Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for LED LifeLight with Crank Power and Mosquito Repelling Transmitter

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

LED LifeLight with Crank Power and Mosquito Repelling Transmitter

Life+Gear LED LifeLight with Crank Power and Mosquito Repelling Transmitter
Average Customer Rating:
4.362 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(47 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
28
4 stars
12
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation94%44 out of 47reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
28
4 stars
12
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for LED LifeLight with Crank Power and Mosquito Repelling Transmitter

What a great gadget

12/13/2007
By ,
Concord, Ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For quite some time I’ve been looking for some kind of lantern to take with me backpacking. I’ve been eyeing the Freeplay Indigo for some time, but the cost for such a small amount of features has prevented me from going out and buying it. While visiting my sisters, me and her walked into her local Walmart, and while walking around I came across this Life Light. I was at first impressed, then skeptical because of the $20 price. When I arrived home, I did a little research about the product and then went out and picked it up. Couldn’t wait to get home and play around with it. Messed with all the features and they all work quite well. The light is really bright, radio works pretty good (the small knob and ok quality at picking up weak signals are my only complaints there). The spot light was ok but nothing crazy and the siren is loud, but not the 120DB they mention. Don’t bother with the compass though, mine was a good 40-50 degrees off. I just make a mental note if I ever find myself ever having to use it. Build quality on the outside is pretty good, and it feels very solid. The dynamo actually feels pretty good. I then couldn’t help myself, had to open the thing up and look around and tinker. The first thing I noticed was it’s tiny 3.6v 120ma 1/3AAA stack. You would think that with such a small battery it wouldn’t last to long, but I was getting over 30 minutes with the light on high, and it played music from my iPod for what seemed to be forever. This thing also charged that little battery to 4.2v quite quick. I tested the dynamo and it’s output was almost a watt, impressive. The speaker isn’t exactly what they mention it to be, but it does the job pretty good for it’s 1.5 inch size and .5w peak rating. If I up the amplifier in the future I’ll be sure to replace it for something better. The build quality on the inside isn’t to bad, I’ve seen better, but I’ve seen much worse on even more expensive things. The phone charger feature does work, but with a twist. Because of the socket design, it cuts all power from the batteries when you plug in the phone charger plug. I tried to modify this by connecting the batteries after the switch so they would aid in charging the phone, but the initial voltage just wasn’t there, so I ended up putting it back to stock. The catch to charging my phone at least was to plug it in, and initially start spinning up the dynamo at a faster rate until it begins charging, then you could slow it down quite a bit. Your phone might be different though. The battery compartment in the bottom that allows you to install 3 AAA’s was one thing I really liked. Because of the small size of the internal battery, I wanted to up the total capacity of the unit by installing rechargeable AAA’s (they make 1000ma rechargeable AAA’s these days). Unfortunately because of the design of the unit, the dynamo wouldn’t charge them with the dynamo. After a simple modification of moving the positive lead from the battery compartment to the opposite side of the diode I was able to charge my rechargeable AAA’s with the dynamo. Make a note that doing this means you can no longer spin up the dynamo with alkaline batteries installed. They could leak or worse. Since I plan to only run rechargeable in this thing, this isn’t a problem for me. I tested the time on the light again on high and just gave up, took to long. And if it were to ever run low, I could recharge them again now. Overall I really like this thing. Fun little gadget I could goof around with and modify into my perfect unit. I’ve put some time on the dynamo (must have a combined time of 45-60 minutes of total winding) and it lightly squeaks, but that’s all. Oiled the knob at the end of the handle and problem solved. None the less, it’s a great product and I’d recommend it!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 2 for LED LifeLight with Crank Power and Mosquito Repelling Transmitter

Very Cool Item

07/31/2007
By ,
Orange County, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got one of these Lifelights. Wow!
Mega function is right! So much packed into a single lantern about the size of two stacked soda cans.
So cool. No batteries, just crank to charge. LED lights are plenty bright and it has a nightlight and flasher function too.
FM radio has a good sound and you can play your iPod through the speaker as well.
It comes with a Nokia adapter for charging cell phones and you can go online to the manufacturer to get adapters for other phone models.
The claims are true about phone charging. I got about two minutes of talk time from about 30 sec of cranking. 30 sec of cranking provided about 45 minutes of light, but if the radio is being used at the same time, its a bit less.
The compass on top is a neat feature you wouldn't normally expect.
Great item. I love mine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+17points
Review 3 for LED LifeLight with Crank Power and Mosquito Repelling Transmitter

Wow!

