Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Phillips Philips Programmable Antenna Rotator with Remote Control, SDW1850/17

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Phillips Philips Programmable Antenna Rotator with Remote Control, SDW1850/17

Here's an easy way to maintain clear TV signal reception for your favorite local channels. Built to last, this automated outdoor antenna rotor includes a universal remote control and remembers up to 12 different positions, even after a power outage.
Average Customer Rating:
4.105 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(57 Reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
27
4 stars
18
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation88%50 out of 57reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
27
4 stars
18
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Philips Programmable Antenna Rotator with Remote Control, SDW1850/17
10/27/2008
By ,
Central, Wis
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Everything works great, and was the best price I could find!! The programable remote to turn the antenna is the best way when tuning stations from differnt directions. I love this rotor!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 2 for Philips Programmable Antenna Rotator with Remote Control, SDW1850/17

Philips Programmable Antenna Rotator

05/29/2008
By ,
Brussels, WI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The rotator works as expected. The programmable feature is nice, you have plenty of presets available. There are a few setbacks.
1. If you press a number you haven't preset the antenna will turn all the way back to zero. (Make sure to program ALL the presets if you don't want it to turn to zero.)
2. If you do make a mistake by pressing the wrong number there is no way to stop the rotator until it gets back to zero or whatever preset number you had selected.
Other than the above, I haven't had a problem. It was easy to install, the direction were easy to follow but a little vague in some areas. Overall, I am pleased with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+22points
Review 3 for Philips Programmable Antenna Rotator with Remote Control, SDW1850/17

Poor Quality

07/16/2007
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Product poor quality and worked intermittently.
The motor is poorly constructed and stopped working after only a few months
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+8points
Review 4 for Philips Programmable Antenna Rotator with Remote Control, SDW1850/17

Rotor

01/13/2008
By ,
Morganfield, Ky
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality is excellent and it works fine for well balanced reasonable size arrays. I like this one better than its similiar competing units like Radio Shack and Channel Master, its cheaper and I think better than either of the other two. As you would expect of a rotor in this price class, it does not have any mechanical brake so its not suitable for large off balance arrays in high winds. Easy to hook up and use with three conductor cable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 5 for Philips Programmable Antenna Rotator with Remote Control, SDW1850/17

Good Product with minor problems!

10/27/2008
By ,
Cedar Bluff, VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Philips Programmable Antenna Rotator with Remote Control, SDW1850/17 works well and is fairly simple to install. The only problems that I have encountered is the fact that it will not retain the current antenna location when turned off it returns to zero and when you turn unit back on you have to rotate the antenna back to previous location. Also the rotator requires a three conductor cable between the indoor unit and the outdoor unit which is not included in the box. It would be helpful if Walmart would at least mention this on the website if not offer offer various lengths of a three conductor cable suited for this application for purchase with the rotator. All in all I recommend this product though.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 6 for Philips Programmable Antenna Rotator with Remote Control, SDW1850/17

Should have bought along time ago

04/16/2008
By ,
Ohio, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We receive all our tv programs via external antenna and live in the Adirondack Park in NY which has alot of trees. We are receiving digital tv signals and have the converter box and 2 new tvs, but we had to constanly go ourside to turn our antenna everytime we change channels. Now we just press the stored memory button and it go right to the correct setting. The unit is very easy to use and program. One note is to read the enclosed manual COMPLETLY before installing, the rotor needs to be synchronized on the ground before installing on the roof, which is step 4. Over all we are very happy with this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 7 for Philips Programmable Antenna Rotator with Remote Control, SDW1850/17

Worked for me

10/30/2008
By ,
Warsaw, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
While I was very happy with the rotator I thought it should have included the wire necessary to connect the rotator to the control box. I have not programed the control box and will wait until Feb 09 to do this (when TV goes digital).
Using the rotator has improved my reception and I can now get 1 channel I couldn't before.
Overall I am very happy with the system but I have heard of problems programing the control unit. Will know more about that later.
I will tell you we use this at lake property that is about 60 miles from the nearest station.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 8 for Philips Programmable Antenna Rotator with Remote Control, SDW1850/17

Can't count on it to Turn

01/22/2013
By ,
Bahama NC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased about a year ago, but not long after I put it up it would not turn. I got some one to get on my roof to check it, and all he did was help it to turn. Then it worked. It worked good for a while. However if it sat for about 10 days with out being used, it will stop turning. Then I have to get some one up there and move it. It will then work as long as I remember to turn it every now and then. However, if I forget. I am stuck where it is until I change it again.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per month
-1point
Review 9 for Philips Programmable Antenna Rotator with Remote Control, SDW1850/17

