Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Magnavox Magnavox DVD Recorder/VCR with Digital Tuner, ZV450MW8

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Magnavox Magnavox DVD Recorder/VCR with Digital Tuner, ZV450MW8

A combination DVD recorder and VCR with an integrated ATSC digital tuner lets you watch and record many kinds of media. The ZV450MW8 from Magnavox puts you in control of your favorite movies and TV shows, offering both DVD and VHS recording capabilities and plenty of convenient features, like automatic record programming. Includes wireless remote control.
Average Customer Rating:
3.484 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(153 Reviews) 133
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
52
4 stars
47
3 stars
11
2 stars
9
1 star
34
Customer Recommendation69%105 out of 153reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
52
4 stars
47
3 stars
11
2 stars
9
1 star
34
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Magnavox DVD Recorder/VCR with Digital Tuner, ZV450MW8

Cross taping is a BUST

08/20/2007
By ,
Dayton, NV
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Wanted to cross tape a VHS to a DVD and edit the commercials out in the process ... forget it!!! The Magnavox has one-touch dubbing. There is no way to pause the process and move the VHS forward through the commercial and continue the recording. Called Magnavox ... the only way to do this is to stop recording ... move the VHS forward ... and then start record ... this creates a "chapter on the DVD" and there is a 5-second delay before the DVD starts recording again. The machine also takes an unusually long time to initialize the DVD when you first start to record. We wanted to record a show last night and edit the commercial while we watched ... fortunately, we were aware of the time lag (approximately 30 seconds), so we prepared the DVD 5 minutes beforehand. There was the 30 second chapter for the initializition and a second chapter when we stared recording. We have a lot of old personal VHSs that we want to convert to DVDs to save space on our shelves, but not with this machine. IT IS BEING RETURNED and we will find something easier to use. Our previous DVD/VCR Combo worked great for 3 years with no trouble, unfortunately it is no longer available
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+27points
Review 2 for Magnavox DVD Recorder/VCR with Digital Tuner, ZV450MW8

Pretty Good

04/16/2008
By ,
Aurora, CO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The machine itself functions great. But..... the remote leaves a lot to be desired. The buttons are sooooooooo tiny that it is hard to see what is on them. Being a senior citizen this is quite difficult
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 3 for Magnavox DVD Recorder/VCR with Digital Tuner, ZV450MW8

So far, so good

03/29/2008
By ,
WI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
There was no display model available, so we just opened on up. Only DVD-Recorder / VCR / Tuner combo I've seen under $200 so I told my folks to give it a try. They still don't know how to operate their old DVD player and will take some time to learn how this one works, but out of the box we've had no problems. TV tuner works fine with their basic cable, recording to DVD, playback, and the VCR section all work fine. Setting up a timer recording was simple and direct, though we have yet to actually test it. The unit even sets the clock by itself if you have a PBS station available, how cool is that! Hopefully it will last for some time (my dad even suggested buying a second as a backup).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 4 for Magnavox DVD Recorder/VCR with Digital Tuner, ZV450MW8

WHY SO DIFFICULT TO FIND AND THEN OPERATE?

03/24/2008
By ,
BRUNSWICK MAINE
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Looked around the local stores and also the discount types, Best Buy, Circuit City, Target, and the local WalMart, and had a very difficult time finding a VCR/DVD recorder with the tuner. Plenty without the tuner, but I need the tuner with the cable system I have. This unit has very good quality for the reproduction, but I find it a little difficult to operate. I had an initial problem that I called the 800 line on, and they could not figure it out. They told me to return the unit and get another one. But... I got it straightened out with a lot of experimenting. WHY CAN'T THINGS BE SIMPLE ANY MORE???
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 5 for Magnavox DVD Recorder/VCR with Digital Tuner, ZV450MW8

Very good for the money

11/30/2008
By ,
Bristol, WI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this unit back in April 2008 when my old VCR died suddenly. I wanted one with a tuner; the number of VCR/DVDR and just DVDRs without tuners is amazing. I found that counter-productive. Anyway, this was the lowest priced such unit with a tuner(and a digital one at that) that I could find at all. I had few problems in the set-up; I read the manual before doing anything. The clock initially did not want to set, but I used the "manual" function and it worked fine. Heck, it even set the calendar! My old Goldstar had to have the date, month, year, and time input manually every time the power cut-off. This one has always reset with no problems. It has no problems finding any channel, analog or digital, and I have had no problems in recording on to VHS tape or DVD. I bought Maxell DVD+RW and then read about the recommended discs. However, I have had no problems in recording and/or erasing any program that I have recorded onto them. I can even play them on my old RCA DVD player with no problems. My girlfriend sent me a DVD+R disc; it plays it just fine. From all the complaints in the other reviews; Funai may have a quality control problem in the factory where they assemble them; I don't know. I do know that this combo does a good job. One must read the manual! You can't "dummy" your way through it. I probably won't use all the extra features such as the editing, etc., but, it is nice to have them. I mainly bought this to record programs so that I may view them later; as well as some pre-recorded VHS tapes that aren't on DVD as yet. It does this very well. The one complaint that I do have is about the remote. As others have noted about it; the buttons are quite small, and, are not grouped in a logical way. Other than that, I can recommend this unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 6 for Magnavox DVD Recorder/VCR with Digital Tuner, ZV450MW8

