Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Maytex Velvet Blackout Energy Efficient Curtain Panel

Maytex Velvet Blackout Energy Efficient Curtain Panel

The Velvet Blackout Energy Efficient Curtain Panel is a lovely and versatile choice with the added benefit of blackout. Multi-purpose acetate blackout lining offers many advantages - blocks outdoor light, reduces noise for better sleep and offers a more authentic home theater experience. This home theater curtain reduces heat and light in warm weather and insulates to keep out cold during winter months. The rich velvet texture of this window panel provides a grand look, which enhances a variety of contemporary interiors. Two curtain panels cover an entire standard window. This velvet window panel is available in two sizes and a range of colors that include black, chocolate, dark red and olive green.
Average Customer Rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(156 Reviews) 121
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
87
4 stars
37
3 stars
21
2 stars
6
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation88%138 out of 156reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
32 Questions | 82 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
87
4 stars
37
3 stars
21
2 stars
6
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Velvet Blackout Energy Efficient Curtain Panel

Great product

12/19/2012
By ,
st petersburg, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very efficient insulating and very nice looking velvet finish.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Velvet Blackout Energy Efficient Curtain Panel

This is a perfect cotton velvet curtain

04/10/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was so surprised by how beautiful and thick the curtains were when I received them. The velvet is so nice and smooth, and the curtain totally blocks noise and light, which I like so much. I combined the curtains with red and stripe valances I bought from JCPenny and they make the window look so amazing. I totally recommend this, and in the attached pictures I used 6 velvet panels.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 02/14/2014
How many curtains come with it is it like the picture and comes with 4 or is it just 1?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Velvet Blackout Energy Efficient Curtain Panel

Living up to its description!

03/28/2014
By ,
Somerdale, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this product if you want to darken your room during movie time or you want to block the sun from coming inside the room. In order to achieve the theatre look, depending on the dimensions of your window, my window size is 40x60 and I bought 2 for 1 window. I am planning to add more for my living room. As you can see in the picture I posted here I just hang it as it is, and you can clearly see how it blocks the light effectively.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Velvet Blackout Energy Efficient Curtain Panel

Not as wide as a normal curtain

02/08/2014
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
These are decent curtains for the money, and appreciate that they have a white back to them so the sun doesn't discolor the black fabric (which is what happened to my previous ones from somewhere else)..however, they are skinnier panels than a normal curtain width, so you will need to get more than 2 if you want any pleating effect on a standard 6 ft wide sliding glass door. I bought 3 (see picture). The color is the pic doesn't quite do them justice as they are a nice deep black. It took some effort to get them to look decent out of the package though...I sprayed them with water then ironed them all before hanging because they are quite wrinkled and have a slight odor to them at first. Overall, however, I am happy with my purchase.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Velvet Blackout Energy Efficient Curtain Panel

Nice curtains

12/16/2013
By ,
Neenah
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought these for a basement home theater, knowing the color is burgundy. They look elegant and really help with the theater ambience.
They are great for that purpose. Check out the picture.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Velvet Blackout Energy Efficient Curtain Panel

Blackout Curtain Review

10/28/2010
By ,
Erie, Pa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
These drapes are made in China. They are 100 percent Cotton with a 100 percent Acrylic backing. The material, itself, is thin, but the backing makes the drapes feel thick. I personally ordered 12 of the wine colored panels. Of the 12 panels that I received, the backing of four of them was stuck together in the package and upon unfolding those drapes, the backing pulled off the drapes and the material even tore on one of the panels simply trying to unfold the drapes from the package. Now, holding those up to a window, it appears as though they have large holes in them and I have never even had them on the windows yet. I did a corner mount with the remaining drapes as in the advertising photo. I used 3/4 inch metal electrical conduit as drapery rods. You can get the rounded corner effect with electrical conduit parts that you can buy along with the conduit. The corner parts are curved and about a foot long. While hanging these drapes, I went into fits of sneezing. I'm not prone to allergies, but these drapes caused me to sneeze for a long period of time. The drapes look really nice once they are up and hung. I had planned for two 40 inch panels to cover each 40 inch area. That gave me enough for the "folds" in the drape and it seemed sufficient. You can wash these in cold water and hang to dry. The directions said you can use a warm iron on the face side if desired. I didn't.
Aside from looking nice once in place, they "did" muffle the sound in the room a lot. Let's face it, the drapes are cheap and you get what you pay for. I, too, strongly recommend ordering extra panels.. more, perhaps, than you think you feel you might need... because, remember, 25 percent of what I had ordered was damaged coming out of the package when the Acrylic backing was all stuck together. I probably would have returned the damaged panels, but I plan on using the undamaged parts of them to make throw pillows to match the curtians...so all is not wasted. I'm a 62 year old man with no talent for hanging drapes and I got pretty fair results. You should be able to as well.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+58points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Velvet Blackout Energy Efficient Curtain Panel

