Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Schwinn 26" Men's Schwinn Point Beach Cruiser Bike

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Schwinn 26" Men's Schwinn Point Beach Cruiser Bike

Ride in style on the classic Schwinn Point Beach Cruiser. Perfect for the ultimate pleasure cruise, the Point Beach cruiser includes a retro frame design, a wide cruiser saddle and rustproof stainless steel spokes. A Shimano 7-speed rear derailleur with SRAM grip shifters adds a very welcome modern touch to this classic ride. Chrome fenders and a bonus storage rack complete the genuine cruising package.
Average Customer Rating:
4.344 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(122 Reviews) 110
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
64
4 stars
41
3 stars
13
2 stars
3
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation93%113 out of 122reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
64
4 stars
41
3 stars
13
2 stars
3
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for 26" Men's Schwinn Point Beach Cruiser Bike

A Beauty To Look At, A Dream To Ride!

12/08/2009
By ,
Tucson, Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have motorized many different types of bikes, but this is my favorite so far! This bike turns heads. It handles and rides as great as it looks with an engine installed. Hand brakes are really required for a motorized bike, rather than just a coaster brake.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Review 2 for 26" Men's Schwinn Point Beach Cruiser Bike

A great bike

05/28/2008
By ,
Forrest City, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just took possession of my new bike which was given to me on my 74th birthday.
I assembled it myself and found that some of the instructions were a little vague.
It brings back fond memories and I plan to make many more memories with this great product.
Would recommend this bike to anyone that get pleasure from biking the old fashion way.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 3 for 26" Men's Schwinn Point Beach Cruiser Bike

Cool Cruiser!

12/20/2007
By ,
Longmont, CO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love the low price. The bike was in good condition. It was actually shipped in it's original box, then another heavier box was on the outside. I guess this is to help keep it safe during shipping.
I have been a bicycle enthusiast for more than 30 years and even worked in a bicycle shop for 4 years while going to college.
My biggest complaint with buying bikes from Walmart or Target is that the bikes fall apart very quickly.
This happens because the bikes generally are never properly adjusted. For example, this cruiser is great and the components and construction quality are very good. I expect that this bike will last a long time.
But, when I assembled the bicycle, I adjusted everything on the bike.
Including:
Both wheels were out of round and had loose spokes, one of the pedals would not turn freely, the brake pads did not meet the rim, etc..
You get the idea. So, my suggestion is to buy the bicycle if you want, but be sure to keep it adjusted properly, so it will last a long time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Review 4 for 26" Men's Schwinn Point Beach Cruiser Bike

Great bike, make sure to adjust

04/20/2008
By ,
Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The quality of materials in this bike is amazing. It's made of light-weight, sturdy aluminum, and though it's not the same feel as the old steel frame bikes, aluminum makes for a great and practical bike frame. If you buy this bike from a store where it was assembled by wal-mart workers, you will want to adjust most of the components. Don't get me wrong, wal-mart has great employees, but most of them aren't professional bike mechanics. You'll want to adjust the brakes (make sure they don't rest on the wheels), adjust the gear cable (to where the gears shift accurately), and make sure the guard covering the chain isn't warped to where the right pedal comes in contact with it (don't want to ruin that pretty paint job!) With a few minor adjustments, and proper maintenance, this bike could offer years and years of enjoyment. Get the bike, go riding, and watch heads turn!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+90points
Review 5 for 26" Men's Schwinn Point Beach Cruiser Bike

Awesome Bike!

01/01/2010
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was an awesome purchase. I got it for my husband for Christmas, and he LOVES it! :) I had been searching for a cool looking bike so that we could ride together. And a affordable one at that. And just didn't find anything until.... This is just the epitome of the shiny, red, cool bike that you would see under the Christmas tree. I had someone who knows what they are doing put it togther. Ie: A bike shop...and that is the way to go. I had read online in multiple places that getting it assembled at the store wasn't the best way to go. So...Just took the box straight to the shop and Boom! A ready to ride bike for Christmas :) And if you're a bigger, taller, guy, this bike will work you. My husband is football player in size and he fits just fine ;)
I also got the female version of this for Christmas and it is just GORGEOUS! I LOVE MY NEW BIKE :) And it rides great, it's a great find. Highly recommend them both ;)
just have someone that knows what they are doing assemble them, and these bikes should be just what you're looking for.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 6 for 26" Men's Schwinn Point Beach Cruiser Bike

ok for the money

11/27/2007
By ,
Hawthorne, Nevada
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The bike arrived to my house in 3 days of placing the order. But it did arrive damaged due to shipping.I called Schwinn and they sent me the replacement parts I requested within a week. The bike was fairly easy to assemble. The bike looks good and rides very nice, you can ride it sitting up right and not hunched over. The gears shift very good with no problems. I recommend this bike for older folks, great to get around town and save on gas money. Schwinn does not have the quality now that they had when I was a kid.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+18points
Review 7 for 26" Men's Schwinn Point Beach Cruiser Bike