08/01/2007
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the best tool ever!! I am so thrilled with this purchase, I have been telling all my friends about it. The quality is impeccable and all the features will definitely come in handy when needed...Thank you Safety Cross...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Review 4 for LED LifeLight with Crank Power and Mosquito Repelling Transmitter

Great Product for Size & Price

01/03/2008
By ,
WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Has a lot going on for it - with all the light options, plug-ins, etc. Our Nokia phone fits right in the charger. Radio is great, and I found it easy to tune. It really works great with minimal physical exertion (unlike other products I've tried which require like 5 mins. of 120 rpms, etc.). You really only need to crank it 45 seconds. It also takes batteries - so that's a plus. My only recommendation to the manufacturer would be to add a small compartment to fit the small adaptors that come with it.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per month
+3points
Review 5 for LED LifeLight with Crank Power and Mosquito Repelling Transmitter

Purchased for Emergencies

11/10/2007
By ,
Ohio
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased this product after a lengthy power outage. I had flashlights with batteries, and even a flashlight that you shake to charge it. But I did not have a lantern that would run without batteries. One of the lanterns I had was dim due to the batteries, and I did not have those batteries in the house to replace it. That's when I thought I would look for one that had a hand crank generator (dynamo). I found this one at Wal-Mart, and for $20 ($30 less than the company sells for on their web site) I thought it was a good deal. It has 9 LED lights, with the option of 3 lit or all 9 lit. Even with all 9 lit, the light is not as bright as my battery powered lanterns, but it is better than holding a flashlight for multiple people (i.e, reading). The radio sounds ok, but the small dial makes it difficult to tune. There is also an additional 1 LED night light on the side. It also will blink and make a siren-like noise to get people's attention. The cell charger, however, is only for one-type of cell phone charging jack. You are supposed to get a free adapter for your specific phone on the web site, but it had a $5.95 shipping charge for each adapter! I did not like that.
Overall, I recommend this for the lantern, and primarily for when you don't have the batteries available for a better such device.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Review 6 for LED LifeLight with Crank Power and Mosquito Repelling Transmitter

Compact and lots of features!

07/19/2008
By ,
Danville, VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
NOTE: the MOSQUITO REPELLING sound is switched on by selecting the "Night Light" position on the 3 position switch (Siren/OFF/Night Light). Lots of features in such a small unit!
Size: We motorcycle camp, so our gear needs to be very portable, and this unit is small and packable, yet puts out plenty of light. **I found the data sheet/specs on the manufacturer's website to be very helpful, since no instructions come with the unit.
Bummer to have to pay shipping for adapters for our phones, but considering that Walmart's price for this unit is about HALF what the manufacturer charges for the LifeLight , I'm willing to pay the small shipping fee for the phone adapter!!
Additional bonus - Walmart sent an email stating the unit would show up by next Thursday, and it was delivered today (on Saturday), 5 days earlier than expected! Kudos!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 7 for LED LifeLight with Crank Power and Mosquito Repelling Transmitter

Life Gear Life Light

09/14/2007
By ,
Fort Hood, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought the light because I wanted a light with L.E.D.s I definitely was not disappointed with this one. Although I did not get the 30-45min time with the cranking, the light stayed lit and bright for some time. Also, if you put some rechargeable AAAs in the unit it stays lit for-e-ver!
My only beef with the unit is the sound of the alarm (surely not 130 decibels, surely not!) and I for the life of me cannot find or figure out where the mosquito repellent frequency-station-knob thingy is.
But all in all, excellent product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 8 for LED LifeLight with Crank Power and Mosquito Repelling Transmitter

