Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Magnavox Magnavox DVD Recorder/VCR with Digital Tuner, ZV450MW8

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Magnavox Magnavox DVD Recorder/VCR with Digital Tuner, ZV450MW8

A combination DVD recorder and VCR with an integrated ATSC digital tuner lets you watch and record many kinds of media. The ZV450MW8 from Magnavox puts you in control of your favorite movies and TV shows, offering both DVD and VHS recording capabilities and plenty of convenient features, like automatic record programming. Includes wireless remote control.
Average Customer Rating:
3.484 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(153 Reviews) 133
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
52
4 stars
47
3 stars
11
2 stars
9
1 star
34
Customer Recommendation69%105 out of 153reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
52
4 stars
47
3 stars
11
2 stars
9
1 star
34
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Magnavox DVD Recorder/VCR with Digital Tuner, ZV450MW8

Cross taping is a BUST

08/20/2007
By ,
Dayton, NV
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Wanted to cross tape a VHS to a DVD and edit the commercials out in the process ... forget it!!! The Magnavox has one-touch dubbing. There is no way to pause the process and move the VHS forward through the commercial and continue the recording. Called Magnavox ... the only way to do this is to stop recording ... move the VHS forward ... and then start record ... this creates a "chapter on the DVD" and there is a 5-second delay before the DVD starts recording again. The machine also takes an unusually long time to initialize the DVD when you first start to record. We wanted to record a show last night and edit the commercial while we watched ... fortunately, we were aware of the time lag (approximately 30 seconds), so we prepared the DVD 5 minutes beforehand. There was the 30 second chapter for the initializition and a second chapter when we stared recording. We have a lot of old personal VHSs that we want to convert to DVDs to save space on our shelves, but not with this machine. IT IS BEING RETURNED and we will find something easier to use. Our previous DVD/VCR Combo worked great for 3 years with no trouble, unfortunately it is no longer available
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+27points
Review 2 for Magnavox DVD Recorder/VCR with Digital Tuner, ZV450MW8

A very good VHS and DVD player and recorder

08/24/2008
By ,
Coaldale, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First may I say the installation was a bit hairy, after following the instructions I could not get the menu to come up as did a few of the others I read about in their reviews. I solved this little problem with an RF Modulator that I had used with my old one. My tv is an older floor model with an excellent picture and that was all it needed. In fact the product even improved the picture for the better. The VHS player is doing something I don't think it should, which makes my wife happy, it is tracking very well on some tapes that were recorded in EP, one movie is one of my wife's favorite movies, EP is not used anymore in most VHS player-recorders! The DVD picture is also lighter and clearer then my old one. As for recording I have not had the opportunity to try the system out just yet. If it records as well as it plays and I don't see any reason it shouldn't then this will be a very good investment for any one to buy. Oh and yes the bottons on the remote are kind of small but useable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 3 for Magnavox DVD Recorder/VCR with Digital Tuner, ZV450MW8

Returning it for refund...

10/05/2007
By ,
Lakewood, OH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Yet another example of "Getting what you pay for". The price was cheap, and so is the merchandise...
I chose this particular model because the box described the multiple DVD formats it could burn to.(DVD+R; DVD-R; & DVD-RW) Only INSIDE of the manual does it explain the specific BRANDS that are compatible. Unfortunately the 100+ HP DVD+R, and 50 Memorex DVD+R DL I bought are NOT on that list. The unit can't even read the discs I've burned on my computer.
I set the timer to record a show last week, but the thing never kicked on. I finally got it to record this Wed's episode, but the next day it simply erased the timer I had set to record every Thurs.
And, that tape with Wed's episode on it? I can't watch it, (simply doesn't play) nor will the machine eject it! It won't even switch over from DVD to VCR. It's as if the VCR side doesn't exist at all!
I've had this unit about 3 weeks, and it's going back first thing tomorrow AM! I'd rather get a standalone DVD burner, and a cheap, used VCR than deal with this!
-Slaughter
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 4 for Magnavox DVD Recorder/VCR with Digital Tuner, ZV450MW8

Pretty Good

04/16/2008
By ,
Aurora, CO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The machine itself functions great. But..... the remote leaves a lot to be desired. The buttons are sooooooooo tiny that it is hard to see what is on them. Being a senior citizen this is quite difficult
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 5 for Magnavox DVD Recorder/VCR with Digital Tuner, ZV450MW8

So far, so good

03/29/2008
By ,
WI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
There was no display model available, so we just opened on up. Only DVD-Recorder / VCR / Tuner combo I've seen under $200 so I told my folks to give it a try. They still don't know how to operate their old DVD player and will take some time to learn how this one works, but out of the box we've had no problems. TV tuner works fine with their basic cable, recording to DVD, playback, and the VCR section all work fine. Setting up a timer recording was simple and direct, though we have yet to actually test it. The unit even sets the clock by itself if you have a PBS station available, how cool is that! Hopefully it will last for some time (my dad even suggested buying a second as a backup).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 6 for Magnavox DVD Recorder/VCR with Digital Tuner, ZV450MW8

WHY SO DIFFICULT TO FIND AND THEN OPERATE?