Wonderful bike and great service at the store!

08/05/2009
By ,
Northern Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this online and had it shipped to the store. When I got notice that the bike had arrived, I called the store to see if I could have it assembled. The young woman at customer service was so helpful; she arranged to have it put together for me that very afternoon. When I picked it up, another associate helped me. When she found out it was a gift for my husband, she took extra care to polish the bike, remove any unnecessary stickers and asked me to be sure to wish my husband a very happy birthday! On the way to the car, I must have gotten 5 compliments on the bike. One man even offered to ride it home for me :0) Needless to say, my husband was blown away. The bike fits him perfectly and is a very comfortable ride. Highly satisfied customer!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Review 8 for 26" Men's Schwinn Point Beach Cruiser Bike

Well built bike

07/19/2007
By ,
Tupelo, Ms.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have shopped extensively and could find lots of bicycles but this one has more of the features I was expecting and at a better price than I could imagine.
It is well built, an aluminum frame makes it lightweight, the gear system is one of the best. It appears to be a bike that will last a long time and provide many miles of fun.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Review 9 for 26" Men's Schwinn Point Beach Cruiser Bike

Love the bike!

03/28/2009
By ,
Michigan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My wife and I each purchased one of these bikes. I have to say that the bike is fun to ride and looks good. The major disappointment was the assembly work done by the wal-mart personnel. The brakes and shifter needed adjustment right away. The tires had only 15 lbs of air, they need 40 lbs. The seat and handle bars were loose as were most of the other fasteners. When I purchased the bike they did not have the bike carrier I wanted in stock so I ordered it on walmart.com. It took 10 days to arrive at the store in the meantime the assembly person from wal-mart called and instructed me that I needed to get the bike "off his floor" when I explained to him that I was waiting on a bike carrier to arrive in order to pick them up he informed me that was not his problem and I needed to rent a truck and get them right away. Needless to say I immediately called the manager and he took care of the situation. So, yes I like the bikes not so impressed with the wal-mart workers.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 10 for 26" Men's Schwinn Point Beach Cruiser Bike
08/29/2009
By ,
Philly Pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike at a great price went to a LBS and they wanted 700.00 bucks for a mountain bike with black
Plastics fenders and that was a 7 speed the only thing you have to do is go over this bike since I am an auto mechanic
It was no problem 1st you need to pack the front and rear wheel bearings and also pack the bottom bracket with grease for some reason when they built this bike they did not use any grease on any bearings I also changed out the gears’ in the back the bike came with a 14-28 and I installed a 7 speed 11-34 man what a big difference . with the 11 tooth gears you will have all kind of top end and with the 34 tooth gears this curser can clime big hill’s with ease
The complements I get every day this is a great looking bike and with a little more work on it will keep up with any other bike as of 8/29/09 I have put on 500 miles on it and I have had this bike for two months right now I am looking to put white walls tires on it and replace that ugly plastic spoke protector and replace it with a chrome one form a sting ray then she will be looking fine use this bike every day and have had a blast with it
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 11 for 26" Men's Schwinn Point Beach Cruiser Bike

Good bike, but has limits...

09/29/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros:
Beautiful bike. Inexpensive. Good Shimano components. Well-packaged (not a scratch on it out of the box), easy to assemble.
Cons:
The bike is SMALL. OK, smaller than I expected. Yes, the wheel size is 26", but the frame itself is very compact - more from a horizontal perspective than vertical. In other words, the handle bars are nearly in your lap when riding. Sharp turns not allowed, since the bars will hit your knees! I know you can raise the bars, but the distance between to headset (handlebar post) and the seat post seems very short, and I'm only 5'10".
Also, the fenders rattle and are flimsy. The rack could be beefier too. Looks like tubular steel in the picture, but it's stamped aluminum, so it rattles and shakes too.
Like the bike for the price though, with those caveats.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Review 12 for 26" Men's Schwinn Point Beach Cruiser Bike

Classic sturdy and comfortable bike.

