Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Black & Decker Black & Decker Simple Start Battery Booster

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Black & Decker Black & Decker Simple Start Battery Booster

When your car battery is drained, you won't need jumper cables and another person's vehicle to get back on the road. Just plug the Simple Start into your own vehicle's 12-volt outlet, turn the unit on, and in minutes you'll be on the road again.
Average Customer Rating:
2.091 out of 5
2.1
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
3
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation27%3 out of 11reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
3
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Black & Decker Simple Start Battery Booster

good luck

12/04/2007
By ,
North Dakota
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I returned the first one I got to Walmart because an alarm kept beeping while trying to charge. The manual said it indicated a power failure at the outlet. There was no power failure. We plugged in 2 more at the customer service desk while I returned the first one and both did the same thing. I think there is a manufacturing flaw. I got a cheaper B&D but you have to connect the cable to the battery so it is not as convenient to use, but at least it works.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Review 2 for Black & Decker Simple Start Battery Booster

Too Bad

10/28/2007
By ,
Imperial County, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased this item to take on quad trips to jump start battery if per chance it died. Never could get the thing to charge properly. Too bad as it's size would have made a great addition to my emergency backup kit. I returned to store.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Review 3 for Black & Decker Simple Start Battery Booster

This product does not work...

02/11/2008
By ,
Raleigh, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased the product hoping for an alternative to using jumper cables. When I got it home and tried to charge it, all it did was beep continuously. According to the manual this is an indication it is not plugged in correctly.
I returned the item and the new one did the exact same thing. I contacted Black & Decker twice concerning the problem and got the following two recommendations:
* Turn the system on and off several times (This did not work.)
* Return it for a new one at our service center.
I decided to cut my losses and simply return the item for cash. This is the first time I have had issues with Black & Decker.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 4 for Black & Decker Simple Start Battery Booster

didn't work

02/14/2008
By ,
PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I first went to my local Walmart store to purchase this, and they had 2 boxes left- one looked like it had been opened, and the other did not. I purchased it, and even after 24 hours of charging, it did not charge. I brought it back, and did "site to store" The next one charged fine, but when I went to try it on a car that I have had battery problems on, it did not work at all to jump the car.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Review 5 for Black & Decker Simple Start Battery Booster
01/03/2008
By ,
Ann Arbor, MI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this item last year upon my arrival in Michigan, just in case the cold weather caused problems with my battery. It NEVER was able to provide enough power to start my car. I tried 2 different units and neither worked as advertised. I only kept the product for the light and extra 12V outlet.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 6 for Black & Decker Simple Start Battery Booster

This product far and away exceeded my expectations

01/03/2008
By ,
San Angelo, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I don't know what went wrong with the other reviewers. This thing worked right out of the box, didn't need to charge it first. This thing works great so far. Highly recommending it to friends as we speak.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 7 for Black & Decker Simple Start Battery Booster

Black & Decker Simple Start Battery Booster

10/07/2007
By ,
Cahttanooga,TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Returned to store and replaced with another brand
( PowerPro Dynamite ) ,,,This unit would NOT take a charge, The one I got to replace this one worked great and it was cheaper !
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 8 for Black & Decker Simple Start Battery Booster
01/16/2008
By ,
Colville WA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It would not take a charge. Black and Decker sent a new one and it would not take a charge either. I returned them both and got my money back.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Ratings-Only Reviews for Black & Decker Simple Start Battery Booster
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5