Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for D-Link D-Link DIR-655 Xtreme N Wireless-N Gigabit Broadband Router

D-Link D-Link DIR-655 Xtreme N Wireless-N Gigabit Broadband Router

Average Customer Rating:
4.256 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(425 Reviews) 359
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
288
4 stars
61
3 stars
20
2 stars
9
1 star
47
Customer Recommendation85%360 out of 424reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
90 Questions | 282 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
288
4 stars
61
3 stars
20
2 stars
9
1 star
47
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for D-Link DIR-655 Xtreme N Wireless-N Gigabit Broadband Router

Very Satesfied!

07/22/2010
By ,
Northern California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have been using a (less expensive) router for the past two years. We have 4 notebooks, 3 desktops, 3 wifi smart phones, 1 xbox, 1 ps3, and a Wii. Oh, and a blue-ray player with wifi for netflix.
For two years, we have been dealing with constant dropped connections and having to "reset" our router by unplugging it, and then plugging it back in. Sometimes up to three times in an hour. It couldn't keep up with all the connections. It was causing IP conflicts, and sometimes the signal strength would drop way down in the next room.
Purchasing this DIR-655 has completely eliminated all of our problems, we have all the devices in the house connected, most of them wireless, and there are NO dropped connections, NO need to reset the router, and the speed has also improved dramatically. Netflix now streams in HD.
I highly recommend this router for gamers, or just anybody who has been dealing with the characteristics of a cheap router. I'm very impressed with this router and how incredibly fast and reliable it is.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
+149points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for D-Link DIR-655 Xtreme N Wireless-N Gigabit Broadband Router

Just what I wanted/not what I expected

08/07/2009
By ,
Rising Star, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first router though I have used personal computers almost since they were introduced. I recently updated my desktop and thought that I would get a laptop for the fun of it since I got rid of my last old Dell laptop many years ago. I live in the country and have wireless internet.
I got the router and unpacked it. I had read the reviews and most said to set it up manually, even my service provider said not to use the CD and set up manually. I didn't listen.
I figured that I could start over if it didn't work so I put in the CD and started the setup. Five minutes later I was done, my laptop was online with the max signal and all was functioning perfectly. Still is.
I have nothing to compare this to but this does what it said it would to the max with easy setup and so far perfect operation. Range is outstanding and signal has never dropped below 100%. I would highly recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+67points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for D-Link DIR-655 Xtreme N Wireless-N Gigabit Broadband Router

D-Link Router

03/07/2011
By ,
Memphis, Tn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great product. It was so simple to setup. It goes through walls, floors, ceilings and no matter how many products is hooked to it and has yet to freeze on me. I had an old Belkin for the past 3 years and as I kept getting new items that required wireless connections my old one let me down everytime where I had to keep resetting my router by unpluging and repluging again. This was a great annoyance for me since my router is located upstairs and most of my wireless items is used downstairs. Now no matter where I am in the house all my items work great. I have a laptop, 2 smartphones, android tablet, xbox, ROKU player, and wireless printer all set up on this router and it works perfectly. And i truly love that it is one of the most secure routers made today so you can be sure that your privacy is upheld. I am telling everyone about this product. You won't be sorry you bought this.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for D-Link DIR-655 Xtreme N Wireless-N Gigabit Broadband Router

The gigabit ports are just fluff.

10/17/2014
By ,
Tulsa, OK
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a 2.4Ghz only router with gigabit WAN and LAN ports. I read the great reviews, and the router has been around for awhile, but I'm disappointed. I only have 100Mbps internet connection, so I must say I was miffed when I saw my connection capping at 40Mbps in the same room as the router. I purchased a different brand of router (around a $110 model, used the same wifi channels and configuration), and my problems were no more, so it is in the router. Same wireless N, same frequency, same WiFi adapters. This model of router is also bad about router memory saturation when using an NAS drive or downloading LibreOffice via bittorrent. You can't access the internet while these services (bittorrent, Samba 4) are in use. My new router does not have this problem, nor did the $20 generic router that I had before the D-Link. This router is only useful for people that have less than 40-50Mbps internet connections, and do not use bittorrent or NAS drives on their network. I tried all of the recommendations I could find in support, and I did try enabling QoS, to no avail. Router returned. Sad, because I'm kind of fond of D-Link as a company.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for D-Link DIR-655 Xtreme N Wireless-N Gigabit Broadband Router

