Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Mitchell Mitchell 300Xe 6' 6" Combo

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Mitchell Mitchell 300Xe 6' 6" Combo

Average Customer Rating:
4.478 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
15
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation91%21 out of 23reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
15
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mitchell 300Xe 6' 6" Combo

Great reel. Good rod.

12/30/2009
By ,
Port Charlotte, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The reel is arguably the best you can find for the money. Not only does it have good line capacity (210y of 10lb) it is well built and light. Also, its polymeric body should help resist corrosion. One reviewer mentioned the bail is a little hard to return. Compared to fine reels, he may be correct, however, I usually close the bail w/ my hand and the bail certainly will close via crank with a little effort. In addition, though I do not need it, with this combo you do not get an extra spool. The reel is great for its specifications. Good feel, whip is nice, and appearance is good. Cork handles too. It is 6'6 long two piece. This combo is the same price as the reel alone in store (note: in store you get extra spool). You could buy this combo and buy a longer sturdier rod for bigger fishing. Bottom line is reel is great for med-light to med-heavy fishing, rod is good for med-light and is 6'6 so better for canoe/kayak than pier/surf.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+18points
Review 2 for Mitchell 300Xe 6' 6" Combo

The Good, the Bad and the Ugly

04/09/2013
By ,
Carneys Point, NJ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I did quite a bit of research before deciding to purchase this combo. The reel has received universally good reviews and the rod is a bit of a throwaway but I figured that getting the combo for the price of the reel alone made it a decent buy.
The Good:
I am happy to report that I snagged my first trout with this combo on the second cast! Really happy with the casting distance and the lure action on retrieval (inline spinner) on retrieval.
The Bad:
One of the support arms that is part of the bail snapped on the 5th cast. :-(
The Ugly:
What promised to be a decent day of fishing ended prematurely due to the above.
I debated a bit about exchanging the reel or returning the combo and replacing it. I opted to return the combo and make my own combo with separate components quantum reel/daiwa rod.
I am surprised that this combo performed as poorly as it did, especially since I have always heard such great things about Mitchell spinning reels. Still, I couldn't rate it any higher based on my experience.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
0points
Review 3 for Mitchell 300Xe 6' 6" Combo

Nice for the price

09/18/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice product overall. Good for the price. You can get something reasonably good for as little as $20 in specialty on-line shops, but I do not know how those products would compare to this one.
Both the rod and the reel appear to be high quality. My only complaint about the performance is that I expected a lot less force required to auto-close the bail in the beginning of a retrieve. However, all other reels in the same price range felt the same.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+10points
Review 4 for Mitchell 300Xe 6' 6" Combo

Good Quality

11/01/2009
By ,
Charlotte, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This rod and reel combo is very sturdy. I was impressed with the overall performance. It is a good value buying the rod and reel together. You can buy them individually in the store but will pay more. I look forward to buying other Mitchell products in the future.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+7points
Review 5 for Mitchell 300Xe 6' 6" Combo

Recommended Product

06/16/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This combo is a good deal. I have seen the reel alone for fifty dollars... This is like getting a free rod for less dough.
I have been fishing with it almost every day and have not experienced any issues at all. The reel is butter smooth and the rod has good action. Overall a great combo for the budget minded angler.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Review 6 for Mitchell 300Xe 6' 6" Combo

Mitchell 300Xe 6' 6" Combo

01/02/2008
By ,
Nehalem River, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Mitchell 300Xe 6' 6" Combo is a medium of the road fishing rod. I purchased it for my 8 year old grandson for Christmas so we won't be able to use it for a couple of months...It has a fairly light tip with a nedium power shaft which id perfect for trout and warm water (crappie, blue gill, catfish, etc) fishing. The quality of the rod, itself, is very good especially for the price. I personaly have about 30+ rods and reels for all kinds of fish and fishing. For trout and other smaller game fish I would gladly add this rod and reel combo to my collection. It has the backbone to deal with fish larger than a basic lake trout too. We've added 8 pound mainline to the reel, when we normally would put ony 6 pound line on. We're going for "The Big One's!"
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
+1point
Review 7 for Mitchell 300Xe 6' 6" Combo

