Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Huffy Spalding 4020 Dual Electronic Basketball Game

Huffy Spalding 4020 Dual Electronic Basketball Game

The Spalding 4020 Dual Shot Electronic Basketball Game is ideal for youths who are interested in developing their skills in the game with regular practice. This arcade basketball hoops game allows you to have hours of fun practicing your throw hand within the comfort of your house. Its sturdy construction makes it long lasting and it also has electronic scoring to indicate your basket counts. Get this dual basketball hoop game and start having fun while you play basketball.
Average Customer Rating:
4.348 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(89 Reviews) 84
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
47
4 stars
33
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation96%85 out of 89reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
32 Questions | 70 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
47
4 stars
33
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Spalding 4020 Dual Electronic Basketball Game

Fun and sturdy

01/21/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We (my 10 year old and I) are very pleased with this product so far. Although it was too tall for my game room (over 7 feet tall)...I was able to trim the legs and now it fits perfect. It is very sturdy, the balls are greay quality, and it resembles the basketball games at the arcades. Bottomline, much better than any previous basketball games I have purchased in the past.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Spalding 4020 Dual Electronic Basketball Game

holding up to summer camp abuse

06/17/2009
By ,
Destin, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i have this unit in my summer camp space next door to my Karate school. so far its held up nicely and the kids are constantly playing it. i like how the score keeper works, counting down with sound and flashing the winners number when the buzzer sounds. it does take a little effort to collapse is down and even collapsed is big.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Spalding 4020 Dual Electronic Basketball Game

A Great Product

07/21/2009
By ,
Arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this game for my boyfriend for his birthday and he LOVES it. It's very similar to the basketball games you'd find in an arcade and just as fun!!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Spalding 4020 Dual Electronic Basketball Game

Simple, yet functional

11/23/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this last week, and have been playing for a few hours and here is what you need to know.
The instruction says, you need two people, but it's possible to do it by yourself since most parts are not that heavy.
Once assembled, there were two small problems. The biggest of which was the scoring mechanism. It's not sensitive enough so that if the ball doesn't go through vertically (meaning a bit sideways), the score does not register. Or if the ball goes in right after another one, it does not register. Therefore, the system tends to miss one or two score per each game.
The second is the ball return. They give you six balls, and because the ball retaining area isn't deep enough, sometimes the ball will hit another ball and bounce out of the area.
Other than that, it does what I needed it to do. I wish there was more game options than just scoring. The customer service was excellent, I had one of the ball which did not inflate, but a call remedy that problem.
Overall not a bad system!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Spalding 4020 Dual Electronic Basketball Game

Buyer Beware!

08/25/2014
By ,
Woodstock, VA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased this for a work event. Thank goodness I ordered it early because when we received it the backboard was split open and coming apart. I ordered a replacement (another whole game) and thank goodness I did. As we put the game together we found that screws were missing, parts were bent and just not great condition. The box was not damaged during shipping that we could tell. Maybe it was dropped, thus the split backboard. It comes in a box with no real padding or protection during shipping. So, once we got it put together I returned the second, that was a mistake!! The game was used a few times and one of the counters on the basket stopped working. Unfortunately as I said, I returned the second one we ordered for parts. Now I'm contacting the manufacturer to see if they will send me a new part. Kids and adults have really liked this game it is ashamed that it is shipped just in a box; I think if it was shipped with some padding things may have gone better. I would recommend this game VERY HIGHLY if it would have come in better condition. So purchase at your own risk.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Spalding 4020 Dual Electronic Basketball Game

This is the one to buy

01/05/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am giving it four star for the reason it did not come with manual or instructions for assembly. Or a 1 -800 number or any paper. That was kind of a bummer on Christmas eve. I finally found a contact number on the internet and they sent the assembly instructions.
That said this is the one to buy if you are wanting an indoor basketball game. This one you Can Plug Into The Wall for the scorekeeper. It does not use batteries. the ac type is much nicer. Also with this one you get 6 balls. It seems sturdy. Yes I would recommend this .
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Spalding 4020 Dual Electronic Basketball Game

Based on Putting it Together

12/20/2011
By ,
San Diego, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this for my husband for Christmas, hence why it hasn't been played yet and this review is based on just putting it together. For reference purposes I am a 24 year old female. The instructions say that you need two people to put this together, but I did it by myself. It wasn't cake, but I was able to make it work. I used a couch, and since I am on the shorter side, sometimes laid it down on the floor to put together the pieces that are higher up, like the backboard. You have to pay careful attention to the instructions because the picture is not very detailed and the words can be confusing. But as long as you take it step by step and pay attention to what you are putting together, it isn't that bad.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Spalding 4020 Dual Electronic Basketball Game

Pop Shot is KING

07/20/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
best investment! I have had it for about a month now but use it very often. it has held up nicely so far. And it isn't young kids playing either. We are talking 25+. This provides endless amounts of fun amongst friends. We are considering buying another to put next to it. Well worth the $150.00.
Easy to put to together with 2-3 people. Doe not take long at all. Very sturdy.
Enjoy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Spalding 4020 Dual Electronic Basketball Game