For Gamers

10/22/2009
By ,
Erlanger, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This router is great! I switched over from a Linksys’s router that I had to unplug once or twice a day because it couldn’t take everything we had hooked up to it. As of now we have 4 laptops, 1 desktop, 1 PS3, 1 Wii, and anywhere from 3 to 5 Xbox 360’s hooked up to this router at a time. The Xbox’s are hooked up via a Netgear switcher to the router. This router has been running nonstop for 4 weeks now and not a single problem surfing YouTube, checking email, or playing halo on 5 Xbox’s at the same time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+81points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for D-Link DIR-655 Xtreme N Wireless-N Gigabit Broadband Router

Device stopped working, D-Link refuses to replace

12/23/2013
By ,
CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When I first installed this router it worked great. After a few months I noticed that the Internet access speed was very sluggish. Then it would not connect to the Internet anymore at all.
I work in IT and did all possible troubleshooting steps but nothing fixed the problem. A factory reset was the only thing left to do which did the trick.
2 month later I had the same problem again - no Internet access. No other way to fix it again than a factory reset. Setting up the router and configuring it takes a long time, it is not acceptable to do that on a regular basis.
I contacted the D-Link support to get the device replaced, they did not acknowledge that there was a problem with the device, in their eyes a factory reset every 2 or 3 months seems okay. This is very sad since I used to have a DIR-615 which worked for 8 years straight without any problems, that's why I bought another D-Link router.
If you look for a reliable router that you don't need to reset and configure every few month then you need to look at other brands. I bought a Netgear and so far it works without any problems.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for D-Link DIR-655 Xtreme N Wireless-N Gigabit Broadband Router

best home router i've dealt with

09/30/2011
By ,
Bardstown, Ky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've owned this router for about two years now. The router has never given me problems with anything. There is to many setup options to list. It has great range and never drops connection. It has blazing speeds hardwired and wireless. I run many computers, gaming sytems and a printer on this router at once. As of now i have thirteen static ip's for lan equipment hooked to this router. I run webservers and mailservers through my network, play online games, stream movies , and surf the web. As for the setup even though it is advanced for a home router it is also simple to setup. Would I recommend? Yes i would and i have multiple times. If you compare this product feature to one from cisco (linksys), this router is inexspensive. Ihave dealt with many different routers manufacturers and my opinion is dlink is the best home or small buisness router you can get.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for D-Link DIR-655 Xtreme N Wireless-N Gigabit Broadband Router

Outstanding Router

06/25/2009
By ,
Lehi, UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We decided to splurge on this router since the $50 Belkin we bought didn't work for us. It was quick to install and has worked perfectly since. We use it with our iMac and our PC laptop. Its coverage is incredible. It doesn't matter where we are in the house (or in our yard), the speed is amazing. It was more than we wanted to spend, but it's been worth it for us. Walmart sold it for much less than other stores. We give our overall experience an "A."
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+53points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for D-Link DIR-655 Xtreme N Wireless-N Gigabit Broadband Router

Great little router for me!

