Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for ROYAL OAK Royal Oak Outdoor 30" Deluxe Charcoal Barbecue Grill

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

ROYAL OAK Royal Oak Outdoor 30" Deluxe Charcoal Barbecue Grill

With a 527 square-inch primary cooking area, 255 square-inch warming rack, and folding steel side shelves with tool hooks, this Royal Oak 30" Deluxe Charcoal Grill has the capacity and features to make your backyard barbecue easier than ever.
Average Customer Rating:
4.312 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(48 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
32
4 stars
7
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation90%43 out of 48reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
32
4 stars
7
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Royal Oak Outdoor 30" Deluxe Charcoal Barbecue Grill

Junk

04/10/2008
By ,
Princeton, Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It is one giant rust bucket. I have had it about a year and it is falling apart. The ash tray has completely rusted through and broke. I will never buy another Royal Oak product again
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Once per week
-5points
Review 2 for Royal Oak Outdoor 30" Deluxe Charcoal Barbecue Grill

Husband loves it! Great Grill!

04/24/2008
By ,
Lexington, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As far as charcoal grills are concerned, this is the best buy for your money. Since I bought the grill last weekend we have had perfectly cooked Ribs, Steak, & Hamburger --- What really makes the difference with this model compared to the regular ole bucket model is the adjustable heat shelf and the Huge Grilling Surface-. WARNING: It does take a long time to assemble on your own. My husband is an engineer and it took him 3 hours to put together. However, it was worth the time. I recommend having the store put it together for you if your not mechanically inclined.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 3 for Royal Oak Outdoor 30" Deluxe Charcoal Barbecue Grill

Great Price Value

08/28/2007
By ,
Memphis, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This grill is a great value for the price. It has more than expected cooking space, easy to clean with the convenient ash tray, very user-friendly. Easy to store away. Would recommend this to anyone who has little grilling experience. I had fun using this grill. Next best thing gas grilling (convenience).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
+5points
Review 4 for Royal Oak Outdoor 30" Deluxe Charcoal Barbecue Grill

deluxe barbecue grill

08/02/2007
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just love it. It is just like a gas grill only you don't have to worry about the propane gas. i can grill steaks , small whole pigs, sausages, and chicken and i don't have to worry about a hot kitchen
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Review 5 for Royal Oak Outdoor 30" Deluxe Charcoal Barbecue Grill

Worth Every Cent and Then Some!

03/23/2008
By ,
Henderson, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this grill a couple weeks ago after deciding our gas grill was just too hard to keep clean. After 5 hours of assembly we were off and cooking and haven't wanted to stop! Burgers, chicken, steaks, and ribs so far all have come out great! Plus, it cleans up in no time with ease. We'll take this over the gas grill we paid hundreds more for any day.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 6 for Royal Oak Outdoor 30" Deluxe Charcoal Barbecue Grill

Royal Oak BBQ

04/06/2008
By ,
Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really nice BQ, glad I got this over the 78 dollar one. This is very sturdy and well made. Assembly took me about 1 hour, not as bad as it looks to assemble once you get it out of the box. Best charcoal BBQ I have found for the money. Box is pretty heavy so get some help.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Review 7 for Royal Oak Outdoor 30" Deluxe Charcoal Barbecue Grill

Broke in my new grill today...Lovin' it, lovin' it

06/15/2008
By ,
"THE" BBQ State, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got this grill as a Father's Day gift from my wife and kids and this was a major step up from my "oil barrel" grill. I also got some cool grilling accessories and some top notch ribeyes so it didn't take too much brain juice to figure out what I was going to be doing this weekend. Man the food came out spectacular...steaks, bratwurst, sausage, hot dogs and pork loin with a rosemary rub...mmmmmm, think I'll be hitting the left overs after this post.
I appreciate all the comments (both positive and negative) and here's my 2 cents worth:
1. I put it together Friday night and yes, it's a pain to assemble...give yourself a good 4-5 hours and don't loose/strip any of the nuts, bolts or other small fasteners because you don't get any extras.
2. aaronliketogrill down below shared some pictures of his rusted Royal Oak grill and said it was only a year old. For that reason my first purchase was a grill cover for under $20.
3. aaronliketogrill also mentioned that the ash tray was completely rusted through and broke. Let me quote exactly what the instruction manual says about this, "After the ashes and grill have completely cooled, it is imperative that you clean out the ashes from inside the grill before moisture can combine with the ash. Ash and moisture can create lye, which is very acidic and can cause rusting."
So...give yourself some time to assemble it, get a 60" grill cover, keep it clean and I imagine that your Royal Oak grill will put out some great meals for years to come.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+2points
Review 8 for Royal Oak Outdoor 30" Deluxe Charcoal Barbecue Grill