A good product

02/04/2008
By ,
Ewing, NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a good product for the money. Having experience and technical knowledge helped me set it up quickly. The instructions could be confusing at first to a beginner. The product works good and has a good price for having a digital tuner. I definitely recommend it
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Review 7 for Magnavox DVD Recorder/VCR with Digital Tuner, ZV450MW8

This product is JUNK!!!

03/27/2008
By ,
Niagara Falls, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When I first got this product I noticed that it couldn't lock onto all of the digital TV QAM channels. Then I noticed several times that when I tried to make a recording onto a DVD I'd get several error codes and the recorder would be on the VCR input even thought I set the unit to record to a DVD. After several times of this occurring I took the recorder back and bought a simple DVD recorder that was way better than this DVD/VCR combo.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+2points
Review 8 for Magnavox DVD Recorder/VCR with Digital Tuner, ZV450MW8

A really good deal for the price

03/24/2009
By ,
Fernandina Beach
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I set my expectations based on the reviews posted earlier. I found the product easy to setup and start ( it took 20 minutes ) . The reviews talk about the remote being hard to read ... and it is but ... it gets easier as you become accustomed to using it ( like the other remotes I have). I shopped around and could not find a product with equal features for less than $250. This product has exceeded my expectations ... so far. I have had this VCR/DVD recorder for about 3 weeks. I also used the Walmart ship to store which eliminated the shipping costs and it worked very well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 9 for Magnavox DVD Recorder/VCR with Digital Tuner, ZV450MW8

Magnavoc ZV450MW DVD/VCR recorder

12/14/2008
By ,
Auburn, IN
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We purchased this unit just after Thanksgiving 2008. Was looking for something to record from TV antenna-type reception. Since our older TV did not have anything but a coaxial connector, we had to purchase an RF modulator to get the unit to send Channel 3 to the TV. After that, setup was easy. The manual was okay, but left much to be desired in detail. Many of the onscreen symbols are not explained, nor were many of the problems we encountered.
Oddly, we found the lips did not sync with the voice at times on DVD recording. Although this went away after a few weeks, it makes you wonder if it will return after the warranty expires. Technical service offered no fix other than the unit is defective and should be returned.
Learning the intricacies of the remote control buttons and programming the unit is frustrating. Once you program a TV show and set it via “timer set”, the unit automatically turns off. But if you then want to check a program, watch TV through the unit, or perform any other function, you cannot turn the unit on via the “power on” (standby) button. If you do, none of the remote buttons work, not even changing channels. We’ve come to use the “timer set” button for turning the unit on/off.
Don’t bother to be in a rush to program a TV show on your way out the door. Each time you turn on the unit, it rescans the DVD and displays the titles. That takes a fair amount of time. Not something I want each time I turn the unit on. The manual does not tell you to hit the “stop” button to clear the title screen. You have to figure that out on your own, like many other features.
The most frustrating is that it occasionally loses all saved functions such as clock, channels, and timer set programs for no known reason. There is no battery backup built into the system.
The remote could use some tuning. The menu select arrows are too close to the DVD/VCR control buttons for “play, FF, rew”. Fat fingers or quick finger movements often hit the wrong button, which messes everything up.
Over all, the unit has potential, but lacks simplicity and practicality. If you are looking for a unit that will record over-the-air signals, this will do it. But, it is designed for those with lots of patience.
We are keeping our eye out for something that is better to replace this unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 10 for Magnavox DVD Recorder/VCR with Digital Tuner, ZV450MW8

very helpful

03/12/2009
By ,
Annville, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this product. We recieve tv from an antenna and this helps to keep us from having to use a converter box and switching back and forth.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 11 for Magnavox DVD Recorder/VCR with Digital Tuner, ZV450MW8

Pure junk

12/25/2007
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This machine is a waste of consumer's time. The machine did not display any of the menus, would not play DVDs or VHS. Could not set up the machine, due to lack of display, and the several of the buttons on the remote would just shut off the base unit....garbage!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Review 12 for Magnavox DVD Recorder/VCR with Digital Tuner, ZV450MW8

Magnavox 450

01/22/2008
By ,
Jonesboro, AR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After reading the reviews I was a little concerned about buying this product.... But I thought I'd go ahead and give it a shot.... (Hey.. I can always return it)
This machine is fantastic!! Yeah, it has about 1,000 features I'll never use.... and comes with a very detailed instruction manual....
But less than 60 minutes out of the box, I'd already burnt my first DVD
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 13 for Magnavox DVD Recorder/VCR with Digital Tuner, ZV450MW8