02/14/2010
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bicycle replaces an identical model purchased three years ago. On the original machine, I replaced the handlebars with a raised set plus a wider, more comfortable padded seat, then added a front basket and rear saddlebags. Otherwise it was used as delivered, and I plan to do the same with this one. This made it very comfortable for a daily 15-mile commute to work. Altogether, it racked up more than six thousand miles. Along the way, I used up several new wheels and quite a few tires. The only weak point that I found on the bike involved the plastic cable connectors used in the the original assembly. I'd definitely suggest adding a sealant to the tires and always wearing a helmet. I would recommend Schwinn's Point Beach cruiser without hesitation to anyone who seeks a strong, comfortable, and reliable bicycle that is really a joy to ride. I'm looking forward to using the new one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 13 for 26" Men's Schwinn Point Beach Cruiser Bike

retro comfort

11/24/2007
By ,
mich
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Im 6 foot so seat up handle bar goose neck up im also 280 pounds ya im pretty big but i dont bottom out the springs in the seat. i like this bike it reminds me of the old heavy duty shwinn bike i bought 30 years ago to do a paper route and that bike was already tens years old.
its not as heavy duty as that bike but no one delivers papers on a bike any more. the rack looks like its missing something. im afraid to strap a bungi cord on it and scratch it up.so far so good though we had some warm november weather so i did get to ride before the snow.Im going to to hang it over my car in the garage this winter i like to see it when i pull in it reminds me of the good old days. I looked around alot and dont think you will find a better bike for the money the only bike that might be better is one of those $300 + bikes direct from shwinn P.S adjust the back of the seat up so its leval after your weight pushes it down
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 14 for 26" Men's Schwinn Point Beach Cruiser Bike

Great Bike

10/07/2009
By ,
Palm Harbor Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I usually buy bikes at local bike shops, but thought I would give Walmart a try when I saw the huge price difference between the two. I am very happy I made this decision and saved quite a bit of money. This bike is just what I wanted for riding around the neighborhood and on the local bike trail to the beach. Assembly was very easy as most of it was done already. Just had to make some minor brake cable adjustments after getting it together. The box was quite large and I had a heck of a time getting it in the back seat area of my car. It comes double boxed, so you can remove the outer box if necessary. On my second ride to the beach today I got my first compliment on the bike and when I told the person where I got it, she said she was going to get one too. At first I wasn't crazy about getting a red bike, but it is offset with white and the chrome fenders, so it looks pretty good. The seat is very comfortable and I needed the rack to carry towels and a lock cable. You got to love Walmart for great prices and value and you will love this bike if you like this style of riding.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 15 for 26" Men's Schwinn Point Beach Cruiser Bike

Great product - very, very poor manual

07/16/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased an unassembled Schwinn Point Beach bicycle via ship-to-store and did the assembly myself.
I want to be very clear; I like this bike now that I have it assembled and adjusted. I would like to recommend it to people, but I don’t feel that I can do so because of the issues that I found or experienced assembling this bike.
Here is what I found:
1. The rear brake pads were not a set. They were two pads for the left side of the caliper. (The replacement parts are being sent.)
2. The front caliper was labeled as if it were a rear caliper. That is there were markings for left and right but they were on the reverse side of the bicycle. There was no indication in the manual if the front and rear calipers were the same part or if I had an incorrect part. (Clarified by support.)
3. The front fender needed about a 1/8” spacer to stop the fender from hitting the forks and rattling.
4. The pre-assembled rear fender did not have enough clearance between the brake cable cover and the rear fender. (It squeaked.) I fixed the clearance by was able to forcing the fender down at the center attachment and allowing the rear supports to overlap the wheel nuts.
5. There were no instructions on mounting the front reflector style that was included with this bike.
6. The packing material covering the rear carrier came off which caused some marring of the paint on that part.
7. There was a major mold “nib” on the front tire which hit the front brake pads. The sound produced was very much like a bad bearing. It took me about an hour to figure out that it was not a bearing.
8. The front Schwinn decal was partially detached.
9. The pre-assembled rear brake caliper had one spring which was not properly in the holder. As a result there was no return action for that side of the brake.
The biggest issue though is with the instructions themselves. I am mechanically inclined and experienced. I have restored classic cars and worked on bikes as a kid. I have assembled a lot of toys and devices; the manual for this bike is simply the worst that I have seen. I don’t know how to say that any clearer. Simply the worst. Everything requires the customer to figure out which set of instructions apply to the model purchased; there are no model specific diagrams – not even a picture of the bike. It’s like a puzzle with no picture on the box. There is no parts list and no additional information on the internet.
I can say that customer support was very helpful. The replacement parts were sent out promptly and they helped solve issue number 2 above.
Walmart shipped this in a heavy outer box with no "Up" markings. The inner Schwinn box was covered with warnings about not laying down the box and the "up" direction. The box may have been laid on its side which contributed to number 6. above.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Review 16 for 26" Men's Schwinn Point Beach Cruiser Bike