BE CAUTIOUS

01/14/2012
By ,
Venice CA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased 10 panels about three years ago. After searching high and low, these were the most affordable room darkening and insulating panels I could find. They arrived in good time and in good shape. The looked great and worked wonderfully. I have a beach building built in the early 1900's and for those who are unfamiliar - beaches are COLD in the winter and TOO HOT in the summer. These were purchased to block out light AND extreme in temperatures and they do both really really well. HOWEVER - if you plan to open and close these drapes with any frequency at all, you really should mount them with rings that easily slide on your rod. If you push them aside by hand, even carefully, you will be enormously disappointed. The seams were DRY ROTTED. However, I would never have known that if I'd just hung them up and let them sit there untouched. It's the moving the curtains aside that revealed, VERY QUICKLY, that the seams will literally shred. I have ten panels, six of which I have moved aside regularly to expose views, sun, etc. And now I have to mend ALL six of those panels because the strip of fabric that is the drape is literally hanging by two or three rotting threads from the strip of fabric that contains the rod pocket. I have to use my sewing machine with zig zag stitching to mend all these curtains, and I find that REALLY UNACCEPTABLE. Seriously - you cannot trust these curtains to last. The thread is rotten. You can only imagine how long these curtain panels sat in some unairconditioned warehouse or some humid ship until landing on US shores. BUY WITH CAUTION. The curtains WORK TO BLOCK LIGHT but if you plan to touch them at all, look for a better quality product.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+37points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Velvet Blackout Energy Efficient Curtain Panel

High-end look for a reasonable price

02/17/2012
By ,
Austin, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got 6 of these to wrap around a bay window area in a master suite and they look gorgeous!
Curtains:
The panel comes with a lining. The height of the panels are quite uniform. The velvet outer material is not as plush as I would prefer, but for the price, I can't complain. The Olive Green was beautiful and went perfectly with my color scheme. I was so pleased with the look that I ordered an extra panel and upholstered the headboard with the fabric.
Shipping:
Walmart shipped it to store promptly and emailed/text-ed me notification to pick up.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Velvet Blackout Energy Efficient Curtain Panel

Nice, But You Have to Give 'Em a Little Love First

09/28/2013
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
When you remove the curtains from their plastic bags, you might be disappointed by the stiffness, quantity of deep-set wrinkles and areas where the nap is mashed, resulting in a mass of matte and shiny spots. (After reading other reviews, I wasn't expecting perfection, but was a little surprised by how much of a mess they were. And by the monster-mess they created! It was like someone set off a lint bomb in my apartment!)
Much to my surprise, they look great now.
First I spritzed down the velvety side so that they were damp but not soaked. Then I tossed them into the dryer on low-to-no heat for a half-hour. They emerged from the dryer softer and more fluid, relatively wrinkle-free with the acrylic surface intact. I had ordered four and was happy to see that they were still all similar in length.
Now that they're up, they look nice. They darken the room well. And the backing seems to help keep my apartment cooler during the day.
PS The description says velvet but they're actually velveteen.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Velvet Blackout Energy Efficient Curtain Panel

excellent appearance for a reasonable price

04/23/2012
By ,
Houston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recently purcharsed 9 panels of this velvet blackout curtains for new home theater room. The picture show a ruffle cassing at top of rod. This drape does not have this its a straight flat gathered pleat. I ordered 95" but needed 93" length. Fortunately i am handy with straighlines on a sewing machine and made a top header casing of 2". THis made them the length I needed with ruffle at the top I was expecting. In addition, I stiched 2 and 3 panels together side by side to eliminate light coming through the gaps in the panels. The center opening I lined with self stick verlcro tape (puchased at Lowes) and they can be closed so there is absolutely no light coming in at all. They must be steam ironed on the velvet side to look nice. I did not notice the "smell" some people mentioned. People mentioned "small holes" but they are only noticeable in direct sunlight and do not distract. Excellent value compared to others I looked at but did take me some time to get them custominzed for my purposes. They are heavy and look luxurious hanging. I purchased double window width for the full luxurious look. I am very pleased with this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Velvet Blackout Energy Efficient Curtain Panel

blackout curtains

08/01/2010
By ,
Wasco, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
these curtains were replacing our old ones which we purchased when we first bought our home. these curtains have helped keep our energy bill down by blocking out the majority of the light when the sun is shining full on the front of our house. It helps us sleep longer when the sun is rising at our bedroom window. It is made of cotton with Acrylic white backing. It does have an odd smell out of the package but it goes away. Measuring guide: up to 29" wide-1 panel, 30-39" -2 panels, 40-48" wide -2-3 panels, 49-72" wide, 3-4 panels, 73-96" wide -4-5 panels, 97-120"wide -5-6 panels.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+115points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Velvet Blackout Energy Efficient Curtain Panel

