Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Benjamin Benjamin 392 .22 Caliber Carbine Air Rifle

Benjamin Benjamin 392 .22 Caliber Carbine Air Rifle

The Benjamin 392 .22 Caliber Carbine Air Rifle features American hardwood stock that gives a sleek design. This fully rifled brass barrel can send pellets with a velocity of up to 685 fps, making it a perfect rifle for gaming and target practices. Change the velocity by the number of pumps. The view sights can be completely adjusted for comfort so that your target practice sessions are easier and effective. The rifle features swelling in the forearm for easy pumping. Lightweight design makes it easy to carry around hunting spots.
Average Customer Rating:
4.098 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(41 Reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
25
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation78%32 out of 41reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 53 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
25
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Benjamin 392 .22 Caliber Carbine Air Rifle

Good Quality Build. Attractive Wood Stock.

10/12/2012
By ,
North Dakota
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Walmart's Price for the Benjamin 392 is reasonable. Home shipping is wonderful! Packaging is good. The wood grain on mine is beautiful. It has a solid, well built feeling to it. No recoil and relatively quiet. Powerful gun. However, I found mine heavy and hard to pump. 4 Stars.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Benjamin 392 .22 Caliber Carbine Air Rifle

nice pellet rifle

10/14/2013
By ,
NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a nice multi-pump pellet rifle.. This is an older design, well proven and there is good information about it on the web. It is solid and well built. The force needed to get those last couple of pumps is fairly high. You can get a workout while target shooting. The sights are adjustable and the rifle is accurate when adjusted. If you have trouble adjusting the rear sight left or right, loosen both screws and make sure the rear sight is not bound in the sight mount. I got the 22 model and the recommended hollow points hit hard. The accuracy is very good once adjusted. It seems to me that the cheek is a little too high, because I have a little difficulty getting down on the sights. Having shot it for a while, I plan to get the mounts and put one of my 4X scopes on it. It is quiet to shoot. The pumping noise if louder than the shot. I would not hesitate to use this rifle on small game or vermin out to 30 or 40 yards.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Benjamin 392 .22 Caliber Carbine Air Rifle

4 PUMPS OK FOR CLOSE SMALL GAME

08/05/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
5-6 PUMPS WILL STRETCH.... 7 OR 8 WILL BE ABOUT THE SAME AS A .22 SHORT. SIGHTS ARE FAIR BUT ADEQUATE. WOOD STOCK AND MOSTLY METAL ELSEWHERE IS DECENT OLD SCHOOL BUT NO WALL HANGER. OVERALL QUIETER THAN MOST SINGLE STROKES (WHEN KEPT UNDER 5 PUMPS). THE ADVANTAGE IS YOU CAN ADJUST THE POWER LEVEL. I WOULD MUCH MORE HAVE A QUIET PLASTIC SINGLE STROKE @ 800-1200 FPS THAN THE BENJI IF HUNTING....... BUT THEIRS NOTHING BETTER THAN AN OLD SCHOOL GUN YOU CAN HAND DOWN TO THE KIDS (THIS IS IT). ITS BETTER FOR THE BACK YARD BUT CAN ALSO BE A GOOD GUN FOR PEST CONTROL IN THS CITY. . ONE OTHER THING.... PUMPS AFTER 5 BECOME TEDIOUS ON MULTIPLE SHOTS..MAKE SURE THE KIDS ARE OLD ENOUGH....A COUPLE OF STROKES WOULD BE FINE FOR TARGET.....
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Benjamin 392 .22 Caliber Carbine Air Rifle

the Cat's Meow

05/25/2013
By ,
Ohatchee, Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow, this is one of my favorite air guns. Well built, simple, and rustic. Made of metal and wood just like a quality arm is supposed to be. And only $140.00. I love mine. And with proper care these little beauties will last 50+ years. And as far as accuracy goes, a 392 will get the job done! Now these are not intended for small children nor weak adults. You will work after about 6 pumps and 8 being max. And if you decide this is for you, always remember, if you plan on shooting it within an hour or a year from now, always put one pump of air in it. It will keep the valve seals clean and foreign matter out. It will store like this for a very long time. Highly recommended.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Benjamin 392 .22 Caliber Carbine Air Rifle