GREAT BASKETBALL GAME

10/17/2012
By ,
Wisconsin
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I ordered the basketball game and had it shipped to my local Walmart. It arrived in about 5 days. The box that it comes in is only about 4 feet long and 2 feet wide. It is very easy to pick it up in any size vehicle. It took about an hour and a half to put it together. The only reason I didn't give it five stars is because I felt that some of the directions were not clear enough. Otherwise, this is a very nice basketball game for the price. I have only owned it for 2 days and have had tons of fun with my kids. I would say this would be fine for any kid over the age of 6 or 7 because of how far you have to shoot the basketball. My eight year old loves it. It has a nice look and seems pretty sturdy. I didn't have any difficulty with the electronic scoring. I figured for the price, I would be happy to get 5+ years of use out of it. It has a 60 second timer that keeps track of your score. If you are looking for a basketball game that has multiple settings, this might not be the one for you. If you play several games in a role, you really get a workout. Overall, my family is really happy with it and I strongly recommend this.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Spalding 4020 Dual Electronic Basketball Game

great purchase

12/31/2008
By ,
tacoma, washington
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i bought this for my sons for christmas and although i didnt have the best experience with the actual ordering/shipping process, because they were out of stock when there site said it was instock, it was a great purchase and they did get it to me 2 days before xmas. theres not many parts but is time consuming to put together, it would have went faster if things were milled differently so your hands could fit better during the building process. make sure you have your own tools handy because the 2 tools they give you, really are not that great. the kids have a blast playing it, as do the adults. backboard is strong and sturdy, frame is sturdy, all parts were there, nothing was damaged during shipping. before i purchased this i priced them everywhere else and read all the reviews and surprisingly walmart.com had the best reviews and nicest one for your money, which was also cheaper than anywhere else. make sure you have at least an 8ft ceiling, i have mine in the garage and its an 8ft ceiling and the game stands 7ft. you want the xtra foot for ball clearance.OH AND....you get 6 balls with it, all the others were only 3. i hope this helps all of you!!! enjoy your purchase, we are :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Spalding 4020 Dual Electronic Basketball Game

outstanding!

09/28/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a children's ministry pastor and we bought one for our elementary group. Every wednesday and sunday we have over 100 kids playing it. They loved it so much we bought another one.
Every week we collapse it for storage, it is durable but alittle shakey when moving. but still a strong product to entertain 100 kids a week!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Spalding 4020 Dual Electronic Basketball Game

Great fun!

01/21/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my second electronic basket ball game. It works great, and it was a great value. My only complaint is it took hours to put together, not because it was difficult, but because they give you a tiny wrench and allen wrench when standard philips screws and bolts would have much easier and quicker.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Spalding 4020 Dual Electronic Basketball Game

PRETTY GOOD!!

12/11/2009
By ,
Pennsylvania
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My daughter and husband love it!!
Pretty sturdy too!
On/off switch is behind the game really high up, that is really hard to find and reach, but that is my only complaint.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Spalding 4020 Dual Electronic Basketball Game

lasted maybe 12 mins

01/24/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Broke almost right away, one side of the score counter does not work
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Spalding 4020 Dual Electronic Basketball Game
02/21/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely love the electronic basketball game. It definitely exceeded my expectations! It's just as fun as any basketball game you may play in an arcade but yet you have it right in your home when you want to play. The game is relatively tall; therefore, if you have a low celing this may not work for you. I definitely would recommend this to any game lover!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Spalding 4020 Dual Electronic Basketball Game

Basketball

12/31/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Great product. The only problem is it doesn't pick up every basket made
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Spalding 4020 Dual Electronic Basketball Game

Awesome

10/06/2014
By ,
PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome and durable
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Spalding 4020 Dual Electronic Basketball Game

Pretty Dang Good

07/02/2012
By ,
Boise ID
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We bought this unit for my 19 and 15 year old sons. We owned a similar unit in our previous house and I was concious of having a backboard that would break under reasonable use. Because of this, I reinforced the backboard before we started using and now I know we won't have a problem. The unit does a pretty good job of counting the baskets and only occasionally misses counting them (balls that roll around the rim and net). I am pretty happy with the unit and recommend it to others. Hopefully the manufacturer would reinforce the backboard to avoid disatisfied customers and unnecessary warrantee.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Spalding 4020 Dual Electronic Basketball Game

Awesome!!

02/12/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son and I both enjoy playing this game. It is huge and may require two people to assemble, or a lot of patience. Yet when you are done it is a lot of fun. The counter may be off if you have it on the wall, but when you pull it away from the way the baskets are counted accurately.......... lots of fun, well worth the wait.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Spalding 4020 Dual Electronic Basketball Game

Very Exciting, But Not So Durable

10/27/2011
By ,
Southern California
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I've had this game for about 18 months and it is the most used activity in our game room! It is a tremendous amount of fun and never gets old. However it is not built for durability.
Notice that there aren't any braces between the upright, where you stand to shoot, and the lower support legs. As you use it over time and lean against the frame reaching for the balls the frame warps to the point where you your catcher sags, and the metal gives.
I bought this game for $99 and now it is $152. At the lower price I might consider rebuying, but not at a 50%+ premium. I'm about to replace the game and considering the Sportcraft Basketball Arcade Hoops, because of the reinforcement that they have added to the game (though it is 4" shorter), and it's $23 less! Hope this helps in your decision.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 85 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next