EXCELLENT

07/20/2012
By ,
Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the best rod AND reel I've ever owned.
Rod: Action is great!!!! It handles large bait and large fish really well. I caught a 9 lbs. cat and was a little worried to get the first good size fish. The base of the rod is quite narrow compared to other rods and I was afraid it would snap if I got something too big.
No worries. The rod showed no signs of giving out even though it was seriously bent. The joint is solid and nothing went wrong. The tip moves a whole lot at the slightest bite. Basically it acts like an ultralight but handles like a full size rod.
Reel: Amazing. Just amazing. I've never felt a smoother reel. It doesn't have any stops when the brake is on. It just doesn't turn backwards. Turn the brake of and it will but when it's on, wherever you stop the reel is where it stops. It's really interesting.
The brake switch is up tight against the base of the reel body but I got used to that right away. It's easy to reach and easy to use but it doesn't get hung on stuff and you won't accidentally flip it.
If you are considering this set then stop. Buy it. You won't be disappointed.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 8 for Mitchell 300Xe 6' 6" Combo

Mitchell Rod & Reel Combo

05/25/2008
By ,
So. Illinois
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value for under fifty dollars as the reel is smooth, and the rod is excellent.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 9 for Mitchell 300Xe 6' 6" Combo

Great reel, rod not so good

08/18/2012
By ,
Murrells Inlet, SC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The reel is high quality with good line capacity, instant anti-reverse and a well balanced rotor. The rod on the other hand is not. The rod tip broke off within two weeks of me purchasing it. I read the reviews on this combo and others had the same problem with the rod. I bought it anyway because the price was so good on this combo it was like buying the reel and getting the rod free. If you purchase this combo, plan on replacing the rod.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 10 for Mitchell 300Xe 6' 6" Combo

Great rod/reel combo for the money

07/30/2013
By ,
Sylacauga, AL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mitchell 300 is still a great performer at a value price. Rod is functional and works well in a light tackle environment.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 11 for Mitchell 300Xe 6' 6" Combo

All round great spinning combo

05/04/2009
By ,
MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read the reviews about this combo and tried it at a few stores before purchasing it at wal-mart who had the best price. So far it has performed excellent on Michigan rivers and lakes. Casting even small lures is easy and distance is no problem. Liked it so much I bought the med light mitchell 300Xe series combo as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 12 for Mitchell 300Xe 6' 6" Combo

Great Deal

05/15/2010
By ,
Union City, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this combination for my wife and ended up giving her my rod and reel. The pole has a nice sensative tip and the reel is very smooth. I have used Mitchel reels in the past and this reel has the same Mitchel quality as expected. You will not be unhappy with this combo.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 13 for Mitchell 300Xe 6' 6" Combo

Incredible Deal

07/10/2010
By ,
Pennsylvania
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the best rod/reel combo Ive ever owned. The reel is extremely smooth, the rod is a good mix of sensitivity and stability, the combo is a great all around bargain. I will recommend it to anyone looking for a great combo for a great price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 14 for Mitchell 300Xe 6' 6" Combo

spincast combo

04/28/2009
By ,
Trenton, TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great value for the money, reel exceeded expectations, rod is decent quality. I would not hesitate to order another one. Lightweight, easy to use, nice looking outfit.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 15 for Mitchell 300Xe 6' 6" Combo

Terrific fishing outfit

11/10/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my son. It is a great fishing outfit. I like it enough that I am buying another!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 16 for Mitchell 300Xe 6' 6" Combo
05/17/2010
By ,
Homosassa Fl.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great Reel, Rod OK
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Ratings-Only Reviews for Mitchell 300Xe 6' 6" Combo
Based on the average of (7) ratings-only reviews
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.9 out of 5
4.9 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4.9 out of 5
4.9 out of 5