Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Athletic Works Athletic Works - Men's Performance Shorts

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Athletic Works Athletic Works - Men's Performance Shorts

When you test your body's limits, you can expect these shorts to match your performance level. As a base layer, this tee wicks away moisture, keeping you dry to regulate your body temperature. Compression properties help prevent muscle fatigue so you can go at it again the next day.
Average Customer Rating:
4.385 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
16
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation88%23 out of 26reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
16
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Athletic Works - Men's Performance Shorts

The skinny on skin tight.

07/30/2007
By ,
Philadelphia, Pa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
These undershorts are incredible. They fit very well and eliminate any sort of chaffing. However, the only down side is the lower area is not sewn together very well and I have developed some hole. A quick fix would be to reinforce the stitching down there. Another alteration I made was removing tag in the back as it made you itchy and irritated like crazy. It's the exact same material as Under Armour only you aren't paying the ridiculous price tag. If you are athletic or you don't like dealing with you're boxers bunching up on you, these are the shorts to get.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 2 for Athletic Works - Men's Performance Shorts

Great Shorts!

09/19/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have three pair of these shorts and they are incredibly great for running. I see a great decrease in comfort without them.
The seames on these are a little weak, but their "comrpession shorts" have a stronger seam and that is what I use (these are "performance shorts"). Either works but I like the compression ones better than the performance ones.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 3 for Athletic Works - Men's Performance Shorts

Great Deal

09/06/2008
By ,
Harlan, IA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son plays High School athletes and these are perfect. Why pay more when Wal-Mart has this great product for a reasonable price? We have had no difficulty with quality or seams ripping out. These shorts fit close to the body as they are supposed to and provide a bit of support. I will continue to buy from Wal-Mart. My son currently owns 4 pair. Two are white and two are black. One of the white pair were purchased over two years ago. I would have purchased them from the store rather than on-line but they don't show any signs of wearing out. I wash these in warm or hot water and dry in the dryer after each use. There seems to be no shrinkage. Four pair keeps me from having to do laundry every night during football and wrestling season.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 4 for Athletic Works - Men's Performance Shorts

Great Value for the Money

08/04/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had looked into Under Armor stuff before purchasing these and was scared away by the $30 price tag on the merchandise I wanted. I may still go get some as a reward when I get my body to the shape I want, but until then these work quite well. Though other customers seem to have had problems with sections of the seaming, I've had none, and realistically, reinforcing the seaming (or fixing a torn seam with this kind of fabric) is not all that difficult, and I'm not yet so rich that it's not worth my time to do so. I strongly recommend this product, particularly if you intend on upgrading to something better but don't want to spend that kind of money now.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 5 for Athletic Works - Men's Performance Shorts

meets expectations

03/31/2008
By ,
Mansfield, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was weary of buying these after reading how some of the other reviewers were having issues with the seams coming apart. I made the purchase anyway, as they are more than half the price of any other compression shorts around. Glad I bought them.
So far I haven't had a single problem with them. They are comfortable. The seams are holding up just fine. I use them when running....they really seem to help (that is, if I don't wear them I can tell a decrease in endurance and comfort).
A great product for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 6 for Athletic Works - Men's Performance Shorts

Great for girls too!

08/12/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was sad that Walmart didn't make Under Armour imitation gear for women, but in a moment of desperation, I tried on the men's stuff. I wear a size 3 and am almost 5"5' and the size smalls fit me fine. They are about the length of Bermuda shorts on me but the rise is actually good (low) and they stay in place great on my runs. The black is not see through at all either. While these aren't as fancy as real UA (the seams aren't as smooth and they have a tag), for $10, you can't beat 'em!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 7 for Athletic Works - Men's Performance Shorts

Very poor quality!

10/17/2007
By ,
Tallahassee, FL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I ordered 5 pairs of these shorts. These shorts are not well made. The stitching is so poor that when I opened the bag on one pair there were already holes where the seams came together. Of the pairs that were not already coming apart before I put them on, they started unraveling after the first few times I wore them. They are not a bargain at any price.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 8 for Athletic Works - Men's Performance Shorts

Great product

07/21/2008
By ,
Abilene, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These shorts are great for an athlete. Wear them under another pair of shorts for modesty and style. My only complaint was that we had a difficult time finding the size I wanted at the local Walmart, so I went on line and ordered them and had them sent site to site. They came quickly and I picked them up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 9 for Athletic Works - Men's Performance Shorts

Not good for running

03/29/2008
By ,
Roswell, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product is not a great pair of shorts for running. Since they do not have a drawstring like most higher end brand of compression shorts they do not stay in place so you end up constantly pulling them up. I bought two pair and will be returning the unused pair since I was not pleased with the first.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Styling
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 10 for Athletic Works - Men's Performance Shorts

A great tool for physical training

03/12/2008
By ,
Mannheim Germany
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have 2 pair of these shorts and I run intensely. I have found these shorts work very well under extreme climate conditions of Germany. I have not had any problems with the seams or anything. I wash them in cold water and dry in low heat.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for Athletic Works - Men's Performance Shorts

An excellent choice.

03/27/2008
By ,
Venice, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been using this brand of workout compression shorts for almost two years now (am on my 3rd pair) and love them. They are durable and very comfortable to wear. They also give good compression without binding.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for Athletic Works - Men's Performance Shorts

good buy

09/23/2007
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
These are great shorts for the price. They perform as well as any other brand of compression gear. The only downfall is the lower front seam stitching which may rip and cause a hole.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 13 for Athletic Works - Men's Performance Shorts
10/16/2008
By ,
Mitchell,IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bought these for my husband for when he plays softball. he wears them for every game. I have purchased a total of three over last year or so.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 14 for Athletic Works - Men's Performance Shorts

Super Spandie

06/04/2008
By ,
Bedford, NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product fits very well and is great for working out !! It helps my legs stay warm and makes me feel more secure when working out.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 15 for Athletic Works - Men's Performance Shorts

Good value

02/19/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The shorts are very comfortable. Have to be careful putting them on because of weak seams. I think these shorts are good buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for Athletic Works - Men's Performance Shorts

Sizing Chart

04/02/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just FYI:
Small: 30-32
Medium: 32-34
Large: 34-36
Great fit. Comforatble. Recommended. Great for those who are in the market.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for Athletic Works - Men's Performance Shorts

A very useful and helpful product

04/12/2008
By ,
Atlanta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Keeps you from chafing, great feel and is comfortable. Everyone who plays any sport should own at least two pair.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 18 for Athletic Works - Men's Performance Shorts

Great!

08/15/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The black shorts work great for swimming or under a wetsuit!!! Awesome product! Only downside, no cup pocket!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 19 for Athletic Works - Men's Performance Shorts

GREAT~~

03/18/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love these they are sooooo comfortable!!! they make your lower front body feel sooo slim!!! BUY THEM!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Ratings-Only Reviews for Athletic Works - Men's Performance Shorts
Based on the average of (7) ratings-only reviews
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Styling
2.9 out of 5
2.9 out of 5