Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Magnavox Magnavox DVD/VCP Player, DV200MW8

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Magnavox Magnavox DVD/VCP Player, DV200MW8

The Consumer Alert message below is also applicable to this DVD/VCP due to its analog broadcast tuner. CONSUMER ALERT: This model does not have a built-in tuner for recording TV programs and will not record copy-protected tapes or discs. For more information, call the Federal Communications Commission at 1-888-225-5322 (TTY: 1-888-835-5322) or visit the Commission's digital television website at: www.dtv.gov . Watch your favorite movies on DVD or VHS with equal ease. You won't ever have to worry about not being able to play the correct format again. This dual deck player takes care of that problem, and at a great price, too.
Average Customer Rating:
2.935 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(77 Reviews) 67
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
19
4 stars
18
3 stars
6
2 stars
7
1 star
27
Customer Recommendation51%39 out of 77reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
19
4 stars
18
3 stars
6
2 stars
7
1 star
27
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Magnavox DVD/VCP Player, DV200MW8

worth the money

02/07/2008
By ,
Colorado
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This unit is very basic and easy to use. It has no frills, just plays movies with a good quality picture and good sound. I had a problem with the DVD not working on the 2nd time it was used. I called their customer service number and they walked me through fixing the problem in under 10 minutes. Last winter we had 3 blizzards in 4 weeks. This poor unit was used for hours every day. Since then I've used it several times a week for almost a year. For the price, it's a great buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 22 for Magnavox DVD/VCP Player, DV200MW8

Doesn't last long

12/16/2007
By ,
Athens, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Just like several other reviewers here, I got caught up by the price of this player, and unfortunately, this is a typical case of "you get what you pay for". I had the unit for about 2 months before the DVD portion stopped working (just wouldn't read anything, as if there were no disc inserted). I kept it simply because I didn't have another VCR, but after 6 months now, that part has stopped working as well. What a piece of junk.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 23 for Magnavox DVD/VCP Player, DV200MW8

You get what you pay for

03/09/2008
By ,
MO
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This dvd/vcr combo worked for about 6 months, then it all of a sudden quit playing vcr tapes. We purchased it primarily because of the dual option. We contacted the company and of course were reminded that it only has a 90 warranty. They did offer to repair the unit for a labor cost of $45, which wasn't much less than what we paid for it initially. Needless to say, we would not purchase another one of this brand.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 24 for Magnavox DVD/VCP Player, DV200MW8

Ya get what you pay for

11/18/2007
By ,
Texas
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We replaced our dvd player with this one last christmas. It stopped working about 6 months ago. But when it did work and you would press the open button for the DVD player it would take about 3 mins for it to open, or it would just switch back to VCR. It was the chepest vcr/dvd my walmart sold thats what we bought. Maybe ours was a leamon but Magnavox just isnt that good anymore.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 25 for Magnavox DVD/VCP Player, DV200MW8

Waste of time and money!

11/03/2007
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this at the local WalMart store. It was easy to set up but that was the only positive thing I can say about it. It was so bad that we took it back the same day - VCR would accept tapes but not play them, DVD would not open, controls only worked intermittantly. It was a waste of time and money and I would strongly warn anyone thinking about buying one to keep looking.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
0points
Review 26 for Magnavox DVD/VCP Player, DV200MW8

very space saving product

01/02/2008
By ,
Joplin, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have not had a chance to really use this product since we have had a power outage and it knocked the satelite receiver out which in turn knocked our tv out but I have tried it out and I am very pleased with it. The actual reason I purchased this product was to play the dvd movies that I have downloaded from the computer onto dvd's but it will not do that.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 27 for Magnavox DVD/VCP Player, DV200MW8

Piece of Junk

12/08/2007
By ,
Bella Vista, AR
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Like so many of the people commenting on this project, I got caught by the
low price on this item. It lasted about 4 months and the DVD quit
working. The VCR skips and flips no matter what type of tape you use.
VERY POOR QUALITY. And, as stated, NO WARRANTY ! ! This piece of junk
is headed to the dumpster (the one behind Wal*Mart)...
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 28 for Magnavox DVD/VCP Player, DV200MW8

Not worth it.