03/24/2008
By ,
BRUNSWICK MAINE
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Looked around the local stores and also the discount types, Best Buy, Circuit City, Target, and the local WalMart, and had a very difficult time finding a VCR/DVD recorder with the tuner. Plenty without the tuner, but I need the tuner with the cable system I have. This unit has very good quality for the reproduction, but I find it a little difficult to operate. I had an initial problem that I called the 800 line on, and they could not figure it out. They told me to return the unit and get another one. But... I got it straightened out with a lot of experimenting. WHY CAN'T THINGS BE SIMPLE ANY MORE???
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 7 for Magnavox DVD Recorder/VCR with Digital Tuner, ZV450MW8

Do not buy!

02/06/2009
By ,
Lansing, MI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The unit does not keep time! The clock on the TWO that I purchased (returned the first one for an exchange!) did not keep time for even a 24 hour period of time. It made no difference whether I set the clock using the manual or auto options or even unplugging and replugging the unit and letting the automatic setting take place. It was not simply losing minutes...it was resetting itself to an entirely wrong time/date!
No correct clock meant not being able to be assured that the timed recording would take place at the time I set the unit to record!!!!
When I contacted the manufacturer I was told to either return it to my store of purchase or send it to them to be fixed! What, and be without a recording device for weeks?!! NOT!!!
When I checked on the Web about this product I have found several others who have had multiple problems with this product.
I'm taking the second one back and will replace it with another brand! The first one was purchased in the middle of December of 2008 and the second one in the middle of January 2009.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 8 for Magnavox DVD Recorder/VCR with Digital Tuner, ZV450MW8

Very nice unit for the price

03/01/2009
By ,
Las Vegas,NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been recording movies from tv and dubbed a few old family tapes and it seems to be working well. Dubbing vcr tapes to dvd or dvd to vcr tapes is all one button and couldn't be easier. Recording from TV is one button unless you use the timer. The tv tuner works great and the picture is much better then my tv picture and records the same. I looked a couple months for a unit with all the features this one has and it's great for the price.
A few small problems are the remote has very small buttons and writing and I have to tip it toward the light to do the simplest things. It has 46 little buttons and I worry the writing may wear off with use. The owners manual is 103 pages and is way to much to try to read and remember. The 800 help line was very helpful but also gave me some wrong information a few times. Outside of those minor problems it seems to be a great unit and worth the money. I have been very happy with it so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 9 for Magnavox DVD Recorder/VCR with Digital Tuner, ZV450MW8

worthless

12/28/2007
By ,
TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Like others I had used and liked Magnavox products in the past and thought they were top of the line.
I don’t consider myself a idiot or expert with electronic devices. Under normal conditions I usually hook up then read the instructions as a check up..
I never got past set the clock, in fact could never set the clock.
I called customer support. After 4 hours my tech helper told me I should call my satellite company. I called Direct and after a half hour was told to call Magnavox again. My second call to Magnavox was short and a bit rude because this tech said they didn’t intend to spend so much time with a customer.
I took the unit back the next day and got a same model assuming the first was a dud.
I called Magnavox tech support starting from scratch, following the tech instructions in hook up then turn on and set up. Again couldn’t again even set the clock. By this time my name has a warning flag I suppose. Anyway after doing as told and calling Direct, then Magnavox again, the final suggestion was to call the TV manufacture. I gave up returned the second unit and did NOT attempt a like model or other brand.
I would NOT recommend this model.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Review 10 for Magnavox DVD Recorder/VCR with Digital Tuner, ZV450MW8

