Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Abu Garcia Abu Garcia Revo SX Cast Reel

Abu Garcia Abu Garcia Revo SX Cast Reel

The Abu Garcia Revo SX is a high performance, low-profile bait cast reel with eleven stainless steel ball bearings and one roller bearing for ultra-smooth casts everytime. Designed with a one-piece aluminum frame, carbon matrix drag system and a linear magnetic brake system.
Average Customer Rating:
4.932 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(220 Reviews) 217
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
209
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation99%217 out of 219reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 6 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
209
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Abu Garcia Revo SX Cast Reel

best on the market for best price

03/10/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I now own 6 and have tired to ware them out. Just keep them clean and oiled. No problems and looong casts.
Smooth as silk. you have to pay double to get as good.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Abu Garcia Revo SX Cast Reel

Smooth

06/29/2009
By ,
Texas, Lake Fork
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product not only outperforms all other abu garcia reels I have ever used but the smoothest reel I had ever used up to this point was the Shimano Calcutta. Super smooth. It is very easy to set the brake so the backlash is virtually non-existant. Low profile, light weight. Any reel over $100 ought to perform and this does. I do need to mention that one screw was almost completely out when I opened the box.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Abu Garcia Revo SX Cast Reel

A very good value, but not for salmon/ steelhead

10/21/2010
By ,
Singapore
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I put this reel to the test by fishing for fresh, big steelhead in Oct 2010. The reel casts like a dream and functions very smoothly. The price is great, too. My complaint has to do with the drag. After day 4 the drag began to jump at a very modest (relative to the 20+ lbs of drag possible) 6lb setting. I think that the initial drag stress -- intertial drag -- is where the problem lies. But this jumpy drag caused me to pull the reel off front line duty and revert to my Shimanos. I recommend the Revo for non-salmon/ steelhead applications as I don't think that the drag problems I experienced are going to apply to, e.g. most bass fishing situations.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Abu Garcia Revo SX Cast Reel

Best baitcaster on the market.

03/03/2008
By ,
Louisville, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm a tournament fisherman, and have used just about every reel made. I've heard a lot about the new Revo reels and decided to try them. They are in a class by themselves. Totally impressed.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Abu Garcia Revo SX Cast Reel

Abu Garcia makes the best reels

09/12/2008
By ,
Sacramento, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got this one on sale. Would have paid full price, but at this price it was a steal!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Abu Garcia Revo SX Cast Reel

Top of the line

01/25/2010
By ,
Lake of the Ozarks, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I highly recommend this real. I have 2 of these and one stx. I do not see a big difference in the two for the difference in price. My dad fell on my stx and broke the handle and abu-garcia replaced it with a brand new reel in 8 days. The reel is super smooth. I use them for lipless crankbaits and texas rigged worms mostly. Makes every other reel i own feel like junk after using it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Abu Garcia Revo SX Cast Reel

You will love it.

01/29/2008
By ,
Phoenix, Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
With out a doubt this reel is very good. I use it on a 5'-6" rod. I can cast as far as I wish with in reason. It's great for flippen, and the braking is great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Abu Garcia Revo SX Cast Reel

Smooooth

12/01/2010
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Far superior to my Shimano Citica. Much greater casting distance with a much better drag system.
Get one!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Abu Garcia Revo SX Cast Reel

SWEEET

09/14/2010
By ,
summerfield fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been bass fishing for 27 years and this Revo SX reel is the smoothest I've ever used.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Abu Garcia Revo SX Cast Reel

Revo SX

10/18/2010
By ,
North Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Long casts, very smooth, best price found.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Abu Garcia Revo SX Cast Reel
Based on the average of (210) ratings-only reviews
4.9 out of 5
4.9 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5