Ratings and Reviews
TV
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for A Child Called "It": One Child's Courage to Survive

A Child Called "It": One Child's Courage to Survive

Tells the story of a child's abuse at the hands of his alcoholic mother
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
14
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation100%14 out of 14reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 4 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
14
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for A Child Called "It": One Child's Courage to Survive

O-M-G

08/24/2008
By ,
san antonio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
like seriously..this has to be the best book ive read. i hate that fact that im a lil crybaby and i teared up throughout this book. its just so sad how cruel people can be. i was so into this book. i also bought the sequel to this book. i believe its called' "A Lost boy" not quite sure though. its also a must read. i havent seen this book in quite a while. i bought it, i read it, and its been from friend to friend. they were all so into it. its worth it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Once per year
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for A Child Called "It": One Child's Courage to Survive

Best Book Ever

09/15/2007
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the very best book I have ever read! Great value for your money. I highly reccomend this book to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for A Child Called "It": One Child's Courage to Survive

This is one of the greatest series of books

05/01/2009
By ,
Paso Robles, CA.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased a book at Borders one day. It was about a boy in the foster system. And the abuse he dealt with at home before he was taken put into the foster care system. The book was called The Lost Boy The author is Dave Pelzer. I have a special young man who is in foster care and thought this would be a good book for us to read together. I wanted to read it myself first just to make sure it wasn't to much for him. Up until this time I hadn't read a book for years. Well when I got started I found out it was just one book of the series. First book... A Child Called It... Second book was called The Lost Boy which I had already purchased and waited till I got the A child Called it and read it. Then I read the second book again The Lost Boy. And then Third book. A Man Named Dave. Three books that I could not stop reading. It is a story about the Author. It was unbelievable. All I can say is you got to read it. You will not be sorry.!!! Take a chance. It is so worth it. Whether you are an adult or child it will keep you on the edge of your seat.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for A Child Called "It": One Child's Courage to Survive

A child called it

06/04/2009
By ,
grand rapids mi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the most moving book i have ever read. It hits home for me. I was put into a similar situation, and reading this, has helped me so to speak, to come to reality with what had happened to me. Knowing it wasn't my fault. that my mother wasnt right. I have gotten all of David's books. This is just an awesome series, and a very helpful one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for A Child Called "It": One Child's Courage to Survive

Great book!!!

07/11/2012
By ,
Tucson AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had been wanting to read this book for a long time but could never find it at the library so I finally gave in to buying it. I am glad I did, once I started reading I couldn't put it down. It's a very sad story.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for A Child Called "It": One Child's Courage to Survive

sad but good

11/20/2007
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this book is really sad but really good. If you like different books then you should read "A CHILD CALLED IT." Its about this kid david and his horrible mother beats the kid nearly to death. But the will to survive keeps him going along with the promisse he made himself.
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for A Child Called "It": One Child's Courage to Survive

A very good book

01/04/2010
By ,
champaign, illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love reading books that tell a real life story and talking bout how they were abuse it just cought my eye. i would recommand this book to anyone because its a very good book. and i would recommand the other books that dave wrote too!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for A Child Called "It": One Child's Courage to Survive

Best book i have ever read

10/31/2008
By ,
Akron Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I acually read this book about 3 years ago and stumbled across it on this website and just had to write a review.
This book is by far the best book I have ever read. This book spread like wildfire through my high school and after hearing everybody talk about it I finally decided to read it.Now I have to admit I wasn't a big fan of reading back then but I was absolutely in love with this book and read it nonstop.After reading it I passed it on to friends who all loved the book as much as I did and cryed at every turn of a page. Overall : THIS BOOK IS A MUST READ!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for A Child Called "It": One Child's Courage to Survive

heartfelt book

12/17/2008
By ,
lansdale, pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this book was hard to put down. I was so sad for the child and just had to keep reading to find out how he did. I soon got the "the lost boy" which is the next book and i couldnt put that down either. the next book that i just finished a hour ago. "a man name dave" was great. i got tears in my eyes and i laughed. I finished his last book in 2 days. very great writer and a very strong willed person. i highly recommend all his books.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for A Child Called "It": One Child's Courage to Survive

Sad

03/12/2008
By ,
New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is very sad. Reading it made me decide to get a career in the child protection service. I hope to brighten the lives of the unfortunate children who have experienced horror like this. If you liked reading this story I recommend reading "Words of a Tortured Soul" By April M. Barbosa. This book also brought me to tears.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for A Child Called "It": One Child's Courage to Survive
Based on the average of (4) ratings-only reviews
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5