Good All around Featurs

08/27/2007
By ,
Mt. Vernon VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comes in handy if you want to avoid carrying a large number of items in your pack.
The light illuminates the entire cabin and the night light is handy for the kids
The radio is a nice feature but is difficult to tune because the dial is very small and hard to get a decent grip on.
Also, nice to have the crank to provide power if the batteries run out.
Overall a nice product and would recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 9 for LED LifeLight with Crank Power and Mosquito Repelling Transmitter

neat idea, happy with purchase

08/19/2008
By ,
lambertville, mi
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
we used this mini lantern on our most recent camping trip. the crank-up feature is nice - no batteries! we were able to get a few radio stations. the LED light is very bright and has a couple different settings. It would light a small area on a picnic table, but don't count on it to serve as a flashlight for walks in the woods. the MP3 player is really cool. we actually used it in the car b/c we don't have an MP3 jack. The cranking will get you about 10-15 mins of MP3 use. We didn't use the mosquito repelling feature, so can't speak to that. the siren was loud and annoying -pretty much what you want a siren to be. overall we were very happy with it. one note- it is quite small, but that makes it light & portable, right?
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
0points
Review 10 for LED LifeLight with Crank Power and Mosquito Repelling Transmitter

nice camping tool

09/03/2008
By ,
TWIN CITIES, MN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good product, but adapter cable for cell phone charging did not fit as suggested but to Life Gears' credit (I e-mailed them) they sent me an adapter FREE that fits-impressive customer service. One other hitch with the product, the AM radio does not work, the FM does and that is all I care, especially for weather reports, pretty hard to hear an AM radio with lightening static anyways. Only had this light for 4 weeks but so far I am happy with it. Bought this for 3 main reasons, won't burn a child or burn down a tent, the LED lighting and because you can use rechargeable batteries, radio was a bonus. This is a perfect brightness (also has lighting selections) for a tent. Kids like the night light too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 11 for LED LifeLight with Crank Power and Mosquito Repelling Transmitter

Many uses

10/28/2008
By ,
Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this light online for a hunting trip, so I didnt actually see the product hands on and I thought it might be something I could throw into my backpack. I gave it an average for expectations only because it was bigger and heavier then I anticipated and didnt work out as a pack item. But everything else is great, its built very well not 'flimsy' at all. I would definitely recommend it for camping or to keep one in your house for power failures and it would be a great item to have in your car too. It was too late in the season for any Mosquitoes, so I wasn’t able to see if the ultra-sonic repellent worked but I will find out this summer since I intend to use it on my patio when BBQ’ing.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Review 12 for LED LifeLight with Crank Power and Mosquito Repelling Transmitter

Love it!!!!!!!!!!!!!

06/14/2009
By ,
Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just bought one of these lanters from Walmart and fell in love with it within five minutes. Mine, however, does not have the mosquito repellent feature to it. I did not notice that until I had already opened it and was listening to the radio. I still love it, but make sure you pay attention to the package and (if you want it) get the one that is a mosquito repellent. It really does only take one min (or less) for 45 min charging and the radio sounds cripsy clear. I haven't tried the phone charger yet though. It is also a very powerful lanter for the size and price and has a good nightlight and flash feature too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 13 for LED LifeLight with Crank Power and Mosquito Repelling Transmitter

Big disappointment

09/26/2007
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This was a big disappointment. First, it is missing one of the bulbs - I checked, and it wasn't that it had come out, it just was never there. Second, I cranked this for almost 5 minutes and didn't even get that much time worth of light. So I added the optional batteries, and the light was not very bright. With the number of LEDs I expected it would be at least as bright as the Life Gear hand crank flashlights.
The radio worked - a little - reception was bad even in a populated area.
I feel I gave it an honest try, but it is definately not worth purchasing.
I will be returning this product for a refund.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per year
0points
Review 14 for LED LifeLight with Crank Power and Mosquito Repelling Transmitter