Great Pellet Rifle

12/15/2012
By ,
Memphis, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I picked this up from local Walmart. Everything arrived in good shape, as expected.
I ordered the scope mount and a centerpoint red dot scope. I had to install a 3/8 inch 3-7x scope because the red dot was a Weaver mount. I have a converter from 3/8 to 7/8 Weaver on order.
I began sighting in the pellet rifle. It shoots pretty consistently. I will have to practice for my groups to be tighter. Right now I am getting 2" groups at about 33 - 40 feet.
The quality of the rifle is good. The rifle is a little lowder than I thought it would be. But, not a loud crack. The rifle is more powerful than I thought it would be. With 5 pumps, the 22 cal pellet goes clean through 3 inches of stacked corrugated (cardboard) sheets.
I would choose this model again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Benjamin 392 .22 Caliber Carbine Air Rifle

Classic

04/30/2014
By ,
South Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This 392 has put my expensive German springers to shame. I use jbs jumbo heavy and can put pellet after pellet in quarter size target at 15 yrds. The trigger pull will smooth out with use , the open sights are fine you just take both screws out both sides set your windage with a few taps left or right put the screws back in and snug them down. The elevation screw is a breeze. The only thing i have done is open the rear sight up a little with a file, that is it. For me, this is my go to rifle, made here in the States.
Save your money my friends , get a 392 or 397 and good pellets , the pros are so much greater.
This is old timer, will be 71 next birthday, God willing.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per month
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Benjamin 392 .22 Caliber Carbine Air Rifle

Great air rifle

01/04/2008
By ,
Calhoun, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought one for my son just after he was born so like me he could grow up shooting such a great air rifle. He has been shooting his for 3 years now(and no he isn't only 3 years old) One of the great things about these air rifles is if you take care of them they will last for a long time, mine is 30 years old. If the air cylinder goes out you can have them rebuilt for about $40.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+52points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Benjamin 392 .22 Caliber Carbine Air Rifle

First-class pellet rifle!

08/13/2011
By ,
Santa Fe, NM
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Benjamin 392 .22-calibre rifle is well-made, lightweight, and accurate out of the box. Its iron sights, often criticised, are perfectly all right, but my old eyes need help down-range...: buy a 4X32 Leapers scope with an Air Venturi Intermount and you're in business.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+44points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Benjamin 392 .22 Caliber Carbine Air Rifle

An American Classic

07/08/2007
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great pnumatic multi pump air rifle and Wal-Mart has the best price I've seen for it. It has a really nice hardwood stock, good factory sights and it is a pleasure to shoot. (no recoil) It is suitable for small game hunting, pest control or just target shooting. It is made in the USA with quality materials and is just a darn good deal. If you only own one air gun this should be it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+58points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Benjamin 392 .22 Caliber Carbine Air Rifle

Good gun. Shoots great

02/02/2012
By ,
Kansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought Benjamin after reading good reviews at several other sites. Purchased peep sights and installed as soon as gun arrived. Tested against my son's new piston type .17 cal.. The .22 has quite a bit more tin can knock down power. With peep sight is very accruate at 30 yards. Fun gun. Solid feel.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Benjamin 392 .22 Caliber Carbine Air Rifle

22 pellet

10/19/2007
By ,
watertown ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ive owned this item for 20 years and paid more than this way back then. it's a excellent gun for target shooting or hunting. quality made built to last.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Benjamin 392 .22 Caliber Carbine Air Rifle

Still going strong

03/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Remembered shooting a Benjamin when I was a youth, this product brings back great memories. Wood finish was clean and smooth, pump linkage was solid. The bolt action was tight. A good shooter.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Benjamin 392 .22 Caliber Carbine Air Rifle

Great rifle !!!

