Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Huffy Spalding 4020 Dual Electronic Basketball Game

Huffy Spalding 4020 Dual Electronic Basketball Game

The Spalding 4020 Dual Shot Electronic Basketball Game is ideal for youths who are interested in developing their skills in the game with regular practice. This arcade basketball hoops game allows you to have hours of fun practicing your throw hand within the comfort of your house. Its sturdy construction makes it long lasting and it also has electronic scoring to indicate your basket counts. Get this dual basketball hoop game and start having fun while you play basketball.
Average Customer Rating:
4.443 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(79 Reviews) 74
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
44
4 stars
30
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation97%77 out of 79reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
28 Questions | 62 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
44
4 stars
30
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Spalding 4020 Dual Electronic Basketball Game

Fun and sturdy

01/21/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We (my 10 year old and I) are very pleased with this product so far. Although it was too tall for my game room (over 7 feet tall)...I was able to trim the legs and now it fits perfect. It is very sturdy, the balls are greay quality, and it resembles the basketball games at the arcades. Bottomline, much better than any previous basketball games I have purchased in the past.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Spalding 4020 Dual Electronic Basketball Game

A Great Product

07/21/2009
By ,
Arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this game for my boyfriend for his birthday and he LOVES it. It's very similar to the basketball games you'd find in an arcade and just as fun!!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Spalding 4020 Dual Electronic Basketball Game

holding up to summer camp abuse

06/17/2009
By ,
Destin, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i have this unit in my summer camp space next door to my Karate school. so far its held up nicely and the kids are constantly playing it. i like how the score keeper works, counting down with sound and flashing the winners number when the buzzer sounds. it does take a little effort to collapse is down and even collapsed is big.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Spalding 4020 Dual Electronic Basketball Game

Simple, yet functional

11/23/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this last week, and have been playing for a few hours and here is what you need to know.
The instruction says, you need two people, but it's possible to do it by yourself since most parts are not that heavy.
Once assembled, there were two small problems. The biggest of which was the scoring mechanism. It's not sensitive enough so that if the ball doesn't go through vertically (meaning a bit sideways), the score does not register. Or if the ball goes in right after another one, it does not register. Therefore, the system tends to miss one or two score per each game.
The second is the ball return. They give you six balls, and because the ball retaining area isn't deep enough, sometimes the ball will hit another ball and bounce out of the area.
Other than that, it does what I needed it to do. I wish there was more game options than just scoring. The customer service was excellent, I had one of the ball which did not inflate, but a call remedy that problem.
Overall not a bad system!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Spalding 4020 Dual Electronic Basketball Game

Kids Love It!

12/04/2013
By ,
Boca Raton, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a holiday gift for our 9 and 11 year old. They love it! It took my husband and I about 3 hours to put together (we are not handy) but it was worth it! Lots of fun! Once in a while the score is not right but overall it works great. The unit is very tall so make sure you have room. When one basketball net broke the first day I called Spalding and they shipped two out that day. Very responsive. We look forward to using the game for a long time. Replacement parts are available and very reasonable. Overall a great find!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Spalding 4020 Dual Electronic Basketball Game

Pop Shot is KING

07/20/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
best investment! I have had it for about a month now but use it very often. it has held up nicely so far. And it isn't young kids playing either. We are talking 25+. This provides endless amounts of fun amongst friends. We are considering buying another to put next to it. Well worth the $150.00.
Easy to put to together with 2-3 people. Doe not take long at all. Very sturdy.
Enjoy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Spalding 4020 Dual Electronic Basketball Game

Based on Putting it Together

12/20/2011
By ,
San Diego, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this for my husband for Christmas, hence why it hasn't been played yet and this review is based on just putting it together. For reference purposes I am a 24 year old female. The instructions say that you need two people to put this together, but I did it by myself. It wasn't cake, but I was able to make it work. I used a couch, and since I am on the shorter side, sometimes laid it down on the floor to put together the pieces that are higher up, like the backboard. You have to pay careful attention to the instructions because the picture is not very detailed and the words can be confusing. But as long as you take it step by step and pay attention to what you are putting together, it isn't that bad.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Spalding 4020 Dual Electronic Basketball Game

outstanding!