Great Product

11/27/2008
By ,
Crossett, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought a G_r_i_y. Light was dimmed by decorative lens. Returned & ordered this one which I had picked out at first. GREAT product. Good light even on 3 LED's, radio works good, siren is pretty loud, has a 12v dc input, & a speaker input jack for MP3. Tested unit - 1min of cranking yielded 1-1/2 hrs on 3LED's & not completely run down. 1 min of cranking ran light for 40min with good light. It is small, well built and I would recommend anyone who might experience power outages or for camping. I have one of their handheld flashlights with radio, emergency flasher & siren that I keep in the car. Great products. I don't know how well the cell phone charger works since I don't have a cell phone, but that is not why I bought the unit. I have flashlights galore, but with thunderstorms and ice storms that sometimes cause power outages for days, this little lantern will be invaluable. Every household needs one. Plus it doesn't say on the product description but a previous reviewer said that you could also put batteries in it and he was right.......3 AAA's. As soon as I get a 12v adapter for it, I will find out if the adapter will charge three AAA NiMH batteries. I am finding that I am using it for general usage besides just power outages. The single LED night light is bright too. 1min of cranking will run the night light all night long. I started to buy it when Walmart had it for $23.87. Now that it is $18 with free site to store shipping, it is a fantastic investment. I am very pleased with unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
0points
Review 15 for LED LifeLight with Crank Power and Mosquito Repelling Transmitter

WOW!

11/30/2008
By ,
Holland, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Over the years my family has tried several different lantern products from various manufacturers. This is the least expensive and most impressive product so far. About 45 seconds of cranking truly does keep the light going for 45 minutes. The radio gets much better reception than I anticipated. One thing I will mention though is that it does NOT seem to have any mosquito reppelling feature.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 16 for LED LifeLight with Crank Power and Mosquito Repelling Transmitter

Multi-tasking tool

07/30/2008
By ,
Columbus, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted a small lantern to take on a few camping trips each year, and simultaneously I'm gathering some emergency supplies together. This little lantern met both needs:
- crank powered
- varying light intensities to choose from
- siren
- compass
I ordered this on-line and had it delivered to the store. It is exactly what I wanted and a great purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 17 for LED LifeLight with Crank Power and Mosquito Repelling Transmitter

Great!!

08/28/2008
By ,
Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this lantern expressly because of the rave reviews it received here.
I was not disappointed.
We use this in an underground storm shelter and it is wonderful. No worries about failing batteries because it's a crank. A little crank goes a long way. Good radio reception. And strong lantern in more than one setting. Even has a night light.
A++
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 18 for LED LifeLight with Crank Power and Mosquito Repelling Transmitter

Useful when the lights go out

03/18/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had the lamp for a couple of weeks and checked it out. The hand crank generator is much better that those on the flashlights with about 1 minute of cranking for about 20 minutes of light. The radio is OK, but the siren and flash modes are not really useful.
Having an AM-FM radio and some light is a great help in most power outage situations.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 19 for LED LifeLight with Crank Power and Mosquito Repelling Transmitter

Solid find

11/20/2008
By ,
Montgomery, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I searched and searched for a small lantern for use during an emergency which did not "burn" fuel and did not cost a months salary. This lantern fit the bill on paper. When it arrived I found it walked the walked. Lights up a room in my house enough to function if the power is out and does so for several hours. I highly recommend this item.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 20 for LED LifeLight with Crank Power and Mosquito Repelling Transmitter

Lantern Plus

07/19/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I took this lantern on a camping trip, it worked great. you get 45 minutes of light on 1 minute of cranking. on the radio you only get about 9 minutes but just crank again and you can keep going. All of the features work great however i'm not sure about the insect repellant? I am very happy with the lantern.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
1-20 of 42 total reviews
1 2 3 Next