Lazy man's dream

03/15/2009
By ,
Rolla, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I went from having to trek across the house and open a window to move my antenna to being able to move my antenna from the comfort of my recliner! The remote control is awesome. In my area, the signal seems to change which occasionally requires me to tweak the antenna's aim. Now it is a non-event. As an added bonus, the included remote control can be programmed to operate your TV/DVD etc. All of this for just a few dollars more thatn the typical manual rotator.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for Philips Programmable Antenna Rotator with Remote Control, SDW1850/17

Have to buy more to hook up

06/08/2009
By ,
Concil Bluffs, Iowa
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
You have to buy cable,ect. to hook the Philips Programmable antenna up. I did not know this untill i got it home, took it out of the box and read the booklet. I also was thinking will i beable to get the antenna to move in the winter when we have ice stormes. No need to have something that you can not get to move if it is all iced up. So i took the antenna back to Wal-mart
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
-9points
Review 11 for Philips Programmable Antenna Rotator with Remote Control, SDW1850/17

so easy a child can use it

02/06/2008
By ,
Teague, Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this product as well as their 100 mile HD antenna. It took a little trial and error before I found that the antenna had to be at least 30' on the air to get the optimum signal reception. But it is so handy to twick the antenna with the remote without having to go outside. You will have to buy your own 3 wire cable from a hardware store to connect the base unit to the remote unit. A real must have for anyone who lives in a rural area.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for Philips Programmable Antenna Rotator with Remote Control, SDW1850/17

TV Ant. Rotator Review

04/02/2008
By ,
Blaine, TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Some of the installation instructions were confusing but overall simple enough that I could complete the project in 1 day. I believe it would have helped to have known in the beginning what additional equipment/supplies were needed and what was supplied with the product. Also a recommended tool list to do the install may have proved benificial. I have not used the remote yet but overall satisfied with everything else.
Townsend
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for Philips Programmable Antenna Rotator with Remote Control, SDW1850/17

useful product

09/16/2007
By ,
South Boston, Va.
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My Husband had some difficulty installing it,, but was able to finish in one afternoon. Have only been using it for about 2 weeks so do not know a lot, but so far it is working ok.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-3points
Review 14 for Philips Programmable Antenna Rotator with Remote Control, SDW1850/17

Works good

10/30/2007
By ,
Panama City Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The only thing I didnt like was it has a remote control which turns my tv and dvd player on and off and turns the antenna but to turn off the rotor box they used a on and off switch on the side of the main box which you have to go to the box to manual shut on and off should have been set up to work off the remote other wise it has worked perfect on a 20ft mast with full size antenna turns it well
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for Philips Programmable Antenna Rotator with Remote Control, SDW1850/17
01/24/2009
By ,
DFW, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I used the rotator for an HF antenna installation.
The hook-up and installation was easy. The installation manual was easy to follow as well as the operating instructions. The unit is really quite intuitive.
Once installed, the unit performs great.
Delivery of the unit was a couple of days sooner than promised.
Overall, a nice unit and by ordering thru Walmart.com, everything was very easy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for Philips Programmable Antenna Rotator with Remote Control, SDW1850/17

Just an average Antenna Rotater

01/14/2008
By ,
Bryan, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It's an ok product if you want to use an antenna rotater, I would think most rotaters are on the same line of quality as others. When we hooked it up for my mother-in-law I was not to impressed on how most channels were still a little snowy, but maybe my expectations were too high. Of course the price was excellent, you cannot beat Wal*Mart prices, you won't get it cheaper any where else
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for Philips Programmable Antenna Rotator with Remote Control, SDW1850/17
12/28/2008
By ,
Magnet, NE.
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
a little too complicated for the average bear, didn't really need the remote control model, but it was on hand and I got it right away. price was very reasonable. Have not installed it yet due to bad weather, so I can't comment on how it works.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
-8points
Review 18 for Philips Programmable Antenna Rotator with Remote Control, SDW1850/17

Phillips rotator

01/13/2009
By ,
Eastern Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The device is simple to install and works as expected. Remember to buy 3 condutor wire for the rotor to control hookup. The memory buttons are handy and are very accurate for pinpointing those difficult digital transmissions. Although not as durable looking as the older rotators, it should handle a moderate sized antenna without any trouble.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for Philips Programmable Antenna Rotator with Remote Control, SDW1850/17

Works like it should

02/14/2008
By ,
Michigan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I installed this rotor unit a 2 years ago and it has worked very well since installation.
It's important to read the manual to ensure proper initial set up. One thing to remember is to "initialize" the unit after high winds because it will sometimes rotate out of position slightly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Philips Programmable Antenna Rotator with Remote Control, SDW1850/17

Very useful product

03/21/2009
By ,
Hamlin New York
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have only one negative about this product that's why four stars verses Five. Reason Phillips needs to do more Quality Assurance to insure product works before releaseing to the market. I got one that slipped through QA and returned it for replacement. The second one works.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 46 total reviews
1 2 3 Next