09/28/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a children's ministry pastor and we bought one for our elementary group. Every wednesday and sunday we have over 100 kids playing it. They loved it so much we bought another one.
Every week we collapse it for storage, it is durable but alittle shakey when moving. but still a strong product to entertain 100 kids a week!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Spalding 4020 Dual Electronic Basketball Game

GREAT BASKETBALL GAME

10/17/2012
By ,
Wisconsin
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I ordered the basketball game and had it shipped to my local Walmart. It arrived in about 5 days. The box that it comes in is only about 4 feet long and 2 feet wide. It is very easy to pick it up in any size vehicle. It took about an hour and a half to put it together. The only reason I didn't give it five stars is because I felt that some of the directions were not clear enough. Otherwise, this is a very nice basketball game for the price. I have only owned it for 2 days and have had tons of fun with my kids. I would say this would be fine for any kid over the age of 6 or 7 because of how far you have to shoot the basketball. My eight year old loves it. It has a nice look and seems pretty sturdy. I didn't have any difficulty with the electronic scoring. I figured for the price, I would be happy to get 5+ years of use out of it. It has a 60 second timer that keeps track of your score. If you are looking for a basketball game that has multiple settings, this might not be the one for you. If you play several games in a role, you really get a workout. Overall, my family is really happy with it and I strongly recommend this.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Spalding 4020 Dual Electronic Basketball Game

This is wonderful for everyone!

11/12/2013
By ,
Holland,Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for our grandsons, but everyone that comes over loves this and can't stop playing it! Everyone loves it! Young and old. This was an excellent buy. My hubby said it was easy putting it together as well! Just made it in height for our basement!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Spalding 4020 Dual Electronic Basketball Game

PRETTY GOOD!!

12/11/2009
By ,
Pennsylvania
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My daughter and husband love it!!
Pretty sturdy too!
On/off switch is behind the game really high up, that is really hard to find and reach, but that is my only complaint.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Spalding 4020 Dual Electronic Basketball Game

Awesome!!

02/12/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son and I both enjoy playing this game. It is huge and may require two people to assemble, or a lot of patience. Yet when you are done it is a lot of fun. The counter may be off if you have it on the wall, but when you pull it away from the way the baskets are counted accurately.......... lots of fun, well worth the wait.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Spalding 4020 Dual Electronic Basketball Game

great purchase

12/31/2008
By ,
tacoma, washington
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i bought this for my sons for christmas and although i didnt have the best experience with the actual ordering/shipping process, because they were out of stock when there site said it was instock, it was a great purchase and they did get it to me 2 days before xmas. theres not many parts but is time consuming to put together, it would have went faster if things were milled differently so your hands could fit better during the building process. make sure you have your own tools handy because the 2 tools they give you, really are not that great. the kids have a blast playing it, as do the adults. backboard is strong and sturdy, frame is sturdy, all parts were there, nothing was damaged during shipping. before i purchased this i priced them everywhere else and read all the reviews and surprisingly walmart.com had the best reviews and nicest one for your money, which was also cheaper than anywhere else. make sure you have at least an 8ft ceiling, i have mine in the garage and its an 8ft ceiling and the game stands 7ft. you want the xtra foot for ball clearance.OH AND....you get 6 balls with it, all the others were only 3. i hope this helps all of you!!! enjoy your purchase, we are :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Spalding 4020 Dual Electronic Basketball Game
02/21/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely love the electronic basketball game. It definitely exceeded my expectations! It's just as fun as any basketball game you may play in an arcade but yet you have it right in your home when you want to play. The game is relatively tall; therefore, if you have a low celing this may not work for you. I definitely would recommend this to any game lover!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Spalding 4020 Dual Electronic Basketball Game

Make sure it has all of its parts !