01/16/2008
By ,
McRae, Arkansas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When I ordered this product it was because of the price. I have purchased Magnavox items before and I liked them. This is not the case. I would not work and I had to return it to the store after I spent about 7 hours trying to get it hooked up and it still did not work. Don't waste your time and money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 29 for Magnavox DVD/VCP Player, DV200MW8

not worth the money

02/05/2008
By ,
new york state
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have never bought anything that breaks so easily.... I've had to exchange my dvd/vcp 3 times in less than 6 months before finally switching to a different brand player that works great.... and magnavox was no help at all as far as customer service. PLEASE don't waste your time or your money on this.
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Never
0points
Review 30 for Magnavox DVD/VCP Player, DV200MW8

This is an "Very Good" vcr/dvd

07/30/2007
By ,
Kansas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It was very affordable. It shows crystal clear. Sometimes the dvd gets stuck in the dvd player. But overall I give it 4 stars!
Good Job Magnavox! They did a good job making it!
If you are thinking about getting a vcr/dvd combo that is cheap and works like an expensive one get this dvd/vcr combo!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Once per year
0points
Review 31 for Magnavox DVD/VCP Player, DV200MW8

VHS /DVD player

01/05/2008
By ,
Albemarle NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recently at Christmas we purchase this VHS/DVD player for my son, after it took a little extra time connecting it to his TV, (a little patience), it has been great plus it was very inexpensive, which is good for kids, just incase they may break something, you have not invested a lot of money.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 32 for Magnavox DVD/VCP Player, DV200MW8

Not what I expected...

09/07/2007
By ,
TX
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
It doesn't say so on the label, but I couldn't find how this hooks up with the TV. I think it only works on VHS and DVD, but not with cable. So, I will take it back. I think it should be more specific as to it's capabilities and limitations on the box, to avoid any unpleasant surprises.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 33 for Magnavox DVD/VCP Player, DV200MW8

Not Worth The Money

02/05/2008
By ,
Kentucky
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this product because of the brand name and the price but found out after trying for 2 hours to get it to work that it was not worth buying. The only way it was going to work was if I bought extra cables,so I would have been better off just paying more for another product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 34 for Magnavox DVD/VCP Player, DV200MW8
01/30/2008
By ,
Plainfield, NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I brought this player christmas of '07 for my 8yr old son so that he could watch his vcr tapes and his dvds. The vcr and dvd player work very well but I have yet to learn to work the programming on this player. Its good for the kids if your just looking to play tapes and dvds.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 35 for Magnavox DVD/VCP Player, DV200MW8

Junk!

11/30/2007
By ,
Utah
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This DVD/VCR combo is junk! I received it as a gift and it only worked for 6 months! It ate my son's video and then stopped working altogether. I had to take it apart just to get the movie out.
I would definitely recommend spending a little more $ to get a far better product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
0points
Review 36 for Magnavox DVD/VCP Player, DV200MW8
12/09/2007
By ,
Montgomery Co. Pennsylvania
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Not a bad product. Keep in mind it is ONLY a player and NOT a recorder. But it does the job. I waited until I had it for 5 weeks to write this review. If anything happens to it, I let you know. It is a way to clean up the clutter near the TV, by combining 2 units into 1.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 37 for Magnavox DVD/VCP Player, DV200MW8

It broke

01/04/2008
By ,
Alabama
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Purchased the product and within a month the vcr tore up my tapes. The dvd's door would not open and the rented dvd was stuck. Fortunately, my son got it to open somehow. The dvd plays fine now, but the vcr won't play and when testing another tape it tore it up as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 38 for Magnavox DVD/VCP Player, DV200MW8

Very Disappointing

02/20/2008
By ,
Schoharie NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I got this product for christmas, and to this day 2 months after still i havent got it to work, i cant connect it to the direct tv box or to the tv matter of fact. it has different plugs and set up than my old one. we bought ever plug suggested and still it wont work
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Never
0points
Review 39 for Magnavox DVD/VCP Player, DV200MW8

Died after 6 months?

11/04/2007
By ,
New York
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product died after 6 months literally. I had to get a butter knife to force open the dvd door and get the movie out because it wont turn on. Dont buy this, spend the extra $10 and get a better model. Also, the layout of the remote control is horrible.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 40 for Magnavox DVD/VCP Player, DV200MW8

Waste of money

12/07/2007
By ,
Woodland Maine
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this VRC/DVD player because of the low price. I love to watch Tv so I bought this product as a back up incase my VCR broke.
1 year later I took it out of the box and it worked for 1 week and died.
Do not buy this DVD/VCR player by Magnavox.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Never
0points
21-40 of 68 total reviews