Half bad

10/31/2007
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We had decided to take a step up from the basement model we bought last Christmas. It looked like a decent unit and recorded in +R and -R formats. The DVD side played well and the recording quality was good, even in the 4 hour mode.
The VCR side did not work. No display on the screen, no picture, nothing.
Too bad my $99 model died. At least everything worked, if only for 10 months. On my way to get a refund now...
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Review 14 for Magnavox DVD Recorder/VCR with Digital Tuner, ZV450MW8

An excellent buy

10/20/2008
By ,
Wichita, Ks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned this unit for 6 months and just absolutely love it. I hooked it up to an old 26" Sanyo television that I also purchased from Wal-Mart about 10 years ago and it works great. The DVR has a built in Digi-tv switch that you can use to convert your TV with and the pixs look even better. If you have problems following the instructions in the booklet, the 1-800 number is easy to get through to and the techs are very helpful. Once your done finalizing your CD's after recording on it, you can replay the CD's in any other CD player with no problem. The buttons on the remote are really small, but easy to memorize after a while, no problem. I highly recommend this Magnavox DVD Recorder/VCR with Digital Tuner, it is worth the purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 15 for Magnavox DVD Recorder/VCR with Digital Tuner, ZV450MW8

Very useful and helpful product!!

09/24/2007
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The product I obtained works great and I think anyone who thinks of getting one should go ahead and buy one!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 16 for Magnavox DVD Recorder/VCR with Digital Tuner, ZV450MW8

worthless

12/28/2007
By ,
TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Like others I had used and liked Magnavox products in the past and thought they were top of the line.
I don’t consider myself a idiot or expert with electronic devices. Under normal conditions I usually hook up then read the instructions as a check up..
I never got past set the clock, in fact could never set the clock.
I called customer support. After 4 hours my tech helper told me I should call my satellite company. I called Direct and after a half hour was told to call Magnavox again. My second call to Magnavox was short and a bit rude because this tech said they didn’t intend to spend so much time with a customer.
I took the unit back the next day and got a same model assuming the first was a dud.
I called Magnavox tech support starting from scratch, following the tech instructions in hook up then turn on and set up. Again couldn’t again even set the clock. By this time my name has a warning flag I suppose. Anyway after doing as told and calling Direct, then Magnavox again, the final suggestion was to call the TV manufacture. I gave up returned the second unit and did NOT attempt a like model or other brand.
I would NOT recommend this model.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Review 17 for Magnavox DVD Recorder/VCR with Digital Tuner, ZV450MW8

Returning it for refund...

10/05/2007
By ,
Lakewood, OH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Yet another example of "Getting what you pay for". The price was cheap, and so is the merchandise...
I chose this particular model because the box described the multiple DVD formats it could burn to.(DVD+R; DVD-R; & DVD-RW) Only INSIDE of the manual does it explain the specific BRANDS that are compatible. Unfortunately the 100+ HP DVD+R, and 50 Memorex DVD+R DL I bought are NOT on that list. The unit can't even read the discs I've burned on my computer.
I set the timer to record a show last week, but the thing never kicked on. I finally got it to record this Wed's episode, but the next day it simply erased the timer I had set to record every Thurs.
And, that tape with Wed's episode on it? I can't watch it, (simply doesn't play) nor will the machine eject it! It won't even switch over from DVD to VCR. It's as if the VCR side doesn't exist at all!
I've had this unit about 3 weeks, and it's going back first thing tomorrow AM! I'd rather get a standalone DVD burner, and a cheap, used VCR than deal with this!
-Slaughter
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 18 for Magnavox DVD Recorder/VCR with Digital Tuner, ZV450MW8

zv450mw8 product copies good

11/15/2007
By ,
oswego, ny
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
this is by far the best player i have ever owned it plays great on prerecorded tapes and dvds it records very well it also transfers my tapes to dvds without no problems i don't know why people don't like this player as it does the job i want it to i would suggest to anyone who is considering buying a dvd vcr combo to buy this unit you will like what it does for you and you get monies worth after you buy it i know i did and like it
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 19 for Magnavox DVD Recorder/VCR with Digital Tuner, ZV450MW8
12/03/2007
By ,
Atlanta, Georgia
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchase this product Nov. 24th. After connecting, press setup, it defaulted to French language and the set-up button would move to select the correct language. Contacted technical and support and they told me it was broken.
I connected the replacement Dec. 2. Everything was working great until I tried to take the video take out. It would not come out. I think it is a hit or miss deal with this recorder.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 20 for Magnavox DVD Recorder/VCR with Digital Tuner, ZV450MW8
12/03/2007
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
can"t use it it does not record vhs that are blocked so can not do all my old vhs to dvd. and it does not say that before you buy it
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
1-20 of 134 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next