COOKIN OUTDOORS IN THE SUNNY SOUTH

08/26/2007
By ,
WINCHESTER, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm likeing this grill more every time I use it...I can smoke any cut of meat I want thx to the large surface area, and the ability to offset the fire for indirect smoking...The fire pan can be raised or lowered depending on the type of cooking you want to do....EZ clean-up with the removeable ash pan...For less than 130 bucks, you can't go wrong here......
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 9 for Royal Oak Outdoor 30" Deluxe Charcoal Barbecue Grill
07/12/2007
By ,
MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Grill is very large and sturdy, with plenty of
cooking, side, and storage space. The price was
very reasonable.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Review 10 for Royal Oak Outdoor 30" Deluxe Charcoal Barbecue Grill

Needs some modifications

06/09/2008
By ,
Rockford, Il
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
None of the stores around me had this grill on display, so please ask your store to display this grill for you so you can see first hand the quality of this grill before you make a long term commitment.
To me the charcoal holder is not deep enough and the gap between the main wall and the charcoal holder will not allow you to stack the coals to high if you do a lot of in-direct grilling(this will just spill over onto the ash pan).
Removing the coals after cooking is not as easy as just lifting the pan and dumping them out, you will need to scoop the coals out of the pan(not really a big deal, just inconvienent)
There is about a one inch gap between the top cover and the bottom cover on my grill, (tried to shrink the gap but could only get it to 1/2 inch) so controlling the temperture might take some getting used to.
This grill is heavy, but don't let that fool you, the metal used for this grill is much more thin than traditional grills, so that is why you should really look at a display model before purchasing.
There is however a lot of grilling space and with a deep hood cooking side dishes and large items is very manageable.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 11 for Royal Oak Outdoor 30" Deluxe Charcoal Barbecue Grill

Great grill!

03/17/2009
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this grill. Only had it a few weeks and have already grilled multiple times. Have made some great sausage and bacon cheeseburgers on it. Made the best bbq chicken I have ever made the other night. Assembly took some time but I'm female so if I can do it anyone can. I'm hoping to smoke a brisket here soon only reason I'm scared to is because I never have before lol. Hopefully it will turn out great which if it doesn't will be my fault not the grills. Love the temp gauge on it helps a lot. Also love being able to move the coals closer or further away. I also bought a weber chimney starter when I got this grill. The best invention for anyone who loves to charcoal grill. No more lighter fluid a must have for anyone who grills using charcoal. Good luck!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 12 for Royal Oak Outdoor 30" Deluxe Charcoal Barbecue Grill

Santa Maria style grilln'

01/12/2009
By ,
Lake Isabella, Ca.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I already had a smoker/BBQ but I do more grillin' then BBQn' so I decided I needed a Santa Maria style grill. Couldn't find one for under $250.00 anywhere. Then one day I saw this little beauty in my local Wal-Mart for $100.00. I almost fell over. I looked it over for about 20 minutes and found it was built very nice, the grate raised and lowered better then most of the expensive ones I had been looking at. I use it at least once a week and can't say enough great things about it. If you are thinking of getting one stop putting off and just do it. You will be happy.
I, in fact am thinking of purchasing another and storing it in the attic. One day this one will fall apart, as all things do. then I will have a spare ready to go. They are that good!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 13 for Royal Oak Outdoor 30" Deluxe Charcoal Barbecue Grill

