played inside it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 50 for Philips HTS3544/37 Home Theater System w/ HDMI DVD Player & iPod Dock

great system

11/30/2007
By ,
La Vergne TN.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased the system for my better half, and he loved it! It was easy to hook up and it sounds awesome. We have a large living room and it sounds like a movie theater. I would hate to hear what the larger systems would sound like. The only problem we had was there wasn't enough wire to run it to the end of the room and it was hard wired into the speakers. So we ran it 2/3 of the length of the room. Other than that, its well worth the money. Awesome sound!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 51 for Philips HTS3544/37 Home Theater System w/ HDMI DVD Player & iPod Dock

Great Product

10/18/2007
By ,
NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had been looking into getting surround sound to go with my TV for a while. I looked at other more expensive products and then came across this product in the store. I played with it in the store and liked what I heard. I did some research online and found many favorable reviews and decided to get it. I have only had it a few days and haven't even hooked up the rear speakers yet and am very happy with it. It is a great system for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 52 for Philips HTS3544/37 Home Theater System w/ HDMI DVD Player & iPod Dock

Good Value for the Money

03/04/2008
By ,
Ft. Myers, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very happy with this system. Still have to fine tune balancing the speakers but it is not a difficult thing to do. When Fox covers a NASCAR race and says "to crank it up!"it is awesome!!! For a small apt. like ours, the 1000 watts is more than adequate. A word about WalMart's "site to store" feature...spend the extra $20 and buy it direct from the store if available and save the quite long wait for delivery (17 days to complete the order!!!)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 53 for Philips HTS3544/37 Home Theater System w/ HDMI DVD Player & iPod Dock

Not a good experience

01/13/2008
By ,
West Virginia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this product, had the same issue as everyone else. Hooked everything up, wouldn't power on. We bought this item because we liked the looks of it, and that it had an IPOD dock. However, since its not going to power up, and it seems to be a problem with this item we will not be returning it for another. We will look elsewhere and find something else. I do not recommend this product, since it seems to have a power issue almost always.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 54 for Philips HTS3544/37 Home Theater System w/ HDMI DVD Player & iPod Dock

Would chose a different unit

02/09/2008
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
All the proper cables needed to connect the unit were not included. You'll need to spend an additonal $50 to connect to you tv even if you own a Phillips TV already. Also for the cost of the unit it should have wireless rear speakers. The speakers that come with the system have prioritzed plugs and make it harder to connect if you have a long run to where you want to install the rear speakers you'll need to splice and add wire. (sloppy)
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 55 for Philips HTS3544/37 Home Theater System w/ HDMI DVD Player & iPod Dock

Great Product

08/22/2007
By ,
Columbia, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first home theatre system and I've always wanted one but wasn't sure which brand to get. Also I've heard others and they didn't sound like I expected and I was cautious with this one b/c of the price. Well, lets just say its worth MORE b/c I LOVE IT..I watched 300 several times and I heard EVERYTHING that I didn't before (the birds in the background). It's GREAT!!! Very CLEAR & no skipping!! Definitely glad I purchased it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 56 for Philips HTS3544/37 Home Theater System w/ HDMI DVD Player & iPod Dock

Buy this dock for your ipod!

03/05/2008
By ,
West Fargo, North Dakota
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
While shopping for a dock for my daughter's ipod I reviewed all available units and then came across this home theater system. For about twice what I would have paid for a small system with poor sound, I was able to purchase this unit. It has great sound, an AM-FM receiver, plays CD's, DVD and functions as a docking station for her ipod. Look no further. If you are searching for an ipod dock, check this out! A great investment!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 57 for Philips HTS3544/37 Home Theater System w/ HDMI DVD Player & iPod Dock

Wonderful product for the price!!!

01/05/2008
By ,
Pennsylvania
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this system for my husband. We both absolutely love the sound! It's very clear and crisp.
Setup was almost a breeze....only problems we had were having a satellite recieiver, we didn't know how to hook it up so that the sound would come through the speakers. And the other thing that I wish I would have known beforehand was needing an S-video cable (it wasn't included). Other than that, I HIGHLY RECOMMEND this system!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 58 for Philips HTS3544/37 Home Theater System w/ HDMI DVD Player & iPod Dock

Great System for the money!

11/13/2007
By ,
Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I gave this product 5 stars simply because I could'nt find anything to compare with this system for the price I paid 179.00..sounds great..plenty of power and it can shake the walls if you turn it up. Clear clean sound and easy to set up and control. My dvd's look awesome on my new sanyo LCD 32".. This is the first product I've purchased and actually got more then my money's worth.
I recommend highly.
Thanks Wal-Mat.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 59 for Philips HTS3544/37 Home Theater System w/ HDMI DVD Player & iPod Dock

3rd times a charm

01/03/2008
By ,
Kansas City, MO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this system for my daughter and son in law to go with their ipod. First system wouldn't even power up, no electricity flowing even thought a lamp tested the power source to be OK. Second system powered up but wouldn't go any further than that, no playback, no ipod connection, no opening the disc drawer. Third system finally worked but sceptical now as to how long. Major disapointment and inconvenience.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 60 for Philips HTS3544/37 Home Theater System w/ HDMI DVD Player & iPod Dock

Great value

12/04/2007
By ,
NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great sound, great looks, lots of features. Definitely the best bang for your buck at this time. sound is comparable to high end systems that I have heard. nice and compact. disc player can be a bit noisy at times but nothing to harsh. plays all types of divx movies files when burned as data on a dvd. well worth a try. sound from tv much better than expected, a world of difference from my stock tv speakers.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
41-60 of 154 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next