12/19/2010
By ,
Portland, Or
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I recently went from DSL to a high speed WiFi offered by the city I live in. That alone made a big difference then I got the D-Link DIR 655. WOW!!!
Total time to set up was about 15 minutes. I followed the EASY step by step directions from the CD that was supplied. Everything worked the first time.
I am using the USB port to run a HP6310 all in one printer. I followed the directions and in a short time I had one desktop and two laptops that were printing great.
I have programmed the “Guest Zone” to turn on and off and certain times and that is working great also.
I have not had ANY reboots, overheating or signal dropping issues. I leave the router on 24-7 and all is well.
I am using a Dell desktop that is 3 years old, 3 Dell laptops 2 years old and all running Vista Pro. I have Xbox 360, Wii, 2 Roku units and a DIRECTV receiver using the router and it can handle them just fine. My house is 2 two story about 2200 sq ft. I live in a moderately dense neighborhood and I do not have any problems with signal interference.
I can’t comment on D-Link tech support because I didn’t need them, but if they are like any of the others…good luck communicating with them.
I did a couple weeks of research before I made my mind up to purchase this router. I agree a person can get a “lemon” with anything they buy, but I think 15% of the people cannot be pleased with anything or they can not follow the simple directions included.
I am sure there are better routers out there, but for the money and my experience the DIR-655 was the best choice for me. I hope this was of some help in making your next router choice. Good luck!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for D-Link DIR-655 Xtreme N Wireless-N Gigabit Broadband Router

Great router!

07/10/2012
By ,
Maceo, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Someone talked my mother-in-law into buying an Apple computer. It seems to work fine for what she does with it, but if she had talked to me first, I would have recommended a Windows computer because that's what I'm familiar with working on. However, even with my lack of familiarity with her computer, I was the one she asked to get wireless Internet throughout her house working. After some research about routers that work well with Apples, I found this one. Wal-Mart's website had the best price on it and shipped it quickly. Although the CD does NOT work with an Apple, there are printed instructions about how to manually install and configure the router. The router interface is easier to navigate that on mine at home (a different brand). What those instructions didn't cover, D-Link's support site did. Bottom line is that she now has secure wireless Internet - at the maximum her Internet plan will provide - throughout her house and can use any of her various Apple devices from any room. Highly recommended router.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for D-Link DIR-655 Xtreme N Wireless-N Gigabit Broadband Router

15 minute manual setup

03/08/2008
By ,
Missoula, MT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this router today. I have set up my fair share of wireless routers before so I skipped the included software and configured it manually myself. I set up WEP, MAC filtering, and made the SSID invisible quickly and easily and was online in no time. I have used Linksys and US Robotics routers in the past and have good luck with both of them as well. This new N-series router has much better range and speed and that was what I was looking for. Good product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for D-Link DIR-655 Xtreme N Wireless-N Gigabit Broadband Router

Wireless Router DIR-655

06/22/2010
By ,
Canton, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had been searching for a Wireless-N Router for a long time. Rather than just pick most any model from D-Link or Linksys (as some of my colleagues suggested) I spent much time looking at Consumer Reviews and Consumer Reports web sites to understand what other people were experiencing.
I also consulted CNET and PC Magazine + a couple other techie sites to see what they recommended. The horrible experiences other folks were having put a wireless router for me on the backburner (stories of disastrous firmware upgrades, rebooting, lockups and extreme heat byproduct make the potential buyer beware and very cautious).
Finally out of dire need, I re-visited the DIR-655 and a few other routers for the most up to date information (price & recommendations). It turned out that the DIR-655 was still highly recommended and the more recent consumer reviews had high praise for the product. With that level of confidence I then sought out the best price and the most reputable retailers.
Only one web retailer was cheaper than WalMart.com by $5.00 and included no tax + free shipping. What sold me on WalMart though were 2 things: 1. Free Shipping to Store; 2. Buyer confidence that I could return the product to the local store if I was not satisfied. The second reason made the overall purchase more worthwhile than saving the tax amount. Having determined that others who bought from web retailers had no where to turn but the manufacturer when thy had product issues, being able to take back the DIR-655 to my local store was a better "insurance" option than the slightly cheaper price.
Overall, the DIR-655 has been performing flawlessly. A minor problem - the documentation provided is a bit out of sync with the web application that can be used to configure the router. But, all in all, the product works great for wired and wireless connections!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for D-Link DIR-655 Xtreme N Wireless-N Gigabit Broadband Router