12/25/2013
By ,
Lehi, Utah
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This was a gift from Santa for my son. I purchased this because it got great reviews online, but this Christmas morning when we were putting it together it was missing two very important parts that hold it together. I don't want to knock this product but it's very disappointing not being able to complete putting it this together for my son. I wrote an email to Huffy / Spalding let's see if they make this wright!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Spalding 4020 Dual Electronic Basketball Game

Pretty Dang Good

07/02/2012
By ,
Boise ID
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We bought this unit for my 19 and 15 year old sons. We owned a similar unit in our previous house and I was concious of having a backboard that would break under reasonable use. Because of this, I reinforced the backboard before we started using and now I know we won't have a problem. The unit does a pretty good job of counting the baskets and only occasionally misses counting them (balls that roll around the rim and net). I am pretty happy with the unit and recommend it to others. Hopefully the manufacturer would reinforce the backboard to avoid disatisfied customers and unnecessary warrantee.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Spalding 4020 Dual Electronic Basketball Game

Quality product

12/25/2013
By ,
Camby, Indiana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Put this together Christmas eve. Took about 2 hours but I didn't have any help. The product is exceptional. My grandson came over for Christmas and had a blast with it. Now have to dismantle it to transport to his house. Very large game about 7 1/2 feet tall, 7 feet long and 3 1/2 feet wide.
Recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Spalding 4020 Dual Electronic Basketball Game

Very Good Product

02/01/2012
By ,
Memphis, TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this game for the Children’s Ministry (ages 6-11) in mid 2010. It’s been highly used every evening event since it was installed and the kids (and adults) thoroughly enjoy using it. It’s a lot of fun with great electronic interaction/scoring and sounds. Great completion amongst the kids, and there always seems to be a line to get in if you want to play. I’d certainly say we’ve all gotten more fun from it than expected, and hope to continue to use it for years to come. It's a GREAT game for the kids (and yeah, adults too#.
However, and yeah, there is a however……….several…
It does require some up-keep. Considering the age group that uses it and how rough kids #and adults# can be, it would not be fair to expect this would be child-proof, and it was not expected to be. We’re on our 3rd ramp, 3rd set of nets, 2nd set of Hoops #1 broken net mount, 1 broken hoop# and has needed 1 scoring-arm replacement #likely broken by someone being a bit rough, probably trying to loosen a caught basketball in the net#. The nets do tend to get caught in the scoring arms, but you can trim the nets off and fix that rather easily. Also, the constant pushing against it and reaching into the ramp for a ball eventually broke the two front legs that touch the floor #where they bend up#.
So, what to do……… Well, first and foremost, order some extra parts to have on hand if this will be for heavy group use. Spalding Customer support is very nice, very responsive, has very reasonable prices on their replacement parts, do not charge for shipping, and unless on back-order, you’ll get your parts within 2 or 3 business days. I’ve had very positive experiences with them the tree times I’ve called. The first time they replaced the scoring arm FOR FREE #within a warranty period# and the other two “parts orders” went very well.
Lastly, customize it. We added some steel braces #two long flat, roughly 1” x 2’ braces# to support the front legs. We drilled holes in the front vertical bars right under the front of the net, and then in the legs along the floor, and used the braces bettween them. It took 10 minutes and was super simple, and likely will add YEARS to the life of the unit. It helps keep the ramp tight and the legs firm while the kids push and lean on it.
Recommend? Most certainly. If for indoor home use, it’s great fun and inexpensive. If for group use, sure, just plan ahead and have the proper expectation that you’ll have some eventual up-keep #order some spare parts post the warranty period). It’s not abuse proof.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Spalding 4020 Dual Electronic Basketball Game

Fun Basketball Game!

01/02/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought the Spalding 4020 Electronic Basketball Game for my mom and step-dad for Christmas, since they love arcade basketball so much. I wasn't there when it arrived or when it was put together, but I was told it took about 3-4hrs total (just one person).
I'd say it's a good and fun game. The only issues we've had are the on/off switch being higher up, the scoring system being a bit off at times if you throw multiple balls, or hit the backboard too hard; and when the older kids we're playing on it, the backboard loosened and fell forward slightly. Other than those, it's a perfect machine. The body is pretty sturdy, and our family has an absolute blast at gatherings.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Spalding 4020 Dual Electronic Basketball Game
06/29/2011
By ,
KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ordered this for my nephews, 6 and 10. It unexpectedly arrived early and is a huge hit! The basket is a tad far for the 6 yr old to make, but he's getting close! Great buy for the money and ordering from walmart was quick, easy and they shipped it right away which was perfect since I was late ordering!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 75 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next