Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Omron Omron Pocket Pedometer

Omron Omron Pocket Pedometer

The Omron Pocket Pedometer is one of the most advanced pocket pedometers on the market featuring a USB connection. This walking style pedometer also comes with PC software for Windows 2000 or XP that track days, weeks, months, and even years of exercise and measure steps, calories, and distance. Unlike most other pedometers, there is no need to carry this on your waist. You can keep the Omron Pocket Pedometer in your pocket or purse (as well as on your waist), but make sure that it is facing horizontal to the ground for an accurate reading. This HJ-720ITC Pedometer features a large display for a clear viewing, a belt holder and a security strap for a snug fit. Use replaceable lithium batteries to power your pedometer. You dont have to reset the HJ-720ITC Pedometer every time; it automatically resets at midnight to keep ready for the next day's use.
Average Customer Rating:
4.636 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(173 Reviews) 143
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
136
4 stars
23
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation92%159 out of 173reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
18 Questions | 85 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
136
4 stars
23
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Omron Pocket Pedometer

Motivates me to keep moving

07/10/2010
By ,
Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I’ve had this pedometer for a few weeks now and it seems pretty accurate. The included software is easy to use. The software is the primary reason that I chose this particular pedometer. It allows me to chart my steps, distances, calories, and fat burned on a daily, weekly, monthly, and even yearly basis. The software lets me set my own personal goals and shows smiley faces when I’m good and frowns when I’m not so good.
And Wal-Mart’s price was nearly half that of Amazon!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Omron Pocket Pedometer

Obsolete software

02/01/2013
By ,
Nashville
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I've had two of these (or maybe 3?). They last two years and hit the wall whether I want them to or not. Belly-up. No mas. And for some reason known only to the the company executives, the software to download it to your computer won't work on anything newer than VISTA. Forget Windows 7. Forget a software update downloaded from the Omron site. Nothing. I have an old laptop with XP on it and the program works great on XP--8 years old. Great graph, history, etc.
So for those two years, it works great. It's accurate and resets itself every midnight. All these years, I've only used it two days a week as a part-time security guard and I don't have to worry about turning it on and off. Actually, you can't turn it on and off. Battery (2032 disk) is good for 6 months.
Why doesn't someone take up the battle cry and make one that's contemporary and will last. It's a super great idea. I've been looking for another company that does this and there aren't any. So I've got two years on a brand new one.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Omron Pocket Pedometer

Best Pedometer Available Period..Accurate& Awesome

01/24/2014
By ,
Orange Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been using pedometers for years,the past few years I've been buying the Sportline $5 models which if you don't lose them because of their awful cheap non-spring clip then this cheap pedo will usually stop working accurately in a matter of weeks. Sportline changed this model a couple years ago and they are garbage now. For around $20-$25 this Omron pocket pedometer is a true instrument of amazing accuracy and ease of set up and use. Large easy to see display,re-sets itself everyday at midnight,you don't have to clip it to your belt like cheapo's,just drop it in your pocket and forget about it. If you do elect to clip it it has a very nice spring loaded clip and even better a lanyard strap that clips to your pants or whatever...this lanyard has saved my Omron several times,however now I just drop it in my pocket with no loss of accuracy. Conclusion: spend the $20-$25 bucks and be truly happy....Happy walking that is!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Omron Pocket Pedometer

Worth the price

04/12/2008
By ,
Milwaukee WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased three Omron Pocket Pedometers for a walking club. They seem accurate. We especially like the fact that it can simply go in your pocket; the little security clip is somewhat hard to adjust, but since we put it in the pocket of our jacket and zip the pocket shut, it doesn't matter. One of us keeps it in her pocket all day long, and captures data (miles) through the day.
Although the product packaging and information does not say so, you can actually have up to 20 people's names on the software that you load onto the computer. So, the entire walking club could use one computer and each individual can track their progress and goals separately. (No comparisons are possible, though- that, or a "group mileage" computation would be a good addition to the software package. The software installed easily, was easy to configure, and the item came with the USB cable you need as well as the CD rom. It was a little challenging to configure the stride length, but that would be true no matter which product we purchased.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Omron Pocket Pedometer