Horrible set up and Cust Service

03/25/2011
By ,
Woodstock, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this router and had never owned a D-Link I was excited since it said easy to install just pop in the CD and step by step instructions. Well it was not that easy and when I called Tech support he couldnt speak English and I tried my hardest to explain my issue he got nasty and refused to transfer me to someone else so I hung up and called back. The woman who answered next could barely speak English and after another hour and half it was working. The speed was not so great and the signal did not reach to the other side of my apartment as my old Linksys did. The only reason i replaced my linksys was due to the age of the router and recently upgraded my internet speed. We have 4 laptops, xbox, wii, printer, cellphones that run on the router and it was very slow. I returned it and bought a netgear dual band...awesome would recommend....I have no lags in speed even when we have everything connected.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for D-Link DIR-655 Xtreme N Wireless-N Gigabit Broadband Router

Great Product

03/20/2010
By ,
Gallatin, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Stong Performance and a wealth of settings to customize this router. The ONLY thing I can knock about this router is that the white plastic box and cheap blurry blue LED indicators make it look like a $20 router. Don't let that fool you away from its quality, but I have to ask, D-Link, why? It's not a Wii, it's a router.
Wal*Mart should stock this in stores. Don't understand why they don't.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for D-Link DIR-655 Xtreme N Wireless-N Gigabit Broadband Router

Works Great!!!

10/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this product 10 years ago....had to get another one. Great!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for D-Link DIR-655 Xtreme N Wireless-N Gigabit Broadband Router

Get It

01/01/2010
By ,
AK.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned this router for over one year. It has always performed flawlessly running 4 wireless laptops, 2 wired desktops, 3 wireless xbox360's, 1 Wi and 4 cell phones all on my protected network. It juggles my g/n devices perfectly and prioritizes game traffic. Take the time to set antenna angles for the best signal. Get It, you'll love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for D-Link DIR-655 Xtreme N Wireless-N Gigabit Broadband Router

Great BANG for Buck!

04/29/2011
By ,
Jonesborough, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Previously had Netgear G wireless. The wireless router worked fine but was plagued with connection issues and poor signal in my 1200 sf house.
D-Link wireless N has been fantistic! I've been able to have 95+ signal on other side of house, 60ft away from the home in my aluminum sided garage, and while operating a PS3, two iPones, PSP, and Nintendo DSi. This router has handled them all.
I'm not technically savy with installing these things, so it took me alot longer than it should, but part of it was that I was installing the D-link wireless card in my PC at the same time and getting it set up. Otherwise, things were really straight forward and the instructions were relatively clear. Highly recommended for the price....you get what you pay for. Should have purchased this system from day ONE!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for D-Link DIR-655 Xtreme N Wireless-N Gigabit Broadband Router

reception

10/05/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very good reception from every room in my house and its down in my cement basement
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for D-Link DIR-655 Xtreme N Wireless-N Gigabit Broadband Router

Just OK

11/30/2010
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I like that this router has a lot of configurable features. There are several levels of security and the interface is that much like other routers of this caliber (intuitive).
I have an ongoing issue with my VPN though. Whenever I connect to my VPN the router seems to stop broadcasting the wireless network and drops the connection.
When connected via VPN the router seems to slow things down to a crawl at times. About 2x a day while on VPN the wireless signal completely drops and I have to cycle the router to get my wireless network up again.
I have not had the time to search through the support forums on this yet but it is an issue. I have confirmed that the firmware is exactly what it should be but am considering a reload.
When NOT using VPN, the router is fantastic. Excellent connection, solid throughput and no issues what-so-ever.
If you don't use VPN this is probably the router for you...
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for D-Link DIR-655 Xtreme N Wireless-N Gigabit Broadband Router

Good Router But Has A Wifi Setup Problem

02/16/2014
By ,
Rockford, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have purchased two of the model DIR-655 routers, one for myself and one for my daughter and had the same problem during the auto setup with both. Although I entered a wifi password during the guided setup when it finishes there is no wifi password, I had to go in and manually set up the password. I think this is a serious problem for the less experienced users who would believe they have set up a password to protect their network when in fact its actually unprotected and open to public access. I have contacted D-Link and informed them of the problem.
I would advise you that when your setup is complete check to make sure your wifi needs a password to access it, if not, you will need to log into the router and manually set up the password to protect your wifi network from unauthorized access.
Apart from this problem the router works very well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 321 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  17 Next