10/29/2013
By ,
LA.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brought this Rifle for keeping pest from bird feeders, Out of the box, it appeared to be a well made piece of American History. Had one of these rifles 40 years ago. Shoots straight need to aduust sights left to right, now can shoot Quater size groupping at 40 feet. Thanks again for fast shipping and a fair price
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Benjamin 392 .22 Caliber Carbine Air Rifle

Poorly packaged

08/15/2014
By ,
Wausau, WI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Upon delivery it was noticed that loading bolt had worn through the box. As a result the bolt was badly scuffed and the stock was very loose from shipping. The only protection was a little foam on each end of the rifle.
The bolt seemed undamaged however and the rear sight had to be moved to the far left to even get close to the target center (bent front sight?). At 20 yards the rifle had pie plate accuracy so back to Walmart it went. I then ordered a XS25S from Flying Dragon, what a pleasant surprise. Crosman would do well to see how they package a rifle to make it UPS proof.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Benjamin 392 .22 Caliber Carbine Air Rifle

Pellet Gun

08/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought a Benjamin 397 about 18 years ago and it has been working up until a few weeks ago. There were several parts that needed to be replaced so I decided to purchase this .22 Benjamin pellet gun in the same model.
This is a great gun. It is well built and very durable. I keep the sight open and it is extremely accurate. Only a few minor turns on the iron site are needed after pulling the gun out of the box, and then you are ready to shoot.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Benjamin 392 .22 Caliber Carbine Air Rifle

Great air rifle

01/03/2014
By ,
NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Classic air rifle that is powerful and accurate. Clean the barrel free of the overspray at the muzzle before you shoot it and you will be happy with the shot groups.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Benjamin 392 .22 Caliber Carbine Air Rifle

Tried and true design

07/29/2013
By ,
Wichita Falls, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been running the 392 throught the ringer for the last two years an it's held up splendidly. The construction is solid and easy to maintain. An occasional oiling is all that's required to keep it in working order. The only modification I've made was to add a peep sight which is a massive upgrade over the stock iron sights and makes it much easier to shoot accurately.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Benjamin 392 .22 Caliber Carbine Air Rifle

Does not shoot straight.

07/19/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Even after adjusting the sight to the max, this rifle shoots about an inch to the left at 30 feet.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Benjamin 392 .22 Caliber Carbine Air Rifle

I don't like it. I am returning it

07/16/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
it is to hard to pump. I don't like the bolt action. The sights are poor and it is noisy when fired.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Benjamin 392 .22 Caliber Carbine Air Rifle

good product with really awful shipping package

06/27/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
There is really high chance that this $150 air rifle wont make the shipping. High risk of arriving with a bend or crushed barrell because of the ridicolously poor packaging from factory. No protection whatsoever of delicate brass muzzle from banging against floor. If the front sight gets a hard hit it will collapse the muzzle. The barrel brass tube wall is very thin. Why does this rifle come pre-assembled when the stock makes the shipping box well over 1.5 feet longer than necessary? The #1 importance should be shooting TIGHT groups, yet 1. shipping ruins the barrel really easily. 2. Paint overpray covers muzzle and rifling. Should see YELLOW brass! instead see black paint. 3. factory trigger sear is unpleasantly heavy. 4. The iron sight allowed accurate left-right aim, but did not help that much for vertical aim. ** Mods sofar: I removed the rear sight and installed DIY non-adjustable peep sight. Also removed: wooden swell of pump arm to allow for more compact carrying case with stock detached inside case. Ordered supersear from AoA. Sofar cost of remedies: $10 higher online price for ordering store pickup (return if bend barrell) + $10 for acetone an Q-tips to clean muzzle from paint + $5 brass pipe for peep sight + $30 to remedy heavy and creep factory trigger. So: total of $55 used of fixing inferior shipping / manufacturing / design. The good: the 392 is the only multipump / variable pump rifle sold today. Break barrel rifles are often dissapointements in terms of accuracy in long run. Springers have typical twang. Nitro piston comes ONLY in break barrell style.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 40 total reviews
1 2 Next