About what you'd expect

05/31/2009
By ,
Phillipsburg, NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Assembly was easy. Paint quality was somewhat poor. The rack on the back of the bike is really only painted on top. Underneath it looked like it only got a glancing blow with a paint sprayer. The Fenders are really cheap. just a little thicker than tinfoil, but then again if they were thicker they would weigh more. I am 6' tall so this bike is rather small for me and as far as the ride comfort I am a bit cramped.
The handlebars, again, seem flimsy. I'll bet I could bend them with my bare hands if I tried. It's been years since I've owned a bicycle, so maybe they built them heavier back then. The gears work well, but I don't expect this bike to last more than a few years at best. If you are new to cycling this bike is an inexpensive way to have fun. More serious cyclists should be prepared to spend literally twice as much and more for a good quality bike that will last for many years.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 17 for 26" Men's Schwinn Point Beach Cruiser Bike

Overall-Best-Bang-For-Buck !!!

11/15/2009
By ,
Sanford, Maine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hello,I have been a tinkerer all my life and a welder/fabricator for 40 yrs.Reasently I have gotten into building motorized bicycles as a hobby.The first motorized bike I built was a Schwinn Single speed cruiser that I purchased at my local wal-mart. My nephew HAD to have so I sold it to him.I promptly started searching for another bike to motorize and came across a Point-Beach in another wal-mart and fell in love.The Candy apple red and pearl white looks georgeous together.The aluminum Tig welded frame is put together to last and the seven speeds and brakes are very good quality.I've shopped around and you wo'nt find a better bike for twice the price.I've built and sold 5 Schwinn Point-Beaches
so far and have cleaned out every wal-mart in the area.Now I'm having them drop shipped to my house.This is working out even better as they are in my garage three days after they are ordered.The assembly is very easy all you need is a 15mm wrench and a set of allen wrenches.I would recommend you take the bike to a local bike shop for a tune-up to adjust the brakes and shifting.other than that enjoy.Wal-Mart also carries some dress-up accessories that really will make others drool.Like wide white wall tires,brown seat and tool kit,old style pedals and more.I wish there was more stars as this is a great value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 18 for 26" Men's Schwinn Point Beach Cruiser Bike

A could be better product

05/27/2008
By ,
Kansas City
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Assembly instructions were not that good. Front fender did not fit and had to be left off.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+2points
Review 19 for 26" Men's Schwinn Point Beach Cruiser Bike

very satisfied!

01/05/2009
By ,
Nashville, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My sisters and I decided to buy our father a bicycle for Christmas. My husband had looked around for a good bicycle with just enough speeds for our dad to handle that also looked nice. He had been using a vintage bicycyle my older sister got for Christmas many many years ago. This bicycle was perfect for him. We ordered it online. It was shipped right before Christmas very quickly! We were impressed with the quick service and with the bicycle too. He loved it. It has the vintage look we were looking for and it is just the right speed for him. It was his favorite present for sure!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+1point
Review 20 for 26" Men's Schwinn Point Beach Cruiser Bike

Great product at a great price

12/05/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a beach cruiser for a while and only found the $300 + price range in bicycle stores. I found in this bike online and saw one at KMart that was a black version and $50 more. Once I saw this bike in person I knew that it was the absolutley best deal around.
The bike came 80% assembled (only the tires, seat and handlebars were not attached), took 5 minutes to put togthere. Bike is the best youll find for under $300.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
1-20 of 111 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next