Very nice curtain panels

06/23/2011
By ,
Missisippi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I researched curtains for a long time before making this purchase. The main reason was that I hadn't bought them in such a long time. We have bamboo blinds in all our windows and just preferred the look. I sleep during the day and have several kitties. In order to let them look out during the day, was trying to find a solution for the light coming in the window with the blinds up a little. This was a perfect!
First, be aware that this comes in panels, not a set of curtains. So be sure you order enough for your window(s). As far as appearance, I have absolutely no complaints. They're rather rich looking and hang well. For you folks with cats, they can easily open the center or go around the sides without disturbing the lights out effect. Oh, I got the chocolate and it's a deep color, very pretty. I had read other reviews that said these curtains block out sound, as well as light. Didn't really buy that part, but they do! We have a good bit of traffic on our street and I haven't heard any of it since putting these up. And they do a great job of blocking out the light.
I can't attest to the washing or cleaning because I haven't had them long enough. I would imagine you could use a damp rag on them occasionally and do the trick. I know I've been long winded, but I had to look a long time and thought a thorough review might help someone else. Happy shopping!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Velvet Blackout Energy Efficient Curtain Panel
09/06/2009
By ,
san diego, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
looks very good and does the job.
read the reviews before my purchase so I knew the color was going to be burgundy/red wine color and not red, which is perfect.
blocks out the light very good for my home theater room.
The only thing I can stress is that you need to make sure you order the correct amount of panels.
you get one per order and you may as well cut the width in half in order to get the curtains to look like they do in the pictures.
the measurement is for the panels being total flat.
I have 80inch windows so i figured 3 would work but I ended up ordering one more and now I have the desired look.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Velvet Blackout Energy Efficient Curtain Panel
02/08/2011
By ,
NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the second set of these drapes I have purchased. The first set for my living room, the second for my mom. I bought mine last year and love them so much I got a set this winter for my mom's sliding glass doors. They do a fabulous job of blocking cold air in the winter and the hot sun in the summer because they are truly blackout. They dampen noise real well too. I did take them down for awhile last spring and folded them velvet to velvet and put them in a zippered storage bag. When I took them out I thought I would have to deal with wrinkles, but they had none! I highly recommend these, they save on energy bills as well as noisy neighbors!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Velvet Blackout Energy Efficient Curtain Panel

Good for blackout

02/24/2014
By ,
Fort Worth, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
These curtains do what they say the do, and that is blackout the light. The definitely work very well on removing most of the light, however I am skeptical that the material is really velvet. Seems like some kind of cheaper quality material. Still, they look good and they work well.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Velvet Blackout Energy Efficient Curtain Panel

Great light blocker

11/03/2007
By ,
Orlando, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I put these up in my living room where a window is on the west side. Even with miniblinds I couldn't use my TV in the afternoon. These curtains changed that. They are not red - they are a wine color.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+99points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
San Jose
Panels
Posted 10/09/2012
By any chance can you tell me if this is one or two panels?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for Velvet Blackout Energy Efficient Curtain Panel

Velvet black out drapes

02/06/2014
By ,
Kennesaw, Georgia
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Cannot say I would or would not recommend these to a friend because the color was absolutely NOT what I wanted at all. The dark red looks more like dried blood or plum than anything in the red family. I DO NOT KNOW the value or quality of these because I never opened the package when I say how NOT RED they are.
I returned them to my local store. Must also say, I was extremely upset and disappointed over how they were PACKAGED, really!! ONE Panel to a shipping box x 8 panels each with a shipping invoice. NOT GREEN, a real WASTE of cardboard AND I have to walk to my apartment complex office to pick up packages, this was EIGHT boxes to carry UP HILL and then up 40 steps. Just as much fun to repackage (glad that I only opened one box) and return to the local store---ON THE BUS.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Velvet Blackout Energy Efficient Curtain Panel

NICE drapes if you don't mind wrinkles!

03/12/2014
By ,
Chippewa Falls
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
These are really pretty drapes, I got the choclate. They appear to be well made and they are heavy! BUT, you have never in your lifetime seen wrinkles like these! Took them to the dry cleaners to see if he could press them. He said, 'no'. Said that due to the fact they were folded around card board, which forces the wrinkle in further it would probably make them look like two different colors! Due to the fact that they are velvet [velvateen] would just make it worse.
That being said, I am going to keep them anyway, they match my new couch perfectly! The fact they are so dark, the wrinkles don't show up as much and who knows maybe they will hang out?
Hope this helps.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Velvet Blackout Energy Efficient Curtain Panel

Lovely AND efficient

02/11/2014
By ,
Sussex Cty, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was hesitant about choosing 'energy efficient' curtains since my experience of items so described is that they are entirely too stiff with NO sense of grace or flow. These curtains have a wonderful hand, maintain a graceful flow, and, amazingly, block the wall of frigid air emanating from my sliders. I couldn't be more pleased!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Velvet Blackout Energy Efficient Curtain Panel

excellent quality

03/24/2014
By ,
KCKs
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
put these in my living room to stop drafts and they work great....
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 122 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next