A good pedometer

01/23/2008
By ,
Louisville, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've owned several pedometers, this is by far the best. It works wether it is clipped to my belt, in my shirt pocket, or in my pants pocket.
The included software gives you positive reinforcement by tracking steps, distance, fat burned, calories used... You can display graphs daily, weekly, monthly, even yearly.
the attachable strap is a nice touch, it kept me from possibly losing mine.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+60points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Omron Pocket Pedometer

Weak Battery

11/24/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I had this for less than a year and the battery ran down. ..I assume that is why it quit working. I am going to go to your store and have them replace the battery.!!
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Omron Pocket Pedometer

great way to keep taps on your training

11/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The cd you get has a program to log your workouts on the computer.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Omron Pocket Pedometer

This pedometer is smart!

11/21/2010
By ,
Indy, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This isn't like the cheap pedometers you get free with a McD's happy meal or at work for the walking challenges. It has a clock on it, as well. This pedometer tells you how many steps you take, and of those, how many were aerobic. It also tells you how many calories you burned by using the weight information you input into the pedometer. It also tells you how many miles you've walked in the day. The pedometer keeps totals for the last 7 days, as well. This pedometer doesn't zero out accidentally when you hit a button - it automatically resets itself at midnight. It's hard to add a bunch of steps by just shaking the thing, which is why I call it SMART! This pedometer would likely give you a much more accurate account of your daily activity. The safety clip is a must have for when you bend over or use the restroom - no worrying about it falling off!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Omron Pocket Pedometer

Great Gadget for Tracking your Progress

05/30/2010
By ,
Colorado
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought two of these Omron Pedometers -- one for myself, and one for my wife. They're nice and compact; and easy to wear everywhere you go. To really keep track of all your walking throughout the day, you want something like this that you can wear from the time you get dressed in the morning, until you go to bed at night. That's what you need if you want to track all your walking. Even when you're not out and about, you'd be surprised to find out how much walking you can do just around the house. You can easily rack up several thousand steps without even leaving home -- and we don't have a very large house or property either. Just walking up and down the stairs doing laundry -- from bedrooms to basement multiple times -- can add up to hundreds of steps. That was one of the main reasons for getting a pedometer -- to track how much walking I was doing just with my normal routine (without specifically trying to exercise).
Having a pedometer also helps motivate both us to get out and walk more. And since this Omron model includes a USB connection to upload the data to a computer, it makes it especially easy to keep track of our progress over time. The Omron software produces some slick graphs to track your progress over time (daily, weekly or monthly). And the pedometer (and software) also tracks your "aerobic" walking versus normal (non-aerobic) steps, as well as how many calories and fat you're burning.
If there's one criticism I have of the product, it's that it doesn't stay seated very well in the holder that's provided. I noticed a number of other reviewers commenting on this problem as well. My solution was to use a small amount of double-sided mounting tape on the back of the pedometer to hold it in place in the holder. The tape only has to be removed maybe once or twice a year, when you need to pull the unit out to replace the battery. The other advice I would give you is to always use the safety strap that's included with the unit, just in case the holder comes loose from where you have it clipped to your pants or belt. It's good insurance to use the strap; so that you don't drop the unit.
All in all, this is a great product though; and I'd highly recommend it to anyone who wants to track their walking progress over time.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+46points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
st peters,mo
defective HJ 720 ITC pedometer
Posted 05/07/2014
Used the Omron for two weeks and it worked great. Then the display went bad and I couldn't get the unit to work properly. Contacted Omron support and they were of little help. They said that I could return the unit but they would not honor the one year warranty because the serial number indicated a 2008 item. They said they would just send it back to me if I sent it in for repair. Poor item and ineffective customer service.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Omron Pocket Pedometer