Very good for the money

11/30/2008
By ,
Bristol, WI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this unit back in April 2008 when my old VCR died suddenly. I wanted one with a tuner; the number of VCR/DVDR and just DVDRs without tuners is amazing. I found that counter-productive. Anyway, this was the lowest priced such unit with a tuner(and a digital one at that) that I could find at all. I had few problems in the set-up; I read the manual before doing anything. The clock initially did not want to set, but I used the "manual" function and it worked fine. Heck, it even set the calendar! My old Goldstar had to have the date, month, year, and time input manually every time the power cut-off. This one has always reset with no problems. It has no problems finding any channel, analog or digital, and I have had no problems in recording on to VHS tape or DVD. I bought Maxell DVD+RW and then read about the recommended discs. However, I have had no problems in recording and/or erasing any program that I have recorded onto them. I can even play them on my old RCA DVD player with no problems. My girlfriend sent me a DVD+R disc; it plays it just fine. From all the complaints in the other reviews; Funai may have a quality control problem in the factory where they assemble them; I don't know. I do know that this combo does a good job. One must read the manual! You can't "dummy" your way through it. I probably won't use all the extra features such as the editing, etc., but, it is nice to have them. I mainly bought this to record programs so that I may view them later; as well as some pre-recorded VHS tapes that aren't on DVD as yet. It does this very well. The one complaint that I do have is about the remote. As others have noted about it; the buttons are quite small, and, are not grouped in a logical way. Other than that, I can recommend this unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 11 for Magnavox DVD Recorder/VCR with Digital Tuner, ZV450MW8

wont go between VCR and DVD

03/13/2009
By ,
fresno,ca
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
2 weeks ago 2-27-09 bought my first Magnavox ZV45OMW8A. I got it up and running but when i went to record on VCR, it recorded but but when I looked at it the next am it was froze in the DVD mode. I called customer service and they tried everything including having me unplug it for 1-2 minutes but wouldnt reset, so took the unit back to Walmart. I got antoher one and set it up, but it did the same thing. I have called customer service and they can't seem to help. I did find out if I unplugged it for about 10 minutes it would release so it would go back and forth between dvd and vcr. I still have a few days before I could take it back to walmart but am hesitant to do that as all the reviews I read about other VCR/ DVD combo's they are horrible. I use the antenna so there are not very many manufactures of vcr/dvd's that will record from tv directly. I had an RCA (infact two of them) in the last year and they are HORRIBLE as is RCA. I have read reviews and don't see others with the same problem, but it is odd I had the same problem twice with the product purchased from two different walmarts
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for Magnavox DVD Recorder/VCR with Digital Tuner, ZV450MW8

An excellent buy

10/20/2008
By ,
Wichita, Ks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned this unit for 6 months and just absolutely love it. I hooked it up to an old 26" Sanyo television that I also purchased from Wal-Mart about 10 years ago and it works great. The DVR has a built in Digi-tv switch that you can use to convert your TV with and the pixs look even better. If you have problems following the instructions in the booklet, the 1-800 number is easy to get through to and the techs are very helpful. Once your done finalizing your CD's after recording on it, you can replay the CD's in any other CD player with no problem. The buttons on the remote are really small, but easy to memorize after a while, no problem. I highly recommend this Magnavox DVD Recorder/VCR with Digital Tuner, it is worth the purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 13 for Magnavox DVD Recorder/VCR with Digital Tuner, ZV450MW8

This product is JUNK!!!

03/27/2008
By ,
Niagara Falls, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When I first got this product I noticed that it couldn't lock onto all of the digital TV QAM channels. Then I noticed several times that when I tried to make a recording onto a DVD I'd get several error codes and the recorder would be on the VCR input even thought I set the unit to record to a DVD. After several times of this occurring I took the recorder back and bought a simple DVD recorder that was way better than this DVD/VCR combo.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+2points
Review 14 for Magnavox DVD Recorder/VCR with Digital Tuner, ZV450MW8

A good product

02/04/2008
By ,
Ewing, NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a good product for the money. Having experience and technical knowledge helped me set it up quickly. The instructions could be confusing at first to a beginner. The product works good and has a good price for having a digital tuner. I definitely recommend it
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Review 15 for Magnavox DVD Recorder/VCR with Digital Tuner, ZV450MW8

product review

12/10/2008
By ,
michigan
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
While this product i have had for 5 weeks and am trying to take it back- they have none in stock yet to replace it with-i would still recommend it. only because having the tuner/dvd/vcr in one is better then a lot of other pieces laying around taking up space. this one has had problems with viewing channels and recording to dvd( stops and starts during a timed set) . not sure why. i did buy both the tv and this unit at the same time and the sales person i felt was not very helpful. i did notice that this unit says the tuner is sdtv and the tv is hdtv. don't know if it makes a difference. but before this tv/unit set our older tv got better picture through our dvd/vcr unit then the tv itself. but we gave that unit to our son in college.
i have also had problems trying to re record to a dvd. using maxwell dvd-rw. all i get is not able to in +vr mode but that is also what it does in the timed when it stops and then it starts taping again.
i would buy other dvds but until i know if it will really help, i will wait.
if the manufacturers can get this together and not push so hard to mass produce, they might have a great product.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for Magnavox DVD Recorder/VCR with Digital Tuner, ZV450MW8

