Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Pacific Cycle 700c Schwinn Varsity Carbon Fiber Road Bike

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Pacific Cycle 700c Schwinn Varsity Carbon Fiber Road Bike

The original name in road bikes, the Schwinn Varsity CF is back on the road, bike path or sidewalk. Schwinn's sleek, classic, handcrafted carbon fiber wrapped lightweight aluminum road frame is built up with STI 7-speed shifters and a 14-speed Shimano Sora drivetrain for a ride that's equally responsive on hills and flats. Alloy pedals with toe clips and straps round out the package.
Average Customer Rating:
4.583 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
9
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation92%11 out of 12reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
9
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for 700c Schwinn Varsity Carbon Fiber Road Bike

Great Value!!!

11/11/2007
By ,
DeSoto, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was skeptical about this purchase at first because of the brand and the fact that I wanted a good starter road bike. Once I rode it, I found that with some fine tuning on the shifters and a set of clipless pedals I would be able to ride with the much more expensive bikes. That makes this a great starter bike at an exceptional value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 2 for 700c Schwinn Varsity Carbon Fiber Road Bike

Excellent value

02/09/2009
By ,
Spring, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've owned this bike for eight months, ridden it 1,000 miles and competed in two sprint triathlons. I give this bike excellent reviews as a value for the money.
You should understand that this is not actually a carbon fiber bike - it is carbon wrapped aluminum. Still, the bike weighs about 23 pounds, about 4 pounds more than bikes in the $1500 range.
The bike is sturdy, aerodynamic and can be easily upgraded with clipless pedals, thinner tires and aerobars to increase speed.
I regularly ride with people on much more expensive bikes and have no trouble keeping up. In a recent 50-mile group ride I passed people who were pushing their $3,000 bikes up the hill.
Many times it's more about the rider's fitness than the cost of the bike. Get out there and ride!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 3 for 700c Schwinn Varsity Carbon Fiber Road Bike

Good price, but...

10/22/2008
By ,
Woodbridge, NJ
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
If it needs any tweaking...guess what..you're paying for it unless you get Walmart to take it back. Schwinn only covers parts..no labor. About a week after purchase I heard a noise coming from the crankset; I made the adjustments after I got the proper tools. Also, forget about this bike as a hill climber, it's only 14 speed with a double in the front...no good for hills. The tires are cheap Kendas, not to mention an oddball size(700x26c).
If you can do your own repairs..the bike is OK...if not...you better have a bike shop adjust everything within 30 days.
IMHO..spend about $400 more and get a Trek 1.2 from a bike shop.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 4 for 700c Schwinn Varsity Carbon Fiber Road Bike

Great entry to middle level bike

09/01/2008
By ,
Monticello
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As my first road bike, I have had nothing but great riding experiences. Indeed, its a great value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 5 for 700c Schwinn Varsity Carbon Fiber Road Bike

VERY GOOD BIKE

01/22/2009
By ,
Canton, MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this bike several weeks ago and love it. I have had no problems with it. Rode 16 miles one weekend with no problem. Rode 12 miles another weekend with no problem. Days between I just rode short rides with no problem. This bike really was a good buy. I have no regrets.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 6 for 700c Schwinn Varsity Carbon Fiber Road Bike

great value

06/08/2008
By ,
LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a good, durable, light bike for the money. Try and find a better one for cheaper.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 7 for 700c Schwinn Varsity Carbon Fiber Road Bike

Great Bike

10/28/2008
By ,
Atlanta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first road bike so I don't have much to compare it to, but it is a very solid entry level bike. The integrated brake shifters is something you normally find on a much more expensive bike. Like any bike, it needs a few adjustments to get everything just right. Once dialed in, it shifts very smooth and stops on a dime. I recently rode this bike 31 miles and had a blast with it! I would definitely recommend this bike. Also, check your local store because my store had it on clearance all the way down to $249!!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 8 for 700c Schwinn Varsity Carbon Fiber Road Bike

Better than expected

03/04/2009
By ,
Louisville, Ky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is one of the best purchases I ever made. I bought this bike used and it had new liners put in for the tire issues mentioned. The first day I got it, I rode 10 miles and loved every minute of it. I would definitely recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 9 for 700c Schwinn Varsity Carbon Fiber Road Bike

700c Varsity CF

03/08/2009
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a great bike, if you are in a remote area and do not have a good bike shop or all the bike shops in your area are only selling bikes for over $1000. My first complaint is that the front wheel was damaged in shipping. This is not cool if you have to deal with replacing it. The other issue is that the crank set gears are stamped not machined. This is an issue if you are riding over 10 miles a day. For a light weight starter bike this is not bad at all. I feel that the frame handle bar seat shifters brakes and wheels are about the same quality as the more expensive bikes. However, you should consider spending $50-$150 for a much better bike from a performance bike shop. Only 14 gears, a little bit more $$ and you can get better quality gears and an extra 7 to choose from. 14 gears are fine for flats but the extra 7 really helps on the hills. Ended up returning this bike. Loved the frames finish black carbon fiber looked really cool.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 10 for 700c Schwinn Varsity Carbon Fiber Road Bike

Great Bike for the Money and beginner

09/19/2008
By ,
Columbus, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After looking at what it was going to cost me to get a beginner road bike at some local bike shops I decided to give this one a shot. It costs somewhere between $200-400 less than what I could find for a decent bike. I've probably put about 100miles on the bike so far. After the first 15mile ride I realized I needed a new seat, the stock one isn't too comfy on long or short rides. Really a good buy for beginners looking to get out and start riding.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 11 for 700c Schwinn Varsity Carbon Fiber Road Bike

700c Schwinn Varsity Carbon Fiber Road Bike

08/12/2008
By ,
Colorado
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It was pretty easy to put together. I was a little disappointed that it took so long to ship. They say 7 to 10 days but it took 13. Over all the bike is pretty light, not pro light, but light enough for a beginner. The shifters are off a little and I haven't been able to adjust them to shift smooth yet. I've taken it out on the road three times and twice I've had a flat. You've got to remember that these tires are thin. Also don't purchase slime to fix a flat it just keeps blowing out. It's a nice bike for the price. Try it out you'll love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 12 for 700c Schwinn Varsity Carbon Fiber Road Bike

great bike

02/05/2009
By ,
hayward, ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bike works excellent out of the box, great shifting system. For the cost, this is an excellent buy for starting out on the road.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points