Very accurate pedometer

06/07/2010
By ,
Charlton, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the most accurate pedometer I've ever had. It's advanced design uses a dual sensor system to count steps, which it does VERY accurately. It connects to a computer so you can download and track your walking progress. It has a handy removable belt/waist band clip as well as a safety tether cord and clip. An interesting feature of this pedometer is that works just fine in your pocket or purse, as long as it is not lying flat. It counts steps, and using your pace distance and weight, which you have entered, it calculates distance walked, aerobic steps and calories burned.
Downsides: Resets to zero every night at midnight, although it retains daily data for a month. The only way to maintain an on-going record is download to the computer.
There is a less expensive model available without the computer connection capability if you're not such a stickler for record-keeping.
I plan to get another one for my wife.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Omron Pocket Pedometer

Ease of use makes this a daily habit

06/12/2011
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love being able to drop the pedometer into my pocket, I forget it is there most of the time as I'm not afraid of it falling off my waistband every time I move around since it is safe and secure in my pocket. Easy to use and set up. Haven't connected it to the computer yet but it is meeting my needs just fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Omron Pocket Pedometer

Excellent product!

12/21/2011
By ,
Vine Grove, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned this pedometer for almost 2 years now. It is by far the best pedometer I have ever owned. Unlike many other pedometers it doesn't "count" every time you move or shift around on the couch. It counts your regular step and aerobic steps as well as calories burned and miles walked, all of which you can download on your computer. In 2 years I've replaced the battery maybe 3 times. Awesome product and I'm buying them for my walking buddies too!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Omron Pocket Pedometer

A very useful device for me.

01/14/2008
By ,
Tampa, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I wear this device all day, everyday as a part of my fitness regimen.
At this this time, I am taking part int the VA's "100 Miles in 100 Day's Challenge." This device is very helpful in keeping track of my daily progress.
Being able to download my data from the device to my computer is the best part of owning it.
I love it
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Omron Pocket Pedometer
02/16/2012
By ,
South Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love my little Omron buddy! It goes everywhere with me but the shower! It has great features, including differentiating between aerobic and nonaerobic steps, and even serves as a watch! I especially like that I can slip it into a pocket and don't have to worry about it being "right side up!" I find that I am more conscious about staying active with it; I wish I could give one to everyone I know!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Omron Pocket Pedometer

BEST EVER PEDOMETER

02/12/2012
By ,
reading, pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have thrown so many pedometers away. This one really works, lets you know if the steps are aerobic, calories, time, etc. It is truly amazing. The software is great because you can track by time of day when you veg and stop moving. All my friends are saying "you really like you new toy!" and they are right. This was a GREAT gift.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Omron Pocket Pedometer

A 1 year product

05/13/2009
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased this item in Mar 08 and it has been working to expectations. But recently after the warranty period of 12 mths expired, the time function works erratically. It will change time during the day. I like to keep track of my walk activity so this is a big problem. I had another Omron product prior to this one. It also didn't last for more than 12 mths. So it is safe to assume the product life of these pedometers is not more than a year.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Omron Pocket Pedometer

Omron HJ720ITC

09/29/2008
By ,
Cleveland, Ohio
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
People raved about this product-I'm not sure it deserves all that. First, it does not turn off. Even to carry it to & from where you are walking/jogging throws it off. If you stop walking for more than a minute, it stops working and I don't know how to start it again. I was under the impression you could wear a pedometer to see how many steps you take in a day, but you can't, because it stops if you stop or sit down and does not start back up on its own. The online graphing is not as nice as I thought it would be. You can't watch the time when it's on your waist -if you want to run for 5, walk for 5 etc.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Omron Pocket Pedometer

Does what it claims

10/14/2011
By ,
Gilbert, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is one of the easiest to operate pedometers I've had. I love being able to download the information to my computer.
Since I set the stride length, it has performed as accurately as is possible for a pedometer (it's not an exact science). I also appreciate that it is rugged, stays clipped and stays in it's clip holder while I run. I also like the safety clip that allows me to tether it to a belt loop . I also like how it resets itself at midnight, saving more than a week's data as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Omron Pocket Pedometer

A great product.

03/31/2014
By ,
Bedford, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simple, accurate easy to use and understand. A great tool!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Omron Pocket Pedometer

great item

07/17/2013
By ,
Rutland, VT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I found this item very easy to set up and use which really made my day. I usually cannot set up a pedometer to save my life. Also I like the fact that you can hook up to your computer and download the information so you can track your progress.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 144 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next