DVD Recorder, VCR, Tuner...Works Great

02/24/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed to replace my 12 year old VCR because it started having playback problems. I needed a unit with a tuner because I have just basic cable (no cable box) for the TV where it is used. Originally I was just going to get a DVD player/VCR combo, but found this unit which is also a DVD recorder for just a little higher price, and because I could use it to convert my old VHS tapes to DVD I thought the additional cost was worth it. They were out of stock at my local Wal-Mart, but the price of this unit online including shipping was about the same as the store price so decided to just have it delivered. The DVD recorder function makes this a pretty complicated unit. The owners manual is 102 pages long...mostly describing all the things you can do with/to your DVD recording. The model number on my unit is ZV450MW8A so I hope they've corrected some of the problems described in earlier reviews. After 2 weeks I've had absolutely no problems with the unit. VCR to DVD dubbing is very easy to do. I don't think the size of the remote control buttons is as big a problem as some of the other reviewers. For $170 this unit is a good buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for Magnavox DVD Recorder/VCR with Digital Tuner, ZV450MW8

VERY DISAPPOINTED

09/06/2008
By ,
Sebastin, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
A short time ago I puchased this product as I felt that my prior experience with Magnavox was always very good. Well there is a lot to be desired with this item.
First. the manual consisting of 102 pages is very confusing, and many instructions contained in the manual when applied, do not work.
The remote control is too small and the buttons are so tiny and close together, that error often occurs when trying to use it.
The timer funtion when used does not work even though the instructions are followed for the use of same. Movies cannot be copied on VCR or DVD for future viewing, as they are protected by a code VC+. This is strange because VCR tape copied on another machine can be displayed on this unit.
In my opinion, this machine is overrated, very confusing, and not what I expected.
I cannot reccomend this product, and will probably return it.
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for Magnavox DVD Recorder/VCR with Digital Tuner, ZV450MW8

So Far So Good

12/18/2008
By ,
Tulsa, OK
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I researched DVD/VCR combos online for several days and this one was the best priced for the features. ALL products I reviewed had from one to five stars so that was no help in making a decision. Decided on this one due to lower price.
Even though I have worked in IT for many years, I did experience difficulty in initial setup. I had no problem with the physical connections, but getting the initial setup menus using the instruction manual was a problem. I finally called the 800 number, got a very helpful individual and was up and running in 15 minutes.
So far, I have only played VCRs recorded on another machine and recorded and played DVDs but am very happy with the product. As others have noted, the remote has very tiny buttons, so they could improve on this, but as long as everything works, I'm not complaining.
All in all, worth the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for Magnavox DVD Recorder/VCR with Digital Tuner, ZV450MW8

A really good deal for the price

03/24/2009
By ,
Fernandina Beach
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I set my expectations based on the reviews posted earlier. I found the product easy to setup and start ( it took 20 minutes ) . The reviews talk about the remote being hard to read ... and it is but ... it gets easier as you become accustomed to using it ( like the other remotes I have). I shopped around and could not find a product with equal features for less than $250. This product has exceeded my expectations ... so far. I have had this VCR/DVD recorder for about 3 weeks. I also used the Walmart ship to store which eliminated the shipping costs and it worked very well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 20 for Magnavox DVD Recorder/VCR with Digital Tuner, ZV450MW8

Decent- but tuner not that good

11/09/2008
By ,
Rochester, NY
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
We bought this product because of the digital changeover coming in february- so that we could keep our old TV and use the tuner in this DVD/VCR. The price was decent compared to other units with a digital tuner. However, we found that sometimes the digital tuner worked well, with no pixelling and at other times, there was constant pixelling and it was difficult to watch any programs. The company said we needed a stronger antenna. If that is the case- why did the digital tuner work sometimes? The remote has small buttons and the remote channel up/down buttons sometimes worked and sometimes didn't.
Bottom line- we returned the unit and went with a cheaper (less than $100) DVD/VCR (without a digital tuner) and we are ordering the basic cable TV- for about $10/month- then we don't have to mess around with digital pixelling.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 134 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next