Three year wonder

03/09/2009
By ,
Missouri
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this grill about three years ago. I am the type of person that grills year round (rain, snow and shine). I loved the features this grill had to offer and while it lasted, it was a great grill. After about two and a half years (I bought it in Spring 2006), the grill started to fall apart. The ash pan began to lose its shap and would not stay in place. There is nothing like having a pan full of hot ashes and coals fall to your feet. The grate the coals rest on also started to rust out. Today the ash pan won't stay in place even when its not being used and the hole in the coal grate is about the size of a volleyball.
I bought a cover for the grill when it was new, but I could never get it to fit right.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Review 14 for Royal Oak Outdoor 30" Deluxe Charcoal Barbecue Grill

not amused

01/20/2008
By ,
jax fl
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was very upset with the directions to put it together but the main problem is that the warming rack doe not stay in place when moving the grill only inches. Also, the side shelves are too free and pull out of place when trying to move the grill. The coal basket is not square or level and is extreamly flimsy as is the ash catcher. I spent several hours on the internet and phone to try to contact someone so I could get the unit exchanged. I never did get anywhere after hours on hold. There are 27 steps to put it together - if it had not been so complicated I would have taken in apart and brought it back
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 15 for Royal Oak Outdoor 30" Deluxe Charcoal Barbecue Grill

GOOD OVERALL

03/15/2009
By ,
Dayton,ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought grill over 2 years ago. Took awhile to asemble, because door handle hole and hing holes were drilled on the same side. had to modify (was having a Labor day cook-out) later called costomer service for royal oak. They were very polite and helpful on the phone, even told me this had happened before. They said they would ship a new door. However (over 2 year later ) and I am STILL WAITING ON SHIPPMENT OF NEW DOOR! I have continued to use the grill anyway has been good. Would recommend others to buy, but I personally will not buy again because of poor costomer service on ROYAL OAKS end!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 16 for Royal Oak Outdoor 30" Deluxe Charcoal Barbecue Grill

Love this grill!

04/14/2008
By ,
CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
OK, it was a pain to assemble. Like another reviewer said, the parts are not labeled well. I would recommend going through the instructions and labeling the parts one by one yourself before you start.
Once assembled the grill is easy to use and well equipped. There is a separate pull out tray for the ashes (no turning the grill over), there is ample room on the sides and bottom for storage. It is also very easy to adjust the coals. Plus the actual cooking area is so much larger than most grills in this price range. Great price + great grill.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 17 for Royal Oak Outdoor 30" Deluxe Charcoal Barbecue Grill

awsome grill

08/29/2008
By ,
denham springs ,La.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have no idea why there are complaints about assembly. The hardware is clearly marked in the tray and the instructions includes actual size picture chart labeling of each nut , bolt , and screw. After opening the box and laying everything out , it only took me a little over an hour to assemble. I am extreemly happy with the quality and versatility of this grill. I would very much recommend this to anyone. For those of you that are mechanically inept , i would recommend buying the assembled unit. LOVE THIS GRILL.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 18 for Royal Oak Outdoor 30" Deluxe Charcoal Barbecue Grill

excellent choice for grilling

04/28/2008
By ,
virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i had the opportunity to purchase this grill this weekend, and let me tell you it is a wonderful grill! this weekend was the first for me as far as grilling is concerned, and i found it to be very easy to do with this grill. i followed the directions in the owners manuel, and had no problems what so ever. the grill did everything it was supposed to do! and clean up was a breeze, in fact i actually cleaned the grill twenty minutes before leaving for work. i strongely recommend this grill, and the price is great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 19 for Royal Oak Outdoor 30" Deluxe Charcoal Barbecue Grill

also doubles as a huge smoker

11/10/2008
By ,
Fort Collins, Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After a little trial and error, this unit has become a great way to smoke all of my meats. I have smoked ribs to turkeys on it. The trick I use is a small pile of charcoal, about the size of a paper plate. Soak the wood over night. After lighting the charcoal, wring it with the soaked wood. I cold smoke between 5-10 hrs. depending on the meat. This is the best unit I have ever owned. If you notice, the top of the lid already has a smoke temp range, try it, I know you will be more than pleased
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 20 for Royal Oak Outdoor 30" Deluxe Charcoal Barbecue Grill

Hard Directions

04/21/2008
By ,
Burlington, NC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I think that once we can get this grill together it may be good but the directions have alot to be desired. This has to be the most difficult directions that I have ever seen. It takes over 5 hours to put together and we are still not to sure that it is right. There is no way to get online help and pictures to show how all of the parts goes together. The pictures in the directions booklet does not give enough detail of the parts and how they go together.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
1-20 of 42 total reviews
1 2 3 Next